• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Silent Hunter III Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Command the cunning and deadly U-boats of the North Atlantic and experience the tension-filled atmosphere of a WWII submarine movie. The king of submarine simulations returns with an all-new 3D game engine, new crew-command features, and more realistic action than ever before. The gameCommand the cunning and deadly U-boats of the North Atlantic and experience the tension-filled atmosphere of a WWII submarine movie. The king of submarine simulations returns with an all-new 3D game engine, new crew-command features, and more realistic action than ever before. The game includes a career campaign, patrols that have both single and historical missions, a mission editor, and a multiplayer feature. Whether it’s stalking destroyers or hiding from depth charges, players will experience their own personal war story. The spectacular graphics, multiplayer options, and suspenseful gameplay combine to create the most impressive submarine simulation ever. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. "Dangerous Waters" is a superb modern naval combat simulator but Silent Hunter III is destined to be a Sim Hall of Fam all-time classic. [June 2005, p.94]
  2. As it is, Silent Hunter III is easily the best submarine simulation ever made.
  3. Without a doubt this game is a must have for any Naval Simulation fan, the flexibility in complexity has so much to offer that allows for beginner all the way through to expert.
  4. There's plenty of visceral thrill in wading into the middle of a convoy at night and letting loose with your deck gun. [July 2005, p.64]
  5. It lets you feel like you are a submarine captain in charge of a powerful but fragile U-boat, it provides a sobering history lesson, and the campaign makes you feel like you are a small but important part of a much larger conflict. Those are the hallmarks of a truly great simulation.
  6. From the ridiculous to the sublime: one for fans of undersea combat. [June 2005, p.98]
  7. Unless you've harbored a fantasy all your life to be a Captain of your very own submarine, you probably won't derive too much enjoyment from this exceptionally hardcore simulation.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 35
  2. Negative: 8 out of 35
  1. H.Lokesz
    Mar 18, 2005
    10
    Oh no! Another great game again! Have mercy with my spare time :). This game came as a supprise to me. The aces of the deep are still a great Oh no! Another great game again! Have mercy with my spare time :). This game came as a supprise to me. The aces of the deep are still a great memory in gameplay. The first attempt of Silent Hunter to go for the Atlantic scene with the U-boots was not a full success. This issue has been corrected. So, I have to cut my reply short, I have to some work to do on the high seas. Expand
  2. SamF.
    Sep 7, 2006
    10
    Gamers Who Enjoy Realistic Simulations will truly enjoy This Sub Sim. This Game might turn away a few people that are used to all out action Gamers Who Enjoy Realistic Simulations will truly enjoy This Sub Sim. This Game might turn away a few people that are used to all out action all the time, but if your willing to put yourself into this game and spend hours that are needed hunting enemy subs and use tactical manuvers then you will agree that this might be the best looking sim out there to date. Graphically the Sky and ocean look like your looking at a movie. If you play this game and find that getting to your patrol point takes too long you have the option of time compression but that would spoil the point of this whole sim. Traveling to the destionation and engaging the will take hours ...just like in real life. There are a few surprises that really add to the realism such as when you go to outside views. zooming in and out will not let you go through objects like most other games ... So the collision detection even in view mode is set correctly. The interior of the ship is done nicely showing all gages and areas of the ship but not as photorealistic as the envirement outside. The next installment of SILENT hUNTER Should address this one area...but With everything this Sim has going for it It is a must buy for any fan of this genre. Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2014
    10
    One of the best sub games around. It's not as good graphically as the newest sub games but is a better experience overall. You play on theOne of the best sub games around. It's not as good graphically as the newest sub games but is a better experience overall. You play on the side of the Germans which may not float your boat, but i def recommend this game to any sub gaming cravings. Expand
  4. FlyL.
    Mar 30, 2005
    9
    Atmosphere. That is what this game is about. This masterpice of programming (especially in this sim deficient age) has the ability to make Atmosphere. That is what this game is about. This masterpice of programming (especially in this sim deficient age) has the ability to make you feel like a submarine commander in the 1940's. The crew managment can get a little tiresome, but holy commotion, this thing is a work of sim art. The graphics are truly beyond state of the art and it runs very well on my P4 2.53 Ghz with Radion 9600XT (128MG). But once you start playing the game, you realize the graphics are just icing. The enemy AI, crew you can see, station tools,dynamic campaign and level of realism is superior to any sub sim I've seen. I usually only play flight sims, but this things got me hooked. Thanks Ubisoft Romania !! It seems the Eastern Europeans are the new force in the simulation world. Collapse
  5. ChrisP.
    May 3, 2005
    8
    Great game, the only thing that made it loose 2 points was that the time compression is still to slow at 1024. Also the game has a few bugs. Great game, the only thing that made it loose 2 points was that the time compression is still to slow at 1024. Also the game has a few bugs. One that I noticed was that when under attack from airplanes, the planes will sometimes skip. Expand
  6. May 29, 2012
    5
    Without its severe flaws, this game would be a 9/10. Worth looking at if you are a mature, very patient gamer willing to put in some seriousWithout its severe flaws, this game would be a 9/10. Worth looking at if you are a mature, very patient gamer willing to put in some serious time. Still worth picking up 2012+ as there has been no really good sub-sim game since. I played it in 2011 with the GWX 3.0 mega-mod (there are newer mods but GWX is still one of the best or most polished). Setup can be difficult. I played a single career for 100 odd hours till 1943 before giving up due to the many bugs (permanent storm weather bug did it for me), but in that time I had some great and intense moments. Expand
  7. Starforce
    May 10, 2005
    0
    all because of starforce, it crashed my pc. this product is doomed becuase of the perfect match: UBI + starforce. I won't buy ubi all because of starforce, it crashed my pc. this product is doomed becuase of the perfect match: UBI + starforce. I won't buy ubi products anymore. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews