User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 395 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 395

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 13, 2012
    3
    Firaxis seems to be a company in dire straights milking this cash cow for all its worth with minimal investment. Still poorly made, pretty but poorly made. The new systems feel tacked on and poorly integrated. Spying more than religion. Religion being kind of interesting if somewhat pointless.

    Multiplayer is still buggy as hell after so many years to patch it. it crahses (though
    thankfully recovers OK). Pauses for no good reason then wakes up after a minute or two. If you have an AI in the game it cant initiate diplomacy with you! Who has 8 friends to play? I imagine many multiplayer players still need 1 or 2 AI's!

    Civ4 is still a better game. Sad but true.
    Collapse
  2. Jun 19, 2012
    3
    1) It doesn't fix the tactical AI, (it's still bad), just gives them more HP.
    2) It doesn't fix the diplomatic AI, (it's still schizophrenic).
    3) ICS is still the dominant strategy, as global happiness just doesn't work, especially with all the new happiness resources.
    4) Turn times are still atrocious. Unless you're from the future, this game will chug on your machine.
  3. Jun 23, 2012
    3
    This expansion adds two very interesting features which made Civ 5 much less entertaining than its predecessor. However, as far as I've gone into this game, it feels like the Social Policies when announced: interesting but actually severely lacking. It doesn't bring back the challenge from Civ 4, it's just another bunch of dumbed down features, fitting for a dumbed down game.

    In a few
    words: don't even bother if you were disappointed with Civ 5. Expand
  4. Dec 16, 2013
    3
    Civ 5 is a great game, but I will be frank with my issue: Gods and Kings is NO WHERE EVEN CLOSE to 30 bucks worth of new content. Firaxis or 2k, whoever is responsible for the pricetag of these expansions, NEEDS TO STOP THIS RIDICULOUSNESS!
    Considering the base game's price tag, and the fact that this is pathetically considered a "rich man's game," these expansions should be priced no
    more than 15 bucks.

    I would prefer to give this expansion a 0/10 for the absurd pricing vs. content, but cannot deny the intuitive, but SIMPLE changes in this expansion that make the base game even better...So I will toss it a couple.
    Expand
  5. Jul 7, 2012
    2
    This DLC was not worth the 30 dollars, it had a nice tech tree overhaul but religion has no impact on the game whatsoever, its by far one of the most useless systems added to civ 5, and its an extreme let down considering i love the civ series.
  6. Apr 30, 2013
    2
    This expansion managed to add a little bit more complexity into the very arcade gameplay of CIV5, too bad it's still too dumbed down. The multiplayer part hasn't be fixed either in this expansion, the question remains, why the did they not copy&paste the excellent MP-part of CIV4?
    An inferior product of a once great game-series.
  7. Jul 14, 2012
    0
    Religion and city states tweaked. This should have been a patch. Civilization 4 is a complete game. Seems the developers want to milk this cash cow by charging for a few new tweaks that should have been included in the original game. Civilization 5 is like a bicycle you bought and found out it has no wheels, pedals, handlebars, seat, etc. Those will cost extra. I like the game, but find the greed of gaming companies like this hard to stomach. With the decline in the economy I can only see PC games getting worse and worse. Buy this if you can find it for $5. Expand
  8. Feb 17, 2013
    0
    less than useless. Although my PC is clearly within the crosshairs of this game, it constantly hangs. It always says "Next Turn", but nothing happens. The little workers work, but the game does not progress. I have to get to the Task Manager to close the game and Steam. Really not worth the effort for 5 minutes of play. Throwing it out. Will never buy from Steam or Sid again.
  9. Dec 13, 2012
    0
    Firaxis seems to be a company in dire straights milking this cash cow for all its worth with minimal investment. Still poorly made, pretty but poorly made. The new systems feel tacked on and poorly integrated. Spying more than religion. Religion being kind of interesting if somewhat pointless.

    Multiplayer is still buggy as hell after so many years to patch it. it crahses (though
    thankfully recovers OK). Pauses for no good reason then wakes up after a minute or two. If you have an AI in the game it cant initiate diplomacy with you! Who has 8 friends to play? I imagine many multiplayer players still need 1 or 2 AI's!

    Civ4 is still a better game. Sad but true.
    Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 53
  2. Negative: 1 out of 53
  1. Aug 3, 2012
    80
    An expansion with focus on religion. It features many well needed changes.
  2. Aug 1, 2012
    80
    Gods & Kings adds some fun and interesting things to the game, but leaves the core gameplay intact. While none of the additions tries to revolutionize the Civilization V formula, each of them still manages to improve it, which makes Gods & Kings a good catch for those already hooked on the basic game.
  3. Jul 31, 2012
    100
    The rarest of all expansions: the one that's better than its base game. [Aug 2012, p.58]