SimCity PC

SimCity Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 4553 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Control a region that delivers true multi-city scale and play a single city or up to sixteen cities at once each with different specializations. Multiplayer adds a new facet to your game as your decisions will have an effect both your city and your region and creates new ways to play byControl a region that delivers true multi-city scale and play a single city or up to sixteen cities at once each with different specializations. Multiplayer adds a new facet to your game as your decisions will have an effect both your city and your region and creates new ways to play by collaborating or competing to earn achievements. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 75
  2. Negative: 10 out of 75
  1. Mar 4, 2013
    100
    A fantastic city simulation that meets all expectations. So perfectly balanced it makes it easy to pick up and enjoy, but proves to be very difficult to master. Funny, addictive and with great options for both co-operative and competitive online play - Sim City is a clear candidate for Game of the Year.
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    86
    Controversy and technical issues aside, SimCity is deep, full of details and very accessible. No matter if you like this kind of game or not, we think it deserves a try.
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    80
    If you have a good look at it, you can see as many reasons to like this new SimCity as to hate it. The required connection offers plenty of possibilities but it is a pain in the ass to lonely mayors. The HUD is elegant and subtle but hides some curious flaws. Finition seems perfect, but several bugs will come to spoil your gaming experience. Anyway, SimCity will make you play again and again, and that's quite a good point.
  4. Mar 17, 2013
    65
    There are some lovely aspects to the game, that have been developed from the earlier experiences that so many people knew and loved. There’s a great soundtrack, and the game has a polished look about it that makes you want to love it. But underneath, there is so much that’s broken, that I currently wouldn’t recommend the game - as I experienced it - to anyone not willing to go through the pain for a glimpse of the game they once loved.
  5. You soon realize that control, like your city, isn’t all its built up to be. So much has been smoothed out that it doesn’t always feel like you’re running the show.
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    55
    There's just something disturbing in seeing a game that is part of such a storied and influential franchise sacrifice so much to rush headlong into the social sphere. Perhaps the bugs and shortcomings will be resolved in a few weeks, but until then, SimCity's hidden requirement of additional patience still applies.
  7. Mar 8, 2013
    20
    If Electronic Arts is going to make a game with the basic premise being that no city is an island, if they're going to stress the interaction among cities, if they're going to make playing alongside other people a cornerstone of the design, if they're going to force my creations into tiny boxes that cannot exist past a certain point without the help of other tiny boxes, they're going to have to do the hard work of making it actually work. And ideally, that hard work should be done before they sell people the game, not after they've been caught flat-footed for botching it so completely.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    A good SimCity that is different than it's predecessors, but still captures that typical SimCity feeling. It takes some time to get used to aA good SimCity that is different than it's predecessors, but still captures that typical SimCity feeling. It takes some time to get used to a few new approaches like the city size and the connected cities, but can get you hooked up in no time, leaving lots of options to optimize in later gameplay stages.I'd buy it again, no server problems as welI.
    I honestly don't get however people try to give negative impressions without playing the game, or trying to manipulate the rating with multiple accounts that have copy&paste rants that repeat themselves.You don't have to buy, just let the people who enjoy it enjoy it.
    Expand
  2. Mar 19, 2013
    6
    Buggy gameplay leads to a frustrating gameplay experience. Resources not shared, or being used when readily available. Cant join multiplayerBuggy gameplay leads to a frustrating gameplay experience. Resources not shared, or being used when readily available. Cant join multiplayer games, all suggested are always the same and are full. Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    2
    This game is awesome! When I'm able to play it... Unfortunately, the always-online DRM that comes with this game makes it very difficult to doThis game is awesome! When I'm able to play it... Unfortunately, the always-online DRM that comes with this game makes it very difficult to do so. Yes, it is only the first few days of launch, but it sure would be nice if I didn't have to worry about server loads, disconnects, rollbacks, downtime, maintenance, losing hours on my cities, ect. I understand it's no longer a single player game, but I'd much rather have the option to play online with friends rather than be forced to play by their server scheduled when all I want to do is play in my own region.

    I defended Diablo 3s always-online model, mostly because I was blinded by fan-girl-ism and I thought a game shouldn't be rated based on a games servers. Not anymore. This game deserves the metascore that the critics give it, but I just can't feel the same as long as this DRM is in place. It's such a terrible model to prevent piracy and companies like EA and Blizzard need to learn this. Fast. It only hurts the consumers that paid actual money.
    Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. No Scenario Terrain generator LOL @ EA. Beyond. Absurdity. I can just imagine the Product Managers at EA right now when they were making the game. "Hmmm. Let's make really bad decisions! I'll be awes-some." Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2013
    0
    SimCity is a beautiful game, the developers really really really did a great job on it. The greed of EA really killed the game. It is reallySimCity is a beautiful game, the developers really really really did a great job on it. The greed of EA really killed the game. It is really sad that these great developers are being controled by a money hungry greedy monster, EA. When the game is playable (since it is an always online game which requires strong servers) it is a fantaastic game, however it is very rarely playable. EA has destroyed a beautiful game. DO NOT BUY IT until it is clear that EA/Origin has "Fixed" their servers. You will know when to buy it, just keep checking the SimCity facebook page and if most the posts by users are negative, do not buy it. Expand
  6. Mar 5, 2013
    0
    I am giving this a score of 0 since I can't log in and play. It's a singleplayer game and its saying the servers are full. This is crazy! DidI am giving this a score of 0 since I can't log in and play. It's a singleplayer game and its saying the servers are full. This is crazy! Did EA not plan for launch at all? It's only going to get worse as this goes worldwide. I will only give this a good review once I can actually play the game. Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2013
    0
    Always online DRM, smaller, non-connected cities due to engine limitations, DAY 0 DOWNLOADABLE CONTENT, poor customer service and delivery ofAlways online DRM, smaller, non-connected cities due to engine limitations, DAY 0 DOWNLOADABLE CONTENT, poor customer service and delivery of product (waited almost an hour to connect to my single player game), and a swath of simplifications in the gameplay that ruins it. Expand

See all 2129 User Reviews