Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rocksmith 2014 Edition lets players plug in any electric guitar or bass directly into your system and begin learning guitar with the Rocksmith Method.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 7, 2013
    100
    What you get out of Rocksmith 2014 depends heavily on how you treat it. It's important to realise that it is not a complete learning program but rather the ultimate practice tool and is best used to supplement other learning avenues, be they YouTube videos, books, or classes with a tutor.
  2. Nov 8, 2013
    95
    By itself, as just a game for someone that has no interest in learning guitar, it’s probably no more or less engaging than past rhythm games, but for those who dream of shredding, I can’t think of a better starting point.
  3. Dec 5, 2013
    91
    Rocksmith 2014 is not just a fun game for guitar players, but the best way to learn how to play guitar or improve your technique. [Jan 2014, p.68]
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    90
    Whether you’re a fretboard virgin or a would be virtuoso, Rocksmith 2014 deserves a place in your daily practice routine.
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    88
    At its core, Rocksmith is a franchise that is very much geared toward weaning players off plastic guitars and on to ones made of wood and metal. Rocksmith 2014 is an excellent evolution on that set of ideals.
  6. Dec 25, 2013
    84
    Rocksmith doesn't make learning the guitar easier. It does, however, make it more fun. [Jan 2014, p.85]
  7. Oct 24, 2013
    80
    A few technical problems mar what is otherwise a mix between a fantastic rhythm-action game and a fantastic method of learning an instrument.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 30
  2. Negative: 7 out of 30
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    Like its predecessor, it managed to keep me glued to my seat, guitar in hand, and rocking along. It's pretty much the same as the original, though they added some new minigames, a few more options for learning songs, missions, and a cool feature called 'Session Mode' where you can select any instruments to include in your band and while you play along, the AI instruments play along with you depending on your tempo, rhythm and tone. It has a decent setlist at the moment, but I'm sure it'll get even better with more DLC to come on the way. 10/10 Expand
  2. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    When playing this game the guitar went so far up my arse i thought i could see hong kong. King kong would approve this. I had a great experience. best game ever. Also i love the added football mechanics, the ball floating into the net had superb quality. Finally all rockstars suck apart from me as i can play 2 notes in 10 seconds on a REAL guitar. Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    I have to give this a solid 10++. and for many reasons... first and foremost YOU WILL LEARN GUITAR. and in less than I year I went from clueless to playing in garage band. and it was 100% Rocksmith that got me there. I also send my daughter to private lessons and can tell you that she may know more about the theory and reading music but Rocksmith keeps her interested as a side practice after she finished her formal lesson homework... it helps her greatly with coordination and being able to quickly change chord positions. And while I plan to continue lessons for a while more for her. I have spend nearly $2000 in private lessons and when you compare that expense to a $59 Rocksmith how do you give this any less then 9 stars? Learning guitar takes years and THOUSANDS of hours of practice... people that don't think this delivers are just not willing to invest the time and work hard for it. And here's the deal, they took the first version and made improvements based on player feedback, what more can you ask for, and for only $10 they let you transfer your music with upgraded features in each song. you get 50+ songs per game and they have somewhere around 200 songs in total you can get and they now committed to weekly content updates.

    Also the requirements on the PC are pretty light, if you have having issues or performance problems, you must have a really old crappy virus infected PC... I have a 5 year old Lenovo laptop that runs this game perfectly with zero lag.

    Finally, you can't call this a game.. it's an educational/training software program... they could have just as easily charged $499 and sold it in Guitar Center and it would have flow off the shelf.
    Expand
  4. Oct 31, 2013
    9
    I agree with most reviews, Rocksmith 2014 does improve a lot. It's now even more an educational game instead of just a guitar hero clone.

    But sadly with Rocksmith 2014 I need to mention one negative point. Which is the music selection. Yes, this is very subjectively but for me there are only like 5 out of 50+ Songs I really enjoy to play. The last Rocksmith had, at least for me, a better more joyful song list to play.

    My advice: look the song list up and decide for yourself if those 50+ songs are worth the money.
    Expand
  5. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    more of a tool then a game (cliche like a f***) but am giving it 9/10 from the only reason and that reason is critical, game about guitars and no Jimmy Hendrix, W.T.F. is this seriously Expand
  6. Dec 24, 2013
    8
    This is a great game that's targeted toward beginner guitarists, as well experienced. It's a lot of fun combined with extensive practice on guitar. Whether novice or master, Rocksmith 2014 will help you become a better guitarist while also having a great video game experience. Though it does have a few technical problems that are by no means game breaking, but slightly bothersome. They aren't very apparent, as I'm being nit picky. You cannot go wrong with purchasing Rocksmith 2014 if you're at all interested in learning to play guitar or already play. Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2014
    0
    Game ran once then said my key was already used. Was unable to return it or get it fixed. Took several days for each response to my support requests. Most expensive 20 minutes of gameplay I have ever paid for in my life. Will never buy another UBI soft product again. Steam needs to warn users if they are buying something with multiple layers of buggy copy protection included. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews