User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 340 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 80 out of 340

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    7
    Terrible port of a fantastic game. You have to install the Gentlemen of the Row mod to fix up all the problems of this buggy mess. (Don't worry, the mod can be configured to be just like the vanilla game, without any useless modifications done by overenthusiastic modders.) Otherwise the story is great, the city feels great, the activities and the customization are fun.
  2. memyself
    Jan 26, 2009
    7
    A great fun and very crazily funny game that will keep you enjoying every sandbox madness and much more, every ka-boombing mission
    it's only flaw: you need a powerful pc even to run it on everything low: My -XP intel core 2 duo 2.5ghz, 3gb ram, nvidia 8600m gt 512mb- runs it ok on low until i get in a car and smash stuff, then it goes "not so smooth"
  3. Oct 6, 2011
    7
    While the writing in Saints Row 2 may not be as compelling as GTA IV, and its visuals not as polished, the game does offer some redeeming gameplay mechanics, such as the ability to use random pedestrians as meat shields and throw them into oncoming traffic. Most of the missions are a lot of fun. I must admit though that the "boss battles" are ridiculously easily. And there are a lot ofWhile the writing in Saints Row 2 may not be as compelling as GTA IV, and its visuals not as polished, the game does offer some redeeming gameplay mechanics, such as the ability to use random pedestrians as meat shields and throw them into oncoming traffic. Most of the missions are a lot of fun. I must admit though that the "boss battles" are ridiculously easily. And there are a lot of fun things to do around Stilwater which help boost your Respect rating to unlock more missions and progress the story even further. Customization could offer a lot more -- and this is what surprised me the most -- because there is more stuff to buy (mainly clothes) in a game like GTA: San Andreas than there is in Saints Row 2. Not a big fan of the music in this game either. The game has been patched and that supposedly fixed a lot of the bugs that people were complaining about as well as adding 16:9 resolution support. As far as PC optimization goes, Saints Row 2 was no doubt built to be played on consoles, but for its low price on Steam, it's practically as steal. Expand
  4. May 23, 2012
    7
    This game is like non-serious Grand Theft Auto. Gangstas, black people, pimps, hos, flat jokes, absurd weapons, more black people, nice cars. Every black stereotype presents in this game, excluding watermelons and chicken wings. But the PC port is bad - game runs fast-forward, so you must use speed-hack to control speed, keyboard controls is awful (glad I have a 360 controller), it canThis game is like non-serious Grand Theft Auto. Gangstas, black people, pimps, hos, flat jokes, absurd weapons, more black people, nice cars. Every black stereotype presents in this game, excluding watermelons and chicken wings. But the PC port is bad - game runs fast-forward, so you must use speed-hack to control speed, keyboard controls is awful (glad I have a 360 controller), it can crash after cut-scene, leaving you unsaved and outraged. But I love it, it's the type of a game I was searching for a long time Collapse
  5. SHAFT3D
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    I have finished Saints Row 2, twice now on the PC. I agree with many users that the game has some technical flaws in it control system. But all in all I loved it (mind you I did resort to using a 360 controller). The game offers a few things that GTA doesn't, hence why it is getting my support. I love the fact that you are able to store you cars / helicopters / planes / boats, I also I have finished Saints Row 2, twice now on the PC. I agree with many users that the game has some technical flaws in it control system. But all in all I loved it (mind you I did resort to using a 360 controller). The game offers a few things that GTA doesn't, hence why it is getting my support. I love the fact that you are able to store you cars / helicopters / planes / boats, I also love the fact you can customize your cars to suite you style. A feature GTA does not offer to my knowledge. And the list of side missions and diversions is huge. I have uncounted at least one new diversion every time I play. I would defiantly recommend this game to anyone that has a platform that can support it, and if you can ... get a 360 controller. Makes life in still water a breeze. Expand
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    2
    This game is a technical mess. You could even go as far as calling it broken. Add that the game feels like a lazy port at best. I mean some parts of the game doesn't even function properly on keyboard and mouse. It feels like absolutely no effort has been but in the port and quite frankly its embarrassing. And even if i ignore all those problems the game still manages to disappoint. TheThis game is a technical mess. You could even go as far as calling it broken. Add that the game feels like a lazy port at best. I mean some parts of the game doesn't even function properly on keyboard and mouse. It feels like absolutely no effort has been but in the port and quite frankly its embarrassing. And even if i ignore all those problems the game still manages to disappoint. The driving is ,bad which is unforgivable in a sandbox game such as this. The action feels dated and more similar to GTA: San Andreas than any newer sandbox games. It short it feels static, non-responsive and the AI is a mess that cant aim for **** I wont criticize the story too much since i didnt come to far into the game, but what i saw didn't impress me. No this game feels dated and unfinished even if you ignore all the the other problems which you clearly shouldn't, I heard that this game was supposed to be really good on consoles but sadly i haven't seen anything even resembling that when playing this game on pc. Stay away from this one. Expand
  7. AshtonBarratt
    Jan 26, 2009
    8
    Very well designed game, has a good plot. Very nice gameplay, has many cars and a variety of weapons. Great game especially if you love sandbox! Definitely worth your $40 compared to $60 on the 360. I do admit, it can be quite laggy even for my 2100$ velocity with a nice gamecard, i dont know what it takes to be regular...must be an alienware...
  8. GordonMartell
    Jan 8, 2009
    9
    This game is the most fun I've ever had in a sandbox type game. It beats the hell out of GTA4 in terms of fun factor and customization. Its not perfect but defiantly worth picking up for $40. If you don't have fun playing this game, you aren't a real gamer.
  9. LeeW
    Sep 9, 2009
    9
    For the select few of us with a macho computer, this game runs and plays well. The whole game is so diverse in everything you can do in Stilwater, the cinematics are brilliantly choreographed and cinematography is excellent, hilarious and sad lines are delivered by the cast flawlessly, and the gameplay is all around great. However, the optimization is poor. I can run it at a smooth 30 FPS For the select few of us with a macho computer, this game runs and plays well. The whole game is so diverse in everything you can do in Stilwater, the cinematics are brilliantly choreographed and cinematography is excellent, hilarious and sad lines are delivered by the cast flawlessly, and the gameplay is all around great. However, the optimization is poor. I can run it at a smooth 30 FPS through and through, but sometimes I get that drop. At first I was going to childishly tell off the people that couldn't play the game with its graphics engine about how they should lower the settings, but I checked the settings menu, and it turns out there weren't many to lower. There are no texture or model detail settings to change, but you can turn things like shadows and depth of field off, but my framerate still stayed at thirty when just staring down at a floor. That is, though, most likely because there would be a framerate cap added to make it stay that way. I normally hate consoles with dread, but unless you have an above-average computer, this is probably a console choice. Expand
  10. JoeH
    Dec 30, 2009
    1
    Horribly ported over to the PC, all the menues still refer to a game pad (the 360 one by the looks of things....) and even the buttons on screen when changing weapons are the 360's! How lazy is that? they couldn't change it to an arrow? That is how the rest of the game plays. Cheap and nasty. Poorly optimized for the PC. Worst £10 I've spent in a long while!
  11. MarcosB
    Feb 12, 2009
    10
    Try playing the game with an avatar that looks like you. I mean seriously, you. It will be a much more fun experience, seeing yourself pimping, shooting and busting sh*t up. Yes the graphics are sub par, but honestly, I much rather play a game where I get to see myself doing crazy stunts as opposed to a Russian immigrant, whom I cannot relate to. I have never laughed so hard while playing Try playing the game with an avatar that looks like you. I mean seriously, you. It will be a much more fun experience, seeing yourself pimping, shooting and busting sh*t up. Yes the graphics are sub par, but honestly, I much rather play a game where I get to see myself doing crazy stunts as opposed to a Russian immigrant, whom I cannot relate to. I have never laughed so hard while playing a game, it's like watching an action movie with me as the star, that is priceless. Expand
  12. JonJon
    Feb 27, 2009
    9
    A very enjoyable game. No performance issues for me, runs very well and looks pretty nice at max too. The game itself is fun to play, a little distance from the slightly grittier realism of GTA, having it's unrealistic and funny moments that give it some charm. With countless diversions and missions, I can see this game having me hooked for some time, not to mention the A very enjoyable game. No performance issues for me, runs very well and looks pretty nice at max too. The game itself is fun to play, a little distance from the slightly grittier realism of GTA, having it's unrealistic and funny moments that give it some charm. With countless diversions and missions, I can see this game having me hooked for some time, not to mention the customisation, which is a fantastic feature. I also own GTA, and SR2 may not be as polished or have so much attention to detail, but it is more like the old GTA's in that is is pure fun. Expand
  13. Lennart
    Apr 15, 2009
    9
    Compared to the greatest Enemie GTA 4 you need to say, the graphic isn't as good. But its playable! The few bugs this game got so many bad votes from don't disturb the gameplay a bit, you can play for hours, without technical errors, like in GTA. The storyline is after all not new, but always thrilling and definately more interresting than the boring imigration drama, gta 4 came Compared to the greatest Enemie GTA 4 you need to say, the graphic isn't as good. But its playable! The few bugs this game got so many bad votes from don't disturb the gameplay a bit, you can play for hours, without technical errors, like in GTA. The storyline is after all not new, but always thrilling and definately more interresting than the boring imigration drama, gta 4 came up with. Important charakters are few, but well balanced and individual. Great + for the very individual charakter-editing options right from the beginning. You don't just get a charakter u have to live with, you create him/her right from the beginning. And the minigames.. when did you last time find a game where it always gets better? Taking part in a "bad cops" episode, showing what the viewers wanna see, spraying the rich-peoples phallus-symbols with sh*t, a Crash-Dome, fight clubs, after all its a lot of fun. Even if its not as unfair Hyped as GTA 4, which is still more a open Beta, than a playable game. Expand
  14. HugoK
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    While suffering from some framerate droppings here and there, no matter how you look at it, it's still the most hilarious sandbox games in existance (with the only possible exception of Garry's Mod). Co-op mayhem in an insane city? Yes please.
  15. christopherc
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    vehicle customization is great purchasing and customizing your crib mini games flight control there is really so much to this game and the graphics are pretty good for all the detail displayed in the game.About 40 % complete and so far its been great!!! o ya and playing co-op is just a plus to the game :)
  16. lorenzol
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    not as good lookin as gta 4. but alot more fun and alot more things to do than in gta 4 must own really fun!
  17. Chirs
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    One of the funnest games ive ever played. This is what GTA IV would be if they hadnt decided to go so serious. Its like San Andres except with much more to do and much more fun
  18. BalleticMuse
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    I absolutely love this game. It's quirky and lighthearted and has a ton of fun content of mini games and contests.
  19. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    This game is absolutely brilliant. No, seriously, I mean it. Its gameplay is awesomeness itself. OK, it's a pure console port and navigating the menus is a bother (Ctrl and shift for left and right in the menus? What?), and it is a single-threaded program, meaning that all your cores are unused by this game, save one, which in turn means that it will run relatively poorly for a game thatThis game is absolutely brilliant. No, seriously, I mean it. Its gameplay is awesomeness itself. OK, it's a pure console port and navigating the menus is a bother (Ctrl and shift for left and right in the menus? What?), and it is a single-threaded program, meaning that all your cores are unused by this game, save one, which in turn means that it will run relatively poorly for a game that is now 7 years old. The graphics were great for that era, but they definitely look dated in 2012. No matter! The gameplay! It's simply brilliant! 9/10. Expand
  20. Feb 16, 2012
    2
    For the record, I give saints row 3 a high 8 out of 10. I think it's a fantastic game. On the other hand, I hate playing saints row 2 with a passion. It's sickly. It does not feel like I am playing a game. Remember big rigs, how you laugh at how something feels unatural - or you boot up some nintendo 64 game that nobody has heard of for good reason. Those games feel better mechanicallyFor the record, I give saints row 3 a high 8 out of 10. I think it's a fantastic game. On the other hand, I hate playing saints row 2 with a passion. It's sickly. It does not feel like I am playing a game. Remember big rigs, how you laugh at how something feels unatural - or you boot up some nintendo 64 game that nobody has heard of for good reason. Those games feel better mechanically (maybe not big rigs, I might have taken that too far) superior to this game. It also looks.... Sickly. And I don't actually use the word sickly that often in reviews. It's specific to this game. So you are expecting a 0 right? Sigh.. I guess not. Look... Saints row 3 would have never been what it is without saints row 2. Also, saints row 2 has some killer features. It had an inspiring co-op mode. Few games actually features that many open world moving parts when this was released. It kind of innovated. And the game is large. Large with content that is creative. Poorly controlling in most cases - but creative, and diverse. This game has a LOT of content. And when you actually dig into the story missions, there are some truly creative moments. However for me personally, none of this was worth the consistent pain of playing this. I also lower the score for the pc version. Nomatter what system you have (I personally have a 5.8ghz corei7 260 with a 6990), it will stutter to some extent. It's the least optimized game I have ever seen in my life. Bar none. -- To sum it up, saints row 2 has a 9 of potential, and a 0 of execution. It has a 9 of some side content, and a 0 for a lot of other side content, it has a 0 for graphics, and it makes me feel physically ill. I want to give it a 0 with everything I have. However this content, presented better, would possibly lead to a 9/10 game. So I'll give it a 1 for the sole purpose of 'what it could have been'. Expand
  21. May 20, 2012
    9
    This game deserves much better. While it is not a great game in terms of graphics, its fantastic story and bad ass moments keep me feelings great. even though there is one very big difficulty spike in the game, overall combat is balanced. This game does not sacrifice game play and story for **** and sex jokes. Buy this instead. You wont regret it.
  22. Feb 17, 2013
    10
    WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE HATERS, the game is awesome, fun, intresting, FREE and overall for 14.99 it's a must own game, buy it, NOW.
  23. KyleW.
    Jan 12, 2009
    9
    Saints Row 2 can be best described as a game that knows its copying another game but also knows that it
  24. dq
    Jan 7, 2009
    10
    Its funny to most people cry they need a super cpu to run it. Just read back of box or web site, not fault but your own deal with it. This game rocks i give it a 10 because you can do so much on the game and coop is blast :)
  25. CD
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    I have both GTA IV and SR2, and they're both good games. However, SR2 is a good game to screw around in. The only thing that's wrong with this game is that, occasionally (after about 45 minutes), the game will freeze for a quarter second or so. That and, on the PC version, the graphics sometimes get all buggy. But that's more of my graphics card over heating, which I have both GTA IV and SR2, and they're both good games. However, SR2 is a good game to screw around in. The only thing that's wrong with this game is that, occasionally (after about 45 minutes), the game will freeze for a quarter second or so. That and, on the PC version, the graphics sometimes get all buggy. But that's more of my graphics card over heating, which doesn't have anything to do with the game. Expand
  26. Feb 22, 2012
    9
    My **** what's with all this hate? "Saints Row 2" is a superb game, the granny of GTA. Same gameplay, but better resolution and textures. What more would you ask for a gangster game?
  27. SkylerW
    Jan 10, 2009
    10
    Best game I played in 2008. A real open sandbox that remembers what fun is. The story while not exactly portraying great complexity none the less makes me actually have some care and attachment to those involved in it far more than any recent RPGs managed. A thoroughly great sequel to a solidly decent game.
  28. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    This game is what GTA: IV would be, if it wasn't so serious. Customization is through the roof, and one of the best I have ever seen in a game. The quests, while at times somewhat frustrating, are fun and humorous. The sidekicks in the game are funny and memorable. Gat, a psychotic killer who constantly cracks jokes. Shaundi, a pothead who constantly steals Pierce's thunder and gets aroundThis game is what GTA: IV would be, if it wasn't so serious. Customization is through the roof, and one of the best I have ever seen in a game. The quests, while at times somewhat frustrating, are fun and humorous. The sidekicks in the game are funny and memorable. Gat, a psychotic killer who constantly cracks jokes. Shaundi, a pothead who constantly steals Pierce's thunder and gets around town. Pierce, a thug who whines about your music selection, loves opera, and is comic relief. The rival gangs are also quite memorable, from the hardcore tattooed Brotherhood, the voodoo practicing Sons of Jamaica, to the Japanese gang, the Ronin, ran by the pansy and spoiled son of a hardcore mobster. I do find it's rating to be completely undeserving, for it really is so much more fun than GTA. The only reason I can see why it doesn't have a higher rating, is because too many people have a boner for GTA and constantly, and unfairly, compare the two. The two games, while about open city crime, as two different philosophies. In GTA, its more "realistic" and "gritty", while SR2 is more about doing whatever the heck you want and not have some damn cousin calling you every 5mins. So I would recommend that Saints Row isnâ Expand
  29. Dec 29, 2010
    0
    Terrible driving views, it is way too jerky when cornering. I got this because I love the GTA, Mafia and Godfather stuff but this is awful. Weapon selection works by holding a key and pushing the mouse in a certain direction but getting those at 45 degrees can be a pain, but you can use the scroll wheel. I manage to solve some of the technical problems but still get a 50/50 chance of itTerrible driving views, it is way too jerky when cornering. I got this because I love the GTA, Mafia and Godfather stuff but this is awful. Weapon selection works by holding a key and pushing the mouse in a certain direction but getting those at 45 degrees can be a pain, but you can use the scroll wheel. I manage to solve some of the technical problems but still get a 50/50 chance of it crashing on startup. Terrible port to PC, might be better on a console but this has totally put me off wasting any more money on this series. Expand
  30. TobyM.
    Oct 8, 2009
    9
    Great fun game and luckily i am one of those who have a suport computer hence can limit lag, if you can afford a computer to play this then you can surely afford money and time to have senceless fun on this game. Trust me I've still not found a game where it's possible to be turned into a fat migit, pimp slap someone 200metres into the air, over a bridge and then that person Great fun game and luckily i am one of those who have a suport computer hence can limit lag, if you can afford a computer to play this then you can surely afford money and time to have senceless fun on this game. Trust me I've still not found a game where it's possible to be turned into a fat migit, pimp slap someone 200metres into the air, over a bridge and then that person (who is naked) crash straight nuts first onto a trafficlight AND survive! What could be more fun? Expand
  31. FrederickH.
    Jan 14, 2009
    0
    The game is practically unplayable on a PC exceeding the minimum requirements. Framerates are regularly below 8FPS for me.
  32. LukaszW.
    Feb 4, 2009
    9
    The game features an excellent sandbox city, tons of activities, and a fun if cheesy storyline. Perhaps the greatest feature is that your character is just your run of the mill sociopath and the game doesnt waste time developing your characters motivations, etc. The only thing keeping it from a score of 10 are the framerate hitches pre-patch, and the pedestrian/vehicle spawning which The game features an excellent sandbox city, tons of activities, and a fun if cheesy storyline. Perhaps the greatest feature is that your character is just your run of the mill sociopath and the game doesnt waste time developing your characters motivations, etc. The only thing keeping it from a score of 10 are the framerate hitches pre-patch, and the pedestrian/vehicle spawning which sometimes makes people and cars disappear if you glance away. Expand
  33. boogoo
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    I think the game deserves more credit than its getting. I had the most fun I've had with a game in years. Excellent story line, great game play, not overly American gangstery if you use the British voice. To me it takes all the great things about Vice city and improves the graphics, storyline and game play. In terms of technical issues I had none. In terms of being a bad port of a I think the game deserves more credit than its getting. I had the most fun I've had with a game in years. Excellent story line, great game play, not overly American gangstery if you use the British voice. To me it takes all the great things about Vice city and improves the graphics, storyline and game play. In terms of technical issues I had none. In terms of being a bad port of a console game, I only found that the need to tap the driving controls was a pain because it was design for thumb stick controls not keyboard but that was about it. The game is great fun and was well worth the $70 AUD I paid. I'm by no means saying its the perfect game but it provides alot of fun and got me hooked playing it because the quality of the storyline was so good. But I highly recommend this game. Expand
  34. Mwargh!
    Jan 12, 2010
    9
    The port suffers, but on my quite outdated computer, I could get a very solid framerate when not inside buildings. Comparing to GTA4, it looked and ran a whole lot better at higher resolution. But what actually gives it the score isn't how it's better than GTA4 in those aspects, it's how it simply is pure fun. I've played it far beyond the time it takes to finish the The port suffers, but on my quite outdated computer, I could get a very solid framerate when not inside buildings. Comparing to GTA4, it looked and ran a whole lot better at higher resolution. But what actually gives it the score isn't how it's better than GTA4 in those aspects, it's how it simply is pure fun. I've played it far beyond the time it takes to finish the main missions, actually, I've yet to finish the main story. There's so much to do that's fun beyond the missions, just running around with a weapon in the city and messing with the people is something I have yet to get bored of even though the large amount of hours spent on it. The co-op mode is also awesomely fun, if you find the right person to play with, chaos can easily ensue. The mini-games are made so they don't feel like mini-games and feels just a natural part of what you do.and most of them are entertaining. The character creation is fun that I also managed to spend multiple hours on, the amount of choices are huge, and you can if you're willing to spend time on it, get quite good likenesses. There is just as much clothes to choose between. But, the cartoony style and humorous approach the game was made with didn't get a good reception from many GTA4 fans, and they call it ugly. The amount of graphical features in Saints Row 2 surprised me when I compared visuals between it and GTA4, especially when my framerate was so much better in Saints Row. There are lightsources almost everywhere you go, you don't go unshaded, and ambient occlusion covers the rest. That with the multiple shadows cast makes Saints Row look fresh from almost every angle. The only reason I can't give Saints Row 2 a 10 is because of technical issues, it is still not a good port, and due to how some of the faster cars are handled with steering. Driving isn't always fun in Saints Row 2. A very strong 9/10, even though it's a bad port :) Expand
  35. RobMink
    Dec 2, 2008
    9
    Great game on the 360, as long as the PC port is free of bugs I cannot ercommend this game enough. For me it was much more enjoyable than another crime simulator released this year. The online co-op is very entertaining, it is fully integrated into the story missions. More to do and more fun to be had in Stillwater than in Liberty City.
  36. RickH.
    Jan 14, 2009
    0
    This game is completely unplayable. My brother and I got it, and neither of us can actually play this game. Hopefully Steam gives us a refund, or this is the last game we ever buy from there. Avoid this one like the plague unless you like gaming at 9 FPS.
  37. VictorT.
    Jan 29, 2009
    2
    What started as great expectations for a game that shined on consoles and the recent onset of GTA4 on the PC being a flop because of its technical (performance) issues ended in frustration when this turned out to be mired by technical issues even moreso than GTA4. What could have been a beautiful sandbox quickly reveals itself as an unplayable mess with horrible framerates (even at the What started as great expectations for a game that shined on consoles and the recent onset of GTA4 on the PC being a flop because of its technical (performance) issues ended in frustration when this turned out to be mired by technical issues even moreso than GTA4. What could have been a beautiful sandbox quickly reveals itself as an unplayable mess with horrible framerates (even at the lowest settings), lack of support for common screen resolutions and the ugly, longing reminders that this game is a very badly made port which was obviously rushed through. Expand
  38. Joe
    Feb 12, 2009
    8
    It's nothing exceptional, but it's a very fun game all around.

    I have had absolutely no trouble running it at 75FPS, so I'm sure if you have the hardware, you'll enjoy it immensely. Definitely err on the side of over the minimum, however.

    My one issue is the lack of WS resolutions, but it's not a big deal.
  39. JohnathonM.
    Jan 13, 2009
    0
    Unplayable. The game for some arbitrary reason believes it need higher system requirements than that of a computer which can smoothly play Fallout 3. And even if you do overcome that challenge all you have is TERRIBLE controls which would make any master race PC user cry themselves to sleep. Get it on the 360 or not at all.
  40. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    can some one help my?
    I try to play the game but i get stuck. it doesnt start up. when i click it to play it doesnt work .
    it has been correctly downloaded
  41. JohnC
    Dec 2, 2009
    9
    Fun game to hope into, decent graphics altough it does get choppy while driving sometimes, funny characters, okay story, fun mini game events, plenty of weapons and vehicles, and gang territories is fun. The only thing that keeps it from killing GTA is the story though you just dont feel as attached to the characters as you do in GTA and its alot shorter Ive just about beat all of the Fun game to hope into, decent graphics altough it does get choppy while driving sometimes, funny characters, okay story, fun mini game events, plenty of weapons and vehicles, and gang territories is fun. The only thing that keeps it from killing GTA is the story though you just dont feel as attached to the characters as you do in GTA and its alot shorter Ive just about beat all of the main story and bought and customized all the cribs in 19 hours while im only about 15% through GTA IV and ive played about 25 hours. Expand
  42. BenA.
    Jan 27, 2009
    9
    I am a game reviewer with the online organization Digital-Vice and my most recent assignment was to review Saints Row 2 for the computer, I had played the original and enjoyed it, trying to look beyond the stereotype that it is "just another GTA clone" and find the true meaning of the game. Since the release of the original back in 2006, I have been patiently awaiting the release of the I am a game reviewer with the online organization Digital-Vice and my most recent assignment was to review Saints Row 2 for the computer, I had played the original and enjoyed it, trying to look beyond the stereotype that it is "just another GTA clone" and find the true meaning of the game. Since the release of the original back in 2006, I have been patiently awaiting the release of the sequel, and finally that day came, when I was able to pick up my copy of Saint's Row 2. Needless to say, but said anyway, I was extremely excited to play this game, and the guys over at Volition didn't disappoint. I found the depth of Saint's Row 2 to be more than that of GTA IV, even though both share the sandbox gamestyle and some, if not most, of the same features. But one thing I found that Saint's Row 2 had that GTA IV didn't, was a story-line that was actually interesting. Instead of being a weepy depressed Eastern European with a brother who doesn't when to leave you alone, you are a badass character of your own creation who has made his way up through the Gang ranks and lost it all, only to come back with a vengeance. Another feature that I enjoyed was the return of the gang war feature, something that both the original Saint's Row employed as well as GTA:San Andreas. The return of a couple old faces was quite a nice suprise, because if there's one thing I hate its a sequel that isn't actually a sequel. The arcade feel to Saint's Row 2 was a nice comparison to the more (and sometimes too much) realistic feel of GTA IV, at least in terms of game physics, running over innocent civilians sends them flying into other objects, which gives me that warm sociopathic fuzzy feeling inside. Of course, Saint's Row 2 had its downsides, for example, I may not have the greatest computer ever, I don't have a terrible one either, but during certain visual events: driving, explosions, massive gunfights, my framerate would drop immensely and almost render the game unplayable, even on the lowest possible visual settings. Another disappointment I found was the briefness of the storyline, sure, a game isn't supposed to take forever to play (ie Oblivion) but I was able to complete Saint's Row 2 in under 30 hours, even with all the running around I did in order to gain respect to unlock new missions. There were also a fair amount of glitches in Saint's Row 2, but nothing a patch...or two...or more, won't fix. Yes, sometimes cars and people would vanish out of thin air, and occasionally I would be set on fire and not be able to put myself out, doesn't everyone know stop drop and roll? And what was with random people falling from the sky? I wasn't sure if that was a bit of humor that was tossed into the mix, or if it was a glitch that just happened to be funny. But all that aside, be objective when you play Saint's Row 2, it IS different from GTA IV, and all it takes is one run through of the game to figure that out. I give Saint's Row 2 a 9/10. Expand
  43. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    It is hard to rate this game since it is more console oriented, and the PC version is very poorly optimized. The graphics is kind of average and the frame rate is very low and very inconsistent. However, the game itself is really fun. The mission is very exciting, the story is very well delivered, the city is designed beautifully and it feels that I am the owner of the city, and I can'tIt is hard to rate this game since it is more console oriented, and the PC version is very poorly optimized. The graphics is kind of average and the frame rate is very low and very inconsistent. However, the game itself is really fun. The mission is very exciting, the story is very well delivered, the city is designed beautifully and it feels that I am the owner of the city, and I can't live without being in that city. To some extend, it is much better than Saints Row the Third. Expand
  44. Jul 5, 2012
    8
    Usually I do not play these kinds of video games since i'm often interested in a good story, however I picked this up really cheap and thought to myself, "Hmm, why not play something different" so I fired it up and found it to be an overall enjoyable experience. First of all, the story, its a very over the top and fun story throughout, with varied missions which take you to differentUsually I do not play these kinds of video games since i'm often interested in a good story, however I picked this up really cheap and thought to myself, "Hmm, why not play something different" so I fired it up and found it to be an overall enjoyable experience. First of all, the story, its a very over the top and fun story throughout, with varied missions which take you to different styled environments and give you a plethora of different "Toys" to play with over the course of the twenty six hours I enjoyed this game. Doing each kind of mission against the main three opposing gangs was very enjoyable and gave each gang their own personality which made me enjoy the game further. The vehicles are pretty good, with different styles and such which were very fun to drive around the big sandbox city, the radio was also great too with a fantastic choice of songs to listen to as you go along on missions or just exploring. This game didn't score perfect with me for two reasons, despite being over the required specs it sometimes didn't run as well as I would have liked, mainly when it came to driving, which didn't bother me much unless it caused me trouble when I was on a mission, the second reason is really just how boring some of the side missions were, which were the easiest way to continue with story missions due to the reputation metre which in the end just felt like a chore to see more of the story. Overall, this game deserves an eight, because I had a lot of fun while playing the hilarious story and really didn't want it to end as soon as it did, however for the 26 hours of gameplay I can say my money was well invested and is a game i'd reccomend to anyone who enjoys playing a fun game, or just these sort of crime games in general. Expand
  45. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    this game is like kinda forgotten since gta 4 came around. but its much more player friendly in letting you create a person and create your own crew, etc. it is really underrated, i dont understand it. great graphics, gameplay is terrific and music is solid. its more open than GTA, and more custom creation. story is about you, breaking out of a coma and reuniting with some old members fromthis game is like kinda forgotten since gta 4 came around. but its much more player friendly in letting you create a person and create your own crew, etc. it is really underrated, i dont understand it. great graphics, gameplay is terrific and music is solid. its more open than GTA, and more custom creation. story is about you, breaking out of a coma and reuniting with some old members from your crew back in the 1st game. which, i have never played but it doesn't really matter as the overall story, doesn't tie in too much with it. overall, a great game that should get more recognition than its getting. Expand
  46. Sep 11, 2011
    0
    Terrible port. Shamefully terrible port. Volition employed the mentally-inept CD Projekt to port this to PC, who are known for their terrible experience when it comes to the PC (see The Witcher).
    It runs like crap and plays like crap. The controls are pretty poor for a PC game, and the handling when driving is a complete monstrosity. Multiplayer is a complete and utter joke.
    If you want
    Terrible port. Shamefully terrible port. Volition employed the mentally-inept CD Projekt to port this to PC, who are known for their terrible experience when it comes to the PC (see The Witcher).
    It runs like crap and plays like crap. The controls are pretty poor for a PC game, and the handling when driving is a complete monstrosity. Multiplayer is a complete and utter joke.

    If you want to enjoy this game, get it on a -- bleugh -- console. It's a fun game, it's just that CD Projekt completely ruined it, and Volition abandoned it. I refuse to purchase games from either developer from now on.
    Expand
  47. SteveB
    Nov 13, 2009
    0
    Horribly unoptimized for the PC. A good game, but a horrible port. :(
  48. MakrelVeilanof
    Sep 8, 2009
    1
    WHAT THE FUCK. That was what i said when i went in the city. Its.. unplayable unless they patch it, and i really mean PATCH it well or have a super-duper-futuristic-awesome computer of doom. Whatever i fucking wasted 50
  49. Jul 3, 2012
    2
    As everyone else has stated, this game and the people who made it, have rightly deserved the worst PC port to date, for ever, in history! Absolutely unplayable on a modern-day, gaming PC and lack of PC support, including 2 patches which fixed/solved almost nothing and no DLC (should be free if ever released but I doubt it as the people who made the PC version completely abandoned itAs everyone else has stated, this game and the people who made it, have rightly deserved the worst PC port to date, for ever, in history! Absolutely unplayable on a modern-day, gaming PC and lack of PC support, including 2 patches which fixed/solved almost nothing and no DLC (should be free if ever released but I doubt it as the people who made the PC version completely abandoned it immediately after creation and once they realized it was beyond fixing and provided no extra help to any of us). I decline to buy Saints Row 3 even if it is a little better as PC gamers were stabbed in the back severely this time and shows how much they cared. A game should have bugs, yes and some can't be patched but when a game cannot be played on a majority of systems without being stable, constant crashing, freezing and errors as well as lag it should be noted that this game is infamously world-wide known now as the most bug-ridden and infested game on the planet. Not even RPG's that weren't even patched have the same amount of problems. At least they're playable and the customer deserves a refund or at least an offer to fix/patch the game if it is beyond unplayable. The customer is always right and should be treated to a game which they can simultaneously enjoy and be able to play or get to the main menu at least... but don't worry if you buy it on the console you will get full support + DLC - which you have to pay for. So stay clear of this game if you only have a PC or don't even buy it if u have a console and show your support that games that are multi-platform should be treated with equal consideration and care on all platforms regardless of sales or liking. The 1st and 3rd Saints Rows are not bad but I haven't got the first, skipped it but now won't even try it regardless after playing 2 and all the hype, sure it was good for console just not at all cared for on PC or optimized well and shows how all the complaints were true. There are fan-made mods and the biggest one 'Gentlemen of the Row' fixes up some problems but still remains 80 % unplayable and I can only start a new game and then it starts freezing up, once past the 1st mission and on the mission screen or just at random. It also adds dlc for free by fans who care and extra additions. Some have reported its more playable but the majority of us are stuck between 60-90 % unplayable. Yes, Saints Row 3 does have DLC for the PC but for people who bought this game retail or on Steam should have them all free after what we were subjected to going through and trying to play this game to the end and stuck with the worst port ever. So, yes, buy it on Steam if you do intend to self-torture yourself as it's got the latest patch which no other medium through which you purchase online or retail has and makes the game at least another 20 % playable. There are 100's of fixes for the PC - I've tried them all, the but at least the game didn't promise to be something and then complete failure for the PC crowd especially with dedicated servers *cough cough * - CoD. I didn't have high expectations and when the few minutes it actually did work and I could play some random, yet quirky gameplay I enjoyed it a little, little enough to show pity for a 2/10 rating. Be warned it's a bad game and quite a gamble - it won't even start up on most PC's but if you get it and it works on your PC - you are gifted and enjoy the minutes you can have playing it 'cos that's going to be rare. But hey, at the end of the day, look foward to Saints Row 3 that proves to be actually listening to us and improving - much needed and vast upon this, to the extent where it could become beyond playable and at least fun for a 7/10 or more rating. Looking foward to it and it could prove to be different and at least promising this time. Hopefully... that's all a PC Gamer can do, is to hope, in this day-and-age. 'Nuff said. 2/10... Expand
  50. NickClifton
    Feb 8, 2009
    3
    I heard some critics of this game praise the open ended chaos of this game, however, if the game is not any fun to play, then it doesn't matter. The physics of this game are almost non-existent. I can think of games as far back as the SNES where vehicle physics were far better. Play GTA 4, Mercenaries 2, go back and play San Andreas, but skip this one. A huge disapointment.
  51. AraR
    Feb 10, 2009
    2
    I loved the first Saints Row and was really excited when I finally received SR2. Unfortunately as others have said, this game is practically unplayable, even on a computer that runs Fallout 3 on the highest settings. Even with the graphic options turned on low Saints Row 2 still has many hiccups and really ruins the gaming experience.
  52. exfan
    Apr 10, 2009
    2
    Severe technical issues, mare what could have been a very enjoyable experience.

    My Q6600, 4gigs of Ram, and 2 sli'd 8800gt, can't get this game to run smoothly while driving, even on the Lowest settings. I've had this game since launch, and news of another patch to finally rectify these glaring performance issues, have been all but non-existent. As it stands, I
    Severe technical issues, mare what could have been a very enjoyable experience.

    My Q6600, 4gigs of Ram, and 2 sli'd 8800gt, can't get this game to run smoothly while driving, even on the Lowest settings.

    I've had this game since launch, and news of another patch to finally rectify these glaring performance issues, have been all but non-existent.

    As it stands, I cannot recommend this game to anybody.
    Expand
  53. ShawnD.
    Jan 13, 2009
    2
    The game has a good concept, but it's very poorly executed. Why do the menus require me to use the keyboard and no mouse? Why do the cars have such horrible steering? Why does this game get 20fps at low quality when Crysis gets 60fps at medium quality? As it stands, the game is unplayable. It has potential to be a lot of fun, but right now it's a broken mess.
  54. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    i would write alot more but if i did it would take you 3 days to finish reading it so AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  55. Dec 24, 2011
    1
    I really wanted to like this game but theres not much going for it, feels like a GTA clone from the GTA san andreas era only with worse graphics, poor controls, unrealistic levels and boring storyline, if your thinking of buying this.......do not bother.
  56. chrisr
    Feb 23, 2009
    6
    Saints Row2 seems to be ok to me. It plays good on my Q8200 quad core and my HD4870x2 graphic card. I think SR2 a hole lot better game than GTA4 at least you can save your progress on SR2 where as GTA4 you cant unless your connect to windows live I brought GTA4 to end up taking it back because it would not connect the windows live server after downloading all the patches and trying for a Saints Row2 seems to be ok to me. It plays good on my Q8200 quad core and my HD4870x2 graphic card. I think SR2 a hole lot better game than GTA4 at least you can save your progress on SR2 where as GTA4 you cant unless your connect to windows live I brought GTA4 to end up taking it back because it would not connect the windows live server after downloading all the patches and trying for a whole week to get it work but with no luck I took my copy back and got my money back. So for now I am happy with SR2 unless I find issues later on in the game. Expand
  57. PersonS
    Oct 16, 2009
    3
    I borrowed and beat this game for the XBox 360, no major problems on that.. just a few loading glitches and one or two crashes... I loved the game, more than GTA 4, and since I'm a PC gamer I wanted to have it on here instead of the XBox 360. Unfortunately everything lags, I can't drive for 10 seconds without it loading... I wish they would've fixed this instead of ignoringI borrowed and beat this game for the XBox 360, no major problems on that.. just a few loading glitches and one or two crashes... I loved the game, more than GTA 4, and since I'm a PC gamer I wanted to have it on here instead of the XBox 360. Unfortunately everything lags, I can't drive for 10 seconds without it loading... I wish they would've fixed this instead of ignoring it and just releasing it.. I really hope a fan fixes it somehow because I can't stand to play it.. My CPU is a AMD Dual Core 3.01 GHz, with 3GB of RAM.. It's not a Graphical problem since I'm getting about 40 fps at lowest, and I tried almost everything to fix it, but nothing worked. -6 from my original score since the conversion from Xbox 360 to PC turn it into total shit. Expand
  58. ElBarto
    Dec 25, 2009
    3
    I bought this game on Steam luckeliy on a Steamweekend for only a few bucks This games was developed for consoles and is NOT optimized for the PC Terrible framerates and also the graphics are terrible, even the PS2 is able to produce better graphics, I deleted this game after 20 minutes play Not worth my time, to avoid on PC
  59. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    People are saying this game needs a super computer to play. Luckily, I must have a computer super enough, because this runs very nicely with all settings at max. Loads of vehicles, plenty of customization, plenty of missions. I think it's unfair to rate it bad because your pc isn't good enough, it isn't the games problem. For the £5 I paid this game is epic.
  60. May 7, 2012
    1
    Just a ghetto version of GTA, but far less interesting or enjoyable. Stupid story line, and highly unbelievable even for a video game. Obviously a console port, and the **** controls to match. Wasn't even worth the $5. Motorcycle riding was cool tho, so it gets a 1 for that.
  61. [anonymous]
    Jan 4, 2010
    8
    Very solid sandbox game. It has significant improvements over the recent installations in the GTA series. The plotline was engrossing and, at times, shocking, while the gameplay encouraged having fun, offering many different ways to complete objectives. The controls on the PC version are a bit clunky, and there is periodic lag - it could have been ported better. Unfortunately, driving was Very solid sandbox game. It has significant improvements over the recent installations in the GTA series. The plotline was engrossing and, at times, shocking, while the gameplay encouraged having fun, offering many different ways to complete objectives. The controls on the PC version are a bit clunky, and there is periodic lag - it could have been ported better. Unfortunately, driving was fairly severely impacted by these difficulties, to the point where I found a few of the car chase missions easier to complete on foot. Expand
  62. Novi4ekNone
    Feb 1, 2009
    0
    good game
  63. DBetts
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    This game is what GTA:IV would be, if it wasn't so serious. Customization is through the roof, and one of the best I have ever seen in a game. The quests, while at times somewhat frustrating, are fun and humorous. The sidekicks in the game are funny and memorable. Gat, a psychotic killer who constantly cracks jokes. Shaundi, a pothead who constantly steals Pierce's thunder and This game is what GTA:IV would be, if it wasn't so serious. Customization is through the roof, and one of the best I have ever seen in a game. The quests, while at times somewhat frustrating, are fun and humorous. The sidekicks in the game are funny and memorable. Gat, a psychotic killer who constantly cracks jokes. Shaundi, a pothead who constantly steals Pierce's thunder and gets around town. Pierce, a thug who whines about your music selection, loves opera, and is comic relief. The rival gangs are also quite memorable, from the hardcore tatooed Brotherhood, the voodoo practicing Sons of Jamaica, to the Japanese gang, the Ronin, ran by the pansy and spoiled son of a hardcore mobster. I do find it's rating to be completely undeserving, for it really is so much more fun than GTA. The only reason I can see why it doesn't have a higher rating, is because too many people have a boner for GTA and constantly, and unfairly, compare the two. The two games, while about open city crime, as two different philosophies. in GTA, it's more "realistic" and "gritty", while SR2 is more about doing whatever the heck you want and not have some damn cousin call you every 5mins Expand
  64. DannyG
    Jan 9, 2009
    4
    I played SR2 for a while shortly after buying it off of steam and came across 3 problems. Problem 1: The game does not like my Saitek keyboard. This is the only application I have run across that thinks that one of my keys is stuck. The menu looked like a slot machine cycling over and over again and my character had the sudden urge to run off once I got started. After unplugging the usb I played SR2 for a while shortly after buying it off of steam and came across 3 problems. Problem 1: The game does not like my Saitek keyboard. This is the only application I have run across that thinks that one of my keys is stuck. The menu looked like a slot machine cycling over and over again and my character had the sudden urge to run off once I got started. After unplugging the usb connection and reconnecting it a few times I can occasionally get it to work. Vista and Fallout 3 don't share the same issues. Problem 2: The game lag. Running on an AMD Turion 64 at 2.21 ghz with a gForce Go 7600 and 4 gigs of ram is defiantly not enough for all that is going on in the game. Even after all of the effects are off and lowest settings are chosen, game play is very jumpy. Don't plan on buying it unless you have a very good graphics card with DX10 to fully benefit. Problem 3: Keyboard driving. If you like the mouse and keyboard setup, don't bother. Tapping the directional driving key to go left makes you veer out of your lane, across the opposing lane and right onto the side walk. This affect is increased as speed is increased. I'm guessing Violation didn't test this thoroughly but there are reports that there are plans to fix this issue in the future with patches. Other thoughts: The over all story seems interesting and the fact you can do basically whatever without the game telling you "NO!" and swatting you with a news paper is quite refreshing. There is even the possibility for a cross dressing gangster nitch if you see fit. I'm hoping with future patches and fixes this game will meet my initial expectations before playing. Expand
  65. MichaelW
    Apr 12, 2009
    10
    I bought this game on Steam, recently, and I can't play it (considering my low specs) but I wanted this game because I had played it on a xbox, and that was an awesome game! So when I played it on the console man, oh man, this game was the best game ever! This game has an intense story, that keeps you at the edge of your seat, a badass player, and when you don't feel like I bought this game on Steam, recently, and I can't play it (considering my low specs) but I wanted this game because I had played it on a xbox, and that was an awesome game! So when I played it on the console man, oh man, this game was the best game ever! This game has an intense story, that keeps you at the edge of your seat, a badass player, and when you don't feel like playing the story, you can run the streets, stealing a plane and shoving it in the "ULTOR" building. Overall I recommend this game to anyone reading this review. BUY THIS GAME! Expand
  66. Agravier
    Nov 12, 2009
    8
    Don't know what these other guys are talking about such low fps I get no lag what so ever and its hitting 60+ for me they must have really old pc's...as for the game its better then gta4 a lot more fun would be even greater if they had rockstars budget to throw in the kitchen sink! it has all the things gta4 was missing.
  67. Feb 11, 2012
    6
    The game was okay. I like the fact that you get to build the gang up, as in Saints Row Three you're in more of a futuristic world that pisses you off. It's a pretty bad port, as the driving is terrible and the glitches and bugs are horrendous. I only have 2.3 hours of playtime, and I don't plan on increasing the number.
  68. MatthewL.
    Jun 26, 2009
    4
    This game could of been one of the best ports the game plays amazing the graphics are good and not a eye sore even at low graphics the thing that lets this game down is the performance i can run gta on my pc at the same framerate on all high settings if not higher the car handling doesn't help much as when you turn the game renders the area you're viewing wham into a wall 4/10 This game could of been one of the best ports the game plays amazing the graphics are good and not a eye sore even at low graphics the thing that lets this game down is the performance i can run gta on my pc at the same framerate on all high settings if not higher the car handling doesn't help much as when you turn the game renders the area you're viewing wham into a wall 4/10 for Performance 4/10 10/10 for fun if you have a super computer. Expand
  69. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    I had this game for about 18 months and barely just got around to playing it. What a mistake. This game is so much fun! There is so much crazy **** to do. It's like playing Grand Theft Auto, but with coop! Grab a friend, your favorite alcoholic beverage, and go have a blast with all the unique missions.
  70. BenS.
    Nov 9, 2008
    4
    A cheap thrill with a story line more boring than flabby boobs. This game literally tried to sell Eazy E in order push their product. Don't confuse your love for Eazy E with this complete failure.
  71. LarsBommel
    Jan 26, 2009
    0
    this game is not good for my pc , i can play 5 times then a update at 26.01.09, the game chras after i will load or start a new game.
    i have a quad core and a gf 280 and i cant play the game in 1600x1200 the game say its not possibile to play ????
  72. PutinVladimir
    Jan 25, 2009
    0
    COOL!!!
  73. LomanJ
    Feb 10, 2009
    7
    I just have to say, the game is very good, but some peoples posts are showing complete noobness. Danny G, mate the keyboard control issue you are talking about is no way near as extreme as you've made it out to be. No one listen to these exaggerated, and obviously frustrated comments. The controls are NOT anything like that with keyboard. Your trying to run the game on a laptop, that I just have to say, the game is very good, but some peoples posts are showing complete noobness. Danny G, mate the keyboard control issue you are talking about is no way near as extreme as you've made it out to be. No one listen to these exaggerated, and obviously frustrated comments. The controls are NOT anything like that with keyboard. Your trying to run the game on a laptop, that explains it all. Mate with those specs, I'm surprised the game starts, the 4GB of RAM does NOTHING over 2GB. It's a Turion first of all, and a GeForce 7600 "GO" do you realise that's probably as powerful as a 6600GT, which is now obsolete hardware. Why am I even continuing typing? Expand
  74. Nov 12, 2010
    5
    Saints Row 2 is a gritty third person sandbox style adventure which plunks the player into the seedy gang life of a generic urban landscape. The game begins with the player breaking out of prison and beginning a non-linear journey to rebuild his gang to its former glory. The massive environment, over the top ridiculous characters, free form quests, and support for online coop play areSaints Row 2 is a gritty third person sandbox style adventure which plunks the player into the seedy gang life of a generic urban landscape. The game begins with the player breaking out of prison and beginning a non-linear journey to rebuild his gang to its former glory. The massive environment, over the top ridiculous characters, free form quests, and support for online coop play are clearly this titleâ Expand
  75. May 11, 2013
    9
    I absolutely adore this game, and it will forever be a classic to me. There is just something really special about the atmoshere of the game. The music especially, made you feel like you're in a carefree world. I loved the 80s radio station.

    However, it's a really bad console port, so I'll have to dock points on that. I ran it fine on my XP installation with a 3.2 GHz clock rate. Years
    I absolutely adore this game, and it will forever be a classic to me. There is just something really special about the atmoshere of the game. The music especially, made you feel like you're in a carefree world. I loved the 80s radio station.

    However, it's a really bad console port, so I'll have to dock points on that. I ran it fine on my XP installation with a 3.2 GHz clock rate. Years later, I tried it with my 7 installation overclocked processor and it was really buggy.
    Expand
  76. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    This game is a master piece! there are tons of activities in this game, the world feels alive and you can actually spend hours just roaming knowing and seeing the city or just looking for the massive amount of easter eggs, i loved every aspect of this game and i would dare to say overall is a better game than GTA4.
  77. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    Negatives first - the port is one of the worst I've ever encountered. Yet with the right set of mods and fiddling it quickly becomes an enjoyable and addictive game. Technical issues aside it easily tops SR3 with more variations, more locations and going easy on the over the top feeling.
  78. Jun 20, 2013
    8
    This, ladies and gentlemen, is the flagship of the Saints Row series. The perfect gangster feel in Saints Row 2 makes you wonder why the developers went from an over the top, brutal, crazy and dark gangster game to Saints Row.... 3. The homies are amazing NPC friends. Pierce and Shaundi are great. The missions involve bringing the other gangs (a government-gang included) to their knees.This, ladies and gentlemen, is the flagship of the Saints Row series. The perfect gangster feel in Saints Row 2 makes you wonder why the developers went from an over the top, brutal, crazy and dark gangster game to Saints Row.... 3. The homies are amazing NPC friends. Pierce and Shaundi are great. The missions involve bringing the other gangs (a government-gang included) to their knees. The co-op rocks! What can be better than you and your friend jumping around in low gravity throwing C-4 at people in the mall, and then riding the ATV's around? Although you will get frustrated at stupid moments, like when two Brotherhood trucks run you over at the same time, you will have an amazing experience playing this game. Expand
  79. Aug 15, 2014
    4
    Este juego me decepciono. He visto a críticos que suelo escuchar casi siempre pero este juego me parece aburrido. Las animaciones son simplemente HORRIBLES en todo el mal sentido de la palabra. Las animaciones de GTAIII son mejores, y ese juego es del 2001 pero este es del 2009 8 años después y de echo son PEORES, no me jodan. Las animaciones son aburridas y los gráficos tampoco ayudan,Este juego me decepciono. He visto a críticos que suelo escuchar casi siempre pero este juego me parece aburrido. Las animaciones son simplemente HORRIBLES en todo el mal sentido de la palabra. Las animaciones de GTAIII son mejores, y ese juego es del 2001 pero este es del 2009 8 años después y de echo son PEORES, no me jodan. Las animaciones son aburridas y los gráficos tampoco ayudan, son muy mediocres. Esta combinación hace que todos en el juego se vuelvan robots o muñecos con forma humana. Ni mi personaje principal me parece humano, el único que se ve humano es Carlos, pero... Al final no me gusto, las animaciones lo hacen in-jugable para mi. Le doy un 04/10 muy mediocre. Expand
  80. JDawg
    Feb 10, 2009
    7
    To the Digital-Vice guy, you are a game reviewer? Well... you shouldn't be, period. You would've been better off leaving out the place you review for, because you just lost all credibility from your comment. The game is great fun, but needs a patch or two and QUICKLY, being only $39.99 on Steam is a massive advantage, as long as they keep supporting the game and patch it fast. To the Digital-Vice guy, you are a game reviewer? Well... you shouldn't be, period. You would've been better off leaving out the place you review for, because you just lost all credibility from your comment. The game is great fun, but needs a patch or two and QUICKLY, being only $39.99 on Steam is a massive advantage, as long as they keep supporting the game and patch it fast. Considering I haven't had any of these technical issues so many others have had with GTA: IV I can only feel sorry for them. And if you've written off the game, due to the issues, your really missing out. But if your complaining that a game doesn't run with a system close to or even JUST exceeding the minimum system requirements, you haven't obviously been around the PC Games long enough. A game will NEVER run even GOOD on a system with the minimum requirements. It will RUN the game, but that doesn't mean it will be playable, it will at least start though. This has been the case since the 90's. It's nothing new, and you all have to start realising the minimum requirements aren't going to provide you with a flawless playable FPS. It's annoying, and misleading, but that's the way it always has been. You should look at a games recommended requirements, as being the minimum requirements to have the game running at a playable rate. I have the recommended requirements for GTA: IV and I get 40+ FPS on average, but everything is at LOW and view distance is at around 25 this is @ 1680x1050. The 2 games are very different, and TRY to be. So comparing them directly is silly. GTA has always tried to be the more life-like, and I prefer that. The physics are absolutely amazing, and with SR2 it's more about providing a fun time no matter what your doing in the game, rather than simulating a life-like story. Which is just as great, but has much more technical issues than GTA IV. Which HOPEFULLY gets fixed, because it really is/can be a GREAT game. But it needs a few weeks. Expand
  81. ThatOminous
    Feb 20, 2009
    8
    I got this game for PC and had been waiting a while for it. As far as the story goes, it's pretty short and really there isn't a big enough motivator to get people to do side missions in my opinion. I avoid comparing it to GTA because though they are sandbox games they are different, not to mention the hypocrites that don't seem to realize GTA also got ideas from Saints I got this game for PC and had been waiting a while for it. As far as the story goes, it's pretty short and really there isn't a big enough motivator to get people to do side missions in my opinion. I avoid comparing it to GTA because though they are sandbox games they are different, not to mention the hypocrites that don't seem to realize GTA also got ideas from Saints Row. The character creation in the game makes it the character you create alot more personal for you which actually makes the game more fun, though in game I wish there was more clothing to choose room, they have enough to meet everyone s personal taste. Combat in the game is nice, you can even choose different styles as you progress through the story. Saints Row 2 shows a bigger and better improvement over it's previous game but the online play is sort of bland. And I by bland I mean no one is online half the time or there is nothing really to do in the CO-OP multi player mode. That is if you like blowing people up for hours at a time. Now I am not a real big fan of console games going to PC because usually they are dumbed down games so the console can support them but or some reason there seems to be people complaining about the PC version requirements etc. I have no clue what half these people are talking about because I didn't have one problem with it. And no, I don't have a $3000+ PC or even close to that. I'm guessing most of these players have no idea how their computer really works. But even I realize that most of these people are PC haters who love their consoles so much and hate to see games go to the PC, so I suggest ignoring them. Expand
  82. TylerL
    Jan 1, 2010
    7
    Great Game but as everyone else is saying, it is a horrible xbox 360 port to pc, there not bugs, but more like frame skip, even on a gtx 275 it struggled.
  83. Sep 11, 2013
    7
    Saints Row 2 deserves far better treatment than this badly optimised POS console port. Almost unplayable in places, suffers from awful vehicle controls (mouse/keyboard), Windows prefetching issues, and infuriating AI, however its countless technical issues can't disguise a brilliant game that has just about everything.
  84. Jan 6, 2013
    6
    I'll give the game itself an 8.5, but the port knocks it down to a 6. It's not a very good PC port. The worst flaw is that it's unplayable on Windows 7 unmodded. Runs about twice as fast as it's supposed to. Fortunately, I was able to find a mod (Saints Row Powertools) that fixes this issue.
  85. Dec 13, 2012
    5
    A sandbox game full of wacky companions, ridiculous storylines, and tons of missions. SR2 has much better world design and customization than 3; however, after beating the formulaic missions there isn't much to do besides activities. The only collectables are CDs to make custom playlists (most of the music sucks) and your territory control is completed passively while doing missions.A sandbox game full of wacky companions, ridiculous storylines, and tons of missions. SR2 has much better world design and customization than 3; however, after beating the formulaic missions there isn't much to do besides activities. The only collectables are CDs to make custom playlists (most of the music sucks) and your territory control is completed passively while doing missions. Probably the strongest point of SR2 is the cutscenes with their amusing character facial expressions, good camera work, and funny dialog. If you are looking for a less serious sandbox game then SR2 & 3 are both good options. Overall I think SR3 is better but they both have their fair share of issues. You will most likely have trouble getting this working because it is such a poor port. It has a lot of graphical, sound, and stability issues so be prepared to dig around for mods & fixes. Expand
  86. Jun 21, 2014
    5
    Not a bad entry in to this genre, fans of the open world mission style crime game will no doubt enjoy but a dodgy PC port as well as an average story hold it back.
  87. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    !WARNING THIS REVIEW ISN'T FOR KIDS IT HAS SOME SWEARS!
    Saints Row 2 is a hillarious game the story is so awesome,i really missed this game.This title is my favorite Saints Row title.
  88. Jan 5, 2013
    5
    There is such a thing as gameplay being too fast paced. The human brain can't react quick enough to the speed that this game moves at. Horrible PC port too.
  89. Aug 13, 2013
    8
    Yeah, granted, there are some bugs and glitches, and one crash too. But a quick Google search and I've found the solution to ALL of the problems I've encountered, this game is worth a 9, but the technical setbacks I've encountered have made me put in an 8.
    I actually didn't mind the driving or shooting mechanics, they were fine, even good. I did experience a speedbug (win7 users beware),
    Yeah, granted, there are some bugs and glitches, and one crash too. But a quick Google search and I've found the solution to ALL of the problems I've encountered, this game is worth a 9, but the technical setbacks I've encountered have made me put in an 8.
    I actually didn't mind the driving or shooting mechanics, they were fine, even good. I did experience a speedbug (win7 users beware), but I downloaded a patch from a famous modder (google it, you'll find it) and was right back on track.
    Game's story and gameplay are epic, but I was most drawn to the characters, they truly made me play- I cared about them and wanted to see where they'd end up. About 26 hours of gameplay for me.
    Overall? Recommended, it's not perfect, but it's definitely fun!
    Expand
  90. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    It's a morality free GTA. The PC version is a bit buggy and has some issues but the whole thing is so much fun that any problems I had with it are nullified when I remember that there are side missions that you drive a flaming go-cart and another when you go around in a septic tank and spray poo at houses. It seems almost like a GTA San Andreas 2. It's on the same level as that. Just trustIt's a morality free GTA. The PC version is a bit buggy and has some issues but the whole thing is so much fun that any problems I had with it are nullified when I remember that there are side missions that you drive a flaming go-cart and another when you go around in a septic tank and spray poo at houses. It seems almost like a GTA San Andreas 2. It's on the same level as that. Just trust me when I say this is an amazing game. Expand
  91. Aug 22, 2013
    4
    I'm able to play the first level but after when I am allowed to drive this game lags stutters a lot. Only the on foot sections are smooth. This is surprising as my HD7770 can run most games on high/maximum settings. This is a worse port than GTAIV. The shooting is fun, but it is a disappointment I cannot play further due to the slowdown. Do not buy this game on PC.
  92. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    Build your gangsta reputation while you become Stillwater’s crime lord, the city is fun to explore and you will find lots of surprises and stuff to do everywhere. Yes, it’s buggy sometimes, and even though it gets frustrating at some points, for the most part you will have a blast if you like sandbox crime games like GTA. Vehicles are fun (from bikes to boats and aircraft) and there areBuild your gangsta reputation while you become Stillwater’s crime lord, the city is fun to explore and you will find lots of surprises and stuff to do everywhere. Yes, it’s buggy sometimes, and even though it gets frustrating at some points, for the most part you will have a blast if you like sandbox crime games like GTA. Vehicles are fun (from bikes to boats and aircraft) and there are stores where you can dress your character (highly customizable since the moment you create them) the way you want with clothing and jewelry (tattoos included). You can buy houses, stores and buildings (you make profit) then decorate them. If you have a 360 controller it will feel so natural. A fun and very enjoyable game that will awake the gangsta in you, I love being a Saint! ^.^ Expand
  93. Aug 11, 2014
    5
    This is the worst Console to PC port ever. The fps is very bad, you need a PC from 2014 to run this game without any kind of lag even though this was released in 2009. The driving is just horrendous. Controls overall are **** Graphics are not that good too. There were some goods things though. The customization is awesome, missions can be fun and free roam is awesome. Sometimes this gameThis is the worst Console to PC port ever. The fps is very bad, you need a PC from 2014 to run this game without any kind of lag even though this was released in 2009. The driving is just horrendous. Controls overall are **** Graphics are not that good too. There were some goods things though. The customization is awesome, missions can be fun and free roam is awesome. Sometimes this game CAN be fun but you really have to overcome all of its flaws to enjoy anything in this game. Simply put, it's not worth getting this game on PC just get it on a PS3 or Xbox 360 Expand
  94. Oct 15, 2013
    5
    A couple years ago I played this game at a friends house on the PS3, so when I got this game on sale I was pretty excited to re-visit the experience I had when playing on the PS3.

    Bottom line is that this a TERRIBLE ported game. The graphics are terrible, even on the HIGHEST settings, the car mechanics are lazy and stupid, and when driving around a corner or just going straight,
    A couple years ago I played this game at a friends house on the PS3, so when I got this game on sale I was pretty excited to re-visit the experience I had when playing on the PS3.

    Bottom line is that this a TERRIBLE ported game. The graphics are terrible, even on the HIGHEST settings, the car mechanics are lazy and stupid, and when driving around a corner or just going straight, decently fast the frame rate goes extremely low for some reason even though my computer can run tons of other games that have better graphics on HIGH, this is an utter disappointment.

    Not to mention having to get enough respect to play a mission is beyond annoying, I spent 30-an hour usually just to get enough respect to play a 15 minute mission which drives me INSANE.

    In the end, even though the missions are fun and challenging it doesn't make up for many of the technical glitches, random frame rate drops, car mechanics and annoying respect.

    Would get this game when is on a big sale but otherwise I would buy this on a console, or just get Saints row 3 or 4.
    Expand
  95. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Это просто прекрасная, яркая и необычная игра, гораздо лучше всех игр из серии GTA.
    Кроч., стоит попробовать.
  96. Feb 9, 2014
    6
    I really like this game, but it honestly could be better. The controls are pretty good, the graphics aren't though. They are almost like the sims 2 graphics where you don't have too much detail to anything. The storyline is also pretty weak not much to it to say it's good. If you free play this game, you can find total enjoyment toward that. Otherwise if you want a good storyline andI really like this game, but it honestly could be better. The controls are pretty good, the graphics aren't though. They are almost like the sims 2 graphics where you don't have too much detail to anything. The storyline is also pretty weak not much to it to say it's good. If you free play this game, you can find total enjoyment toward that. Otherwise if you want a good storyline and graphic and whatever else good things gamers find in games, this game lacks in all of them. (if that made any sense) I wouldn't say I regretted buying this game at all because it's good entertainment, just not a Grammy winning game or anything. Expand
  97. Jan 16, 2015
    7
    There was a free weekend for the entire Saints Row franchise and I already had Sr3 and 4, so I decided to give this one a go!

    Pros: The open world is huge and a joy to explore, there are lots of places you can walk into, lots of activities for you to do and its just generally impressive. The characters might not be the best, but in my opinion, they are really memorable and (mostly)
    There was a free weekend for the entire Saints Row franchise and I already had Sr3 and 4, so I decided to give this one a go!

    Pros:
    The open world is huge and a joy to explore, there are lots of places you can walk into, lots of activities for you to do and its just generally impressive.
    The characters might not be the best, but in my opinion, they are really memorable and (mostly) live on to be classics in the series.
    There is a mod called "Gentleman in the row", which fixes a lot of the problems mentioned below:

    Cons:
    The controls are bottom line HORRIBLE. When walking and in combat, its OK, however when driving, they are absolutely abysmal and slippery, much worse than in GTA IV.
    The graphics, even for the time, are not very good. Character models look dated and textures are fairly weak. Yes, the shadows are good, but very basic. Even though I am not one to fuss over graphics, Saints Row 2 does look very dated in comparison to other games and even later entries in the series.
    The frame rate is all over the place. Sometimes, it is really high, then its really low. Explain that????

    Overall, Saints Row 2 is a very good game, however, PC issues really bring it down. I recommend downloading the gentleman of the row mod to fix some of these issues as it really makes the game feel a lot better. The game gets an extra point for the gameplay after installing the mod.

    Original Score: 6/10
    Score with mod: 7/10
    Expand
  98. Nov 2, 2014
    6
    i played this game after playing sr3 and i must say this game is mediocre it does not compare to sr3 and evan less so to my 3rd favorite game of all time sr1 this game is mediocre at best and i think it would be better of not made
  99. Feb 8, 2015
    1
    Saints Row 2 is a 2008 open world action-adventure video game developed by Volition, Inc. and published by THQ. Years after the destruction of Richard Hughes' boat, Julius has gone missing, and the player, his second-in-command, is thought to have died in the explosion. The Saints have long since dissolved and three new major gangs have taken over Stilwater - the Brotherhood, a heavy metalSaints Row 2 is a 2008 open world action-adventure video game developed by Volition, Inc. and published by THQ. Years after the destruction of Richard Hughes' boat, Julius has gone missing, and the player, his second-in-command, is thought to have died in the explosion. The Saints have long since dissolved and three new major gangs have taken over Stilwater - the Brotherhood, a heavy metal gang that specializes in arms trafficking and demolition derbies, the Sons of Samedi, a Haitian voodoo gang that controls drug trafficking, and The Ronin, a Japanese biker gang that controls casinos and night clubs. Following the disbanding of the Saints, Johnny Gat, the Saints' trustful enforcer, was arrested and awaits trial for mass murder. Aisha, his girlfriend, has faked her death for her own protection but continues to sell records. An earthquake leveled much of Stilwater, and as a result, a corporation named Ultor began renovating the city and became very powerful in the process, taking over the Saints' old slum territory and turning it into Stilwater's big financial district. Dexter "Dex" Jackson has reformed and is now Ultor's head of security, while Troy Bradshaw is the city's chief of police. Expand
  100. Jan 4, 2015
    7
    I cannot, in good faith, give this title higher than a 7.

    It's my favorite in the series, one of my favorite games of all time even, but the PC optimization was horrid. Even with GoTR mod installed, this port still struggles to struggle at times.

    Don't like the idea of Gat Outta Hell? You're not alone. Play SR2+SR:TT instead, and forgot the series ever happened after that.
  101. May 23, 2012
    0
    This game is like non-serious Grand Theft Auto. Gangstas, black people, pimps, hos, flat jokes, absurd weapons, more black people, nice cars. Every black stereotype presents in this game, excluding watermelons and chicken wings. But the PC port is bad - game runs fast-forward, so you must use speed-hack to control speed, keyboard controls is awful (glad I have a 360 controller), it canThis game is like non-serious Grand Theft Auto. Gangstas, black people, pimps, hos, flat jokes, absurd weapons, more black people, nice cars. Every black stereotype presents in this game, excluding watermelons and chicken wings. But the PC port is bad - game runs fast-forward, so you must use speed-hack to control speed, keyboard controls is awful (glad I have a 360 controller), it can crash after cut-scene, leaving you unsaved and outraged. But I love it, it's the type of a game I was searching for a long time Collapse
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. 80
    On the surface, Saints Row is an easy game to hate. Actually, I have a feeling that a lot of players and reviewers will write this game off for the sheer stupidity at play at all times. But to do so would be a big disservice to a game that tries hard to do a lot of things and show you a good time. Did we have a good time? Definitely.
  2. This game is little more than a lowbrow, yet humorous, thug-life simulator.
  3. A real challenge to... you know, that other sandbox game... Saints Row 2 expands on the original with a dizzying level of complexity. Stilwater is back and bigger than ever - there's so much to see and do you'll be entertained for hours.