Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 184 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience a New Full-Length Campaign: Return to the “Tech meets Magic” future of Shadowrun in an all-new 12+ hour campaign. Operating out of an offbeat hub neighborhood, you’ll choose which missions to accept and how you’ll approach them while navigating the dark underbelly of “the Flux”.Experience a New Full-Length Campaign: Return to the “Tech meets Magic” future of Shadowrun in an all-new 12+ hour campaign. Operating out of an offbeat hub neighborhood, you’ll choose which missions to accept and how you’ll approach them while navigating the dark underbelly of “the Flux”.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Mar 3, 2014
    90
    This is a developer that understands and loves their source material, which very evidently comes out in their work. Consequently, Shadowrun: Dragonfall is another home run for the up-and-coming studio.
  2. Mar 6, 2014
    88
    A very good expansion that betters the original game in every aspect. It's great when developers listen to their fans and give them what they want.
  3. Mar 13, 2014
    85
    If you enjoyed your first taste of Shadowrun, then Dragonfall should be an immediate purchase.
  4. 80
    If you already liked Shadow Run Returns, this will give you a few very entertaining evenings well worth the price, even considering all the well done and ambitious mods for the main game.
  5. Mar 31, 2014
    80
    Shadowrun Returns: Dragonfall offers 12+ hours of fresh adventure in a new city, a sizable helping of new weapons and enemies, and a hub quest system which gives this expansion a leg up over its core campaign.
  6. Mar 11, 2014
    80
    An expansion that improves on almost every aspect of the original, fixing obvious flaws and adding a much greater sense of variety to what is now one of the best retro role-players around.
  7. Mar 7, 2014
    70
    Some inconsequences, e. g. in terms of AI and the short leash are annoying, but story and characters are very convincing.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 4 out of 36
  1. May 28, 2014
    10
    The best cyberpunk / fantasy game just got better.

    I'm not a great fan of downloadable content but I have to admit I enjoyed Dragonfall -
    The best cyberpunk / fantasy game just got better.

    I'm not a great fan of downloadable content but I have to admit I enjoyed Dragonfall - even more than I enjoyed the original Shadowrun Returns campaign.

    The storytelling is better, mission choices more varied, and there are TONS more interaction and story behind your crew, etc. You could say it's what Shadowrun Returns should have been from the beginning, but then we wouldn't have the (still excellent) original campaign.
    Expand
  2. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    I loved Shadowrun Returns for the writing, atmospheric art, being fun, and being Shadowrun. Now in Dragonfall, I love, hate and care about theI loved Shadowrun Returns for the writing, atmospheric art, being fun, and being Shadowrun. Now in Dragonfall, I love, hate and care about the deeply flawed characters on top of everything else. This is the best indie game experience I've had since, ever. Despite the bugs that are already being fixed in updates, Dragonfall is AWESOME. I want more expansions like Dragonfall. So very many more. ~sips a soykaf, while eying some real coffee on the shelf~

    ...and now back to Dragonfall...
    Expand
  3. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    Awesome story, great characters. It improves the original in every single way. I hope the developers continue to make such great campaigns.Awesome story, great characters. It improves the original in every single way. I hope the developers continue to make such great campaigns. There are some bugs, but nothing a patch wont fix. Expand
  4. May 31, 2014
    9
    For anyone who trades virtual currencies; has read Cryptonomicon; knows what the hidden wiki is; and wonders what a hyper-technologicalFor anyone who trades virtual currencies; has read Cryptonomicon; knows what the hidden wiki is; and wonders what a hyper-technological anarchistic society might look like. This is the game for you. Between the beautiful settings and the first-rate story, there is a lot to like. It is a rare game that manages to capture the essence of a genre, but Dragonfall pulls off cyberpunk flawlessly. Highly recommend. Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2014
    8
    A lot of people mention that the game has improved over it's predecessor, I have NOT noticed that. It seems, the game offers very littleA lot of people mention that the game has improved over it's predecessor, I have NOT noticed that. It seems, the game offers very little novelty over the original. It's still a good game, but not a great one.

    The gameplay consists of a set of several runs (less than 10) in different locations, most of which are very linear and really do not require any creative thought to solve. You go through a location, click on white thingies which are either always visible, or are highlighted with ALT. For each one of these interactive points, there can be some "special" option, most likely decking, biology or strength. Corporate and security etiquettes got me through most of the game, haven't really seen the need for others.

    All the fights I've encountered on "Hard" difficulty were much easier than the first game, and the AI to put it bluntly is retarded. AI does not know how to use directional cover, and wastes half (1 out of 2) AP each turn on pointless moving around. This literally halves it's effectiveness, as I can heal the most recent wound easily, and there's little need for medkits. The only really hard fight was a side mission involving ghouls.

    In terms of decking, there appears to be more simultaneous "fight while your decker hacks" encounters, but I found decking to be totally lackluster. Playing as a non-decker, all decking was done for me by an party member who was always high enough to pass all skill checks. Within the matrix, he won every single fight easily, using the same set of 4 skills. Most of the encounters in the matrix involve 3ICs guarding a node. I think the original game had more challenging and diverse decking scenarios with black ICs and more varied special ICs.

    Story was decent, and the amount of dialogue is more than in a typical RPG nowadays, although a lot of this dialogue was predictable and exists only to outline the set and setting. 10 minutes on the shadowrun wiki and you already know most of the things that NPCs will try to tell you about:.

    Overall, a good game, worth 15$, but not much more.
    Expand
  6. Jun 28, 2014
    8
    These new Shadowrun games have set the franchise back up with back-to-back solid entries. Hopefully this works up to a big nasty alternativeThese new Shadowrun games have set the franchise back up with back-to-back solid entries. Hopefully this works up to a big nasty alternative to Deus Ex.

    I recommend playing a physical adept for a good challenge with long term payout.
    Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2014
    0
    As buggy and broken as the "core" game. If only the editor provided what was promised MAYBE the blatant and shameful state of SR and itsAs buggy and broken as the "core" game. If only the editor provided what was promised MAYBE the blatant and shameful state of SR and its expansion would not be such an egregious betrayal of kickstarter backers and SR fans. The problems with the game as bone deep, the tools to fix the game are not provided within the editor.

    Which explains while as of now all user content with any ambition has been abandoned and what currently exists isnt worth the 35 seconds to download. Shame on you HBS shame.
    Expand

See all 36 User Reviews

Trailers