Saints Row 2 PC

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 366 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 81 out of 366
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 17, 2012
    2
    This game is a technical mess. You could even go as far as calling it broken. Add that the game feels like a lazy port at best. I mean some parts of the game doesn't even function properly on keyboard and mouse. It feels like absolutely no effort has been but in the port and quite frankly its embarrassing. And even if i ignore all those problems the game still manages to disappoint. TheThis game is a technical mess. You could even go as far as calling it broken. Add that the game feels like a lazy port at best. I mean some parts of the game doesn't even function properly on keyboard and mouse. It feels like absolutely no effort has been but in the port and quite frankly its embarrassing. And even if i ignore all those problems the game still manages to disappoint. The driving is ,bad which is unforgivable in a sandbox game such as this. The action feels dated and more similar to GTA: San Andreas than any newer sandbox games. It short it feels static, non-responsive and the AI is a mess that cant aim for **** I wont criticize the story too much since i didnt come to far into the game, but what i saw didn't impress me. No this game feels dated and unfinished even if you ignore all the the other problems which you clearly shouldn't, I heard that this game was supposed to be really good on consoles but sadly i haven't seen anything even resembling that when playing this game on pc. Stay away from this one. Expand
  2. JoeH
    Dec 30, 2009
    1
    Horribly ported over to the PC, all the menues still refer to a game pad (the 360 one by the looks of things....) and even the buttons on screen when changing weapons are the 360's! How lazy is that? they couldn't change it to an arrow? That is how the rest of the game plays. Cheap and nasty. Poorly optimized for the PC. Worst £10 I've spent in a long while!
  3. Feb 16, 2012
    2
    For the record, I give saints row 3 a high 8 out of 10. I think it's a fantastic game. On the other hand, I hate playing saints row 2 with a passion. It's sickly. It does not feel like I am playing a game. Remember big rigs, how you laugh at how something feels unatural - or you boot up some nintendo 64 game that nobody has heard of for good reason. Those games feel better mechanicallyFor the record, I give saints row 3 a high 8 out of 10. I think it's a fantastic game. On the other hand, I hate playing saints row 2 with a passion. It's sickly. It does not feel like I am playing a game. Remember big rigs, how you laugh at how something feels unatural - or you boot up some nintendo 64 game that nobody has heard of for good reason. Those games feel better mechanically (maybe not big rigs, I might have taken that too far) superior to this game. It also looks.... Sickly. And I don't actually use the word sickly that often in reviews. It's specific to this game. So you are expecting a 0 right? Sigh.. I guess not. Look... Saints row 3 would have never been what it is without saints row 2. Also, saints row 2 has some killer features. It had an inspiring co-op mode. Few games actually features that many open world moving parts when this was released. It kind of innovated. And the game is large. Large with content that is creative. Poorly controlling in most cases - but creative, and diverse. This game has a LOT of content. And when you actually dig into the story missions, there are some truly creative moments. However for me personally, none of this was worth the consistent pain of playing this. I also lower the score for the pc version. Nomatter what system you have (I personally have a 5.8ghz corei7 260 with a 6990), it will stutter to some extent. It's the least optimized game I have ever seen in my life. Bar none. -- To sum it up, saints row 2 has a 9 of potential, and a 0 of execution. It has a 9 of some side content, and a 0 for a lot of other side content, it has a 0 for graphics, and it makes me feel physically ill. I want to give it a 0 with everything I have. However this content, presented better, would possibly lead to a 9/10 game. So I'll give it a 1 for the sole purpose of 'what it could have been'. Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2010
    0
    Terrible driving views, it is way too jerky when cornering. I got this because I love the GTA, Mafia and Godfather stuff but this is awful. Weapon selection works by holding a key and pushing the mouse in a certain direction but getting those at 45 degrees can be a pain, but you can use the scroll wheel. I manage to solve some of the technical problems but still get a 50/50 chance of itTerrible driving views, it is way too jerky when cornering. I got this because I love the GTA, Mafia and Godfather stuff but this is awful. Weapon selection works by holding a key and pushing the mouse in a certain direction but getting those at 45 degrees can be a pain, but you can use the scroll wheel. I manage to solve some of the technical problems but still get a 50/50 chance of it crashing on startup. Terrible port to PC, might be better on a console but this has totally put me off wasting any more money on this series. Expand
  5. FrederickH.
    Jan 14, 2009
    0
    The game is practically unplayable on a PC exceeding the minimum requirements. Framerates are regularly below 8FPS for me.
  6. RickH.
    Jan 14, 2009
    0
    This game is completely unplayable. My brother and I got it, and neither of us can actually play this game. Hopefully Steam gives us a refund, or this is the last game we ever buy from there. Avoid this one like the plague unless you like gaming at 9 FPS.
  7. VictorT.
    Jan 29, 2009
    2
    What started as great expectations for a game that shined on consoles and the recent onset of GTA4 on the PC being a flop because of its technical (performance) issues ended in frustration when this turned out to be mired by technical issues even moreso than GTA4. What could have been a beautiful sandbox quickly reveals itself as an unplayable mess with horrible framerates (even at the What started as great expectations for a game that shined on consoles and the recent onset of GTA4 on the PC being a flop because of its technical (performance) issues ended in frustration when this turned out to be mired by technical issues even moreso than GTA4. What could have been a beautiful sandbox quickly reveals itself as an unplayable mess with horrible framerates (even at the lowest settings), lack of support for common screen resolutions and the ugly, longing reminders that this game is a very badly made port which was obviously rushed through. Expand
  8. JohnathonM.
    Jan 13, 2009
    0
    Unplayable. The game for some arbitrary reason believes it need higher system requirements than that of a computer which can smoothly play Fallout 3. And even if you do overcome that challenge all you have is TERRIBLE controls which would make any master race PC user cry themselves to sleep. Get it on the 360 or not at all.
  9. Sep 11, 2011
    0
    Terrible port. Shamefully terrible port. Volition employed the mentally-inept CD Projekt to port this to PC, who are known for their terrible experience when it comes to the PC (see The Witcher).
    It runs like crap and plays like crap. The controls are pretty poor for a PC game, and the handling when driving is a complete monstrosity. Multiplayer is a complete and utter joke.
    If you want
    Terrible port. Shamefully terrible port. Volition employed the mentally-inept CD Projekt to port this to PC, who are known for their terrible experience when it comes to the PC (see The Witcher).
    It runs like crap and plays like crap. The controls are pretty poor for a PC game, and the handling when driving is a complete monstrosity. Multiplayer is a complete and utter joke.

    If you want to enjoy this game, get it on a -- bleugh -- console. It's a fun game, it's just that CD Projekt completely ruined it, and Volition abandoned it. I refuse to purchase games from either developer from now on.
    Expand
  10. SteveB
    Nov 13, 2009
    0
    Horribly unoptimized for the PC. A good game, but a horrible port. :(
  11. MakrelVeilanof
    Sep 8, 2009
    1
    WHAT THE FUCK. That was what i said when i went in the city. Its.. unplayable unless they patch it, and i really mean PATCH it well or have a super-duper-futuristic-awesome computer of doom. Whatever i fucking wasted 50
  12. Jul 3, 2012
    2
    As everyone else has stated, this game and the people who made it, have rightly deserved the worst PC port to date, for ever, in history! Absolutely unplayable on a modern-day, gaming PC and lack of PC support, including 2 patches which fixed/solved almost nothing and no DLC (should be free if ever released but I doubt it as the people who made the PC version completely abandoned itAs everyone else has stated, this game and the people who made it, have rightly deserved the worst PC port to date, for ever, in history! Absolutely unplayable on a modern-day, gaming PC and lack of PC support, including 2 patches which fixed/solved almost nothing and no DLC (should be free if ever released but I doubt it as the people who made the PC version completely abandoned it immediately after creation and once they realized it was beyond fixing and provided no extra help to any of us). I decline to buy Saints Row 3 even if it is a little better as PC gamers were stabbed in the back severely this time and shows how much they cared. A game should have bugs, yes and some can't be patched but when a game cannot be played on a majority of systems without being stable, constant crashing, freezing and errors as well as lag it should be noted that this game is infamously world-wide known now as the most bug-ridden and infested game on the planet. Not even RPG's that weren't even patched have the same amount of problems. At least they're playable and the customer deserves a refund or at least an offer to fix/patch the game if it is beyond unplayable. The customer is always right and should be treated to a game which they can simultaneously enjoy and be able to play or get to the main menu at least... but don't worry if you buy it on the console you will get full support + DLC - which you have to pay for. So stay clear of this game if you only have a PC or don't even buy it if u have a console and show your support that games that are multi-platform should be treated with equal consideration and care on all platforms regardless of sales or liking. The 1st and 3rd Saints Rows are not bad but I haven't got the first, skipped it but now won't even try it regardless after playing 2 and all the hype, sure it was good for console just not at all cared for on PC or optimized well and shows how all the complaints were true. There are fan-made mods and the biggest one 'Gentlemen of the Row' fixes up some problems but still remains 80 % unplayable and I can only start a new game and then it starts freezing up, once past the 1st mission and on the mission screen or just at random. It also adds dlc for free by fans who care and extra additions. Some have reported its more playable but the majority of us are stuck between 60-90 % unplayable. Yes, Saints Row 3 does have DLC for the PC but for people who bought this game retail or on Steam should have them all free after what we were subjected to going through and trying to play this game to the end and stuck with the worst port ever. So, yes, buy it on Steam if you do intend to self-torture yourself as it's got the latest patch which no other medium through which you purchase online or retail has and makes the game at least another 20 % playable. There are 100's of fixes for the PC - I've tried them all, the but at least the game didn't promise to be something and then complete failure for the PC crowd especially with dedicated servers *cough cough * - CoD. I didn't have high expectations and when the few minutes it actually did work and I could play some random, yet quirky gameplay I enjoyed it a little, little enough to show pity for a 2/10 rating. Be warned it's a bad game and quite a gamble - it won't even start up on most PC's but if you get it and it works on your PC - you are gifted and enjoy the minutes you can have playing it 'cos that's going to be rare. But hey, at the end of the day, look foward to Saints Row 3 that proves to be actually listening to us and improving - much needed and vast upon this, to the extent where it could become beyond playable and at least fun for a 7/10 or more rating. Looking foward to it and it could prove to be different and at least promising this time. Hopefully... that's all a PC Gamer can do, is to hope, in this day-and-age. 'Nuff said. 2/10... Expand
  13. NickClifton
    Feb 8, 2009
    3
    I heard some critics of this game praise the open ended chaos of this game, however, if the game is not any fun to play, then it doesn't matter. The physics of this game are almost non-existent. I can think of games as far back as the SNES where vehicle physics were far better. Play GTA 4, Mercenaries 2, go back and play San Andreas, but skip this one. A huge disapointment.
  14. AraR
    Feb 10, 2009
    2
    I loved the first Saints Row and was really excited when I finally received SR2. Unfortunately as others have said, this game is practically unplayable, even on a computer that runs Fallout 3 on the highest settings. Even with the graphic options turned on low Saints Row 2 still has many hiccups and really ruins the gaming experience.
  15. exfan
    Apr 10, 2009
    2
    Severe technical issues, mare what could have been a very enjoyable experience.

    My Q6600, 4gigs of Ram, and 2 sli'd 8800gt, can't get this game to run smoothly while driving, even on the Lowest settings. I've had this game since launch, and news of another patch to finally rectify these glaring performance issues, have been all but non-existent. As it stands, I
    Severe technical issues, mare what could have been a very enjoyable experience.

    My Q6600, 4gigs of Ram, and 2 sli'd 8800gt, can't get this game to run smoothly while driving, even on the Lowest settings.

    I've had this game since launch, and news of another patch to finally rectify these glaring performance issues, have been all but non-existent.

    As it stands, I cannot recommend this game to anybody.
    Expand
  16. ShawnD.
    Jan 13, 2009
    2
    The game has a good concept, but it's very poorly executed. Why do the menus require me to use the keyboard and no mouse? Why do the cars have such horrible steering? Why does this game get 20fps at low quality when Crysis gets 60fps at medium quality? As it stands, the game is unplayable. It has potential to be a lot of fun, but right now it's a broken mess.
  17. Dec 24, 2011
    1
    I really wanted to like this game but theres not much going for it, feels like a GTA clone from the GTA san andreas era only with worse graphics, poor controls, unrealistic levels and boring storyline, if your thinking of buying this.......do not bother.
  18. PersonS
    Oct 16, 2009
    3
    I borrowed and beat this game for the XBox 360, no major problems on that.. just a few loading glitches and one or two crashes... I loved the game, more than GTA 4, and since I'm a PC gamer I wanted to have it on here instead of the XBox 360. Unfortunately everything lags, I can't drive for 10 seconds without it loading... I wish they would've fixed this instead of ignoringI borrowed and beat this game for the XBox 360, no major problems on that.. just a few loading glitches and one or two crashes... I loved the game, more than GTA 4, and since I'm a PC gamer I wanted to have it on here instead of the XBox 360. Unfortunately everything lags, I can't drive for 10 seconds without it loading... I wish they would've fixed this instead of ignoring it and just releasing it.. I really hope a fan fixes it somehow because I can't stand to play it.. My CPU is a AMD Dual Core 3.01 GHz, with 3GB of RAM.. It's not a Graphical problem since I'm getting about 40 fps at lowest, and I tried almost everything to fix it, but nothing worked. -6 from my original score since the conversion from Xbox 360 to PC turn it into total shit. Expand
  19. ElBarto
    Dec 25, 2009
    3
    I bought this game on Steam luckeliy on a Steamweekend for only a few bucks This games was developed for consoles and is NOT optimized for the PC Terrible framerates and also the graphics are terrible, even the PS2 is able to produce better graphics, I deleted this game after 20 minutes play Not worth my time, to avoid on PC
  20. May 7, 2012
    1
    Just a ghetto version of GTA, but far less interesting or enjoyable. Stupid story line, and highly unbelievable even for a video game. Obviously a console port, and the **** controls to match. Wasn't even worth the $5. Motorcycle riding was cool tho, so it gets a 1 for that.
  21. Novi4ekNone
    Feb 1, 2009
    0
    good game
  22. DannyG
    Jan 9, 2009
    4
    I played SR2 for a while shortly after buying it off of steam and came across 3 problems. Problem 1: The game does not like my Saitek keyboard. This is the only application I have run across that thinks that one of my keys is stuck. The menu looked like a slot machine cycling over and over again and my character had the sudden urge to run off once I got started. After unplugging the usb I played SR2 for a while shortly after buying it off of steam and came across 3 problems. Problem 1: The game does not like my Saitek keyboard. This is the only application I have run across that thinks that one of my keys is stuck. The menu looked like a slot machine cycling over and over again and my character had the sudden urge to run off once I got started. After unplugging the usb connection and reconnecting it a few times I can occasionally get it to work. Vista and Fallout 3 don't share the same issues. Problem 2: The game lag. Running on an AMD Turion 64 at 2.21 ghz with a gForce Go 7600 and 4 gigs of ram is defiantly not enough for all that is going on in the game. Even after all of the effects are off and lowest settings are chosen, game play is very jumpy. Don't plan on buying it unless you have a very good graphics card with DX10 to fully benefit. Problem 3: Keyboard driving. If you like the mouse and keyboard setup, don't bother. Tapping the directional driving key to go left makes you veer out of your lane, across the opposing lane and right onto the side walk. This affect is increased as speed is increased. I'm guessing Violation didn't test this thoroughly but there are reports that there are plans to fix this issue in the future with patches. Other thoughts: The over all story seems interesting and the fact you can do basically whatever without the game telling you "NO!" and swatting you with a news paper is quite refreshing. There is even the possibility for a cross dressing gangster nitch if you see fit. I'm hoping with future patches and fixes this game will meet my initial expectations before playing. Collapse
  23. MatthewL.
    Jun 26, 2009
    4
    This game could of been one of the best ports the game plays amazing the graphics are good and not a eye sore even at low graphics the thing that lets this game down is the performance i can run gta on my pc at the same framerate on all high settings if not higher the car handling doesn't help much as when you turn the game renders the area you're viewing wham into a wall 4/10 This game could of been one of the best ports the game plays amazing the graphics are good and not a eye sore even at low graphics the thing that lets this game down is the performance i can run gta on my pc at the same framerate on all high settings if not higher the car handling doesn't help much as when you turn the game renders the area you're viewing wham into a wall 4/10 for Performance 4/10 10/10 for fun if you have a super computer. Expand
  24. BenS.
    Nov 9, 2008
    4
    A cheap thrill with a story line more boring than flabby boobs. This game literally tried to sell Eazy E in order push their product. Don't confuse your love for Eazy E with this complete failure.
  25. LarsBommel
    Jan 26, 2009
    0
    this game is not good for my pc , i can play 5 times then a update at 26.01.09, the game chras after i will load or start a new game.
    i have a quad core and a gf 280 and i cant play the game in 1600x1200 the game say its not possibile to play ????
  26. PutinVladimir
    Jan 25, 2009
    0
    COOL!!!
  27. Aug 15, 2014
    4
    Este juego me decepciono. He visto a críticos que suelo escuchar casi siempre pero este juego me parece aburrido. Las animaciones son simplemente HORRIBLES en todo el mal sentido de la palabra. Las animaciones de GTAIII son mejores, y ese juego es del 2001 pero este es del 2009 8 años después y de echo son PEORES, no me jodan. Las animaciones son aburridas y los gráficos tampoco ayudan,Este juego me decepciono. He visto a críticos que suelo escuchar casi siempre pero este juego me parece aburrido. Las animaciones son simplemente HORRIBLES en todo el mal sentido de la palabra. Las animaciones de GTAIII son mejores, y ese juego es del 2001 pero este es del 2009 8 años después y de echo son PEORES, no me jodan. Las animaciones son aburridas y los gráficos tampoco ayudan, son muy mediocres. Esta combinación hace que todos en el juego se vuelvan robots o muñecos con forma humana. Ni mi personaje principal me parece humano, el único que se ve humano es Carlos, pero... Al final no me gusto, las animaciones lo hacen in-jugable para mi. Le doy un 04/10 muy mediocre. Expand
  28. Feb 8, 2015
    1
    Saints Row 2 is a 2008 open world action-adventure video game developed by Volition, Inc. and published by THQ. Years after the destruction of Richard Hughes' boat, Julius has gone missing, and the player, his second-in-command, is thought to have died in the explosion. The Saints have long since dissolved and three new major gangs have taken over Stilwater - the Brotherhood, a heavy metalSaints Row 2 is a 2008 open world action-adventure video game developed by Volition, Inc. and published by THQ. Years after the destruction of Richard Hughes' boat, Julius has gone missing, and the player, his second-in-command, is thought to have died in the explosion. The Saints have long since dissolved and three new major gangs have taken over Stilwater - the Brotherhood, a heavy metal gang that specializes in arms trafficking and demolition derbies, the Sons of Samedi, a Haitian voodoo gang that controls drug trafficking, and The Ronin, a Japanese biker gang that controls casinos and night clubs. Following the disbanding of the Saints, Johnny Gat, the Saints' trustful enforcer, was arrested and awaits trial for mass murder. Aisha, his girlfriend, has faked her death for her own protection but continues to sell records. An earthquake leveled much of Stilwater, and as a result, a corporation named Ultor began renovating the city and became very powerful in the process, taking over the Saints' old slum territory and turning it into Stilwater's big financial district. Dexter "Dex" Jackson has reformed and is now Ultor's head of security, while Troy Bradshaw is the city's chief of police. Expand
  29. Aug 22, 2013
    4
    I'm able to play the first level but after when I am allowed to drive this game lags stutters a lot. Only the on foot sections are smooth. This is surprising as my HD7770 can run most games on high/maximum settings. This is a worse port than GTAIV. The shooting is fun, but it is a disappointment I cannot play further due to the slowdown. Do not buy this game on PC.
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. 80
    On the surface, Saints Row is an easy game to hate. Actually, I have a feeling that a lot of players and reviewers will write this game off for the sheer stupidity at play at all times. But to do so would be a big disservice to a game that tries hard to do a lot of things and show you a good time. Did we have a good time? Definitely.
  2. This game is little more than a lowbrow, yet humorous, thug-life simulator.
  3. A real challenge to... you know, that other sandbox game... Saints Row 2 expands on the original with a dizzying level of complexity. Stilwater is back and bigger than ever - there's so much to see and do you'll be entertained for hours.