Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Mar 29, 2011
    83
    Whether or not the end game content manages to keep my attention remains to be seen, but so far this is easily the most polished MMO I've ever played within a month of launch, and I can easily see myself re-subscribing to it next month.
  2. Mar 28, 2011
    83
    While Rift still has some things to iron out in terms of balance, bugs and lag, that's par for the course for any new MMO and since launch, the Rift team has been actively talking to the community and addressing their concerns. Although many of the quests could use a heavier dose of originality, the game as a whole offers a large amount of interest and fun; so much in fact, it just might lure more than a few players away from that other MMO.
  3. Mar 24, 2011
    83
    Rift does many things that other MMORPGs introduced over the last few years, but to its credit - it does them well and in many cases better. While it's not innovative, it's a solid, enjoyable game worth player investment and acclaim.
  4. Apr 12, 2011
    82
    Rift is a young game, so it's natural for it to exhibit some growing pains during these early months. Still, even amidst the relative flux of rapidly-changing classes and other early-game kinks, the experience feels remarkably complete and cohesive.
  5. Mar 21, 2011
    82
    MMOs on launch are usually buggy, laggy, and not much fun, but Rift is already extremely polished and fun, and it will only get better. If you're looking for a new MMO, definitely check out Rift.
  6. May 1, 2011
    80
    RIFT is a solid proposal and we have seen very few of them in the latest years. Its gameplay is typical but also has a lot of interesting and fun innovations.
  7. Apr 26, 2011
    80
    A great option for MMO players, especially those who liked WoW mechanics. But this is Rift's greatest mistake: being too similar to Blizzard's game.
  8. Apr 25, 2011
    80
    Rift provides a unique, rewarding experience and proves to be a worthy alternative to some of the best MMOs available. However, there is plenty of more work to be done in the areas of end-game, PvP, and professions.
  9. Apr 18, 2011
    80
    Its main boasts - the soul subclasses and the dynamic content - are fantastic ideas that occasionally go clunk every now and then, but the core there is solid and makes the game feel worthwhile.
  10. Apr 18, 2011
    80
    If any MMO is capable of beating Blizzard at its own game, it's this one. [May 2011, p.56]
  11. Apr 5, 2011
    80
    All in all, Rift is the first real alternative to the best theme park MMORPGs on the market, WoW and LotRO. And this is without any doubt, a good thing!
  12. Mar 29, 2011
    80
    If you are a fan of the genre and you're looking for a new world ready to be explored, then Rift will not disappoint you.
  13. Mar 27, 2011
    80
    If you're looking for something radically different in the MMORPG realm you won't find it in Rift, but you will find a quality game.
  14. Mar 25, 2011
    80
    RIFT is an interesting proposition, and its existence has to be acknowledged on a MMO map. But you need to remember that despite some novelties, this game offers a very classic approach to gameplay, so don't expect anything revolutionary.
  15. Mar 22, 2011
    80
    Class flexibility, a solid infrastructure, and an element of unpredictability keep Rift from feeling like just another online fantasy game.
  16. Mar 22, 2011
    80
    If you're looking for a change in your MMO diet then you might try a bite of RIFT. It might not be more satisfying than WoW, FFXI or other MMOs, but it certainly has potential depending on Trion's future plans with it.
  17. Mar 21, 2011
    80
    The game asks you to explore and to experiment, be it where you are questing or with the character you are building. If the idea of another MMO levelling grind sends shivers down your spine, Rift may not be something to invest your time in, but if you are in the market for a new world to explore that is at once both recognisable and original then Rift may just be for you.
  18. Mar 18, 2011
    80
    Rift is a quite brilliant MMORPG, perfect if you've never played a persistent online game before, and really interesting if you're a staunch fan of the genre.
  19. Mar 17, 2011
    80
    Trion's ad campaigns promised a revolution; Rift itself merely delivers commendable refinement.
  20. Mar 17, 2011
    80
    Despite of being a World of Warcraft clone, RIFT is definetly a good and recommended MMORPG for those looking for a "themepark" experiencie. It is filled with plenty of content, and it is almost bug-free, so Trion has definetly achieved what they were trying to: a good, complete and polite massive online game.
  21. Mar 14, 2011
    80
    If you hanker for a new world – one that feels familiar yet fresh, with an atmosphere of discovery and experimentation – then Rift stands proudly, ready to greet you with open arms.
  22. Mar 11, 2011
    80
    Rift needs to prove it can offer far more beyond 50. Trion's baby already shows some promise of being the most successful MMO release since World of Warcraft, but the endgame currently stands as a looming question mark that overshadows everything else.
  23. Mar 4, 2011
    80
    The launch of an MMO, even a well-crafted and solid one like Rift, is but a doorway to the land of perpetual development, with as many chances to succeed than to fail. This is probably why Trion chose to deliver a game that feels comfortable, and functional, with only light touches of innovation - a solid foundation upon which to build. While I'm awaiting to discover what they will propose during the upcoming year, I'm savoring the arrival of a new big MMO on the market, and the pleasures of playing with it.
  24. Apr 25, 2011
    75
    Great for players new to MMOs, veterans may want to look elsewhere (or wait a bit longer).
  25. Apr 14, 2011
    75
    Rift is a good game but also a perfect example of this problem – and here's to hoping that it either grows into an answer to that plight or a marker for the end of an era.
  26. Mar 11, 2011
    75
    Rift's potential is what's most impressive about it. Here's a game that's already accomplished more than half of what all those "WoW-killers" ever did, and it's still in its infancy. Does it have its issues? Of course. Would I rather play WoW? Right now, yes I would. But Blizzard's had over seven years to develop its product, and Trion's just getting started.
  27. 70
    Solid MMO attracts players with vast and detailed game world and tested game mechanics but lacks really interesting quests and experiments. [Issue#203]
  28. Apr 6, 2011
    70
    Rift is probably the most stable and solid MMO ever to launch, and includes most of the functions you've grown accustomed to during the evolution of World of Warcraft. It's polished, has a lot of content and rich lore, but yet doesn't manage to feel unique or for lack of a better term, good.
  29. Mar 8, 2011
    70
    Despite the fact that Rift is a well crafted game, with some fresh ideas and a nice class system, its desire to confront World of Warcraft ("We're not in Azeroth anymore") forces a point-to-point comparison where the Trion game doesn't succeed beat the Blizzard champion.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 492 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 202
  1. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    Rift is an excellent first mmo for anyone and a nice relief for WoW veterans. the class system is creative and lets you make a ton of different combinations. the rifts are a nice touch and to tell you the truth i didnt think i would care much for them. the rifts add a sense of urgency and unity in the community and offer decent rewards. the graphics in and outside of rifts are just short of top notch. extremely tiny bits of lags but other than that no technical problems to speak of. I highly recommend this game to anyone who wants all the good of a traditional mmo with a twist for fun Full Review »
  2. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    I have been playing Rift since its head-start, and I must admit that I've had the best first week experience ever. Servers have been smooth. Updates were done when necessary, addressing issues reported as soon as possible. Leveling has been interesting, although traditional and linear. Graphics look great even on my old computer. Quite a lot of people are playing it, so no shortage of players. However, three things really stood out. First, the whole class system is truly a work of genius. I love how I can mix and match my souls to experiment with different specs. There is no cookie-cutter build, and the strength of a character is determined by the skills of a player, not by whether she or he avidly followed someone else's guideline. Two, there's always something to do in the game. The game is so dynamic, having rifts and invasions all over different zones, not to mention Warfronts (PvP Battleground), challenging instances, and raids (which I've not been able to try yet). You have the sense of actually getting involved in this imaginary world. Third, last but not least, it is fun. It's difficult to pinpoint and state exactly why it is fun, but, trust me, it is so much fun. The game definitely has great and lasting value for its price, so I suggest you run into Rift and try it out now. Full Review »
  3. Mar 1, 2011
    9
    Excellent and extremely diverse class system. The world isn't stale like you find in many other MMOs. I've routinely had a goal in mind and been pulled into the world events. I am a casual player and I like it a lot more than WoW. I always hate to make that comparison, but it needs to be made. The only downside I can specify right now is that the server gets laggy during larger events. However, I suppose this will be refined as this game develops. There are a lot of people playing which is a plus and most seem to really like the game. I'd also like to state that the game seems to be quite a bit more challenging on the PvE side of the fence which I personally like. Overall this game is quite impressive. A must buy for any MMO fan. Full Review »