Sid Meier's Alpha Centauri Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 157 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Legendary designer Sid Meier presents the next evolution in strategy games, with the most addictive, compelling gameplay yet. Explore the alien planet that is your new home and uncover its myriad mysteries. Discover over 75 extraordinary technologies. Build over 60 base upgrades andLegendary designer Sid Meier presents the next evolution in strategy games, with the most addictive, compelling gameplay yet. Explore the alien planet that is your new home and uncover its myriad mysteries. Discover over 75 extraordinary technologies. Build over 60 base upgrades and large-scale secret projects for your empire. Conquer your enemies with a war machine that you design from over 32,000 possible unit types. [Firaxis] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 100
    Its brilliance is in a seamless and convincing storytelling that begins with the opening cinematic and never stops unfolding, developing, and engaging. With each new expansion, each contact, crisis, and step closer to ultimate resolution, Alpha Centauri is a hell of a yarn.
  2. Strategy gamers, the Holy Grail hath been found.
  3. 95
    Remarkable. Alpha Centauri is a better game than "Civilization II"; it's deep, rich, rewarding, thought-provoking in almost every way.
  4. Combining all the best features of a genre AND adding evolutionary improvement to them is in fact, revolutionary...The clean interface, astounding gameplay depth, and narcotic addictiveness of SMAC all prove that it deserves one of our highest ratings.
  5. It is, by all accounts, one of the best turn-based strategy games ever made and perhaps the best ever of its kind.
  6. Make no mistake about it, this is the game most Civilization lovers have been longing for.
  7. The unoriginality in unit appearance kind of killed the game for me and the good soundtrack that overshadows the game can get on your last nerve depending on how long you've been playing. It just continually loops.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. DorianG.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    The greatest game ever made, like Civilzation with every aspect improved on. Interesting factions, fascinating technologies, hilarious quotes The greatest game ever made, like Civilzation with every aspect improved on. Interesting factions, fascinating technologies, hilarious quotes and profound philosophy make this good game into an amazing game. Expand
  2. LilyC.
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    There is no "key" to domination. That's what makes this game great. And as a physics student, I often find myself lost in thought There is no "key" to domination. That's what makes this game great. And as a physics student, I often find myself lost in thought considering the practicality of some of the advanced technologies in the game (I won't bore you with the details, but the Space Elevator is a brilliant and probably quite feasible idea). Expand
  3. GarrettM.
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    This is, without question, the best game I have ever played bar none. The gameplay is smooth and balanced, the subject matter is throught This is, without question, the best game I have ever played bar none. The gameplay is smooth and balanced, the subject matter is throught provoking, and the sheer artistry and consideration that went into the technology tree is nothing short of astounding. Incredibly addictive and rewarding without fail, it sets itself apart from the Civ series by being so rich and unique, sometimes I would find myself just sitting and thinking about the personalities, the technologies, the well selected quotes and the themes they address. This has spoiled strategy gaming for me, because I've never found one that could hold a candle to Alpha Centauri. Expand
  4. Jan 30, 2015
    10
    Agree wholeheartedly with Tb87670, except I was a little older in 1999 and had played previous Civ titles and whatnot. This game is 16 yearsAgree wholeheartedly with Tb87670, except I was a little older in 1999 and had played previous Civ titles and whatnot. This game is 16 years old, and miraculously still fresh on my current play-through after not having looked at it in years. I love the sci-fi story in addition to all the usual Civ features. If only something similarly creative could be done in this genre! Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This is the definitive masterpiece of the strategy genre. Never have I seen a game invest so much effort into building up the lore of theThis is the definitive masterpiece of the strategy genre. Never have I seen a game invest so much effort into building up the lore of the setting. Gameplay is intuitive, easy to learn, and exciting.Factions are varied and diverse, ensuring that players of all stripes have something to suit their styles of play. Multiple paths to victory and engaging multiplayer cement the re-playability of this game.

    If you are a fan of either science fiction or strategy games in general, I highly suggest that you give this game a try.
    Expand
  6. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite Civ style game of all time. The gameplay is near perfect and the back story is incredible. I love reading through all ofThis is my favorite Civ style game of all time. The gameplay is near perfect and the back story is incredible. I love reading through all of the details on each technology that is developed, and playing through as different factions with entirely different strategies never gets old for me. Even now, more than a decade after its release I still occasionally come back for more, and other modern Civ titles only keep me interested in them for a few months after their release before I come back to this gem.

    Every future empire building game should strive toward imitating the excellent design of this title.
    Collapse
  7. Mar 7, 2011
    6
    Fun, but broken six ways from side-ways. compared to Civ II-IV, this was an ambitious but ultimately failed attempt at a strategic game.Fun, but broken six ways from side-ways. compared to Civ II-IV, this was an ambitious but ultimately failed attempt at a strategic game. Worth exploring to find all the ways you can break it at least... Expand

See all 44 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Computer Strategy Games

    Ranked: Best and Worst Computer Strategy Games Image
    Published: July 26, 2010
    How good must the new "StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty" be to crack our list of the best PC strategy games of all time? Here's how our top ten list currently stands.