Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    82
    Rise of the Triad is a faithful tribute to both the original game and to the FPS games of the nineties in general. Hopefully the technical issues will be patched out soon, though. [Nov 2013]
  2. Oct 31, 2013
    40
    The soundtrack is the only good thing in the new Rise of the Triad.
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    70
    Despite its constant punishment and inherently derivative nature, it stands apart from its modern-day competitors. Its appeal and its absurdity are one and the same.
  4. 60
    A retro thing by every bit of it. Even though it won't save the game industry, it manages to entertain flat and plain, and it remembers how shooters used to look like many years before. [Issue#233]
  5. Sep 4, 2013
    80
    It may be a little buggy and unbalanced, but Rise of the Triad is a gleefully stupid and hugely entertaining retro shoot 'em up. [Oct 2013, p.62]
  6. Aug 30, 2013
    80
    Right now, Rise of the Triad is a thrilling, fast-paced return to the sensibilities of '90s shooters, and is well worth dropping 15 bucks on; in the future, with new content, mod support and rebalanced online play patched in, it has the potential to be even better, and it bodes well for future remake projects Interceptor has its eye on.
  7. Aug 28, 2013
    60
    When Rise of the Triad is just a shooter, it’s a great shooter. Unfortunately it also tries to be a first-person platformer and these segments are awful. [CD-Action 10/2013, p.64]
  8. Aug 28, 2013
    40
    This aged hard action liquor will pull your feet out of your shoes and even your socks. However, walking on broken pieces of gameplay that offers many flaws and frustration causes a bit more stinging than it once did.
  9. Aug 27, 2013
    90
    This is the first-person shooter distilled, a tribute to PC gaming's glorious days of yore. You need to play it. [Sept 2013, p.88]
  10. Aug 20, 2013
    75
    Even though Rise of the Triad is a buggy experience that’s slowly getting fixed with each subsequent patch, it still stands as one of the best examples of a classic title being given a facelift for the modern age.
  11. Aug 19, 2013
    70
    Where the modern FPS has become bloated with features and alternate gameplay styles, this is focused on delivering a simple experience that’s true to its origins.
  12. 70
    A blast from the past, a type of shooter that just isn't made these days. Ridiculously fast, absurdly gory and deliberately silly. Certainly not for everyone, and the online play still needs some work, but if you're in any way tempted by this game, you should go right out and buy it.
  13. Aug 13, 2013
    50
    Buggy and unfinished.
  14. Aug 12, 2013
    70
    I can’t fault what Interceptor Entertainment have created with Rise of the Triad. They’ve accomplished what they set out to do – bring a faithful remake of a very old first-person shooter that hasn’t sacrificed it’s soul for modern gaming. Any gamer who loved the classic shooters of the 90′s will have a blast with it.
  15. Aug 12, 2013
    80
    ROTT might not a the game that you will play for ever. It might not even be a game you will finish. But it will make you forget about your mortgage, your job, or your fear of missing out. For one or two fleeting hours, you’ll be a kid again, and that selfish pleasure is worth it.
  16. Aug 12, 2013
    74
    Everything that you loved and hated about the 1994 original—ludicrous gibs, explosives, boss fights, and first-person platforming.
  17. Aug 8, 2013
    65
    A fast, brutal and extremely old-school shooter with a considerable amount of flaws. I wanted to delete the game on more than one occasion - it has lots of technical issues, horrendous optimization and some irritating gameplay solutions. But all in all I had fun, and kept playing - not just because of the review. Rise of the Triad is pretty cool, but you need to accept it for what it is.
  18. Aug 7, 2013
    75
    Rise of the Triad is back as a faithful tribute and this means that it's funny like the original but it's also old like the original.
  19. Aug 7, 2013
    54
    I like old school action. But this shooting gallery doesn’t deliver.
  20. Aug 7, 2013
    62
    Rise of the Triad has its heart in the right place. How often does a game give you six different rocket launchers? But goofiness doesn't remedy the multitude of bugs. Hopefully Interceptor will address these issues, but right now, Rise of the Triad is less of a triumphant comeback and more of a fun diversion.
  21. Aug 7, 2013
    78
    A "blast from the past" not everyone will enjoy, but that certainly has a lot of fun to give to those looking for a classic action game.
  22. Aug 6, 2013
    70
    Rise of the Triad will never be confused for a great FPS, but it’s pure popcorn fun from beginning to end.
  23. Aug 6, 2013
    74
    Priced on release day at only $15, this game is a worthy, if flawed, tribute to the 90’s PC gamer that can be enjoyed by the old-school and new-school alike.
  24. Aug 6, 2013
    43
    It’s a relic from the early age of shooters that, while authentic, is so entrenched in outdated design and mechanics that it’s more frustrating than it is fun.
  25. 50
    A fun reminder of how first person shooters used to be, but the opportunity to marry the best of the old and the new has been studiously avoided.
  26. Aug 3, 2013
    65
    This remake operation by Interceptor and Apogee contains many flaws that undermine its overall success; autosaves are too infrequent, frustrating platform sections, as well as a game formula that is so naive and "harmless" (splatter included) that will hardly find proselytes out of the retrogamers circle.
  27. Aug 2, 2013
    80
    An unsubtle, explosive idiot of a game, that's actually far smarter for knowing it's so stupid. Lovely labyrinthine levels, huge guns and even huger guts, it's a bit of a corker.
  28. 70
    Rise of the Triad can stand on its own legs if you take it for what it is, which is a throwback to an era of shooters long gone.
  29. Aug 2, 2013
    85
    At $14.99 it is perfect for gamers that cut their FPS teeth on games like the original and others like it. Interceptor has done an amazing job at recreating one of my fondest memories of PC gaming.
  30. Aug 1, 2013
    55
    While the $15 asking price makes ROTT's flaws more palatable, the sadistic single-player level design, the optimization problems and bugs, and the limited multiplayer content are major turnoffs.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 213 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 72
  2. Negative: 25 out of 72
  1. Aug 2, 2013
    0
    The devs promised a patch to fix the performance... 1.0.1 was patched to remove the developer debug commands (yes) and getting LAN (a sellingThe devs promised a patch to fix the performance... 1.0.1 was patched to remove the developer debug commands (yes) and getting LAN (a selling point, according to them) to actually work. This is what we get for forking out our money. Now they are saying it might be another 5 weeks to patch it in. Sorry, but I'm not going to waste my time with your piss poor game. Don't lie to us and tell us the game runs 120fps, dont lie and say you can make your own weapons, don't lie and say weapon fov can be adjusted, don't lie and say your first patch will fix our major problems, when all you did was remove the debug commands. I mean REALLY? they claimed to be optimising the game and polishing it for months, this is the result of all their hard work? Boy, I can't wait to see what they have left in store! /sarcasm Even one of the developers commented on forum 'WE'RE SORRY GUYS, WE THOUGHT YOU WOULD LOVE IT!" meaning this is their best work. Nope, cash grab, cash grab, cash grab. You have my money, you're probably laughing, but I hope you choke on it, because I'm never buying one of your games ever again. Even if it's free, I don't want your stinking trash on my computer. Game died in 1 day, not even 500 people playing compared to 2000 on day one. R.I.P. ROTT IN PIECES. OH THE PUNS Full Review »
  2. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    Launch day Video issues are a common thing now a days...My 6990 has a few problems getting 60...But turning off a few things and it worksLaunch day Video issues are a common thing now a days...My 6990 has a few problems getting 60...But turning off a few things and it works great. This Game is nuts! AND the first game i think since 2002 to have DIRECT IP CONNECTION FOR MP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AWESOME. WHen you log in (Gog and steam MP servers for all) It says welcome to the master race! Full Review »
  3. Aug 1, 2013
    0
    People giving this game a 10/10 are either paid stooges or out of their minds. This game has so many faults it would take all day to list. ThePeople giving this game a 10/10 are either paid stooges or out of their minds. This game has so many faults it would take all day to list. The controls are sloppy, the graphics are outdated by a decade, the levels are small and uninspired, the movement speed is absurd, the auto-save is broken, the A.I. is stupid, and those are just the things that are working as intended. There are also a multitude of bugs causing graphic glitches, clipping, frame rate drops, and downright crashes. Yes, it is a bargain bin $15 title, but that is no excuse for releasing a piece of software that clearly still belongs in alpha testing. I gave this 2/10 only out of nostalgia, and it's a shame because this classic franchise deserved a better developer. Full Review »