Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 542 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shadow Warrior is reimagining of 3D Realms' cult classic shooter from developer Flying Wild Hog (Hard Reset) and independent game label Devolver Digital (Serious Sam 3: BFE, Hotline Miami, LUFTRAUSERS) for PC and next-gen consoles. Blending the viciously over-the-top gunplay of its predecessor with the elegant precision of the powerful katana, Shadow Warrior promises to be an imaginative take on the classic arcade-style shooter. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    90
    Flying Wild Hog has topped their previous game, Hard Reset, in nearly every respect with Shadow Warrior. A myriad of beautiful environments, crazy but balanced and innovative combat, and a smoother difficulty curve prove that the Polish studio has graphical, level and gameplay design talent to spare. Don’t miss this one.
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    85
    I haven't had this much unadulterated fun chopping and dropping enemies since the late '90s, and I, for one, am eagerly salivating for a bit more of Flying Wild Hog's Wang.
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    80
    Shadow Warrior won’t win any awards for complexity. It’s a shamelessly self-confident return to the whiplash, blood’n'guts symphony of 90s-era shooters, but it salvages the low concept, and it’s own checkered legacy, with ironclad mechanics and the likable, if oafish, story it tells.
  4. Nov 18, 2013
    80
    Shadow Warrior is an unrepentant love poem for all things 90s and plays out as a greatest hits album of the video games and buddy cop movies from that time.
  5. Oct 7, 2013
    75
    Without any doubt, Shadow Warrior, is a great reimagining of the old classic. The game is brutal in many ways, with one-liners reminding us of Duke Nukem. It’s a bit repetitive and some variation wouldn’t kill the mood. Overall it is a good game with a lot of blood and a great fighting system. In the words of Wang: it’s wangtastic!
  6. Oct 2, 2013
    70
    Shadow Warrior is a good shooter that stands out for its humor and fast-paced action, and that's enough to satisfy fans of FPS until something more substantial comes along.
  7. Nov 25, 2013
    50
    No matter which way you slice its solid shooting mechanics, it still doesn't feel like Shadow Warrior. [December 2013, p.90]

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 115
  2. Negative: 11 out of 115
  1. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    Dunno why so much peoples sayng it is remake of shadow warrior ,for me it is looks like some prequell to original game ,atleast storyline is going untill point where is original shadow warrior start to be ,about game itself i can't say that is an "old scool" shooter ,this game is HOW the shooter should be looks like ,game looks just awesome ,great visuals and really good gameplay which is rare this days,specially the melee fight that is just awesome and i was saw similar just in dark messiah of might and magic ,altho it is not the actual shadow warrior as it was and i may say it is ,because if they gonna realise the actual remake of this game with same gameplay style that will be looks too outdated this days and no one basicly gonna play it ,so i think they make a right choise by making te game how it is looks like now.So if you want some Wang ,you have it Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    Good times and a cheap price. Fun gun/swordplay and fast paced action with exploration elements. Upgradeable weapons and sliceable enemies. Looking forward to more games from this developer. Expand
  3. Jul 12, 2014
    9
    General Overview: If you hated Borderlands or Borderlands 2 because of its off color humor you will hate Shadow Warrior as the humor is beyond Borderlands - but if you can tolerate or even enjoy slightly immature and grin and bear it humor, then this game is a great one to play. Well written dialogue, a decent story, solid shooting, well done sound, incredible graphics and smooth game play make this a shooter that is worthy of the Shadow Warrior name as a reboot and if you like shooters this is one you should pick up.

    TL;DNR: 8.5: A humorous over the top shooter, tons of loot, hidden secrets, decent story, great action and solid game play with beautiful graphics make this a shooter for those with a sense of humor and desire for lots of combat. Sound is great, soundtrack is fitting and there is never a dull moment.

    Technology/engine: 9: super smooth execution although a number of loading screens that are placed in such a way as to not be annoying and keeps the graphical fidelity high and controls responsive.

    AI: 8: Serviceable but a bit predictable but when the individual AIs of the mobs get mixed it gets intense and is enjoyable.

    Graphics: 10: Gorgeous sets, great character models, wonderful animations, great cut scenes and great use of 2D cut scenes for memories. Flying Hog deserves high marks for the graphics used in this game.

    Sound: 8: Sound effects are well done but occasional source to reception issues can be found in the game that prevent you from spotting the source at a longer distance. Otherwise its a solid ambient soundscape that creates immersion and adds to the game.

    Soundtrack: 9: Great music throughout, I especially liked the unnerving heavy metal on the appearance of the black rabbit - one of the funniest and weirdly frightening moments that was totally unexpected in the game.

    Voice acting: 9: Solid cheesy delivery and poignant when needed or appropriate.

    Crafting: N/A

    Customization: 9: Customization includes various powers, skills and weapon customization all of which are rewarding and make a difference in the game.

    Game play systems: 9: Really well mixed variety of weapons and abilities and the game scales with a difficulty spike if you are just ripping through. A number of the fights almost feel unfair until you find a technique to deal with the situation and the tools are always there.

    Controls: 8: Slightly awkward controls that are occasionally unresponsive or do something other than what was intended - ie D-D-RMB is supposed to heal you but will occasionally perform the RMB function of the weapon - which can kill you of course. Perhaps when it comes out for consoles it will function better (although I hate to play shooters on console - prefer mouse and keyboard). Other than that it functions well.

    Story: 9: I was surprised at the quality of the story, the great use of humor and the still poignant tale that is weaved into over the top violence and silliness that really, somehow, works well.

    Multiplayer: N/A
    Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    Picture this: You are sitting in front of your computer monitor browsing the dozens and dozens of first-person-shooters that have come out over the last few years. You come to the dramatic realization that almost everything is brown, grim, and freaking boring...with very few truly enjoyable experiences to be had.

    If you're a fan of old school, arcadey or arena style shooters, then you are out of luck. Sure, there's a Bulletstorm here...a Serious Sam there...but what else can tide you over?

    Suddenly, out of the shadows comes Shadow Warrior: a pleasant surprise if ever there was one.

    Shadow Warrior, quite frankly, is the most fun I've had with a shooter in a long time. Taking nods from Painkiller and The Darkness, Shadow Warrior comes to the table as an arena style shooter with a ton of charm and wonder behind it's combat. The guns are stylish (and you can hold more than 2 at one time...HOW ABOUT THAT?!) and the melee combat with the katana is like nothing else on the market when it comes to first person games. The combat is just fun, and without experiencing it for yourself the only word that describes it is "kinetic".

    There is some first rate humor here, as well. Decent voice acting along with witty dialogue from our protagonist and his demonic sidekick give this game some great character. There's also a lot of fourth-wall breaking, and the game never takes itself seriously.

    While the level design is mostly linear (and the game does recycle the same set pieces just a tad bit), there are branching paths to explore. You'll definitely want to explore them, too, as not only is it prudent for upgrading your gear...but there are also secrets and easter eggs absolutely everywhere...and some of them are incredibly hilarious with huge amounts of references to other games. If you're a nerd, and have been playing games since the 80s, then you'll get a kick out of some of the awesome stuff there is to find in Shadow Warrior.

    Bottom line: Shadow Warrior deserves your time, your attention, and your cash.
    Expand
  5. Oct 13, 2013
    8
    As a hardcore oldschool fan i loved the original shadow warrior.So i had high hopes for the remake and it delivered.The gameplay is fun and is responsive.The engine feels awesome as every cut decapitates a body part of a demon!There are plenty of upgrades you can get for all the weapons.And there are skills to help you out if you get in trouble.The guns feel nice and are awesome looking.There are few cut scenes so you dont need to worry about the flow. The story is pretty interesting too. I had very few problems with this game,One of which is No map.The game has a bit of backtracking sometimes and is quite confusing at times.Maybe a minimap or something would've helped.And the other problem i had was that the game was sometimes a tad bit repetitive.The game has a nice sense of humor and i liked it.The gameplay felt really satisfying and awesome but i mostly liked the sword play other than the gunplay its just my personal preference. Despite some flaws i think flying wild hog did an excellent job with Shadow Warrior and for the price tag of 25 i think it is 100% worth the price.So if you are an oldschool fan you will love this game. Expand
  6. Oct 12, 2014
    8
    I often get bored quickly with FPS style games but Shadow Warrior had me engaged and enjoying myself from start to finish.

    Great story -
    check. Customizable skills, Chi powers and weapons that actually make a difference to game play - check. Diverse and challenging enemies with cool boss fights - check. Hilarious 1-liners - 'you got wang!' and a likable protagonist with personality - yes!

    If you haven't played or bought this game yet, do it. For the low $ price this game is superb bang for buck. Completing all missions should take you about 18 hours.
    Expand
  7. Dec 12, 2013
    0
    unbalanced as hell on hard. I mean it is nearly unbeatable. whoever designed that close-to-the-end arena with 3 berserkers, 2 warlords and summoner is a scumbag who is not deserved to get paid. I dont even wanna know what other two locked difficulties are. and dont tell me about old-school. bad level design is not old-school. Expand

See all 115 User Reviews