Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 76 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ridge Racer Unbounded takes the Ridge Racer series in whole new direction by adding a dose of destruction to the familiar arcade gameplay.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. May 10, 2012
    85
    Unbounded is a part of a franchise strongly associated with consoles but somehow turns out to be average on X360 and one of the best arcade racing games in years on PC. On PC it just plays better (even with a keyboard!) and is extremely rewarding. [June 2012, p.66]
  2. Apr 2, 2012
    85
    Unbounded may not have much to do with the things that defined Ridge Racer, but if you can get over that, you'll discover an energetic, entertaining racer, with gratifyingly destructive environments, challenging gameplay and interesting online. Ridge Racer was due for a reboot, and here it is.
  3. May 1, 2012
    80
    Confounds your expectations to create a racing game as much about finesse as destroying buildings.
  4. May 16, 2012
    68
    If you love demanding arcade racing games, heavy on OCD, give it a chance, as soon as its price is lowered. Otherwise, you can find much better games of the genre out there. [May 2012]
  5. Apr 23, 2012
    65
    An urban version of Split/Second from the creators of FlatOut. This sentence evokes two distinctly different feelings, depending on when you read it, before or after playing Ridge Racer Unbounded.
  6. Mar 31, 2012
    60
    Sure, the PC version looks prettier in high-res and runs at a higher frame rate, but it feels like the game's logic can barely keep up with the fast frame rates I was getting, causing an unsettling jerky feeling throughout the game - even though the frame rates were doing just fine.
  7. 60
    Actually, Bugbear missed pretty much all its marks: destroying opponents isn't as fun as the Burnout takedowns; ruining the city has nothing of the adrenaline and the real danger and satisfaction from Split/Second; drifting is one more stress factor and the decision to dominate races is motivated by the points and not by the thrill of the competition. So while this mix is theoretically perfect, in reality it's just not good enough for you to spend too much time in Shutter Bay.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Negative: 7 out of 21
  1. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    For fans of flatout it is a perfect game ! Game is well optimized , for fact that it has so awesome graphic. It isjust good and funy arcade. iFor fans of flatout it is a perfect game ! Game is well optimized , for fact that it has so awesome graphic. It isjust good and funy arcade. i would recomended to all flatout players :) Expand
  2. May 15, 2012
    10
    It's not a 10 game but I find that superficial reviews need some balancing.

    The actual note is 8 for this. Really fun but it's a bit weird
    It's not a 10 game but I find that superficial reviews need some balancing.

    The actual note is 8 for this. Really fun but it's a bit weird when you first play it.

    Expecting the following games : Burnout, Flatout, NFS even Ridge Racer is a mistake. The combined elements make for a unique experience that begins to be rewarding after some plays.

    When you get around the game mechanics you'll have fun I promise you!
    Expand
  3. Mar 31, 2012
    8
    There is a lot of cars, races and cities in this game. The graphic is cool and mods are very fun. This game is better than Split/second so itThere is a lot of cars, races and cities in this game. The graphic is cool and mods are very fun. This game is better than Split/second so it is 9/10 for me. And I love like some races aren´t easy like in NFS. I mean you will have to restart them. I think I never pressed restart button in NFS. I expected a funny arcade game like Flatout 2 and I got it! And you can build your tracks. It is amazing. Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2012
    7
    It takes elements from NFS, Split Second and Bournout. And that is a good thing! Oh this game is so cool with the oldskool Ridge RacerIt takes elements from NFS, Split Second and Bournout. And that is a good thing! Oh this game is so cool with the oldskool Ridge Racer drifting in it! I really like it. Unfortunatly it is a bit simple and linear. And also does not feel very polished. But its fun in a box, just be sure not to pay more than 20â Expand
  5. May 24, 2012
    5
    I didn't like Ridge Racer Unbounded. First I'd like to say that I wasn't big fan of Ridge Racer brand so partially that was my fault because II didn't like Ridge Racer Unbounded. First I'd like to say that I wasn't big fan of Ridge Racer brand so partially that was my fault because I expected to be more like Flatout serial (because of Bugbear). It runs smoothly, it has lots of content, but it feels somehow outdated at least for the PC. I hated that console menus and obvious lack of config options. Lighting effects can be annoying sometimes but generally they look cool. What about driving? It is ok - arcade like, when you get grip you can easily maneuver your vehicle. However I didn't like drifting, it's kind of unrealistic but as I have found out later it's main feature/characteristic of RR games in the past. What I expected to be better are car physics and car destruction, FO UC is much better in both and I thought that creators of that game can do only better, but I was wrong. So if you like to play Flatout stick to it, don't waste your time on RR, it's quite different game (as it should be). Collapse
  6. Feb 9, 2013
    5
    Ridge Racer unbounded is a neat little game. Drifting is fun and the cars handles for the most time quite well. There is plenty of user madeRidge Racer unbounded is a neat little game. Drifting is fun and the cars handles for the most time quite well. There is plenty of user made maps available in a convenient way and the map-creator should provide quite a bit of fun for those into that. It is also possible to control the game with your keyboard without getting a headache. The game do sadly have quite a limited selection of game-modes and cars. The maps do also get kind of samey despite the map editor since its all based around the same map-buildlng blocks. The options menu is also quite bare and i have personally not been able to find any multiplayer opponent to race against so far( New maps are however added all the time). But there is still enough content in the game to satisfy and i would definitely recommend this game for racing fans. I should also mention that the game is quite tough for an arcade racing game which might scare some people away. Expand
  7. Feb 1, 2014
    1
    I wouldn't even begin to associate this....game (not the word I'd use for it)..with anything remotely 'flatout' related. Instead I see it asI wouldn't even begin to associate this....game (not the word I'd use for it)..with anything remotely 'flatout' related. Instead I see it as being Namco/Bugbear's horrible attempt at trying so hard to be another Burnout that they thought they'd include the buildings and everything else almost within some kind of twisted logic or reason - Burnout didn't do half as much to promote bad driving as this game does though, smash into everything you like when you like but for some odd reason, you will hit a wall and come to a stop. Yet you can destroy pretty large targets - like stationary lorries, or even an entire petrol station, which completely negates any comment about logic.

    Not the best Ridge Racer I've ever seen. In fact, I would not even begin to think about recommending it.
    Tries to be a lot of fun, but I didn't think it was a lot of fun, not least because I thought it perhaps wasn't intended for gamers of my spritely age (no I'm not telling you, yes I'm probably old enough to be your dad or your grandad).
    Graphically, it was okay, I wouldn't say it was the best I've ever seen, but it was presentable.
    In terms of control, well.....keyboard control always seems to be a...bugbear ?...with what look to be obvious console ports, and this is no exception, you either ARE hitting space to drift, or you are NOT. And then what ensues is a maddeningly horrible display of skidpan chicanery. I would really not buy this game if you are too seriously into the 'grown up' version of racing (NFS Shift 2 / F1 Twothousandandwhatever) but if you really do like just having fun and don't mind losing an immense number of races to get anywhere because you don't have a gamepad, or simply because you aren't that great at it, then 'Shatter Bay' (hardly imaginative title), is probably a good place to be, but I wouldn't bank on it.
    Expand

See all 21 User Reviews