Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 4433 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Control a region that delivers true multi-city scale and play a single city or up to sixteen cities at once each with different specializations. Multiplayer adds a new facet to your game as your decisions will have an effect both your city and your region and creates new ways to play byControl a region that delivers true multi-city scale and play a single city or up to sixteen cities at once each with different specializations. Multiplayer adds a new facet to your game as your decisions will have an effect both your city and your region and creates new ways to play by collaborating or competing to earn achievements. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 75
  2. Negative: 10 out of 75
  1. Mar 4, 2013
    100
    A fantastic city simulation that meets all expectations. So perfectly balanced it makes it easy to pick up and enjoy, but proves to be very difficult to master. Funny, addictive and with great options for both co-operative and competitive online play - Sim City is a clear candidate for Game of the Year.
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    86
    Controversy and technical issues aside, SimCity is deep, full of details and very accessible. No matter if you like this kind of game or not, we think it deserves a try.
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    80
    If you have a good look at it, you can see as many reasons to like this new SimCity as to hate it. The required connection offers plenty of possibilities but it is a pain in the ass to lonely mayors. The HUD is elegant and subtle but hides some curious flaws. Finition seems perfect, but several bugs will come to spoil your gaming experience. Anyway, SimCity will make you play again and again, and that's quite a good point.
  4. Mar 17, 2013
    65
    There are some lovely aspects to the game, that have been developed from the earlier experiences that so many people knew and loved. There’s a great soundtrack, and the game has a polished look about it that makes you want to love it. But underneath, there is so much that’s broken, that I currently wouldn’t recommend the game - as I experienced it - to anyone not willing to go through the pain for a glimpse of the game they once loved.
  5. You soon realize that control, like your city, isn’t all its built up to be. So much has been smoothed out that it doesn’t always feel like you’re running the show.
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    55
    There's just something disturbing in seeing a game that is part of such a storied and influential franchise sacrifice so much to rush headlong into the social sphere. Perhaps the bugs and shortcomings will be resolved in a few weeks, but until then, SimCity's hidden requirement of additional patience still applies.
  7. Mar 8, 2013
    20
    If Electronic Arts is going to make a game with the basic premise being that no city is an island, if they're going to stress the interaction among cities, if they're going to make playing alongside other people a cornerstone of the design, if they're going to force my creations into tiny boxes that cannot exist past a certain point without the help of other tiny boxes, they're going to have to do the hard work of making it actually work. And ideally, that hard work should be done before they sell people the game, not after they've been caught flat-footed for botching it so completely.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    A good SimCity that is different than it's predecessors, but still captures that typical SimCity feeling. It takes some time to get used to aA good SimCity that is different than it's predecessors, but still captures that typical SimCity feeling. It takes some time to get used to a few new approaches like the city size and the connected cities, but can get you hooked up in no time, leaving lots of options to optimize in later gameplay stages.I'd buy it again, no server problems as welI.
    I honestly don't get however people try to give negative impressions without playing the game, or trying to manipulate the rating with multiple accounts that have copy&paste rants that repeat themselves.You don't have to buy, just let the people who enjoy it enjoy it.
    Expand
  2. Mar 7, 2013
    6
    Ok. No big issues with the game itself, city size is the only big flaw. DRM destroys the experiance. Game is unplayable because of EA'sOk. No big issues with the game itself, city size is the only big flaw. DRM destroys the experiance. Game is unplayable because of EA's servers 3 days after release. If Multiplayer aspect was optional and singleplayer was guaranteed without Internet requirement game would have been better. Now it's unplayable. Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    2
    This game is awesome! When I'm able to play it... Unfortunately, the always-online DRM that comes with this game makes it very difficult to doThis game is awesome! When I'm able to play it... Unfortunately, the always-online DRM that comes with this game makes it very difficult to do so. Yes, it is only the first few days of launch, but it sure would be nice if I didn't have to worry about server loads, disconnects, rollbacks, downtime, maintenance, losing hours on my cities, ect. I understand it's no longer a single player game, but I'd much rather have the option to play online with friends rather than be forced to play by their server scheduled when all I want to do is play in my own region.

    I defended Diablo 3s always-online model, mostly because I was blinded by fan-girl-ism and I thought a game shouldn't be rated based on a games servers. Not anymore. This game deserves the metascore that the critics give it, but I just can't feel the same as long as this DRM is in place. It's such a terrible model to prevent piracy and companies like EA and Blizzard need to learn this. Fast. It only hurts the consumers that paid actual money.
    Expand
  4. May 13, 2013
    0
    I can't play any of my cities. I'm sick of starting of scratch every time I want to play. Screw you EA and screw your stupid goddamn servers.I can't play any of my cities. I'm sick of starting of scratch every time I want to play. Screw you EA and screw your stupid goddamn servers. I can't play any of my cities. I'm sick of starting of scratch every time I want to play. Screw you EA and screw your stupid goddamn servers. I can't play any of my cities. I'm sick of starting of scratch every time I want to play. Screw you EA and screw your stupid goddamn servers. I can't play any of my cities. I'm sick of starting of scratch every time I want to play. Screw you EA and screw your stupid goddamn servers. Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2013
    0
    I "played" this game for about 2 hours. The first 15 minutes or so were spent updating the game I had just purchased the day prior. The nextI "played" this game for about 2 hours. The first 15 minutes or so were spent updating the game I had just purchased the day prior. The next 15 minutes were spent appeasing Sims in the tutorial. The next hour plus was spent being denied access to a single player game because of server issues. Sim City is just about as fun as waiting in traffic in order to pay a toll, except tolls actually pay for upkeep of the road or bridge you're driving on. Paying for Sim City rewards for EA for screwing their customers.

    I wish I could pirate this game just to stick it to EA, which is ironic because I hate EA mostly because of the they do to thwart pirates.
    Expand
  6. Mar 5, 2013
    0
    The game is a bit of a mess. They introduced the glassbox engine to make a realistic city simulation, yet what it simulates is totallyThe game is a bit of a mess. They introduced the glassbox engine to make a realistic city simulation, yet what it simulates is totally unnecessary and meant that the maps were stupidly small. The way it simulates resource distribution and things like using "agents" for everything is silly as it could be done in a less intensive way. Similarly, simulating every single person, while a cool idea on paper, is actually kind of pointless in a city builder and is more akin to a Sims expansion pack. So what you get is an overly complex simulation to create realism, yet the irony that square little cities with only one road connection to the outside world and surrounded by green wasteland, is totally unrealistic. How can you immerse yourself in the game when you know that you're playing a city building game where it's not possible to build a city?

    Thinking about the amazing regions I created on SC4, this is such a huge step backwards, and for what? 3D graphics and tiny maps. Other gripes include;

    -City tile size means you need efficiency, making the introduction of curvy roads a damp squib.
    -Always online; I live in a village with poor internet, thanks for thinking about us EA.
    -Lack of mixed zoning.
    -Density now decided by road type, and not seeing the full plot area when zoning.
    -Can no longer save cities.
    -No adjacent tiles which made SC4 a truly epic game in scale. -Graphics are ok, but given the massive trade-off with the tiny tiles you'd think they'd be better than "ok".
    Expand
  7. Mar 18, 2013
    0
    EA does not need always DRM cause they killed all special games. Customers do not need to buy EA games. They are game killer. This game isntEA does not need always DRM cause they killed all special games. Customers do not need to buy EA games. They are game killer. This game isnt SimCity it is SimsCity(Town). Expand

See all 2112 User Reviews