Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 530 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shadow Warrior is reimagining of 3D Realms' cult classic shooter from developer Flying Wild Hog (Hard Reset) and independent game label Devolver Digital (Serious Sam 3: BFE, Hotline Miami, LUFTRAUSERS) for PC and next-gen consoles. Blending the viciously over-the-top gunplay of its predecessor with the elegant precision of the powerful katana, Shadow Warrior promises to be an imaginative take on the classic arcade-style shooter. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    90
    Flying Wild Hog has topped their previous game, Hard Reset, in nearly every respect with Shadow Warrior. A myriad of beautiful environments, crazy but balanced and innovative combat, and a smoother difficulty curve prove that the Polish studio has graphical, level and gameplay design talent to spare. Don’t miss this one.
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    85
    I haven't had this much unadulterated fun chopping and dropping enemies since the late '90s, and I, for one, am eagerly salivating for a bit more of Flying Wild Hog's Wang.
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    80
    Shadow Warrior won’t win any awards for complexity. It’s a shamelessly self-confident return to the whiplash, blood’n'guts symphony of 90s-era shooters, but it salvages the low concept, and it’s own checkered legacy, with ironclad mechanics and the likable, if oafish, story it tells.
  4. Nov 18, 2013
    80
    Shadow Warrior is an unrepentant love poem for all things 90s and plays out as a greatest hits album of the video games and buddy cop movies from that time.
  5. Oct 7, 2013
    75
    Without any doubt, Shadow Warrior, is a great reimagining of the old classic. The game is brutal in many ways, with one-liners reminding us of Duke Nukem. It’s a bit repetitive and some variation wouldn’t kill the mood. Overall it is a good game with a lot of blood and a great fighting system. In the words of Wang: it’s wangtastic!
  6. Oct 2, 2013
    70
    Shadow Warrior is a good shooter that stands out for its humor and fast-paced action, and that's enough to satisfy fans of FPS until something more substantial comes along.
  7. Nov 25, 2013
    50
    No matter which way you slice its solid shooting mechanics, it still doesn't feel like Shadow Warrior. [December 2013, p.90]

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 111
  2. Negative: 11 out of 111
  1. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    I can not believe that this game came out. This is the best oldschool game. Lately it has become fashionable to make "scraps" from the games. This is one of the rare, full games over the last 5 years. Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    Good times and a cheap price. Fun gun/swordplay and fast paced action with exploration elements. Upgradeable weapons and sliceable enemies. Looking forward to more games from this developer. Expand
  3. Jul 13, 2014
    9
    Imagine this..

    You shoot both arms of a damned, ninja star throwing, ugly ass demon, with your six(eight) shooter.
    It starts to tremble
    away. You chase that ugly scumbag down.
    Then you make a quick upwards slice with your Katana, the upper torso then gets seperated from the rest of body, and as the head passes by the barrel of you six(eight)shooter, YOU BLOW IT CLEAN OFF....

    MANLY AS HELL...
    Expand
  4. Sep 30, 2013
    9
    I really don't agree with the critic reviews on this one.. I'm an old school gamer, we strung coax through the ceiling to play doom 1&2 in the dorms. This game reminds me of what it felt like to play those back in the day but cranked up to 2013 style. Yea, there probably could've been some sweet multiplayer added in here, but this game still rocks on it's own. I'm on level 5 now, so probably about 6 hours into it. As you get a little more involved, the tuning of the combat system starts to show through some more. At first maybe it was a little underwhelming, but playing further into it, I'm really starting to dig it. The action is fast and encourages you to throw everything you have at them combo'd up as much as possible. The unlocks/upgrades are great (I just got the single-action revolver mod, highly recommend it.) Some of my favorites have been Duke3d & Painkiller, this is right up there with them. If you think you could enjoy some fast paced FPS goodness with the old school charms like medpacks, hidden items & tons of enemies, you'll like this game. Graphics are good, combat is good, explosions, guts.. lots of great small details. Just for extra info, I have a GTX 480 card, i5 2500k chip & 8GB ram.. I'm completely satisfied with the graphics level and framerate (have seen this mentioned a lot). I have it at 1920x1080 with about 7/10 on the graphics levels. Put the physics up the ultra!! Worth the buy! Expand
  5. Sep 30, 2014
    8
    Got to admit, when i startet i thought "meh, this game will suck".Surprisingly, this game is fun!But lets get into detail:

    Visuals:This
    game is a mixed bag when it comes to visuals.The overall quality is not that great when you look at the entire game.But some levels look really great in terms of the art design.The first 2 levels stands out in this regard.There is great lighning, many candles, very mystic.Its too bad the rest of the game is so dark cause without this great art design the engine on itself is really bad.Textures are ok at best.Looks a bit outdated, but its still ok.The weapons looks ok too, the enemys look not so good.But its possible that this is because they were designed that way.All in all:Solid and it should run on every system out there!

    Sound:That is for me the great part.While the music is ok to good, the voiceacting is really great.The 2 main characters travel together and they will argue and/or mock each other all the time.Really funny.Sometimes its like Deadpool.Writing is great too, every joke will hit you like a gunshot.There are not that many other characters in the game, but all of them are good.Weaponsounds are ok, the rocketluncher could sound more powerful.

    Gameplay:Solid gunplay!Every weapon is useable, even the pistol youll get first.Every weapon can be upgraded, really nice.Some of these upgrades may be too strong, but thats not an issue in a game like this i think.There is a system in place thats rewards you with stars(or shurikens)for fights.I havent figured out if you get a high ranking for fast kills or when you deversify your kills.Find out for yourself.But its fun, youll get bonus karma that way.Karma is one of three ressources in the game you can use to upgrade you skills or weapons.You can use a sword and learn new techniques for it for example.You can learn ways to heal or protect yourselfe or passiv things like finding more money and so on.The progression is steady and enjoyable.

    All in all this game is fun.The last 10 games ive played bored me so im glad this piece of joy came around the corner.If you can ignore the visuals youll get a game that entertains you for days with a solid gameplay and funny jokes.
    Expand
  6. Sep 26, 2013
    7
    There's no denying Shadow Warrior is 'FUN', but is it worth the asking price? I don't think so. If you're after a repetitive FPS which will make you laugh and embrace swordplay combat, look no further. Shadow Warrior is a nice game to dip in and out of for sure. I've just played two and a half hours straight, but the game began to lose it's appeal. If it had more gameplay variety and they built upon the combat, it could have been great instead of good. I'll go back to SW in a day or so to release some day to day stress. Enjoy. Expand
  7. Dec 12, 2013
    0
    unbalanced as hell on hard. I mean it is nearly unbeatable. whoever designed that close-to-the-end arena with 3 berserkers, 2 warlords and summoner is a scumbag who is not deserved to get paid. I dont even wanna know what other two locked difficulties are. and dont tell me about old-school. bad level design is not old-school. Collapse

See all 111 User Reviews