Second Life PC

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 27
  2. Negative: 10 out of 27

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 19, 2015
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To start off with, Second Life is what many people call a 'virtual world' rather than a computer game. On Second Life, you can create your own avatar, customize him or her by appearance, and explore a huge virtual world, full of plenty of things to do.

    The graphics are quite good. Very good in fact! You can even customize your graphical settings to your liking. Thing is, unless you have a decent graphics card, Second Life won't run effectively on your computer. In fact, it will be prone to lags and crashes if you have less than 4 gigabytes of RAM. Otherwise, the game will run just fine for you. In fact, you'll be able to make the game look a LOT nicer if you have a faster computer, processor, and graphics card.

    The amount of stuff you can do on Second Life is only limited by the number of Lindens you have. Naturally, the more Lindens you have, the more stuff you'll be able to buy. This means, you may potentially be able to own or even rent a house on land if you have enough Lindens to pay the land use fees every month. In fact, if you search around, you may be able to find certain things for free! You can even potentially get a car, a boat, or a plane for no cost at all! But as far as getting really good stuff, you'll have to pay some Lindens for it, which can usually only be bought with real money. However, you could get lucky and manage to get a few Lindens for free. In addition to this, if you want to actually OWN your own parcel of land and have control over it's general settings, you'll have to invest in a monthly premium account.

    And finally...There's the community. Generally, the community SEEMS friendly...At first. But in reality, SL's community is practically pure crap! -_- No, I'm not kidding! While they often take part in fun things like dancing, role-playing, and other stuff, they tend to become VERY easily offended if you happen to wander into the boundaries of somebody else's house while they're home. If this happens, you may find yourself banned from their parcel, even if you're friendly and say hi to them! And whatever you do, don't bother complaining about getting banned from somewhere on their forums-These **** frown upon such behavior and may ban you from their site for fighting for what you feel is right!! -_- After all, people take this dumb-ass game to damn seriously! And if you don't like a certain aspect of the game, then you'll never win an argument about it against the general SL public. People on there have called me a **** Ha! They are the **** Not me. This concludes my review of Second Life...DramaStorm over and out.
    Expand
  2. Jun 21, 2013
    1
    This thing is scary. Second Life is not a game it's a 3D chat room and most of the people in this great world of Second Life are socially broken and rather disturbing to talk too. I found multiple people who where having really nasty conversations and the idea that people live in this thing is just plain creepy. I saw some really dirty stuff too that will burn in my head for many manyThis thing is scary. Second Life is not a game it's a 3D chat room and most of the people in this great world of Second Life are socially broken and rather disturbing to talk too. I found multiple people who where having really nasty conversations and the idea that people live in this thing is just plain creepy. I saw some really dirty stuff too that will burn in my head for many many years.

    I set out to try and find someone to talk to but people just stand around DOING NOTHING, I found the occasional person who would say "hello" but that was pretty much it. The "game" runs like a piece of crap and lags terribly because every island was filled with stuff, most of which was nude avatars.

    If you choose to download this I hope you don't see what I did and I hope you actually find someone to talk too.

    P.S The rude stuff is every where so prepare to see alot of porn and other nasty sh*t
    Expand
  3. May 26, 2013
    4
    This game would be better if it gave to the patrons what it promises esp to the patrons that actually pay. Yet the creators dont have an issue with billing. No no problem with that. But you can't contact them about issues related to the game. They wont talk to you. Someone at Second Life missed the ethics class when growing up. I rate this game at 4 out of 10
  4. Apr 26, 2014
    9
    My favourite game of all-time I think!

    Shenmue is pretty close though. Just a wonderful online social experience. I feel like it redefines MMORPG and provides an experience unlike anything else, where anything is possible and we can just hang out, explore, travel the world, fly amongst the stars, make new friends, fall in love, build worlds, literally anything you want, all from the
    My favourite game of all-time I think!

    Shenmue is pretty close though.

    Just a wonderful online social experience. I feel like it redefines MMORPG and provides an experience unlike anything else, where anything is possible and we can just hang out, explore, travel the world, fly amongst the stars, make new friends, fall in love, build worlds, literally anything you want, all from the comfort of your home PC.

    Breathtaking, and I can't wait for the new game from the creator of Second Life :)
    Expand
  5. GeraldPerhaps
    Jun 21, 2006
    10
    The most creative MMO yet.
  6. TechzenOmega
    Sep 9, 2006
    10
    The creator of SL has as his signature in the SLforums a quote by Mahatma Gandhi "You must be the change you wish to see in the world. " Secondlife is user created. 99.9% of what you see in world was made by a member. There is no game to secondlife but there are many games in secondlife. Anything you can dream, you can build. Well at least you can try to build it,lol. Secondlife is the The creator of SL has as his signature in the SLforums a quote by Mahatma Gandhi "You must be the change you wish to see in the world. " Secondlife is user created. 99.9% of what you see in world was made by a member. There is no game to secondlife but there are many games in secondlife. Anything you can dream, you can build. Well at least you can try to build it,lol. Secondlife is the closest thing the the metaverse I have seen. They recently made joining completely free. You only need pay a fee if you wish to own land. No the graphics aren't cutting edge, but the creativity and imagination behind what you find in world is top notch. It's not for everyone, but you will never know if it is for you until you try it. And even if it is not what you expected secondlife gives you the tools to make it what you want it to be. It is definately worth checking out. Expand
  7. RonoxS.
    Dec 22, 2004
    10
    Simple design, awesome gameplay.
  8. ChilkoT.
    Dec 12, 2007
    9
    Although Second Life still has it's bugs, the community and features of the game make up for every single one. Second Life is the next genreation of social interaction.
  9. Aug 24, 2015
    0
    First, IT IS NOT A GAME! OMG. It like virtual Chat, you can spend lots of money to get L$ so you can shop in the virtual world. For as many people that are reported to be on it, the programming behind it SUCKETH, it is just embarrassing and buggy! Not to mention complicated. Try to change your shoes and your body disappears. It seems like some players can hack the system to, I amFirst, IT IS NOT A GAME! OMG. It like virtual Chat, you can spend lots of money to get L$ so you can shop in the virtual world. For as many people that are reported to be on it, the programming behind it SUCKETH, it is just embarrassing and buggy! Not to mention complicated. Try to change your shoes and your body disappears. It seems like some players can hack the system to, I am standing in one spot trying to buy something and lasers appear out of no where with someone yelling laser power, picking you up off the ground and flinging you down the map. Good luck trying to report it if you didn't see who it was. Good luck trying to contact support, it doesn't exist. I paid for 3 months ahead of time, so I would get all the options. Waste of money.

    The controls are retarded and are very limited on how to change them. My mouse push left it turns the screen right, push right it turns the screen left. You can't look up or down unless you are in mouse view, then you can use your mouse to click on anything while in that view.

    I don't know who wrote this game but it wasn't a gamer, it was someone clueless. I have no doubt there are a lot of lonely people out there who don't play any real games and like to pretend they are someone else in a virtual world that is plan and simple. People do seem to talk to you, everyone is starving for conversation (because there is nothing else to do), The graphics are primitive in comparison to games that are 10 years old.

    If you are lonely and want to find chat friends make a pretend house, go to virtual gatherings and chat to random people, waste real money to make your avatar look like a dream you. This service may be for you. If your a gamer or just think it would be fun, USE THE FREE Trial before you buy into this, I don't think it will take the average person more then a couple days to figure out this is a waste of time.

    Programming is primitive, graphics are laughable and system requirements are HUGE! Elder Scrolls, Aion, EVE Online, Final Fantasy xxx, COD, are games with decent hardware requirements and don't use as many resources on my PC then SL does.
    Expand
  10. Dec 6, 2015
    2
    Secondlife is a dying 3-world where Linden Lab-SL allows and promotes "escorts" (animated prostitution), it is definitely not for any minor. As you teleport from simulation to simulation be prepared for varying sim rules. For example, one sim only the sim owner can eject and or ban (means if you attempt to teleport there again you'll be denied access) while yet other sims certain groupSecondlife is a dying 3-world where Linden Lab-SL allows and promotes "escorts" (animated prostitution), it is definitely not for any minor. As you teleport from simulation to simulation be prepared for varying sim rules. For example, one sim only the sim owner can eject and or ban (means if you attempt to teleport there again you'll be denied access) while yet other sims certain group members can eject or ban you even without valid justification. For example, if you put select sim/group members on block you could be banned from that particular sim. Yet another example, if you disagree with these empowered group-sim members be prepared to be ejected and or banned from that sim sight. This only one of many Secondlife "catch 22s."
    This 3-d world uses a currency called Linden dollars AKA L$, which you earn various ways in SL, or buy with a credit card. Here is where the manipulation begins too. SecondLife uses artificial intelligence (bots) usually what seasoned SL residents deem "insult bots" programmed to literally insult you in various way. One example: these insult bots will cut down your avatar appearance in hopes you will spend more L$ to improve/upgrade your current body and shape, which translates into more margin (profit) for Linden Lab-SL. As mentioned above you can be ejected and or banned from any sim for any reason, but there is way around it. All you have to do is create a "new" SL account, but you'll have to re-buy (spend more) all your items since none of it is transferable to a new account. See the manipulative pattern; however there is far more to SL than just their 3-world. SecondLife has a "Forum" website.
    SecondLife provides a forum site where SL announcements are posted, along with residents' questions and comments. Also, you can login into this site and allegedly post answers to residents questions. If you are really techy avoid this site; since SL heavily promotes use of Nvidia products (I am assuming Linden Lab-SL is either sponsored by Nvidia and or gets a kickback for promoting their products.) IF you attempt to post anything of technical facts that contradicts SL's heavy promotion of Nvidia, yes you guessed it you can be banned from the forum. Of course, there is a way around the forum ban, which you can probably guess by now. You'll have to create a new SL account to post again in SL's forum, but that is only the tip of the icebrg. While losing 100s of SL residents (users) they have gone through various CEOs too.
    The current CEO that I am aware of is Ebbe Altberg AKA "Ebbe Linden" who worked as a YAHOO executive for approximately four years. The Yahoo chatrooms no longer exist (closed.) What makes this interesting before Yahoo closed those chatrooms they posted (for all to see) they were tracking IP addresses, which most thought was to deter the pedophiles from preying on kids. No one realized that after Yahoo closed those rooms that names/info of all users would be SOLD to various online companies. Is it possible to expect the same style identity piracy when SL finally closes?? Will SecondLife survive?
    As many discover a former YAHOO executive now leads SL (most current CEO I am aware of..it is a revolving CEO door), varying sim rules, non stop SL manipulation to force you to spend more money along with dwindling number of SL users it is a simple answer. No
    Expand
  11. Feb 18, 2016
    10
    Best Metaverse but don't use the official go to the tird party viewer, (Firestorm, Blackdragon, etc) this is +/- a f2p but for starting 5$ is a good choise
  12. Apr 15, 2016
    3
    Second Life allows for great expression and creativity and customization of ones avatar. The freedom is endless in Second Life. It is also extremely unsafe. There are no moderators. Noobs, as new members are called are preyed on by old time users. Stalking is not dealt with. There is no way to contact Linden Labs about abuse. The only option when one is stalked and harassed is to file aSecond Life allows for great expression and creativity and customization of ones avatar. The freedom is endless in Second Life. It is also extremely unsafe. There are no moderators. Noobs, as new members are called are preyed on by old time users. Stalking is not dealt with. There is no way to contact Linden Labs about abuse. The only option when one is stalked and harassed is to file a report. One is never given feedback about the report made. There no person to person contact dealing with abuse in Second Life. You can call the Linden lab number, they will tell you to file a report-and that they do not address abuse. You can contact them in chat as a premium member, they will tell you to file a report and that they can not address abuse. There is no person to person contact dealing with abuse in second life, so trolls run rampant. There is no warning when you enter Second Life about the safety issues that can arise in a virtual world. Predators prey on noobs that do not know better, trying to get real life information to stalk them more. There are good people and creativity in second life but it is run very poorly in terms of safety. Linden Labs does not seem concerned at all about matters of harassment and stalking within Second Life no matter how long you have been in Second life and no matter how much you have spent there or invested in your account, community and experience there. Expand
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 3 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. The ability to show others your own work makes the game the unendingly original, organic environment that it is. But all said, Second Life is what you make of it.
  2. Fascinating, infinite possibilities, but it's rough around the edges. [Feb 2005, p.84]
  3. This microcosmic world holds together only because its players agree to suspend their reality and believe in each other's fantasies. If you find yourself too sceptical to join in with this shared hallucination, you'll find little entertainment here. [PC Gamer UK]