Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 100 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Written in collaboration with best-selling Quebec author Bryan Perro (Amos Daragon and Wariwulf), Sang-Froid: A tale of werewolves transports players into the 19th century, to a Canada of legend populated with will-o'-the-wisps, Windigos and werewolves, in which two feuding brothers willWritten in collaboration with best-selling Quebec author Bryan Perro (Amos Daragon and Wariwulf), Sang-Froid: A tale of werewolves transports players into the 19th century, to a Canada of legend populated with will-o'-the-wisps, Windigos and werewolves, in which two feuding brothers will have to put aside their differences to save their sister, who is pursued by the Devil himself. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    100
    Something as imaginatively conceived and cunningly executed as Song-froid needs a longer lifespan than its 20 calendar days. Games this good don’t come around often enough, and this one could probably only come from a group of independent and inexperienced developers who don’t know enough to know that what they’re doing is, well, kind of unprecedented.
  2. Jun 27, 2013
    90
    This is a rare game that feels like it was made because its creators simply had to execute on the idea, even if that meant they had to teach themselves how to do it. With that kind of foundation, it's more than worth the effort of teaching yourself how to play it properly.
  3. Mar 25, 2014
    80
    Sang-Froid is a tower defense and action game fun mix that will suck you in. Its always the same setting won't annoy you until you hit the very ending. However, thanks to its constant additions of new traps and creatures, the game stays entertaining till the end where you get roughly after six or seven hours.
  4. Apr 17, 2013
    75
    The mechanics will keep you hooked with a fresh mix of strategic planning and real time action. Unfortunately the presentation can’t keep up.
  5. Aug 6, 2013
    75
    Sang-Froid has its share of flaws, most of which are typical for indie games, but it is easy to overlook them – after all, not every ‘tower defense’ offers an original concept, cool gameplay mechanics, and a captivating story.
  6. Aug 2, 2013
    75
    Despite the simplicity of the combat system it’s hard to quit this game. [CD-Action 09/2013, p.71]
  7. Apr 11, 2013
    70
    It's difficult to grade games that are as good, as they are bad (and vice versa). You need to consider how certain good and bad parts are important to you. In that case Sang-Froid looks better, than you might think. You need to keep a blind eye for the graphics, some unfortunate mechanics and take long breaks between sessions - then the game can be pleasant. Of course it's still not a AAA game, but it should provide some satisfaction.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
  1. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    Unique game! I couldn't stop playing til I finished it. Highly recommend especially for the price. Cant wait til next tomb and lookingUnique game! I couldn't stop playing til I finished it. Highly recommend especially for the price. Cant wait til next tomb and looking forward to dev's other projects as well. Easy paced and excellent tutorials. Even if you dont really like the supernatural elements like I do...this game is just pure fun. Music and artwork alone would have sold it for me...as they both are just awesome! Collapse
  2. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    Game is amazing, go buy it now, not much else to say!

    Amazing music, good gameplay, some great ideas, good atmosphere and it is a hell of
    Game is amazing, go buy it now, not much else to say!

    Amazing music, good gameplay, some great ideas, good atmosphere and it is a hell of alot of fun to play. Yet another great indie game for PC, if you own a gaming PC and enjoy defense games or strategy games like Xcom, check this out!

    Oh yeah, it is also hilarious and is canadian, check it out!
    Expand
  3. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    One of the best takes on Canadian Quebecois folklore intertwined into a RTS setting. Didn't know what to expect from this game but I'mOne of the best takes on Canadian Quebecois folklore intertwined into a RTS setting. Didn't know what to expect from this game but I'm impressed, especially by the storyline Expand
  4. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    I take issue with the negative reviews of this game for several reasons: First, being an indie game, it is a constant work in progress. It isI take issue with the negative reviews of this game for several reasons: First, being an indie game, it is a constant work in progress. It is senseless to attack the graphics or voice acting. Contact the developers, and give them creative suggestions. Second, criticizing the difficulty of the game also makes no sense: if it were easy, EVERYONE would wail about that. The difficulty is what it is: that's were the strategy comes in. Third, saying that this game is pure crap is insane. It's worth the price of admission just for the historical background alone. Is it a perfect game? No, but it is fresh and original. The big professional groups like Creative Assembly and Firaxis could learn something from these guys. This game is a little known gem. Get it, play it, and give the developers feedback so that they can make it better. Expand
  5. Apr 20, 2013
    8
    I haven't finished the game yet (more than half way through), but I can tell this was made with both love and care. Combat is a little clunkyI haven't finished the game yet (more than half way through), but I can tell this was made with both love and care. Combat is a little clunky and not exactly fluent, but it doesn't detract at all from the core of the game, which is basically a tower defence game.

    - Very good atmosphere, sometimes tongue in cheek, other times not so much (and can even be a little bit dark).

    - The story is simple, but intriguing and well presented.

    - Very good tutorials for every game mechanic make the game easy to grasp, especially with the different enemy types and traps at your disposal.

    - The game even manages to add some light RPG elements in the mix with some inventory management, character upgrades and gear upgrades as you play through. You can basically "build" a different character depending on your play-style (brawler, trapper, shooter).

    It doesn't appear to be a "long" game, but for 15U$S I guess it doesn't have to be .

    This game deserves your support!!
    Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2013
    7
    I love the premise and the story as well as the setting. It is very original in many ways but the combat is a bit awkward and the nights thatI love the premise and the story as well as the setting. It is very original in many ways but the combat is a bit awkward and the nights that you have to survive are not well balanced. Some nights you blow throw with ease while others rely on luck to survive rather than strategy. But I really think they have something here although it is under developed and under executed but is also something that could easily be expanded and improved with a bit more balancing and better execution. The voice acting is one major down fall of the game but its also not the worst. Expand
  7. Aug 23, 2013
    2
    Trash, complete and utter trash. The game starts off easy, then around level 6 (or whatever level ziplines are introduced) it gets impossible.Trash, complete and utter trash. The game starts off easy, then around level 6 (or whatever level ziplines are introduced) it gets impossible. Literally impossible. I'm a huge fan of hard games, but this game is so stupidly hard it's frustrating. I havn't seen this bad of a job at voice acting since my childhood school play. The gameplay is as repetitive as can be, and the graphics aren't even unique. Go buy something else, not this garbage. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews