• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: ShootMania is a first person shooter by Nadeo.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Apr 10, 2013
    90
    What really delivers now, however, is Elite mode. Forget the needlessly intimidating name; this is shooter-as-sport par excellence, an exquisitely balanced and enormously fun mode unlike anything else in the genre.
  2. Apr 16, 2013
    82
    A simple, fast and addictive shooter that TrackMania fans will love. It's focused on its community, since there's absolute freedom for mods and sharing users' creation, so it's up to the players shaping the future of this game.
  3. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    It’s a fabulously designed game with an interface so antiquated that only the most dedicated and nostalgic shooter enthusiasts will stick with it. In the end, maybe that’s for the best. You don’t see a lot of trucker hat-wearing Natty Ice-drinkers in Go parlours either.
  4. Apr 15, 2013
    75
    ShootMania breathes new life into a crowded genre by taking things back to basics. If you’re a fan of old-style twitch shooters, this is the game for you. However, a lack of progression—bar a leaderboard—and simple map designs may lead to many being turned off in the long run. If you’re after a pure shooter, however, it doesn’t get much better than this.
  5. May 5, 2013
    75
    At its core, Shootmania Storm is a competitive multiplayer shooter, but differs from its competitors via subtle twists. Outside of its gameplay it leaves many opportunities out cold though. The maps are boring, menu's unclear and the arsenal of weapons generic. Fortunately it leans on its followers and user generated content, which will hopefully fill these gaps.
  6. May 13, 2013
    70
    Addictive, fast, balanced gameplay quickly induces the state of total focus which is the most important source of pleasure in ShootMania. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.70]
  7. Apr 29, 2013
    60
    It's too early to say whether ShootMania's custom maps will boost its staying power, but we're not sure if an inspired community can draw us back into the FPS.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    I don't play many FPS games, but this one is really simple to understand and fun to play. You don't have to choose guns or so, just run around and shoot at other. Still have fun after almost a year of playing (since closed beta). Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Shootmania has so many subtleties that it takes practice. This isn't a COD point and shoot. It's all about anticipation. Reading the other player and shooting where they are going to be and not where they are. You don't "switch" weapons, meaning you don't have a loadout that you tweak. There isn't game imbalance because everybody is equal in ability. There are literally THOUSANDS OF MAPS available, official and community generated as well as custom user skins. The game runs great on lower powered PC's, the netcode is VERY good, it's responsive and fast. If you're looking for a Call of Duty or Modern Warfare, you won't find it here, and the game should never be compared to those games. It's created for tournament play and you play against others from around the world. Very addicting. Expand
  3. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    Shootmania at this point has to be my favourite game to sink time into. Some would argue that this game is too "simple". Yes it may be simplistic in its design, but this simplicity allows the users to get creative with the tools they are given. Multiple different game modes are already released as well as a whole lotta custom maps. Over time this number will continue to grow and more content will keep flooding in. Both from community creators as well as nadeo themselves. I highly suggest giving this game a try, as it is quite addicting.

    Mind you it is a twitch shooter, so don't expect to be able to just run around at normal speed and do good, you gotta go fast and react to fast movement. Simple game, hard to master.
    Expand
  4. May 2, 2013
    9
    I am just going to start out by saying that as soon as i heard about this game i was already hyped, now with that out of the way how did the game turn out. As soon as i started playing it, i was instantly brought back to Quake 3 and Unreal Tournament which resonated with me. It is fast paced action and twitch like reflexes are required especially against good players. We will see how much this game continues to catch on and maybe being in some new fans to fast paced shooting. Expand
  5. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    As a big fan of "skill" shooters like Counter-Strike and the Unreal Tournament, I decided to give ShootMania a shot. Everyone is given an equal playing field: No powerups, addons, leveling, or any of that garbage. That was always my least favorite aspect of CoD, because even though I was a skilled FPSer, people with better guns/upgrades had an unfair advantage. At first I was pretty confused by the game modes and the weapon mechanics, but after an hour or so it really started to click. I ended up playing for five hours straight and missed dinner time without even noticing. The unique "Elite" game mode is by far my favorite so far. It's a 3 v 1 battle, where lone "elite" player has a laser, insta-gib gun and 3 HP, while the other 3 players have rockets, but only 1 HP. The elite player has to either kill the other three players or capture a flag at the opponents spawn area. The adrenaline of being the lone laser player is AMAZING, especially knowing your teammates are watching you. Overall, the clever, new, different game modes are really what makes this game unique and worth playing. Also, the openness to modding and creation ensure that as long as there is a community, there will always be plenty of variety. Speaking of community, most of the players so far have been SUPER friendly and helpful. I really wish there was voice chat though, because a lot of people seem like they'd be fun to chat with. While this game has kept me very entertained so far, it still needs a fair amount of polish. The server mechanics are a bit bugged, as I've had several matches where the server has gotten stuck at the end of the match, or even just crashes. But that's the sort of thing that could easily be patched... I hope. The bottom line is, if you enjoy Unreal Tournament, Quake, or Counter Strike, this game is DEFINITELY worth playing. If your favorite part of Call of Duty is racking up experience points and leveling up, then you might want to wait for the next inevitable iteration of Call of Duty. Expand
  6. Apr 16, 2013
    8
    1st of all. @Jamarra. This guy ain't bright enough to know what he is paying for... yes you paid 20$... for AN ALPHA VERSION YOU KID. Stupid brats buying alpha/beta games then complaning it doesn't have enough content.... kids these days.... By the time I bought the game, they added 2 new game modes and 2 new weapons.

    Can be modded, people can make their own maps, host their own server. So many things can be done and customize in this game. Feels like in the quake/unreal days. Very very glad I bought the game early.
    Collapse
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    3
    No variety, no weapons, low skill cap and no meta game. And... And... And... 20€... This game doesn't deserve such a score. It's too empty for what we can do in game.

    It's 3!
    Expand

See all 12 User Reviews