User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 403 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 403

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jeremy
    May 20, 2006
    8
    This is a Very Good, solid FPS. After reading the other posts it amazes me how people have forgotten what a FPS actually is. If you want interactive movies that hold your hand all the way through a game then get FEAR or one of the gazzillion WW2 games.
    This game has solid story, graphics, music and AI. Yes the AI is very good, maybe not as good as Far Cry, but then what game does? If
    This is a Very Good, solid FPS. After reading the other posts it amazes me how people have forgotten what a FPS actually is. If you want interactive movies that hold your hand all the way through a game then get FEAR or one of the gazzillion WW2 games.
    This game has solid story, graphics, music and AI. Yes the AI is very good, maybe not as good as Far Cry, but then what game does? If you're having trouble in the second half of this game and have to reload a lot then maybe you should quit trying to keep max health. Complaints about the length of the game are absurd as you should have known that it was only 4 - 8 hours long when you bought it.
    Kudos to Ritual for a well executed game.
    Expand
  2. KristoferR.
    May 22, 2006
    10
    I've been waiting for the sequal to Sin, after finishing Sin I needed to find out what happend. Then came along Sin: Emergence and I must say I adore it its a strong FPS, the story line is brillaint the range of voice cast especialy Jen Taylor doing the voice of Hardcorps newest rookie Jessica. Only one minor little thing NEED MORE WEAPONS. But all in all for the price I'd say I've been waiting for the sequal to Sin, after finishing Sin I needed to find out what happend. Then came along Sin: Emergence and I must say I adore it its a strong FPS, the story line is brillaint the range of voice cast especialy Jen Taylor doing the voice of Hardcorps newest rookie Jessica. Only one minor little thing NEED MORE WEAPONS. But all in all for the price I'd say if your looking for a fun FPS Sin: Emergence is the game for you. Expand
  3. PatB.
    May 22, 2006
    8
    This game was an overall joy. Nothing from the package was not to be expected, and every minute of pure action was worth my money. the only real complaint I have with this title is that it felt way too contrived from other great games. In fact, many of the great set pieces reminded me of other recent, high-rated titles.The first half of the game seemed like an amalgamation of This game was an overall joy. Nothing from the package was not to be expected, and every minute of pure action was worth my money. the only real complaint I have with this title is that it felt way too contrived from other great games. In fact, many of the great set pieces reminded me of other recent, high-rated titles.The first half of the game seemed like an amalgamation of FarCry's maps and Half-Life 2's puzzles, and some of the overheard dialogue seemed more at home in the No One Lives Forever universe. And to top it off, the end boss battle, as well as the climb up to it, seemed parallel to the climax of Max Payne. Yet this odd combination of elements lead to a joyful experience, and some of the scripted moments gave me such intense adrenaline rushs that I forgot about many of the similarities. This game is well worth a buy, and hopefully the sequels will match or surpass. Expand
  4. A.Ashley
    Jun 1, 2006
    8
    Very good game, not great like a Half Life 2, but excellent storyline. Would definately recommend to others. It follows along perfectly with the original SiN (no pun intended). Got my money's worth. Definately looking forward to more episodes.
  5. DavidR.
    Aug 1, 2006
    9
    Despite it's short length (although I think it is adequate for the price) I think this was a very entralling and well made game. Differant from your average first person-shooter because some areas required some non-lateral thinking, and the path wasn't always obviously laid out. Very stunning graphics, the source engine is amazing, and some good physics which runs well even if Despite it's short length (although I think it is adequate for the price) I think this was a very entralling and well made game. Differant from your average first person-shooter because some areas required some non-lateral thinking, and the path wasn't always obviously laid out. Very stunning graphics, the source engine is amazing, and some good physics which runs well even if you don't have an amazing computer. Entertaining and intriguing storyline, I was a little dubiuos when I first heard about the "episode" factor, but I really can't wait for the second one to find out what happens next. I just hope we don't have to buy 10 episodes to get the whole story! Expand
  6. OliverD
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. I absoloutely love it, people say that Ritual have put no effort in, do they realise how many little gems there are. There are about twenty phone numbers you can ring and get different messages. The AI actually comments on what you're looking at. And there's loads of secret areas. It is awesome.
  7. AdamMCbomB
    May 12, 2006
    8
    There is lots of value for the buck here, especially considering it sells with the original Sin title. Feels a little like a console FPS at times. Reminiscent of Duke Nukem 3D, but sadly nowhere nearly as cool. Lots of artwork, and original gags, including somewhat humerous signs posted in many areas. If you're into single player shooters and are looking for an exceptional total There is lots of value for the buck here, especially considering it sells with the original Sin title. Feels a little like a console FPS at times. Reminiscent of Duke Nukem 3D, but sadly nowhere nearly as cool. Lots of artwork, and original gags, including somewhat humerous signs posted in many areas. If you're into single player shooters and are looking for an exceptional total conversion for Half Life 2, this is it. Expand
  8. ChristianM.
    May 14, 2006
    9
    Fun, good ai and it feels like the original sin. nice stages, very interactive and fun to play. i don't understand the bad reviews, sin episodes is more fun than hl2 plus because of the lack of ammo and health you have to use lots of strategic playing to win! its not a simple shooter. oh and the title song is great as well!!!
  9. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    This game was highly under-rated. The action is a rapid, adrenaline rush with vivid, constantly changing environments. There should have been a Episode 2, but unfortunately, there wasn't. I have replayed this game multiple times and get a rush every time. The graphics are excellent and the game-play addictive. The main character is you, essentially, and playing with you is a fem fataleThis game was highly under-rated. The action is a rapid, adrenaline rush with vivid, constantly changing environments. There should have been a Episode 2, but unfortunately, there wasn't. I have replayed this game multiple times and get a rush every time. The graphics are excellent and the game-play addictive. The main character is you, essentially, and playing with you is a fem fatale that will not only knock your socks off, but she can kick butt and is an an enjoyable companion to play with. Everything about this game was A+. Highly recommended. Expand
  10. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    i NEED MORE BLADE, BLADE! j k
  11. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    A good remake of half life 2.Good graphics good ai the weapons sound ok and the levels are well designed.There are only 3 weapons in the game but if you know how to use them it should not be a backdraw.And boy what nice chicks are in the game.The only backdraw is the short campaign.
  12. StasSagdeyev
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    Hey I must say I spent quite a time in late 90s playing Sin. Let's see what have we got now.
    Familiar characters, humour, action. New storyline, better graphics, lack of weapons. But, hey! Wasn't it only the beginning?! A lot of people still hope they're going to make further episodes. Playing Episode 1: Emergence was extremely enjoyable!
  13. JoeP.
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    Great game play, story line keeps game ineresting and increases playability.
  14. AndyAspen
    May 11, 2006
    10
    It's great, not best possible but great. What makes it better than avarage is that same tricks have been done as good as they can be done. Also some improvements and couple new ideas make it worth replaying couple times more. Challenge system works and it's great to find out that while the game proggresses it becomes as hard as you skills will allow it to be. It's got also It's great, not best possible but great. What makes it better than avarage is that same tricks have been done as good as they can be done. Also some improvements and couple new ideas make it worth replaying couple times more. Challenge system works and it's great to find out that while the game proggresses it becomes as hard as you skills will allow it to be. It's got also a super hard mode which is extremely fun to play since it's not allowed to save or reload game when it is toggled. Ingame music is exelent and mainmenu music (available from iTunes) is one of the best gamemenu musics ever. Maybe MaxPayne has littlebit better but still it great. So why I am giving it ten? I tell you. The truth is that I'd love to give it 8 and HalfLife2 score 7 but since this is better than usual and it's without a second thought better than HL2 or F.E.A.R or anyother FPS lately. For those who are about to think why to pay 20 Expand
  15. AllanH.
    Jun 4, 2006
    8
    Good game I thought the game would not be that good because it was in a episode but I was surprized. The only thing I have bad to say about it is there were not enough weapons it was the same weapons throughout the game. I like this game and I can't wait for the next episode.
  16. ChrisD.
    Aug 4, 2006
    8
    Nice to see SP development is still alive - great game, though could be longer or cheaper - not good value!
  17. MartinL.
    Jan 11, 2007
    9
    Cons: Repetitive enemies. Not enough different guns. Some scripting bugs. Same annoying cut-scene structure as HL2. Main antagonist is completely tasteless. Having an immortal side-kick kills believability. Iron sights aiming seems to be little more than a gimmicky zoom function, which is too bad. A little short. (Nearly) silent protagonist. No chapter selection. Pros: A lot better than Cons: Repetitive enemies. Not enough different guns. Some scripting bugs. Same annoying cut-scene structure as HL2. Main antagonist is completely tasteless. Having an immortal side-kick kills believability. Iron sights aiming seems to be little more than a gimmicky zoom function, which is too bad. A little short. (Nearly) silent protagonist. No chapter selection. Pros: A lot better than the original in every respect (especially in that Blade no longer makes moronic Duke Nukem-style one-liners). Very satisfying combat (although the rag-doll physics are a little too high-powered and Hollywood-y). Weapons feel nice and powerful. Likable characters and decent voice-acting. Innovative melee and grenade system. Arena mode extends the game's life span. Expand
  18. PetriB.
    May 1, 2007
    10
    This game is brilliant! I really enjoy every second of playing it.
  19. JensH.
    Nov 1, 2006
    9
    Great game, just like SiN 1. Way better than Halflife 1 and 2 ever was and ever will be. Just too short, but that's understandable since Ritual will release it in episodes.
  20. GeneH
    Oct 12, 2006
    10
    Extremely smooth and fun to play.
  21. KaiR.
    May 11, 2006
    8
    Soooo much fun, little need to think things through - just kill kill kill! Could be just a little longer, but hopefully we wont have to wait long for the next 'episode' to be published.
  22. BertramW.
    May 11, 2006
    9
    Very good overall near nonstop action, I found the way the enemies adjust from firefight to firefight quite disorientating at first, but really enjoy it now as you never know what to expect each time you fight, or re-load from a save game. Good comic book style setting and ambience. Plus Elexis is hot. Minor dissapointment was that the slow mo is a bit useless tbh.
  23. PhillipS.
    May 18, 2006
    10
    The only thing I can think is that the guy that gave this game a zero must work at one of Ritual's competitors, this game is pure genius. I've played shooters since the Wolf3d days, and this is the first game since Doom2 that really does the "shooter" part of FPS really REALLY well. This game uses the Source engine, but they didn't overuse the stuff that Half-Life2 did like The only thing I can think is that the guy that gave this game a zero must work at one of Ritual's competitors, this game is pure genius. I've played shooters since the Wolf3d days, and this is the first game since Doom2 that really does the "shooter" part of FPS really REALLY well. This game uses the Source engine, but they didn't overuse the stuff that Half-Life2 did like the stupid physics puzzles or long winded driving sequences. This game is also the first one in a LONG time to have the degree of interactivity that I came to expect from games like Duke Nukem, maybe Duke Forever will come out someday and will trump Sin again, but until then, Sin remains firmly on top of the interactive universe. I'm waiting on the next one, and definitely can't wait for multiplayer. Expand
  24. AlexanderR.
    May 25, 2006
    9
    The graphics were stunning, the gameplay awesome and the environment was amazing. There were a few bugs but with time they will be fixed. This is a game that will keep me busy for hours on end. I'm defiantly looking forward for the second episode.
  25. BoS.
    May 27, 2006
    9
    to all those who say its to short: its short because its not a full game its episodic content... its meant to be short.. okay..?!? only thing i can say i missed was blades talk... he talked a lot in sin and wages of sin but here it was a bit to silent in this one.. sound was great a few stuttering issues but thats something to do with the source engine.. that valve made.. all in all this to all those who say its to short: its short because its not a full game its episodic content... its meant to be short.. okay..?!? only thing i can say i missed was blades talk... he talked a lot in sin and wages of sin but here it was a bit to silent in this one.. sound was great a few stuttering issues but thats something to do with the source engine.. that valve made.. all in all this game is great and i especially like it being episodic meaning that the next game comes out in a few months. Expand
  26. DavidV.
    May 27, 2006
    9
    I like the game!! I played the old game like a boy with a new toy. So i like the new one aswel. Greetz keep up the good work.
  27. Shawn
    May 27, 2006
    9
    Awesome for all you SiN fans! (myself included) It is all you could hope for in continuing storyline of SiN. LOL the negative critism is funny. Most of the people seem confused on the concept of Episodes. For those not certain a TV episode is usually 30 minutes (when uninterrupted by commericals) and has much less quality than a 2 hour motion picture. But ultimately the story goes on much Awesome for all you SiN fans! (myself included) It is all you could hope for in continuing storyline of SiN. LOL the negative critism is funny. Most of the people seem confused on the concept of Episodes. For those not certain a TV episode is usually 30 minutes (when uninterrupted by commericals) and has much less quality than a 2 hour motion picture. But ultimately the story goes on much longer in episodes because of duration... unless its Friday 13th or Scary Movie LOL. The price and quality is great. 4 to 6 hours of game play entertainment for the same price as a DVD with 2 hours of entertainment. But i'm thinking people will get it when HL2: Episodes comes out. Hey its not for everyone, I can see that right off. But for me, the whole concept is great. I will definitely be getting SiN Episode 2. Expand
  28. Mike
    May 29, 2006
    9
    Fun game! Just to short and needs more freedom through out the levels.
  29. BrianD.
    May 30, 2006
    10
    this continues where the previous SIN stopped. only after seven years Jessica and JC are grownup. but still fighting with you against the evil but beautiful Elexis Sinclair. Terrific graphics and puzzles in this top class shooter ! a real must have for al the first person shooters!
  30. PaulM.
    Jun 1, 2006
    8
    Good game, 2 very nasty end of level bad guy types, other than that a nice play.
  31. AnonymousMC
    Jun 1, 2006
    8
    Emergence is a bit like eating a jam doughnut.
    Short but delicious.
    Although gettting Sugar all over your face, and jam squirting out on the floor is annoying. It's perfectly long enough(about 6 hrs) for the amount it cost. Plenty to shoot at. Beginnings of a decent storyline - lthough it doesnt really kick in till half way. My only real gries are - you seem to
    Emergence is a bit like eating a jam doughnut.
    Short but delicious.
    Although gettting Sugar all over your face, and jam squirting out on the floor is annoying.

    It's perfectly long enough(about 6 hrs) for the amount it cost.
    Plenty to shoot at.
    Beginnings of a decent storyline - lthough it doesnt really kick in till half way.

    My only real gries are
    - you seem to spend an age with just a pistol.
    - SMG and shotgun are a bit weedy and randomn
    - Too long fighting the same grunts.
    - Bit too linear - Im getting real fed up of locked doors
    - bland interiors and level design - especially at the beginning
    Expand
  32. JarredW.
    Jun 1, 2006
    8
    Not bad, but not great either. The end battle (climbing a tower and winning the final fight) was pretty reminiscent of HL2's conclusion. $20 for 5-6 hours of game play, vs. $60 for 20-30 hours with HL2? Yeah, episodic content is great... for making money. Longer episodes, please!
  33. FairD.
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    This is a good game. Perhaps not a 10, but I gave it a 10 to make up for all the uneducated hormonally-imbalanced pre-adults who thought with their genitals and gave it a 1 rating.
  34. DarylL.
    Jun 5, 2006
    8
    I would reate and 8.5. It was simple, but the story was good. Not a lot of weapons to choose from, and the bad guys all look the same. But it was a sit and shoot game, which is a pleasant take break from the more complicated shooters out there. It's a nice way to spend a weekend at home when the wife is out of time.
  35. AnsonG.
    Jul 7, 2006
    10
    Believe a hype of this game. This game is a mixture of Half-Life 2. The graphics and display was nice and good quality. I was impressed of this major action scenes. The enemies are quite challenging and intelligent. If u are searching for intensity and fast paced chaos, u will only enjoy the multiplayer experience. The environment physics gives a nice feel, the storyline was a blast to Believe a hype of this game. This game is a mixture of Half-Life 2. The graphics and display was nice and good quality. I was impressed of this major action scenes. The enemies are quite challenging and intelligent. If u are searching for intensity and fast paced chaos, u will only enjoy the multiplayer experience. The environment physics gives a nice feel, the storyline was a blast to play through and the action was amazing. What can i say? It is amazing. Expand
  36. PeterW.
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    Excellent. I love it!
  37. AnthonyB.
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    It was an awesome game kinda short and at the begining scene when they were in the car and he hiloosinated the one lady I didnt so much like that but ill give the highest vote for good gameplay hopefully episode 2 will have more weapons.
  38. ShaneG.
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    This game was very fun I am anxiously waiting for the next one.
  39. CarlS.
    May 28, 2007
    10
    I rate this game a 10 because it's a pretty good game. Had me hoppin near the end with the last boss. But I got em. Waiting for the next episode.
  40. JesusR.
    Oct 22, 2006
    9
    An awesome game, great for fans of the first SiN and for FPS lovers alike.
  41. MacDuro
    May 12, 2006
    8
    A good history, nice enemies, weapons and sounds.
  42. TimJ.
    May 12, 2006
    9
    After playing for the first couple stages it reminded me of the fun times i had with the original SIn games. The thrill of the hunt and hunted, this game has it all.
  43. I.Whitacre
    May 12, 2006
    8
    Looks great, and has a lot of interaction, I like being able to pick up boxes etc... The AI is pretty poor, I ran around a group of enimies who where ducking behind a fallen pop machine, I killed one and ended up behind the other. He didn't seem to mind that his buddy's head just blew up, and the killer, me, was hanging out 2 ft behind him. That said, heads do explode, the Looks great, and has a lot of interaction, I like being able to pick up boxes etc... The AI is pretty poor, I ran around a group of enimies who where ducking behind a fallen pop machine, I killed one and ended up behind the other. He didn't seem to mind that his buddy's head just blew up, and the killer, me, was hanging out 2 ft behind him. That said, heads do explode, the action is quick, and overall I liked it! Hopefully the future episodes improve upon some of the AI problems. Expand
  44. Tmlkml
    May 14, 2006
    10
    Best game ever. If it was 50 bucks, I'd be pissed, I only paid 18 bucks(pre-order). If you aren't stupid, thick headed, or a total moron, you'll love this game.
  45. NathanaelR.
    May 14, 2006
    8
    Decent shooter which suffers from difficulty scaling problems. Otherwise it's a fine example of no nonsense FPS goodness that is well executed and slickly produced. There's little original here, but it's done so well that you don't care that it's a mindless action game because you're having fun. However, if you use quicksaves every time you die, the game Decent shooter which suffers from difficulty scaling problems. Otherwise it's a fine example of no nonsense FPS goodness that is well executed and slickly produced. There's little original here, but it's done so well that you don't care that it's a mindless action game because you're having fun. However, if you use quicksaves every time you die, the game difficulty ends up scaling out of control - something that is usually only found out the hard way. Best advice is to simply make use of the autosaves - they allow the difficulty to be scaled down if you keep dying on a certain area. The MI3 or Armageddon movie of computer games - mindless, unoriginal, not too bright, but slick, well executed, and highly entertaining. Expand
  46. JamesH.
    May 14, 2006
    10
    Fantastic game. Excellent AI, wonderful storyline and believable characters. I really love Ritual's dynamic challenge system, which helps you (Indirectly) if you get stuck at a particular point without detracting from the challenge. Source really gives this game the thrust it needs and proves once again to be a flexible and powerful engine.
  47. GarrettM.
    May 15, 2006
    10
    This game is fantastic. It's based on the HL2 engine, but feels like an enhanced version of HL2, some stuff is just much better. The Dynamic Difficulty system works wonderfully since I'm not the best FPS player in the world, but I was still albe to finish the game. It took me nearly 8+ hours to finish this episode, so I feel like it was well worth the $20. For the price, you This game is fantastic. It's based on the HL2 engine, but feels like an enhanced version of HL2, some stuff is just much better. The Dynamic Difficulty system works wonderfully since I'm not the best FPS player in the world, but I was still albe to finish the game. It took me nearly 8+ hours to finish this episode, so I feel like it was well worth the $20. For the price, you can't go wrong with buying this game. I can't wait for the next episode, and hopefully multiplayer soon too!! Expand
  48. Buddy
    May 15, 2006
    10
    Great Game, Dynamic gameplay, Detailed Environments, Beliveable characters, Good weapons, Good AI, Physics-Even-Better-Than-In-HL2!!!!
  49. Gerard
    May 16, 2006
    9
    I've read some of the other reviewers comments and I just dont understand how they think this game is so hard.....On the hardest setting, yes, its a monster, but if you adjust the difficulty, its pretty easy. It's somewhat linear, but has excelent graphics and overall, seems like a cross between Counter-Strike and Half Life.....for the $20, its a good game.
  50. Brandon
    May 16, 2006
    9
    Overall the game and story is great. AI needs some work.
  51. JonK.
    May 17, 2006
    8
    Very decent and strong game for the price. Cant wait for #2.
  52. Chris
    May 18, 2006
    8
    I enjoyed this game. It was rock hard in sections and a little annoying in places but it was good looking and interesting enough for a few hours blast. Not a patch on HL2 but then what is?
  53. SuperSpas
    May 18, 2006
    9
    amazing gamelpay, ai and story line. however for me it was too short and the range of weapons really was alet down.
  54. WillyA.
    May 18, 2006
    9
    An excellent beginning of the Sin Episodes. The $19.95 I gave for it was well spent in my opinion, as it included the original Sin from back in the day. Five hours of gameplay if rushed through isn't such a bad deal for that amount of money. If you hit up any gaming store here in Norway, you'll find most games costs four or five times that amount, and might not include more An excellent beginning of the Sin Episodes. The $19.95 I gave for it was well spent in my opinion, as it included the original Sin from back in the day. Five hours of gameplay if rushed through isn't such a bad deal for that amount of money. If you hit up any gaming store here in Norway, you'll find most games costs four or five times that amount, and might not include more playtime than this. I'm anxiously awaiting the next episode, as I want more of this. Expand
  55. Blake
    May 20, 2006
    10
    To all the negative opinions out there.....

    Why even bother? It takes hard work theese days to create games and Sin pushed FPS to a whole new level. With a solid story plot and amazing graphics how could you complain? What game out there cost 19.95 that will compare? If 20 dollars is an issue to you then freakin get a job...its amazing how you even have a pc that will run it. im a hard
    To all the negative opinions out there.....

    Why even bother? It takes hard work theese days to create games and Sin pushed FPS to a whole new level. With a solid story plot and amazing graphics how could you complain? What game out there cost 19.95 that will compare? If 20 dollars is an issue to you then freakin get a job...its amazing how you even have a pc that will run it. im a hard core gamer and i will tell you this game was simply awesome. I went to E3 and got to see the real model bianca WOW she was sexy. In anycase if your reading the negative comments and are debating whether to buy it or not save yourself the regret and give Ritual your 19.95 they deserve it! I cannot WAIT for the #2 episode!
    Expand
  56. NigelB.
    May 27, 2006
    9
    a shame it's a bit short, but I'm assuming there will be more coming as it's entitled episode 1; great game based on the HL2 engine, engoyed this more than HL2 itself. great use of pyshics engine, good gums and loads of bad guys. And the evil lady vilian, all I can say is HOT.
  57. TylerD.
    May 28, 2006
    9
    I think it was a wonderful game. It was well paced, fun, and doesn't take itself too seriously. The only issue I had with it was not being able to fire out of the car window, a single-shot mode on the rifle would have been good too. I'll definately buy part 2.
  58. AnonymousMC
    May 30, 2006
    8
    A very solid game. With the latest updates to the AI, it works much better now. The learning curve AI does need work, but is very unique. I would prefer smarter enemies along with tougher enemies, not just tougher enemies. However, they can still manage to pull a fast one on me when they spawn behind me, or below me.

    The weapon selection was a little short, but I don't think you
    A very solid game. With the latest updates to the AI, it works much better now. The learning curve AI does need work, but is very unique. I would prefer smarter enemies along with tougher enemies, not just tougher enemies. However, they can still manage to pull a fast one on me when they spawn behind me, or below me.

    The weapon selection was a little short, but I don't think you really need too many more weapons than that. I can handle the selection for the time being. Besides, nothings more funny then taking down a chopper with a pistol!

    Graphics wise, it wasn't too bad. They sure did a lot of work on Elexis. In some respects, it might have been a better idea to not go overly gung ho on the graphics (which is so common these days).

    This is a start to an interesting storyline. I'm excited to see where they will take it.
    Expand
  59. GaryS.
    May 30, 2006
    8
    The first Steam based episodic game. Could have been better but could have been far worse. Future episodes of this and other games released this way should see a fine tuning of the quality and gameplay.
  60. ertertwert
    May 30, 2006
    10
    SiN Episodes: Emergence is a great game. Looking forward to Episode 2.
  61. RayS.
    Jun 1, 2006
    9
    Great single player game overall. Very unique take on the half-life system, and definately an improvement. Alot of action and smooth controls make this game adicting and enjoyable.
  62. JamesK.
    Jun 1, 2006
    9
    jumping and movement sucks at times but the general gameplay is great and the story seems to keep yea wanting more the whole time cant wait for the next.
  63. AllenB.
    Jun 1, 2006
    9
    This game gets back to the roots of shooters, killing badguys, and lots of them, I've personally played throgh this twice, and though it's lacking somewhat in weapon selection, the three you have are enough to get the job done. Mainly the game is a lot of fun, and it's short as well, for those who like to finish these things on one sitting.
  64. DavidF.
    Jun 10, 2006
    8
    A little bit of SIN, a lot of HL2, and a nice game overall. Much better than the original SIN, which dissapointed me greatly.
  65. HalH.
    Jun 13, 2006
    9
    This is a fun game but a littel short... as long as a new one is comeing out in a coupel of months thats cool.
  66. JamesC.
    Jun 13, 2006
    9
    Well thoughtout. Nicely made. A few glitches that keep it from being a ten, but i have full confidence that updates will work these out.
  67. ScottR.
    Jun 25, 2006
    8
    Awesome addition to the other Source games out there.
  68. CarlB.
    Jun 27, 2006
    10
    The best game of the year. Fun from beginning to end with no levels that dragged on.
  69. JohnP.
    Jun 29, 2006
    9
    What's not to love? Any game utilizing the Steam engine is bound to be a real good experience. I got off on the Female Partner. Character was very engaging.
  70. PhilO.
    Jun 4, 2006
    8
    I was pleasantly surprised by the first episode of SiN Episodes. First off the HL2 engine was well used, albeit much less use of the physics engines for puzzles than HL2. Not a bad thing, just a fact. The story was captivating...great dialogue but missing the smart-ass Blade comments from the original and more like the Gordon Freeman silent type. Ai seemed weak in the beginning but better I was pleasantly surprised by the first episode of SiN Episodes. First off the HL2 engine was well used, albeit much less use of the physics engines for puzzles than HL2. Not a bad thing, just a fact. The story was captivating...great dialogue but missing the smart-ass Blade comments from the original and more like the Gordon Freeman silent type. Ai seemed weak in the beginning but better later on. You may want to select a harder play level out of the gates if you want a more challenging experience. Expand
  71. CoreyAnderies
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    This game was a real workout, short which I was dissapointed about though. This was a challenge all the way through, loved the gameplay, was mad that there is a multiplayer for the first one and not this! Overall I can't wait for the next episode, hurry that crap up, I wanna play more!
  72. FakroF.
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    This game is an action thriller first persion shooter. It is very long for how much it costs £20.00 In Game and also GameStation plus you get SiN 1 and the mulityplayer. For all people who wonder why no one is on the multiplayer it is because it is new and they want to finish the offline first. This is very adaquate for gamers who like First Person Shooters and is a great deal. Also This game is an action thriller first persion shooter. It is very long for how much it costs £20.00 In Game and also GameStation plus you get SiN 1 and the mulityplayer. For all people who wonder why no one is on the multiplayer it is because it is new and they want to finish the offline first. This is very adaquate for gamers who like First Person Shooters and is a great deal. Also younger children can play it as Steam has a violent blocker and i would say it is recommended for 12+ as Younger people would find it difficult. Expand
  73. MikeWolfskin
    Jun 5, 2006
    9
    Great game worth the 20$ and can't wait for the next one. Not as short as i was think it would be but still short, then again lets all be fair here it coasted 20$ and took me a hard core gamer 3-4 days 24/7 none stop to beat. AI was nicely done and not full of BS like i can see you when you cant even see them curd in say far cry (that
  74. DaveF.
    Jun 9, 2006
    8
    Sin Episodes manages to capture much of the fun of the original episodes, fast action packed game with a sense of humour. It
  75. FrankV.
    Jul 5, 2006
    9
    If you like Half-Life and Half-Life 2, you will definitely like this game - I had alot of fun playing it. Enjoy!
  76. PavelH>
    Aug 12, 2006
    9
    Really good game, reaplayable many times and with nice arcade style shooting - you easy learn headshots and also enjoy using the source gravity engine as a weapon (explosiont, traps, etc). I can give only recommendations ;)
  77. EdwardC.
    Aug 8, 2006
    10
    I can't wait to play the next chapter, and please keep them sexy girls in the game that was very fun.
  78. PeterP.
    Sep 18, 2006
    9
    Not bad not bad!
  79. DelT.
    Sep 2, 2006
    9
    Very Fun Game! Great Use of the HL2 Source.
  80. SeanB.
    Sep 23, 2006
    9
    Bit Slow to start with, but when it kicks off it's great fun. Looking forward to the next episode.
  81. KalenD.
    Sep 7, 2006
    9
    Great game. Looking forward to episode 2.
  82. LAZAREZZR
    Jan 18, 2007
    9
    Great animation, interesting story line, cool invironments, and no lock-ups on my computer the first time I played the game was 6/12/06 great job. Can't wait for the second one. Oh is there any chance of making a multi-player cooperative game play with a storyline?
  83. PeterJ.
    Jun 18, 2007
    9
    Great game but too short, really hoping they continue with the episodes. It has it all. Really fun and challenging.
  84. MichaelI.
    Jun 22, 2007
    8
    I didn't hear about SiN until emergance. I bought the pre-order and played SiN 1 (it must have been great 6 years ago.) Anyway, I enjoyed SiN Emergence. I was fun. A little short, but then again this is episode content, so I guess this is what is to be expected. Too bad it looks like we'll never get the rest of it.
  85. JasonG.
    Jul 4, 2008
    9
    I just love this game! It might not be the greatest FPS for those entrenched in the genre but the story and game is allot of fun. High testosterone, high Intensity, pulpy fiction, sci-fi, are all words that can be used to describe what this game is about. If the idea of playing the role of "Blade" a hero tough guy super cop in a cyber punk setting while battling the corporate SinTEK I just love this game! It might not be the greatest FPS for those entrenched in the genre but the story and game is allot of fun. High testosterone, high Intensity, pulpy fiction, sci-fi, are all words that can be used to describe what this game is about. If the idea of playing the role of "Blade" a hero tough guy super cop in a cyber punk setting while battling the corporate SinTEK minions of your Evil arch nemesis (who happens to be a voluptuous super sexy babe named "Elexis Sinclaire") sounds like a fun concept then Sin might be just what you need! There are only 4 weapons to collect in game. The good news is that each of the 4 is useful from start to finish. Each weapon is a different distinct tool. The 3 guns have alternate ammo fire and are unique from one another, even though there are only 3 gun ( +grenades) to pick from they do give you allot of possibilities. Even during final level I was still choosing the magnum at times for certain shots. Sin uses a modified "Source engine" and as a result feel allot like HL2. The games atmosphere and setting by contrast might remind you of Deus Ex (only it has much more crisper and intense action scenes but with less detective work and puzzles. I feel it's a shame Ritual was bought out and will not be making an episode 2 in the near future... I do hope however that the new company might pick it up again sometime before people forget the story or at least sell the rights to someone else who is interested in continuing the project because I really can't tell you how much fun I have had playing this short, immature, macho action hero, Sci-fi ,pulp fiction episode. Expand
  86. ChrisK
    Sep 27, 2008
    9
    I purchased this game back in the date of it's release (2006), but It wasn't until 2008 that I was actually able to play it. The overall enjoyment I got from this game was virtually freaking kick ass. The graphics are top notch clear and crisp many of the background scenery reminds me of Final Fantasy. The character designs and costumes are idealistic and not over the top. A I purchased this game back in the date of it's release (2006), but It wasn't until 2008 that I was actually able to play it. The overall enjoyment I got from this game was virtually freaking kick ass. The graphics are top notch clear and crisp many of the background scenery reminds me of Final Fantasy. The character designs and costumes are idealistic and not over the top. A choice of three weapons is clean and simple, though I have to improve my aim badly with a pistol, but everything else hits the mark. This game sure isn't a walk in the park even for the six hours it took me to complete it. I had lot count of the times I was left startled, even when I play it again I'll still jump. Accuracy pays is the only thing I can suggest to anyone thinking of playing this game, your enemies don't mess around. This game isn't just a pretty graphics shoot them up it test's gamers instincts on a number of levels, so be warned you will have to do some creative routing around. The story makes for an overall classic FPS style, and doesn't venture over the top. The only down side is once you complete the only episode you just wish there were more, you get hooked on the quality this game offers you. Expand
  87. PhilWainman
    Jul 29, 2009
    9
    I absolutely love this game, but being part 1, of game which was meant to be made of multiple episodes, it is quite short (5 hours play through at a guess). Sadly part 2 never got made, and being a Steam online registered game, does put many people off. Still, what it lacks in length, it makes up for in quality, and it can be bought quite cheap now too.
  88. ShinU.
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    Little bit short length, but quite good work! I love this game much. Please make next episode whatever you have, ritual.
  89. BlakeR.
    May 11, 2006
    9
    A worthy successor to the SiN series that has me hungry for more!
  90. HaroldS.
    May 14, 2006
    9
    A bit laggy, crash, but create storyline and weapons and grahics, incredible job, Incredible Game
  91. MattD.
    May 17, 2006
    8
    I gave the game an 8/10. There are a few reasons: First I liked the game because it was a wonderful relief from the endless WW2 FPS games out there. The story, so-far, seems to be well crafted and the game has me intrigued as to what will come next. There is also the inclusion of the reactive-difficulty system, which helped make this one of the most challenging FPSs I've played in a I gave the game an 8/10. There are a few reasons: First I liked the game because it was a wonderful relief from the endless WW2 FPS games out there. The story, so-far, seems to be well crafted and the game has me intrigued as to what will come next. There is also the inclusion of the reactive-difficulty system, which helped make this one of the most challenging FPSs I've played in a while. I really enjoyed playing this game and I am intrigued as to what the next episode will hold. Small Spoiler: The stuff after the end of the game and before the credits, hilarious. Thank you Ritual Entertainment, I will be looking forward to the next installment. Expand
  92. KevinS.
    May 21, 2006
    10
    Really enjoyed playing this one and can't wait for the next episode. The only negative comments seem to be from people who haven't wrapped their heads around the episodic thing yet which is just going to take time. I don't have time to play 20 hour games and this really works out. I hope HL2 Episode 1 pulls it off this well.
  93. JillValentine
    May 22, 2006
    10
    I thing this game showed real potential and is one of my favorite games. The charactors were all cool too.
  94. [Anonymous]
    May 23, 2006
    8
    Excellent quality, game looks very nice. I especially like the squelching sounds when people hit poles from 30 feet up in the air :) Definately looking at purchasing this game.
  95. ClintE.
    May 27, 2006
    8
    Gameplay is fun. Can be frustrating at times. Your weapons can feel underpowered. Level design is very nice.
  96. MaximeR.
    May 28, 2006
    10
    Great game. glad the source engine was use to make a beautiful game again.
  97. TonyM.
    May 28, 2006
    8
    Beautiful game. The story needs more work. The characters need to be more refined. What happened with the self destruct! I wanted to see something blow up. I can see a lot of work went into this, very nicely done overall.
  98. JeZZyBaLL
    May 31, 2006
    10
    Sin fans re-joice. This is only the beginning episode and sure to be Multiplayer from the development team that delivers and listens to it's fans. Ritual has consistently stayed in touch with the past and pushes features and creativity in it's new releases. Episode One delivered the fun. Stay tuned for Arena Mode (Single Player) and more (Multiplayer expected) before Episode 2. Sin fans re-joice. This is only the beginning episode and sure to be Multiplayer from the development team that delivers and listens to it's fans. Ritual has consistently stayed in touch with the past and pushes features and creativity in it's new releases. Episode One delivered the fun. Stay tuned for Arena Mode (Single Player) and more (Multiplayer expected) before Episode 2. Missing this would be like not knowing who the hell Tony Soprano is. Expand
  99. SteveD.
    May 31, 2006
    9
    Great game, if you have played the original SiN and enjoyed it then this game is definatly for you. The gameplay was fast and intense, with the difficulty on medium the game is more of a challenge. Great visual effects. The game is powered by the Source engine wich made it eben better! Secrets hidden in levels made me play them over and over again. Only flaw was: No updated multiplayer, Great game, if you have played the original SiN and enjoyed it then this game is definatly for you. The gameplay was fast and intense, with the difficulty on medium the game is more of a challenge. Great visual effects. The game is powered by the Source engine wich made it eben better! Secrets hidden in levels made me play them over and over again. Only flaw was: No updated multiplayer, wich made me pretty angry because I loved the original SiN multiplayer. Hopefully the second episode will include multiplayer and will be a bit longer, SiN Emergance was a bit short. Overall it is a great game and I higly recommend it to all SiN fans and gamers who are new to the SiN universe. Expand
  100. RyanF.
    Jun 12, 2006
    10
    This is a great game and deserves a higher score than 78!
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. While it has its flaws, it's paced well, full of action, and managed to keep us smiling all the way to the end. With a tweak here and a polish there, Ritual could really be onto something good. Bring on part two.
  2. This is a pretty-looking, short, budget-priced, by-the-numbers futuristic shooter that's most notable for its episodic nature and its old heritage.
  3. It's a bland taste to a cultured palette. But it's fun, too, and self-aware.