Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 75
  2. Negative: 10 out of 75
  1. Mar 18, 2013
    52
    Ultimately, SimCity is going to go down as a “what could’ve been.”
  2. May 1, 2013
    50
    Nicely balanced in many ways, but frustrating for the single player. Not detailed/stable enough for interactive, co-operative play yet, either. [May 2013, p.86]
  3. Mar 19, 2013
    50
    There is magic here, but after hitting the ceiling so often I can't recommend this game to many people without a list of caveats to warn them first. It's gorgeous, and a time sink, but the more you come to understand it, the less you wish you knew.
  4. Mar 15, 2013
    50
    Like an archeological dig. Somewhere under the dirt lies the broken pieces of a fantastic game. EA and Maxis are working furiously to put Humpty Dumpty together again, but in the meantime, we have a game that’s equal parts entertaining and frustrating. Sporting a fantastic user interface, great graphics, and an interesting concept, SimCity has an astounding level of potential. But in its current state, I can’t recommend it to any but the staunchest series fans.
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    50
    It's conventional. Playing the game is like being handed a piece of paper and checking off a to-do list. The old games weren't much different in this respect, but this is supposed to be a modern game and it's lacking in stories to tell your friends. A city is millions of people living together in harmony and tension. It's a human achievement and it's messy. SimCity is gorgeous and bland.
  6. Mar 13, 2013
    50
    Something that looked like a very decent restart of the meritorious open-ended city-building game series turned out to be as dull as ditchwater. Maybe, the new SimCity title will be a good game some day. Only if its cities are 4x - 5x bigger, if modders take charge of it, and the online component is working the way it should be working.
  7. Mar 11, 2013
    50
    The visuals are nice and while you are plotting your metropolis you can feel the potential of SimCity. But even though EA and Maxis are hard at work to fix everything in this state this game is rather disappointing.
  8. Mar 9, 2013
    50
    Before it unwillingly became a fantastic rant against always-online DRM, and forced social cooperation, SimCity was supposed to be the shining new star of the city builders genre. Instead, Maxis and EA delivered a very pretty screen saver one can build as he likes. Miniaturized both in terms of zones to play with and gameplay mechanics, this SimCity is really fun for 10 hours, the time you need to build a full city and watch it like the pretty ant farm it is, before you simply abandon it before the very eyes of other players who were relying on its resources. It may still remain fun when played privately among friends with a decent strategy, which they need to polish even before laying their first piece of concrete on the ground, but in the end, we'd wager the game itself will be forgotten in a year's time. Its disastrous launch and unreliable servers? Maybe less so.
  9. Mar 7, 2013
    50
    SimCity (the game) isn't the pinnacle of the series, but it's super fun. SimCity (the service) is a disaster. What you get out of the package as a whole rests solely on how many flaming hoops you're willing to jump through before arriving at your just reward.
User Score
2.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 4505 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    3
    Server reached maximum capacity and so I was placed in a queue and was not allowed to play a SINGLE PLAYER GAME because it forces me toServer reached maximum capacity and so I was placed in a queue and was not allowed to play a SINGLE PLAYER GAME because it forces me to constantly be online.

    So despite my flawless internet connection, EA's incompetence has forced me to postpone playing a game I'd like to play on my own anyway.

    I have played the beta and the city size limits are awful.

    But it isn't all bad, I do enjoy the new features, such as removal of the piping networks and the add-ons for buildings. But it's awful comopated to SC4
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    0
    It may be looked down upon to use this as a megaphone to shout through but the fact is that people need to see this, that NO-ONE should EVERIt may be looked down upon to use this as a megaphone to shout through but the fact is that people need to see this, that NO-ONE should EVER support always online DRM for a single player game, on my partners 2nd attempt to play this game, she was told the servers were at full capacity and could not play until 235 minutes had elapsed. There are a staggering amount of other problems, such as the save states being tied to client-side servers, so that once EA decides this game is finished so is your progress and your ability to play it, forever. Not only that but, as probably said before, this game is on Origin only, so you must install this malicious, unoptimized, buggy front-end to just begin to play the game.
    Regardless of how the game plays as a Simulator, or whether or not it is improved upon it's predecessors, these issues need to not just ironed out, but abolished completely and utterly. The business practices being executed here are absolutely disgusting and should not be tolerated, at all.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    3
    BEWARE: Forced online DRM, will you be playing this 10 years down the track like previous Sim Cities? No, you wont. And they want this, so youBEWARE: Forced online DRM, will you be playing this 10 years down the track like previous Sim Cities? No, you wont. And they want this, so you buy the next one. Servers go down? Well screw you, EA already has your money. DLC available from release, server side save-games. I repeat, FORCED ONLINE DRM Also, server queues at launch. Thanks for destroying video gaming and my most treasured franchise. Full Review »