Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1126 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Years after taking Stilwater for their own, the Third Street Saints have evolved from street gang to household brand name, with Saints sneakers, Saints energy drinks and Johnny Gat bobble head dolls all available at a store near you. The Saints are kings of Stilwater, but their celebrityYears after taking Stilwater for their own, the Third Street Saints have evolved from street gang to household brand name, with Saints sneakers, Saints energy drinks and Johnny Gat bobble head dolls all available at a store near you. The Saints are kings of Stilwater, but their celebrity status has not gone unnoticed. The Syndicate, a legendary criminal fraternity with pawns in play all over the globe, has turned its eye on the Saints and demands tribute. Refusing to kneel to the Syndicate, you take the fight to a new city, playing out the most outlandish gameplay scenarios ever seen. Strap it on. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Nov 11, 2011
    93
    Saints Row The Third surprised the heck out of me. The GTA comparisons are inevitable, but they are vastly different games. While both hold a mirror up to reality, the reflections are vastly different. As absurd as GTA gets, it still keeps one foot firmly planted in reality. Saints Row has taken a flying leap off the roof of reality, howling the F-bomb while chugging a licensed energy drink all the way down… and I wouldn't have it any other way.
  2. Nov 28, 2011
    90
    Some teething issues aside, Saints Row: The Third offers up an expertly mixed concoction of hilarity and stupidity that's arrived just in time for the silly season.
  3. Jan 18, 2012
    90
    This game is magic. Occasionally offensive and funny magic, but magic nonetheless.
  4. Nov 21, 2011
    85
    Saints Row: The Third gives the people what they want and drops us into an open world adult theme park where we can treat ourselves to delightful acts of bloodshed and perversion. It doesn't take itself too seriously and only asks that you don't, either.
  5. Dec 2, 2011
    85
    Fantastic missions, outrageous weapons, and awesome vehicles make the open-world mayhem of Saints Row: The Third an absolute blast.
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    83
    It's mad. In fact, it barely makes any sense at all. But for all its wonky bits, there's an odd charm to Volition's decision to leave nothing on the drawing board. It's not the largest sandbox, but it is packed full of brilliant toys. Saints Row: The Third's commitment to unrestricted, ridiculous fun is unflinching, and the product is a city full of glorious slapstick debauchery.
  7. Dec 16, 2011
    70
    Volition wrote a more or less coherent story, squeezed 101% out of the "sandbox minigame compilation" concept, improved the physics engine, and finally made a decent PC version, but the end result feels too derivative and forced. The surprisingly short single-player campaign (15 hours if you're not trying to comb an entire map) doesn't help.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 284
  1. Nov 24, 2014
    10
    Fun, Fun and more Fun...
    This game made exactly for games must be made for... FUN!!! Lots of Fun... :D
    Good jokes, interesting story, easy
    Fun, Fun and more Fun...
    This game made exactly for games must be made for... FUN!!! Lots of Fun... :D
    Good jokes, interesting story, easy and instinctive gameplay, also beautiful and specific graphics for SRTT, can say that it's not Saints Row 2 yes, but it take its own niche and it's really fun and good game.
    Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I played all Saints Row games, now this is more awesome with the upgrades and other over-the-top actions. But due to the lack of the ability to replay missions, this game was a bit of letdown. But still this is the most fun game I ever played. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Game of the Year, GTA on steroids. This game is explosive, fun, and takes gaming to a level we have never seen before. This game is the badGame of the Year, GTA on steroids. This game is explosive, fun, and takes gaming to a level we have never seen before. This game is the bad boy of the gaming industry. Expand
  4. Jan 8, 2014
    9
    I had originally played on xbox but i just got it on PC and i must say that the game graphically is way better but playing it took time to getI had originally played on xbox but i just got it on PC and i must say that the game graphically is way better but playing it took time to get used to and the crashes were annoying… Expand
  5. Feb 9, 2014
    8
    This Game is better than the last one because its graphics have been improved by a lot, the story line is way better also! This game isThis Game is better than the last one because its graphics have been improved by a lot, the story line is way better also! This game is entertaining and I've never been bored with it, I say you should buy this game and have no expectations. Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. (I played this game directly after the second, and therefore will be using some comparisons between elements of both games)
    Saints Row: The Third seemed very interesting to me after I had played the second game, as I was in the mood for more of the over the top and silly nature of Saints Row. To start, the story in this game was pretty much as expected from how the last one ended, but this time putting you against a Syndicate of three different "Gangs", in a way, this game felt like a step back because you could not do these missions in the sort of order you wanted to, and the gangs just seem to blend into one as you cannot pick them off the way you choose and have to follow a specific order. The vehicles in this game are even more bizarre than the last one, you have the cars you would expect to see driving around, but you can also get military grade jets with powerful guns, a tank designed in old style wireframe and many more as the missions go on, however, this time the radio I feel did not include as many songs which I recognised or regarded as something I wanted to hear as often as I did while getting different vehicles and such, whereas the second game had a fantastic selection for the radio of songs I could just stop the car and listen to, as opposed to disabling the radio completely. In this game, you are FORCED to play the side missions, whether you like it or not at least once when doing "Story" missions, such as the escorts, which I feel was a bad idea to try and extend the overall experience as I would do the side missions if I liked for more Rep, at least in SR2 you had a choice to do them, if you didn't you could have done other things which, granted, may have taken more time, but you still had the option to avoid them completely. This didn't help the game in my opinion because it won't let me progress if I don't perform the side quests which I found boring in the last game. To conclude, there was a lot of humor and fun missions, but it just overall felt like it took a step back from Saints Row 2, over the thirteen hours it took me to complete the game (Fifteen if you include the dull DLCs) I just felt like it could have been so much more if it had fleshed out each gang more and given me free reign back to finish them off the way I wanted to, and been a few hours longer like the previous game. Despite this, it was still a great experience, if you can find it at a decent price and enjoyed the second, you may find this better than I did, I've heard from some that this is their favourite, but for me, it simply didn't surpass SR2.
    Expand
  7. May 4, 2012
    0
    The game is pretty good, GTA has better chars and story, however the buggy escort missions ruin the game. They need to clean up the AI in thisThe game is pretty good, GTA has better chars and story, however the buggy escort missions ruin the game. They need to clean up the AI in this game, all 3 have had the same problem and it makes the game flawed. Expand

See all 284 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.