RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 PC

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 335 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JillM.
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    Riding the rides is soooo cool!!
  2. GabeW.
    Nov 5, 2004
    10
    Best game of the series so far - Game of the Year!
  3. MattD.
    Feb 21, 2005
    10
    If you have a custom computer like mine with the top tech it is really fun, but for all you people that don't have a lot of money then it won't run as well so I'd wait for a new computer before getting this game.
  4. MichaelS.
    Apr 10, 2005
    10
    Great game!! I love this game so much. There are some great graphics and feature in this game.
  5. MikeR.
    Jan 27, 2007
    10
    This is a MUST HAVE! You can create rollercoaster, billboards, fireworks, laser shows, and even your own shop! Any tycoon lover should get off of their computer right now, and run to the nearest store that has this game! I only have one bug, and that's that you cannot exit! I've pressed quit game, but it just stays there, and there's no way to close it. This may just be my This is a MUST HAVE! You can create rollercoaster, billboards, fireworks, laser shows, and even your own shop! Any tycoon lover should get off of their computer right now, and run to the nearest store that has this game! I only have one bug, and that's that you cannot exit! I've pressed quit game, but it just stays there, and there's no way to close it. This may just be my computer. Expand
  6. MichaelB.
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    I love riding my coasters!
  7. MarkF.
    Dec 30, 2004
    9
    After installing the new 10mb patch, I found the overall experience of this game to have seemless handling with strong and insightful tutorials. It may help to have included sample developed parks to try out the new riding features for those newcomers wishing to "dive in" (if they are included, they are very hard to locate). The potential for future improvements for Roller Coaster Tycoon After installing the new 10mb patch, I found the overall experience of this game to have seemless handling with strong and insightful tutorials. It may help to have included sample developed parks to try out the new riding features for those newcomers wishing to "dive in" (if they are included, they are very hard to locate). The potential for future improvements for Roller Coaster Tycoon 4 seem set based on this games new and exciting features! Expand
  8. BlakeT.
    Jan 30, 2005
    9
    Perfect fun! Disregard all the old reviews posted when the game came out. In November of 2004, it was full of bugs. By January of 2005, all the problems were solved in the second patch. The game is awesome. Aside from the standard micro-management aspect, you can ride any ride yourself. Also, there is an amazing "sandbox" mode where you create the ultimate park with no real-world concerns Perfect fun! Disregard all the old reviews posted when the game came out. In November of 2004, it was full of bugs. By January of 2005, all the problems were solved in the second patch. The game is awesome. Aside from the standard micro-management aspect, you can ride any ride yourself. Also, there is an amazing "sandbox" mode where you create the ultimate park with no real-world concerns dragging you down. Much better than RC2 in every way and includes a great tutorial mode. Expand
  9. LukeK.
    Feb 13, 2005
    10
    It is the greatest game ever!!!!!!! The only thing I dont like about it is that you can not drop people into the water.
  10. ArshamJ.
    Jul 16, 2005
    9
    It's a wonderful game at a very good price.It is way better then the other rollercoastertyconn expansion packs! I hope there will be a fourth game to this!
  11. ZackN.
    Apr 3, 2007
    8
    I am a fan of the roller coaster tycoon franchise and i think this is a worthy adition to the bunch, but..... The game has a few problems........ Ill list a few pro's and con's........ PRO's #1 The career mode parks are verry nice and well designed #2 The addition of the fireworks mix master #3 the addition of the "Coaster Cam" (tm) #4 The addition of the day/night I am a fan of the roller coaster tycoon franchise and i think this is a worthy adition to the bunch, but..... The game has a few problems........ Ill list a few pro's and con's........ PRO's #1 The career mode parks are verry nice and well designed #2 The addition of the fireworks mix master #3 the addition of the "Coaster Cam" (tm) #4 The addition of the day/night transition #5 The stunning 3D graphics of the water, sky, and Fireworks CON's #1 if your system doesn't have a 128 MB ATI RADEON (tm) with hardware T&L You cant see the water #2 The Career missions are repeditive #3 peeps spend more time wandering through your park then riding rids and other atractions #4 Because of the above con it is harder to make money from your rides Over all ill give it a 8/10 for the stunning graphics and new features. Expand
  12. KatieM.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    This is the greatest game i have i have all hp games and i think rollercoaster toyccon 3 is thwe best game EVER! But it depens if you take good care of it and sure it has a couple of bugs but you can make your own familys dress them name them and they come to your park also you can play with peeps i mean littalery play with them make a half roller coaster and then the peeps fly and fall This is the greatest game i have i have all hp games and i think rollercoaster toyccon 3 is thwe best game EVER! But it depens if you take good care of it and sure it has a couple of bugs but you can make your own familys dress them name them and they come to your park also you can play with peeps i mean littalery play with them make a half roller coaster and then the peeps fly and fall but its mostly ride i mean the grafics are asomme!! Expand
  13. IanS.
    Mar 15, 2008
    9
    RCT has been a really awesome series for me, so much customizability included in a little package. I can't say anything specifically for the Platinum edition, as I bought RCT 3 and the 2 expansion packs before I had even heard of the versions that wre the game and the expansion pack combined. There's just something so entertaining about making an awesome rollercoaster and lettingRCT has been a really awesome series for me, so much customizability included in a little package. I can't say anything specifically for the Platinum edition, as I bought RCT 3 and the 2 expansion packs before I had even heard of the versions that wre the game and the expansion pack combined. There's just something so entertaining about making an awesome rollercoaster and letting your guests ride it. Expand
  14. B
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    with the soaked and wild expansion packs this game is awesome! pretty much everything is customizable by you and in a fun and interesting way too not a boring 'oh i have to do this and repeat it 1000 times' way - theres just so much cool stuff - same feel as RCT2 but awesomer! :D
  15. AndyE
    Sep 30, 2008
    9
    RCT3 is an exceptional game, and if you have a computer up to the task, the sky's not the limit, it's your imagination. While it is demanding in PC Specs to the casual PC gamer, the results if you have a great system is beyond extraordinary. The graphics are great for its time, which is part of why a good computer is needed. Guest AI has been probably quadrupled from RCT3 is an exceptional game, and if you have a computer up to the task, the sky's not the limit, it's your imagination. While it is demanding in PC Specs to the casual PC gamer, the results if you have a great system is beyond extraordinary. The graphics are great for its time, which is part of why a good computer is needed. Guest AI has been probably quadrupled from RollerCoaster Tycoon 2 and tenfold from the original, so you don't have to deal with moron guests. The CoasterCam is a great feature with one shortcoming however: the transitions in the track are very rough so sometimes a ride can be painful to watch. The Career mode was too easy however, as I beat it within two days. The Sandbox mode will more than make up for it though, as you can build your dream park, or just turn the place into a bowling alley with your guests as the pins and roller coaster trains as the ball. I am never bored with RCT3, and if you have a good video card (For me, 256MB ATI Radeon X1300 Pro), you should be able to play the game through and get beautiful parks out of it. Expand
  16. MarcelB
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    Now really this is the best game ever... so addictive and so fun. I played this for 5 years and i didnt get bored. Now i stopped because i fucking lost the CD. The best part is trying to make the most brutal rides where you die (but you need cheats for that) that you go to unlimeted hight and drop down to an unlimited deepness... I wish i could still play and i think im going to get this Now really this is the best game ever... so addictive and so fun. I played this for 5 years and i didnt get bored. Now i stopped because i fucking lost the CD. The best part is trying to make the most brutal rides where you die (but you need cheats for that) that you go to unlimeted hight and drop down to an unlimited deepness... I wish i could still play and i think im going to get this for cristmas. Expand
  17. SarahK.
    Feb 21, 2009
    9
    I thought Roller Coaster Tycoon 3 was excellent. The people at Atari definitely did the right thing when they added Coaster Cam and Sandbox Mode, which are my two favorite features in the game. I love Coaster Cam because I sometimes realize that, when I am "riding" a coaster that's going straight down, my stomach will lurch! I also like the Sandbox Mode because, first of all, it I thought Roller Coaster Tycoon 3 was excellent. The people at Atari definitely did the right thing when they added Coaster Cam and Sandbox Mode, which are my two favorite features in the game. I love Coaster Cam because I sometimes realize that, when I am "riding" a coaster that's going straight down, my stomach will lurch! I also like the Sandbox Mode because, first of all, it combines all the features of the expansion pack. A.k.a. you do not have to select just Soaked or just Wild. You can use all of them. I also like Sandbox mode because you can build unlimitedly, without any restraints. The graphics are amazing, and I love the fact that I can build waterfalls (I also love the fact that I can throw park guests into the water and they'll go down a waterfall!!!) RCT3 is an amazingly crazy game, but I found it to have one con: when building coasters, the pictographic icons confused me. It was difficult to figure out what they meant because they were very indirect and vague. Expand
  18. LeoD
    Apr 21, 2009
    10
    One of the best games I have on my PC. If I ever have a spare moment in my day, I'll pop on RCT3, as it is endless fun. There is more fun in designing a custom scenario with custom tunes than there is in 90% of games out on the market! Bring on rollercoaster tycoon 4 damn it!
  19. JohnT.
    Dec 8, 2004
    9
    This game is awesome, but it has a few flaws. Main point was the 3d card u hafta buy with it. It costs about 200$, so u end up spendin a hell of alot of money juss for a game. The graphics r awesome but a couple of bugs. Riding the rides are pretty kewl. Besides the chip and the bugs, overall good game.
  20. JamesM.
    Jun 13, 2005
    9
    This version of the game is a quantum leap beyond RCT2... the graphics, the ability to ride your own rides, the water effects, everything works together to make it a much more immersive environment. There are a few things I'd like to see but don't (or haven't found yet) -- no tunneling, for example, which I used extensively in RCT2. There are a few missing niceties from the This version of the game is a quantum leap beyond RCT2... the graphics, the ability to ride your own rides, the water effects, everything works together to make it a much more immersive environment. There are a few things I'd like to see but don't (or haven't found yet) -- no tunneling, for example, which I used extensively in RCT2. There are a few missing niceties from the previous version -- being able to raise land, build on it, then lower it again to automatically create "stilts" for shops and buildings, a little more awkward behavior from the pathbuilder than I remember, but overall it's just stunning. There is only one game that I have actually become addicted to, and this is it! Be sure to run it on a powerful PC with a fair amount of memory -- it's a little picky about video cards/chips. I'd recommend it to anyone who likes the "build your own world" model of gaming. Expand
  21. TraceyA.
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    BRILLIANT! Don't be fooled by the cover name`s appeal to children, definitely a classic in the making for all ages! I love it.
  22. JoelG.
    Nov 15, 2005
    9
    Probably one of the most enjoyable design games I have ever played, the hours just disappear. Just building the coasters is so much fun.
  23. anthonyd
    Dec 23, 2009
    8
    i think it is about time we get 3D and "coaster cam" however, the game is missing features from past games (such as the ability to build underground*) also i don't like how a path has to be built in order to get people to walk on it. (in a real park, there is a huge area of concrete and rides are placed on top of it) i like how we can build buildings and mountains. a nice feature is i think it is about time we get 3D and "coaster cam" however, the game is missing features from past games (such as the ability to build underground*) also i don't like how a path has to be built in order to get people to walk on it. (in a real park, there is a huge area of concrete and rides are placed on top of it) i like how we can build buildings and mountains. a nice feature is peep editor, which allows you to make yourself and they will visit your park. i don't like how the rides sound, as they are unrealistic (they are in rct1) *fixed in soaked Expand
  24. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    This game was SO good. Maybe the best of the series and even better with each expansion. I hope that Atarai give the license of this game to frontier to make more of this!!
  25. Oct 31, 2011
    9
    I find this game very funny and the graphics are not that bad, what is really not that great is the performance that the game has after you have 1000 peeps in your park. Anyways, It's cool to watch the rides and the peeps falling off them, falling off stairs, etc... Epic game! (Graphics: 7; Gameplay: 10; Performance: 8; Buildings: 10; Views: 9; Entertainment: 10; Overall: 88,5 ~ 9)
  26. Sep 5, 2012
    8
    I have put a serious amount of time in both this game and RCT2. I can firmly say that both games are tremendously fun and addicting, but I think they could have taken 3 even further. RC3 has updated graphics, but it would have been amazing to see a more "serious" and "realistic" look rather than the "cartoonish" environment. I do thoroughly enjoy the "on ride" first person camera view, itI have put a serious amount of time in both this game and RCT2. I can firmly say that both games are tremendously fun and addicting, but I think they could have taken 3 even further. RC3 has updated graphics, but it would have been amazing to see a more "serious" and "realistic" look rather than the "cartoonish" environment. I do thoroughly enjoy the "on ride" first person camera view, it makes you able to experience your park first hand. The rides overall are pretty cool but again I would have liked to see a more realistic detail. What RC3 did get right was the mechanics. They are terrific, taking ideas from RC2 and making them even better. Budgeting is as fun and challenging as ever, and some scenarios worth exploring. I do enjoy RC3, there is also loads of content available online including fully made parks. I do have a little more love overall for RC2, only due to the originality and extreme customization and modding. I would absolutely love to see another Rollercoaster Tycoon, they are truly fun and addicting, and better yet if it had a more "serious" and "realistic" design it could be my favorite game ever. Expand
  27. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    How can you not enjoy a game where you kill thousands of people with a single roller coaster? NO ONE HAHHAAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHALOLOLOAHAHAHHAHAH
  28. Mar 11, 2013
    8
    Although the lanscaping is much better and there's lots of CS to find and use, this series didn't make nearly as smooth of a transition from 2.5D to 3D than it could have because they wanted RCT2/1 tracks to work in this game too. It hinders the gameplay, but the graphics, scenerio system, community, and customization have all been improved. Nevertheless, the first two games didn't reallyAlthough the lanscaping is much better and there's lots of CS to find and use, this series didn't make nearly as smooth of a transition from 2.5D to 3D than it could have because they wanted RCT2/1 tracks to work in this game too. It hinders the gameplay, but the graphics, scenerio system, community, and customization have all been improved. Nevertheless, the first two games didn't really need these improvements, so it only gets an 8, whereas RCT2 got a 10 from me. Expand
  29. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    Now this is what I call a real masterpiece. I know the game came out years ago but no doubt it is still currently (for me) the best game in the world where I can truly expand my imagination without boundaries. I could play this for years and still not run out of ideas. It's been 9 years already and I really wonder why the franchise is still not continuing. Seriously Atari, why stop on suchNow this is what I call a real masterpiece. I know the game came out years ago but no doubt it is still currently (for me) the best game in the world where I can truly expand my imagination without boundaries. I could play this for years and still not run out of ideas. It's been 9 years already and I really wonder why the franchise is still not continuing. Seriously Atari, why stop on such a successful product? Expand
  30. Dec 20, 2013
    9
    This is one of those games that pull out of your closet that you never even realize you still had. While the game is definitely more than a little dated now, the amount of customization and the replay value make this so much fun to play time and time again. The only problem I ever had with the game was when I went to install the Soaked! expansion pack, it kept crashing my computer when IThis is one of those games that pull out of your closet that you never even realize you still had. While the game is definitely more than a little dated now, the amount of customization and the replay value make this so much fun to play time and time again. The only problem I ever had with the game was when I went to install the Soaked! expansion pack, it kept crashing my computer when I tried to load it, and when I finally did manage to get it to work it wasn't really worth it. Honestly the base game itself makes this whole experience worthwhile. Expand
  31. May 16, 2014
    8
    Atari buying the RollerCoaster Tycoon franchise has been its grandest downfall since the glory days under Chris Sawyer's ownership, especially when the company makes you wait more than a decade for a sequel, only to be overwhelmingly disappointed. But in 2004 and with the release of RollerCoaster Tycoon 3, everyone saw potential, especially after how surprisingly well it transitioned intoAtari buying the RollerCoaster Tycoon franchise has been its grandest downfall since the glory days under Chris Sawyer's ownership, especially when the company makes you wait more than a decade for a sequel, only to be overwhelmingly disappointed. But in 2004 and with the release of RollerCoaster Tycoon 3, everyone saw potential, especially after how surprisingly well it transitioned into the world of 3D graphics. But despite having a number of bugs that take more than one hand to count, RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 was an excellent entry for a game that's significantly unequal to its older siblings.

    Pros: Excellent new features, such as a sandbox mode that allows accessibility to casual players; excellent creative modes; variety of coasters, rides, shops, and scenery to build, not including its expansion packs; charming -- and surprisingly comical -- sense of humor; the 3D graphics are overall pleasant to look at; 10 years later, it's still an addictive and enjoyable experience for a wide variety of players.

    Cons: The cost of transitioning RollerCoaster Tycoon into the 3D realm is the buggy mechanics, extensive loading screens, and frequent slow downs or freeze ups; in sacrificing itself by distancing the franchise from Chris Sawyer and the Six Flags brand makes for an indescribable lack of charisma in comparison to the superior predecessors; hasn't aged QUITE as well as its predecessors have, despite having some significant improvements.
    Expand
  32. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    the most idiotic people on earth are the 10 haters!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! this game is creative, but if you like torturing guests, this game is GREAT. but, i usually build.
  33. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    I bought this game on Steam for £20. I have never played the other two before this, but this game is terrific, almost perfect! I mean, it has it's fair share of glitches/bugs, but it's an old game! I got addicted easily! Yeah, the graphics are a bit poop, but what the hell! Worth buying if you have a lot of spare time!
  34. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    Anyone else came from Inside Gaming? LOL i bought this game after watching all the explosions, and i gotta say for such an old game it is pretty good, and fun!
  35. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    All I can say about this game is.....THIS IS BEST GAME EVER!!!!I played this game for 5 years,it never get boring.About the expansion packs,even it is not free but it is totally worth it!I bought all of the expansion packs it make RCT3 became best game I have ever played!
  36. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    The graphics is still impressive even though it is 2014. Extremely high replay value. Probably the best Construction and management simulator in the whole world. This is a true masterpiece, and this game deserves a REAL sequel but not a crappy iOS and 3DS sequel. The only bad point of the game is that it take a long time to load up last safe (Sandbox) but overall it is a perfect games
  37. Aug 3, 2015
    10
    Just simply one of the best games of all time. The sandbox mode, the modding community, the coaster POV, and the fact that another Roller Coaster Tycoon game is coming makes me still play this game almost every day.
  38. Oct 9, 2015
    10
    Outstanding sandbox amusement park game! The best game out there if you want to make your own theme park where your imagination is the limit. Do not listen to the other negative reviews. This game is far more interactive and entertaining than any other roller coaster game out there.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. 85
    This is an addictive game with a great playful and positive premise, something you don't usually find in games these days. I just wish the developers had been allowed a little more time to iron out the last few wrinkles.
  2. AceGamez
    90
    Every bit as addictive, creative and as easy to play as its predecessor but with new looks and additions bringing it bang up to date. And if the Coaster Cam alone doesn't convince you that this is a worthy purchase, then quite frankly nothing ever will!
  3. 60
    A surprising number of serious bugs damage what is otherwise a highly addictive game.