• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Oct 15, 2002
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. There's not enough new content here to justify a standalone release.
  2. The game hasn't changed much in three years, so the graphics are starting to show their age and players cannot "ride" their creations.
  3. A pretty good game in its own right, if you try to forget that it’s pig-ugly and meant to be a sequel.
  4. The colors look relatively poor, and the camera still cannot be moved in 3D; this is one of the worst flaws of the game as it actually affects gameplay.
  5. If this were a movie, it would be the same plot with perhaps an extra character or an added fifteen minutes thrown in.
  6. 80
    Just realize that when you go out and buy this game that you shouldn't expect a new game. You should expect to see a game that looks and plays like it was made 3 1/2 years ago.
  7. Fans should definitely indulge but more frugal souls who choose to meet Monica for the first time via a budget copy of the original game are certainly no fools.
  8. Doesn't really feel like a sequel to the great, addictive game that reached shelves more than three years ago. In fact, it feels more like yet another expansion to the title.
  9. You'll probably have a hard time believing that you waited so long for what the sequel has to offer: the same old graphics, the same old rides, and the same old objectives.
  10. It’s not easy to learn and it looks about as pretty as a doggy chew toy. If you’re a sim freak, you’ll love it.
  11. It’s exactly the same effing game!
  12. 60
    The scenario editor and coaster designer are nice, but don't expect an experience that looks or feels at all different from the first game because you won't find it here.
  13. If at first you succeed, don't change a thing. That could be the motto of Chris Sawyer's RollerCoaster Tycoon 2, a sequel that is essentially the exact same game as its predecessor.
  14. True tycoons out there needn't waste their money. You've been on this ride before.
  15. Gives new meaning to depth. [Dec 2002, p.149]
  16. Fans of the original won't find much more here to interest them, but hopefully, like with me, it'll relight the flame and at least spark up their interest in the game itself once again.
  17. Long story short, if you own the first RCT and its two expansions, then you already own about 80 percent of RCT 2. [Holiday 2002, p.97]
  18. The most detailed and elaborate simulation of its type, a game whose sheer scope makes it compelling even if it hasn't changed much over the years. [Jan 2003, p.76]
  19. A good game, if not ground-breaking like the original. [Jan 2003, p.108]
  20. RCT2 is going to disappoint fans, like myself, that wanted to take this game to the next level.
  21. There's nothing breakthough, but RCT fans should shriek with pleasure. [1 Nov 2002, p.77]
  22. 75
    A pretty fun game, but it essentially ends ujp being more of the same. [Jan 2003, p.67]
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 43
  2. Negative: 4 out of 43
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    One of the five games I'm ever going to give a 10. This game has infinite replay value along with a great community for creations. I stillOne of the five games I'm ever going to give a 10. This game has infinite replay value along with a great community for creations. I still play this game weekly at the least. Full Review »
  2. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Rollercoaster Tycoon 2 isn't a sequel, but more or less an upgrade of its 1999 predecessor, including additional rides and shops, Six FlagsRollercoaster Tycoon 2 isn't a sequel, but more or less an upgrade of its 1999 predecessor, including additional rides and shops, Six Flags amusement park layouts, and even the ability to create your own Six Flags amusement park. For RCT and Chris Sawyer fans, RCT 2 should be an essential part of your collection. However, if you were disappointed with the first game and want refreshing gameplay, you're looking in the wrong area. Pros: For its time, RCT 2 had excellent mechanics and an original design in comparison with other PC games; additional content including rides, shops, etc.; the ability to customize or create your own Six Flags amusement park adds to the game's addictive quality; as said in the previous, very addictive. Cons: Minor bugs; virtually no refreshing content; lacks features fans asked for in the previous game. Full Review »
  3. EganA.
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    I remember playing the first RCT when i was very young. It was one of my favorite games to play. RCT 2 took one of the best games of all I remember playing the first RCT when i was very young. It was one of my favorite games to play. RCT 2 took one of the best games of all time, and made it even better! It added new rides, better animations, etc. With the exception of RCT 3, i loved all of the Roller Coaster Tycoon games. Full Review »