Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Apr 4, 2011
    95
    Taking the best aspects of the games that came before it, improving on them and adding its own unique elements has Rift poised to be a long term power in the MMOG community.
  2. Mar 30, 2011
    85
    For what RIFT tries to do, it does very well. I rarely felt bored with all the random events and rifts constantly breaking up the monotony of questing. It's also important to give Trion a tremendous amount of credit for releasing such a "complete" MMO.
  3. Mar 25, 2011
    90
    These are very difficult games to make, almost to the point that calling any freshly-launched MMO "not an instant failure" has become high praise. So, on that note, I can confidently say that RIFT is not an instant failure, and that's already a huge head start over many of the MMOs that came before it.
  4. Mar 14, 2011
    87
    RIFT doesn't repeat the mistakes of Age of Conan or Warhammer Online, where high-level players had nothing to do except being bored. Lots of quests, PVP, exploring, crafting and instances – there's a lot to do right from the start and even after level 50.
  5. Nov 29, 2011
    90
    There have been obvious comparisons made to WoW, with some even going as far as calling it a clone. But what makes Rift so special is that it goes out of its way to avoid falling into the same traps as the many that have fallen before it. It avoids the painful, mindnumbing grind, makes incremental patches everyday and listens intently to its rapidly growing community.
  6. 89
    It's true that the soul trees offer outstanding flexibility for character development and the rifts bring a welcome sense of insecurity into Telara's everyday life, but for some players this simply might not be enough.
  7. Jun 28, 2011
    88
    Rift offers a really polished MMO experience but looks and feels much like a mix of many good MMOs like World of Warcraft, Lord of the Rings Online and Warhammer Online.
  8. May 9, 2011
    90
    Out of nowhere, Trion has delivered a solid MMO with a balance of smart innovation and polished imitation, and it sets itself apart enough to be worth a look for those who are seeking something different than the same old grind.
  9. May 4, 2011
    92
    Ultimately though, RIFT has had one of the smoothest launches in MMO history, and Trion Worlds has shown publicly that they're willing to own up to their mistakes as soon as they're made, and are quick to enact change to prevent things from recurring, as shown by their near-instant creation of the coin-lock system and their authenticators, as well as their reaction to the end of the River of Souls event.
  10. May 3, 2011
    90
    It may not be a WoW-killer, but it certainly gives the Blizzard juggernaut serious competition.
  11. May 1, 2011
    80
    RIFT is a solid proposal and we have seen very few of them in the latest years. Its gameplay is typical but also has a lot of interesting and fun innovations.
  12. Apr 26, 2011
    90
    Rift has and offers more than we can expect from such a new online-RPG. The game has an amazing level of polish and reeks of pure quality. And even though we've seen all elements of the game before, studio Trion managed to give every one of them their own twist, what makes the whole larger than the sum of its parts.
  13. Apr 26, 2011
    80
    A great option for MMO players, especially those who liked WoW mechanics. But this is Rift's greatest mistake: being too similar to Blizzard's game.
  14. Apr 25, 2011
    75
    Great for players new to MMOs, veterans may want to look elsewhere (or wait a bit longer).
  15. Apr 25, 2011
    80
    Rift provides a unique, rewarding experience and proves to be a worthy alternative to some of the best MMOs available. However, there is plenty of more work to be done in the areas of end-game, PvP, and professions.
  16. Apr 24, 2011
    90
    For fans of WoW, Rift is a familiar yet refreshing new adventure, and Telara welcomes anyone even a little fed up with Azeroth.
  17. Apr 18, 2011
    80
    Its main boasts - the soul subclasses and the dynamic content - are fantastic ideas that occasionally go clunk every now and then, but the core there is solid and makes the game feel worthwhile.
  18. Apr 14, 2011
    75
    Rift is a good game but also a perfect example of this problem – and here's to hoping that it either grows into an answer to that plight or a marker for the end of an era.
  19. Apr 12, 2011
    82
    Rift is a young game, so it's natural for it to exhibit some growing pains during these early months. Still, even amidst the relative flux of rapidly-changing classes and other early-game kinks, the experience feels remarkably complete and cohesive.
  20. Apr 11, 2011
    90
    Rift is a true polished gem shining upon the MMO scene and I don't see that light dimming anytime soon. This is truly a must buy for any MMO fans.
  21. Apr 6, 2011
    70
    Rift is probably the most stable and solid MMO ever to launch, and includes most of the functions you've grown accustomed to during the evolution of World of Warcraft. It's polished, has a lot of content and rich lore, but yet doesn't manage to feel unique or for lack of a better term, good.
  22. Apr 5, 2011
    80
    All in all, Rift is the first real alternative to the best theme park MMORPGs on the market, WoW and LotRO. And this is without any doubt, a good thing!
  23. Mar 31, 2011
    90
    A technically solid and entertaining MMO that offers some interesting new features while emulating a number of the mechanics millions of players are familiar with and enjoy. I am cautiously optimistic for the future of Rift.
  24. Mar 29, 2011
    80
    If you are a fan of the genre and you're looking for a new world ready to be explored, then Rift will not disappoint you.
  25. Mar 29, 2011
    83
    Whether or not the end game content manages to keep my attention remains to be seen, but so far this is easily the most polished MMO I've ever played within a month of launch, and I can easily see myself re-subscribing to it next month.
  26. Mar 28, 2011
    83
    While Rift still has some things to iron out in terms of balance, bugs and lag, that's par for the course for any new MMO and since launch, the Rift team has been actively talking to the community and addressing their concerns. Although many of the quests could use a heavier dose of originality, the game as a whole offers a large amount of interest and fun; so much in fact, it just might lure more than a few players away from that other MMO.
  27. Mar 28, 2011
    90
    Rift is a great online role-playing game that boasts with a beautiful, varied and light effects permeated world.
  28. Mar 27, 2011
    80
    If you're looking for something radically different in the MMORPG realm you won't find it in Rift, but you will find a quality game.
  29. Mar 25, 2011
    90
    What's really been most surprising to me is that the gaming experience as a whole is so fully developed for a startup MMO.
  30. Mar 25, 2011
    80
    RIFT is an interesting proposition, and its existence has to be acknowledged on a MMO map. But you need to remember that despite some novelties, this game offers a very classic approach to gameplay, so don't expect anything revolutionary.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 490 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 201
  1. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    Rift is an excellent first mmo for anyone and a nice relief for WoW veterans. the class system is creative and lets you make a ton of different combinations. the rifts are a nice touch and to tell you the truth i didnt think i would care much for them. the rifts add a sense of urgency and unity in the community and offer decent rewards. the graphics in and outside of rifts are just short of top notch. extremely tiny bits of lags but other than that no technical problems to speak of. I highly recommend this game to anyone who wants all the good of a traditional mmo with a twist for fun Full Review »
  2. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    I have been playing Rift since its head-start, and I must admit that I've had the best first week experience ever. Servers have been smooth. Updates were done when necessary, addressing issues reported as soon as possible. Leveling has been interesting, although traditional and linear. Graphics look great even on my old computer. Quite a lot of people are playing it, so no shortage of players. However, three things really stood out. First, the whole class system is truly a work of genius. I love how I can mix and match my souls to experiment with different specs. There is no cookie-cutter build, and the strength of a character is determined by the skills of a player, not by whether she or he avidly followed someone else's guideline. Two, there's always something to do in the game. The game is so dynamic, having rifts and invasions all over different zones, not to mention Warfronts (PvP Battleground), challenging instances, and raids (which I've not been able to try yet). You have the sense of actually getting involved in this imaginary world. Third, last but not least, it is fun. It's difficult to pinpoint and state exactly why it is fun, but, trust me, it is so much fun. The game definitely has great and lasting value for its price, so I suggest you run into Rift and try it out now. Full Review »
  3. Mar 1, 2011
    9
    Excellent and extremely diverse class system. The world isn't stale like you find in many other MMOs. I've routinely had a goal in mind and been pulled into the world events. I am a casual player and I like it a lot more than WoW. I always hate to make that comparison, but it needs to be made. The only downside I can specify right now is that the server gets laggy during larger events. However, I suppose this will be refined as this game develops. There are a lot of people playing which is a plus and most seem to really like the game. I'd also like to state that the game seems to be quite a bit more challenging on the PvE side of the fence which I personally like. Overall this game is quite impressive. A must buy for any MMO fan. Full Review »