User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 9, 2011
    7
    Serious Sam Double D is a bloody mess! Exactly how i like it :). This small game is full packed with guns, ridiculous enemies...and that's it. Simply Serious Sam in 2d side-scroller. Too bad there are no multiplayer option (classic coop for two players). Overall - it's a good cheap game not only for Serious Sam fans.
  2. Sep 2, 2011
    9
    This game is quite simply Contra/Metal Slug on drugs. You can stack guns on top of each other for a maximum of 6, and combine that with the craziest enemies you've ever seen. You have Lava monsters jumping on Pogo Sticks, and stacks of Pancakes with Trumpets and forks for legs....and anything else you haven't imagined. It's quite simply...fun. Lots of enemies, killing all around, andThis game is quite simply Contra/Metal Slug on drugs. You can stack guns on top of each other for a maximum of 6, and combine that with the craziest enemies you've ever seen. You have Lava monsters jumping on Pogo Sticks, and stacks of Pancakes with Trumpets and forks for legs....and anything else you haven't imagined. It's quite simply...fun. Lots of enemies, killing all around, and just plain chaotic at most times.
    Games have always been about one thing: Being fun. That's exactly what this game is. The graphics aren't exactly impressive, but when you consider the insane amounts of fun...who cares? The game is a BLAST, quite literally. It's fun making combinations of guns to mow down your enemies, and really is just what Serious Sam has always been about, hordes of enemies, and plain old fashioned fun slaughtering all of them. That's exactly what you get here. It's not trying to be the new big thing, it's trying to be what games have forgotten about being...fun.
    Expand
  3. May 31, 2013
    6
    I would give it around 65/100. Well, it is a little too obnoxious, but the humor is ok it gets to you after a while. The game is fun playing a decent side-scroller, and the ability to stack weapons into a massive fire-power-tool is pretty nice. However, it gets too hard too fast (i mean it's a 2D shooter you really need to balance such games in order for them to be enjoyable).I would give it around 65/100. Well, it is a little too obnoxious, but the humor is ok it gets to you after a while. The game is fun playing a decent side-scroller, and the ability to stack weapons into a massive fire-power-tool is pretty nice. However, it gets too hard too fast (i mean it's a 2D shooter you really need to balance such games in order for them to be enjoyable). Also, not a lot on the innovation side: developers, it does not take a lot of time and resources to include a level-up system for the main character, and it pays off when the final product comes out. Why not make Sam level up add speed, damage to the weapons, jump-height, add a small store at the end of each level to buy some new gear? Why not? With these features i would play the game much longer than 1.5 hours! Expand
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    5
    There's nothing particularly good or bad about Double D. It offers crazy 2D shooter carnage while bringing absolutely nothing new to the plate. It's great if you're looking for a throwback to the old days. But if you're looking for something new and fresh, you'd best look elsewhere.
  5. Jan 10, 2012
    7
    This game is good in principle, the truth is too boring.
  6. Dec 29, 2011
    8
    You get what you spect, a crazy KILL EVERYTHING ON SIGHT multiple gun shooter in 2D. Remembers me the old school days playing Metal Slug and Contra, but with a modern fancy style. This game is indeed a very great way to enjoy time with screens like "KILL KILL KILL!"
  7. Apr 23, 2012
    9
    Serious Sam Double D surprised me by being a low price indie platformer with the same sense of humor and very similar game design as the Serious Sam games. That means you should expect tons and tons of monsters, plenty of funny secrets, powerups, traps and straight-forward adrenaline-filled action! What SSDD brings to the table are unique, hand-drawn 2D graphics, platformer gameplay andSerious Sam Double D surprised me by being a low price indie platformer with the same sense of humor and very similar game design as the Serious Sam games. That means you should expect tons and tons of monsters, plenty of funny secrets, powerups, traps and straight-forward adrenaline-filled action! What SSDD brings to the table are unique, hand-drawn 2D graphics, platformer gameplay and the fun, but somewhat strategic, gun-stacking feature (equip up to 5 weapons at once). While a little lackluster in the epic battles notorious to the Serious Sam games, and with some minor interface issues such as the camera making surrounding areas difficult to see, and the cursor hard to keep track, SSDD is still a great game recommended to indie action fans or to those who simply want to take a load off. Expand
  8. Dec 23, 2012
    9
    Easily the most fun I have had for $1.99 on Steam! This wonderful shoot'em up side-scroller is easily the best of the best Indie 2D shooter I have played on PC. It's pure fun and crazy. No story here just plain old craziness with guns. The Gunstacker is easily the most hillarious and innovative firearm madness invented since Contra's Spreadshot. Lots of crazy enemies in crazy quantitiesEasily the most fun I have had for $1.99 on Steam! This wonderful shoot'em up side-scroller is easily the best of the best Indie 2D shooter I have played on PC. It's pure fun and crazy. No story here just plain old craziness with guns. The Gunstacker is easily the most hillarious and innovative firearm madness invented since Contra's Spreadshot. Lots of crazy enemies in crazy quantities running around and just enjoying the explosions. Highly recommended! Please don't pirate this game and support indie development! They did a great job and you'll be glad you did! Expand
  9. Jan 3, 2013
    5
    Contra clone with a "Serious Sam" skin. The gunstacker leads to really creative loadouts and I liked being able to keep presets of stacks on hotkeys. Tons of secrets and multiple paths through large levels make this one of the best contra clones I've played. However, lacking in multiplayer (what side scroller shooter doesn't have multiplayer?) is a huge letdown for me and leaves this gameContra clone with a "Serious Sam" skin. The gunstacker leads to really creative loadouts and I liked being able to keep presets of stacks on hotkeys. Tons of secrets and multiple paths through large levels make this one of the best contra clones I've played. However, lacking in multiplayer (what side scroller shooter doesn't have multiplayer?) is a huge letdown for me and leaves this game being just OK. Expand
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    76
    Play this game and you will experience Sam like 2D-Duke Nukem on LSD.
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    70
    While Double D's one-tone puerility won't appeal to everyone, the game does offer a refreshingly in-your-face scale of violence that will endear it to long-term Serious Sam fans. If you fancy a 2D action fix to help you wile away the hours until Serious Sam 3 arrives, then look no further.
  3. 50
    Creative and (at some moments) funny side-scrolling action loses points in presentation and unfortunately in not-so-accurate controls. [Oct 2011]