Sid Meier's Alpha Centauri Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 146 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Legendary designer Sid Meier presents the next evolution in strategy games, with the most addictive, compelling gameplay yet. Explore the alien planet that is your new home and uncover its myriad mysteries. Discover over 75 extraordinary technologies. Build over 60 base upgrades and large-scale secret projects for your empire. Conquer your enemies with a war machine that you design from over 32,000 possible unit types. [Firaxis] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. An incredible strategy game, Alpha Centauri is destined to go down as one of the best ever made. [April 1999, p.92]
  2. 95
    Remarkable. Alpha Centauri is a better game than "Civilization II"; it's deep, rich, rewarding, thought-provoking in almost every way.
  3. While it's not the groundbreaking game that Civilization was, it's a very worthy successor and it'll probably stay on your hard drive a long, long time.
  4. Combining all the best features of a genre AND adding evolutionary improvement to them is in fact, revolutionary...The clean interface, astounding gameplay depth, and narcotic addictiveness of SMAC all prove that it deserves one of our highest ratings.
  5. Make no mistake about it, this is the game most Civilization lovers have been longing for.
  6. It might sit a little short of Transcendence, but at four o'clock in the morning you probably won't even notice.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. ScottF
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    I'm so tired of critics thinking that just because this game is "unoriginal" and "too-much like civ2" is a bad thing. This game is arguably the best turn-based strategy game ever. So what if it's a lot like civ2, civ2 was a lot like civ1 but no one seemed to mind then. Expand
  2. Selfbiased
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    Sid equals god.
  3. GarrettM.
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    This is, without question, the best game I have ever played bar none. The gameplay is smooth and balanced, the subject matter is throught provoking, and the sheer artistry and consideration that went into the technology tree is nothing short of astounding. Incredibly addictive and rewarding without fail, it sets itself apart from the Civ series by being so rich and unique, sometimes I would find myself just sitting and thinking about the personalities, the technologies, the well selected quotes and the themes they address. This has spoiled strategy gaming for me, because I've never found one that could hold a candle to Alpha Centauri. Expand
  4. BrianW.
    Jul 6, 2004
    10
    The best game I've ever played.
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This is the definitive masterpiece of the strategy genre. Never have I seen a game invest so much effort into building up the lore of the setting. Gameplay is intuitive, easy to learn, and exciting.Factions are varied and diverse, ensuring that players of all stripes have something to suit their styles of play. Multiple paths to victory and engaging multiplayer cement the re-playability of this game.

    If you are a fan of either science fiction or strategy games in general, I highly suggest that you give this game a try.
    Expand
  6. Aug 24, 2014
    10
    Years later and I still love this game. The backstory is rich and involving, the game mechanics intelligent and fun, the AI some of the best I have ever seen and the overall experience something that stays with you. The AI deserves special mention. In the game you find pods that do various things, one of them being setting of an earthquake that can raise or lower land. In one game, the drone faction, my allies suddenly broke off their alliance then soon after attacked; it turns out they had accidentally created a land bridge to my continent, presumably making invasion and expansion viable and so changing the AI's game plan. The AI then astounded me when I hammered their ground forces with air by developing ground troops with anti-air capability (presumably using the 'design your own unit' capability that hasn't been used since but is a brilliant innovation), swatting my air force. The game, well over a decade old, felt like I was playing against a human and I have not seen that very often. An astonishing work. Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2011
    6
    Fun, but broken six ways from side-ways. compared to Civ II-IV, this was an ambitious but ultimately failed attempt at a strategic game. Worth exploring to find all the ways you can break it at least... Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Computer Strategy Games

    Ranked: Best and Worst Computer Strategy Games Image
    Published: July 26, 2010
    How good must the new "StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty" be to crack our list of the best PC strategy games of all time? Here's how our top ten list currently stands.