Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 222 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The time of Diplomacy is now over. The length of the war and differing opinions on what should be done to bring the war to an end has led to a splintering of the groups involved. The controlling powers-that-be have exhausted arsenals and seem to have spent all efforts of diplomacy. Trapped in a stalemate, sub-factions have rebelled and split off from the main alignments. Rebellion is upon us. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    100
    Rebellion is nearly as revolutionary with its new subfactions, and it's easily as revolutionary with its new victory conditions.
  2. Jul 3, 2012
    90
    This is a decent expansion to the best 4X-RTS-in-space out there. A real treat for newcomers to the game, veterans might find the $40 price tag a little steep for an expansion that is more evolutionary than revolutionary.
  3. Jul 9, 2012
    89
    The best part of Rebellion or any RT4X title is the replay value. This title can be played again and again as all your decisions ultimately effect the long-term gameplay.
  4. Jun 12, 2012
    85
    A wonderful last hurrah though, as expansions go. With the new ships and tech, the internal divisions along with everything else, there's hundreds more hours of fun to eek out of this game.
  5. Jul 9, 2012
    80
    Sins of a Solar Empire may be showing signs of age, but it continues to stand out as one of the best tactical space combat sims around. While it doesn't shake up the status quo much, Rebellion isn't lacking in polish or extra content.
  6. Aug 6, 2012
    75
    Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion is a game I really wish I was more skilled at. I appreciate all the various aspects of gameplay and the depth that the combination of those aspects provides. Still, as my fellow critic Kristin Taylor might say, I was far too enamored with the construction of my newfangled Titan to react quickly enough to the raiders destroying my infrastructure. While it's a long, long way from being up my alley, it at least makes for a good spectator sport.
  7. Jul 21, 2012
    60
    But don't let all this talk of management fool you, there's a real thrill to Rebellions real time battles, especially when you zoom in to watch the often impressive visual cacophony of lasers as droves of spaceships broad side each other or master the intricacies of its RTS rock, paper, scissors mechanics – and can use them to whip other players right back to their home worlds and bombard them.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 71
  2. Negative: 15 out of 71
  1. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    This game offers a lot more tactical depth then what you'd expect from from a real-time version of popular turn-based 4X games. With an enormous tech tree, a flexible - well designed diplomatic system and 6 factions (3x2) that play very differently this game offers more than enough content to keep you occupied for months (given the sky-high replay value and dozen hour-long matches)
    While reading the negative reviews i came to realize that they mostly cover the following:
    -the "expansion" hasn't got enough new content (with which I highly disagree, besides, it's a standalone title)
    -Master of orion and Gal Civ are better (to people who say this: real-time strategies are obviously not your thing, no matter how much content they pack)

    The game is as good as flawless when you look at it at a standalone viewpoint.
    Expand
  2. May 1, 2014
    10
    EXCELLENT GAME. Back on 2010 I found the first version of Sins of a solar empire in a target for 10 bucks. I bought the game thinking it would be just another one of those crappy made strategy games out there. Happily I was wrong, and this is by far my favorite game of all time. Starting and practicing on the first, to eventually buying trinity and then to rebellion Ive found that Rebellion is by far the best in the series and in my opinion the best strategy game Ive ever played. The abilities and power the gamer gets in this game is amazing and extremely addicting. Th game is very intensive too. Its taken me 4 years to get moderately good tactics and skill with SOASE. Rebellions great however I really hope they add even more capital ships and maybe even factions along the way. High praises to Stardock and Ironclad! Expand
  3. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    Probably the best space strategy beside the nostalgic first part of homeworld.The only thing that i'm missing at this game is the story mode.Everything else is great Collapse
  4. Jun 5, 2013
    8
    Since I bought this game on Steam at a discounted price of USD 13+/-, I cannot discuss this matter based on money matters. Aside from that, the game is generally fun to play. Once I bought it, I was completely bemused towards how to play it, making the game slightly dull and depressing at first. However, after gaining experience and understanding how the game works, it was fantastic. Ships of great variety and the picturesque background makes the game consistently attractive in graphics and design. The combat fighting may be slightly dull at times, but with massive battalions of larger ships and things, it will be fun to play.

    The only downside I have, would be the duration to complete the game. It would literally take me a few days just to complete a match with 13 or more planets. It may be my inexperience, but I believe many people would feel the same way sometimes. But I really can't complain about duration if the fun is consistently being kept at a high level.

    It would be hard for me to sit down patiently and play a game that could last more than 8 hours, but that's just me. Hence the game deserves my 8. I was also amazed at the community mods, making the game far more interesting as well.
    Expand
  5. Jun 13, 2012
    8
    Rebellion takes the Sins series several steps further by adding new ships, techs and factions, and an improved diplomacy function. The AI has been beefed up as well, and is generally competent at even the lowest difficulty levels (hey, don't judge!). That being said, the $40 price tag is a bit hefty if you already have the other games in the series. Expand
  6. May 30, 2013
    6
    I love sins, they are all very good games. I'm giving this a 6 because it just did not feel like enough was added to justify releasing a new game. Stardock likes to do that with their games tho. Most recently with fallen enchantress and then fallen enchantress: legendary heroes. Although there is no doubt that they are making the games better with each release, it always seems to me like whenever stardock releases a game I should just wait a year and buy the REAL version of the game. Expand
  7. Jun 21, 2014
    0
    Money-grabbing, untruthful tactic made to take your money for a few extra goodies pasted into an old game and selling as new, In my opinion, Stardock is a disreputable company whose main form of income comes from trickery and deceit, do not buy! Expand

See all 71 User Reviews