User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 200 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 60 out of 200

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 13, 2013
    3
    Undoubtedly the scariest part of this game is the optimisation but if you're into bland atmosphere and shaky AI jump-scares then boy, you're in for a treat. It's a shame because the game starts out well, then descends into the same tedium of the original. To it's credit, this is better than the original by a reasonable margin if only for the slightly improved graphics.

    But you can only
    polish an awful game so much, and the underlying mechanics are still rubbish. Expand
  2. Mar 30, 2013
    1
    As usual, Mr. Big 'n' Motionless goes to the top of charts for one reason, and one reason alone, because of his name. He makes an interesting fictional myth to tell stories to children and even art work., but as a game, he doesn't deliver. While I do like the bigger areas with more exploration and the back story, it is just ruined by the same boring jump scares that have been done since the mid 70's, along with the usual "let's suddenly turn the volume up 600% for reason." Then the, placing things that were not there before thing. The house would be fantastic if set up in another type of game. The time change from day to night is liked but through all the flaws, the stupidity of page locations let alone the need to do it is pointless and holes in the story, it's not worth it. Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A wonderful successor to the original Slender game. Gorgeous graphics, incredibly immersive, interesting plot (though explanation of it is somewhat scant), and, surprise surprise, utterly terrifying. What I really liked is that this game provides some context for why the pages exist. However, it still doesn't explain why exactly you're collecting them. The plot that is there is certainly intriguing, but there is still a lot that has yet to be explained and the ending definitely left me wanting more. This isn't necessarily a bad thing though because some of the best storytelling simply doesn't tell you everything you want to know and leaves readers/viewers/gamers with something left to discuss and speculate. That said, there were parts of this game that truly terrified me, and I absolutely loved it because I enjoy getting scared (call me an emotional sadist if you will). The detailed environments, spooky music, vague but interesting narrative, and Mr. Slenderman himself all culminate into one hell of an experience. Sadly but understandably due to budget constraints and a relatively small development team, the experience is very short (though definitely worth the price of admission). But this frustration is merely owed to the fact that I enjoyed this game so much and did not want it to end.

    If you have the expendable cash, throw a little extra when you purchase this to support the developer so we can see an even bigger and better third installment. I know I can't wait for it.
    Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    This is seriously the scariest, most intense horror game EVER! right from the beginning, it fills you with that fear that makes you so paranoid and edgy that the slightest noise from any direction could send you into a heart attach. The graphics are beautiful and filled with detail. The overall sound is some of the best, as that is one of the main things that make the game scary. When you hear footsteps coming up to you from behind, it will send chills down your spine! The game play is really immersive and from the beginning it is sending you scares around every corner, and It puts you in girls place from the start. I love this game and will for quite some time to come. Expand
  5. Apr 2, 2013
    0
    Stopped playing this game about 10 minutes in, because it was impossible to get playable frame rates out of it on a laptop that can run Far Cry 3 and Witcher 2 on medium smoothly. It's so messed up that I began to wonder if the powerpoint presentation performance is an intended part of the horror element. If it is, it's incredibly stupid. If it isn't, then oh my god. When you drop everything to low, it looks worse than Pandora Directive did 15 years ago, and it's still unplayable. GG. Expand
  6. Apr 7, 2013
    3
    The game was scary through the first 2 minutes, after that it got pretty lame. The jumpscares didn't make me jump anymore, all slenderman does is teleporting, and he isn't really scary at all. I ended up letting him take me after finding 6 notes because it got so boring. The game is way too intense on the jumpscares, so you end up not jumping from them at all.
  7. Mar 26, 2013
    8
    I didn't thnk it would be possible for Slender to get "more scarey" but somehow they did it. The idea that you have a story behind everything, and exploring an abandoned house in the daytime turning into nighttime just creeps me out so much!. Definitely play this if your looking for a scare!
  8. Apr 7, 2013
    0
    This game is boring, easy and ugly. What is the most important that this game isn't scary at all. It's just a BAD GAME. Everyone knows what is going to happen next so how can slender be scary. If you are looking for nice gameplay with some really scary elements i suggest waiting for new amnesia. Horror for kids this is how it looks for me.
  9. Mar 29, 2013
    0
    Slender The Arrival is too short for the price of the experience. Still the same concept of Slenderman from the game Slender. He needs to appear more "living" and not some stationary, statue.

    I prefer Faceless take on Slenderman.
  10. Apr 13, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'll start with I like.
    I like the concept. I was really engaged with the beginning part, of heading to the house to meet up with someone and finding out that something isn't quite right.
    The visuals are good enough to let you forget about them and focus on the experience.
    The sounds really add to the experience.

    Here is what I didn't like.
    The narrative is really disjointed. Why set up meeting someone in a house and then throw that away to have me look for pages? The pages (which seems to borrow heavily from the game of Hide) make little sense in the overall experience of the game. Why am I running around looking for them? I get that Slenderman gets more "aggressive" as you pick up more pages, but what is compelling me to pick them up in the first place?
    Opening doors is awkward and the scream at the end of the prologue is really cheesy.
    It is a nice looking experience but ultimately the game play is very simplistic (not in a good way). If this were an arcade game or something along those lines, I wouldn't mind it so much. However, it seems like there was some attempt at providing a narrative or overall context for the game and it lost me. In the end, it felt like I was just walking around to end the game...not like I had a goal like escape or discovery.

    Overall, not terrible but fell short of the potential it had.
    Expand
  11. Apr 4, 2013
    8
    Slender: the Arrival is the scariest game ever made. It's not really a full game. 5 small levels is too short. For $10 you are paying to get the sh*t scared out of you. How often can you say that about a video game? The answer is never, with an exception of Shadow Man for n64.

    Blue Isle Studios is a company to watch out for. Seen a similar game called Daylight, might be good, but it has
    command prompts that tell you how to fight off the monsters. I think it will take years to replicate what this game offers. It might take another 15 years for another game to be scary. People will tell you that Amnesia is scary, but the truth is, those people probably think Saw movies are supposed to be frighting.

    Slender shows no mercy with it's hard difficulty. You will get completely randomized task locations every time you replay a level. Even non horror games need to mimic this idea. I like the part where you are trapped in a house and have to close certain windows and open doors before Slender came. It was very realistic. Reminded me of a being in a Haunted house, trying to hide from a demon or ghost.

    This game will be considered original for awhile until companies copy it. Make sure you know where the roots came from.
    Expand
  12. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    Just got through this. Totally amazing! Freaky environments that are totally unnerving and almost bad for your mental health. You start getting edgy and nervous just walking around. Gorgeous graphics and I loved the music. Overall, great atmosphere put together by a small indie team at Parsec and Blue Isle. A bit short but for ten bucks good value. You get a sense of the thought they put into this with the opening prologue eerie music and then you begin on a beautiful fall day in the woods. But the sun is setting and as the day comes to an end, the foreboding darkness envelops you. That was a really nice touch! If ever there is room for a sequel, this is it!! Expand
  13. Apr 14, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's Slender: The Eight Pages with better visuals, graphics, and a different setting. You are to collect 8 pages at first then somehow activate 6 generators while being chased by both Slenderman and a hooded ghost which apparently seems off Slenderman's 'lore'. It left me questioning whether this game meant to leave mysteries untold or the developers are just plain lazy and decided to make a poorly explained story. Scares in this game were at first terrifying but then it just got annoying as the hooded ghost will just keep stalking you. Overall, this is simply another mediocre jumpscare galore from cheap scary 'ghosts'. *I am not against Indie games* Expand
  14. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    Slender: The Arrival is a compelling, nerve-wrecking and seriously freaky game that may be a bit on the short side, but there’s no doubt that it’s top quality throughout the time that it lasts. It’s a powerful experience, a great achievement, and definitely among the best of the horror games I’ve played. It felt absolutely worth the wait once I finished it, and it really was the experience I was hoping for. I’m definitely going to remember this one for a while, and not necessarily because it made me wet my pants, but because the experience was just awesome, and one I appreciated greatly as a lover of horror. It’s definitely worth buying if you’re a horror nut or Slender fan of any kind. It’s a must-play. Full review here: http://egamer.co.za/2013/03/review-slender-the-arrival/ Expand
  15. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I didn't quite think that Blue Isle could make Slender: The Arrival scarier, yet more accessible at the same time, but they did. The Atmosphere is brilliant and engaging, with a nice mysterious story written by the wonderful team behind Marble Hornets. The game is "easier" (or at least seems so) due to the new addition of a story. But make no mistake, it's more terrifying than the original. Our good friend the Operator has been learning new tricks to find his way closer and closer to you, making you panic even more than you did in the original, especially now that he can walk. Plus, I won't say what, but there's more to be afraid of than our dear friend Slendy out in the darkness... Expand
  16. Jul 29, 2013
    4
    Good art, somewhat scary atmosphere, but gets boring due to very primitive gameplay. First, I thought the guy in the suit will attack me with something and walked straight at him boom, dead. Ok, then I thought that maybe I should not look at him, and on a second attempt, when 8 notes out of 10 were gathered, i wanted to collect the 9th, but the guy was there, and walked with my back at him boom dead. Now I had to restart the level again and collect the 10 notes from the beginning while avoiding the guy completely (i presume). He seems to be just teleporting randomly. If you take the scary sounds and the art away, what remains is a pointless and utterly stupid game where you randomly and slowly walk around and collect pieces of paper while occasionally avoiding a randomly teleporting object. Expand
  17. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have made a review on this product, but i forgot to say some important things. Everytime you play the game, levels look different. Pages, generators or even places change every time you play. For example once you have a toilet near the beach, but next time you play its not here. Second thing is the Hardcore mode. It makes the game harder, and, what follows that feature, longer. You will be scared, but also will rage much. Really recommended. Expand
  18. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    Seriously immersive. This game stands out from any other horror game.
    The first slender game I played was 'Haunt', and LOVED it. I played that game about 30 times a day. After I heard about this game, I thought it wouldn't stand up to its original game. But oh, how I was Wrong.
    The feeling that someone, (Or someTHING) is following me in the game really makes it scary. All of the ambient,
    and artistic locations around the place make you want to stay as far away from them as possible. But of course, you HAVE to go in them to get the notes.

    While there are many good things about this, this is DEFINITELY not a perfect game. A few shorthands seem to mess up your game. Repetitive gameplay really frustrates me. The same danger, the same difficulty, ect. Also, Ive ran into graphic glitches. I was playing, I looked behind me, slender was frozen, not moving. He was like that for 5 minutes. This is just the first glitch out of many.

    Even still, Slender The arrival will make you love the amazing series even more.
    Expand
  19. Mar 27, 2013
    8
    I simply enjoyed playing this game from start to finish. There are a lot of things that this game does right, & you can tell Blue Isle & Parsec dedicated much work & time to it. Despite that, I expected a bit more game-play/closure in this game than given, but the engaging atmosphere & terror really drew me in. The game is VERY short, probably longer on hard core, at least for me. I'm hoping this isn't the end of slender man & maybe one day they can continue to a series. Blue Isle & Parsec has revolutionized Slender Man into a terrorizing nightmare & a new born horror legacy aroused from this. I hope to see more in the future & great job on this wonderful game. Expand
  20. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    this is the most fun ive had in a horror game the game is short but FULL of items to collect and achievements to get very very fun and very very scary. well worth the 10$ must own
  21. Apr 4, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers. After the surprising hit last in the summer of 2012 that was Slender: The Eight Pages, Blue Isle Studios and Parsec Productions decided to take the basic, experimental game design that the original was and expand upon it. Now we have Slender: The Arrival, a sequel re-imagining of the original that now has better graphics and an underlying story. So how does Slender: The Arrival hold up in an expanded upon package?

    The Story:
    The story of Slender: The Arrival has you play as Lauren, a girl who goes into the woods to see her friend Kate. When she arrives, she finds the house trashed and finds out that Kate is missing. After that, the story takes a backseat and is only occassionaly brought up. There are little collectibles that further expand upon the story, including Kate becoming a proxy, and even hinting that Kate was the original protagonist from Slender: The Eight Pages. While these collectables are interesting, the way that the events unfold is somewhat sloppy and contrived. Why again, did we have to go in the mines in the first place? Oh yeah. To meet the new enemy type, the proxy (Kate). The ending, however intense it may be, is a huge letdown. It feels unfinished, rushed, and left me dissapointed. Also, the game is extremely short. It took me roughly 2 hours to complete.

    Gameplay:
    Slender: The Arrival is what you would expect from a Slender game. Intense, atmospheric horror in a first person view with a soundtrack that will continue to haunt you even after the game is complete. However, where this does fall slightly flat is Chapter 3. In this chapter, you journey into an abandoned mine for no good reason and find the new enemy. The Proxy. The proxy is a hooded figure that, unlike Slenderman, will seek out the player and continuously follow you until you escape the mines. The first time you're attacked by the proxy is certainly intense, but begins to become less intense when you are constantly jumped and killed just as you're about to finish the level. The chapter begins very well and certainly had me screaming the first time I heard the proxy running behind me as I ran into a dead end. However, this is where the Slenderman takes a back seat and is rarely seen. After this, the gameplay returns to normal and goes back to being a Slender game.

    Sound Design:
    The sound is arguably the most important part of the Slender games. Everything from the subtle cricket chirps to the iconic drum bangs is spot on and really elevates the atmosphere to; at times, pure and absolute terror. My personal favorite sound design is ironically, in my least favorite part of the game. In the mines, the echoing footsteps and the cackling of the Proxy is absolutely terrifying.

    Conclusion:
    While Slender: The Eight Pages was an experiment in survival horror, Slender: The Arrival is an evolution of horror. While I had some problems with the story and the mine section, Slender: The Arrival managed to do something that very few games can do. This game terrified me, and had me looking around my room creeping myself out. If you're alone at night, and feel the need to be scared, Slender: The Arrival is one of the best horror experiences currently available on PC and I highly recommend that you check this one out.

    Short Consensus:
    With a great atmosphere, and sequences of pure terror, Slender: The Arrival is a great horror experience that suffers from a less than stellar 3rd chapter and repetitive gameplay.
    8/10
    Collapse
  22. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    If I wanted to judge this objectively, I might want to complain about the game's length (about 2-3 hours, depending on difficulty), or the limited variation of gameplay mechanics. But damnit, I won't, for the simple fact that this is the scariest game I've ever played. No game has ever conveyed a sense of vulnerability, paranoia and scream-out-loud moments quite like this. This is horror done right. Amnesia: Dark Descent is the only one that comes close, but this is just raw, condensed fear. It's not easy (though easier than the previous iteration), you probably will die, but after each restart the levels rearrange themselves, keeping each new attempt fresh. Plus, Slenderman isn't the only thing to fear in this game...

    So for the price of a cinema ticket, you will buy yourself the scariest experience you will ever have. If you're a horror fan, don't miss out.
    Expand
  23. Apr 7, 2013
    6
    First let me start with saying I completely loath the original "Slender," it was a sad excuse of a game that relied on cheap jump scares (and not even scary ones at that) of some terribly modelled 3D render of what looks to be a potato in a business suit. I've followed Slenderman stories for a few years now, and let me say when Slender came along, it completely ruined it. It made it not scary, turned it into a crappy meme, and made it some preteen fad. Complaints out of the way, Slender: The Arrival is much more respectable. They make it actually scary, give it a good atmosphere, and some actual objectives and scenery. The original was dreadful, and I almost fell asleep playing it, not even kidding. But this one feels more like an actual game. Personally, I'm still not convinced it's worth $10.00 when compared to other titles of the same price. But if you want a few cheap jump scares, and a decent atmosphere (I recommend shutting the blinds and turning all lights off), then go for it. Have a blast. If you want a quality game, steer clear of any Slender related game for a few more years, until a company gets a real budget and a creative mind to put a twist in it and make it more exciting. Want a quality game? Look into Cryostasis, Dead Space, Penumbra, or Amnesia. Expand
  24. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    The original game made a revolution in the indie horror-game production and really got everyone who played it. About a year after Slender: The Arrival comes out and brings a lot new to the game play. It is really intense, horrifying, atmospheric and breath-taking from start to the end. A well represented and a lot more complete plot makes it more scary than ever. The game itself however is very short, but the ending is very well done. There are some controlling difficulties at some parts, but they might be fixed in the future updates (if any). Over-all the game really shows a good result of expansion and some game play modifications. Slender becomes a more bigger title, which might have a very anticipated future. Expand
  25. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    Este game honra tudo que o seu primeiro jogo trouxe medo do inesperado. traz ótimos momentos de sustos, coisa que muita empresa grande de games de 'terror' nao estão fazendo ultimamente
  26. Apr 7, 2013
    6
    This is a cool game :D A negative thing about this is the price-length ratio of the game its quiet short, that much that even if you are quiet lucky you can beat in in an hour or two. The game contains few stages where the story-driven and survivor gameplay are divided into. Story chapters arent really last longing and there are not much of depth in the story, of corz its fun to read all the Scarpbook collections but still I was expecting a little bit more of a depth in it. The gameplay is divided into two levels unfortunately. one is the traditional level of collecting the 8 pages and another one takes place in a abandoned mine where you are tasked to tun of 6 generators while a creepy girl is running around the place and slenderman jumps in as well :D The 8 pages section is fun since the area is much varied and bigger but the Mine one is unfair, you dont know how to runaway from that creepy girl, you arent aware how much you will last after getting stabbed by her even, in this part the game have some serious lack of instruction and its even quiet unfair beside that its hard. I hope they improve selnderman more, after all they said they had chances to put more depth in the game, add a better story and so on. Good that this short game terrifies you like hell so you dont wanna miss it really if you missed the time you used to scream while playing 8 pages. Expand
  27. Jun 6, 2013
    1
    Not that very amusing.. Nothing fancy and most certainly nothing popular, in fact its a surprise to see that its got so many great reviews but theres just one small problem i see. You only have one mission to do! thats going around in the dark and collecting peaces of paper and getting scarred and start getting paranoid. But thats all this game does mainly is make you get paranoid and thats the number one thing this game mainly takes over and nothing else. Its such a small simple little game that could be beat in some minutes or so. 1/10 Expand
  28. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    Slender The Arrival was a pleasant surprise once it was released. It may be short but once you lock yourself inside a nice dark room and play the game you'll understand why Slender is a feared creature.

    As I said before the game is short, really short but for a price of $10 it's what you would expect. It may be short but the work put into the game truly shines with different places like
    the mines, empty homes, the forest and so on. The game play is sort of the same tho, collecting pages in the second chapter or turning on generators in the forth but each level always has something different.

    The only level to stay the same is the forest where you would collect the 8 pages, after that you will go to different places and discover something more then just Slender man awaiting for you.

    For the price of $10, it's great to see horror coming back in the hands of indie developers and I personally hope to see more of slender man in future projects, maybe in something even bigger I hope.
    Expand
  29. Mar 27, 2013
    5
    This had me from start to finish like no other game has. I've played many scary and horrifying indie games and none of them will compare to this one. I wont say too much but when it starts to hit nightfall at the start, then tension grows rapidly. The environments, lighting, fog, everything that goes into making the atmosphere, captures the horror spot on. The slenderman looks better then ever, and the way he appears and disappear's will make you jump out of your seat and even sweat at times it gets that intense. If your looking for a game with a lot, and I mean a lot of jump scares and freaky atmosphere, check this one out for sure. Note, don't go into the game looking for a lengthy well detailed story, just go in on the edge of your seat and be prepared to have a ride like no other. Expand
  30. Dec 23, 2013
    7
    I picked this up while this metascore is quite low. Still I enjoyed it. Some people say it's short. I enjoyed this for a fair amount of hours. But I guess this game is more enjoyable with company of some friends. We hooked up our pc on the tv and played this with a controller. We had many laughters and scary moments. I agree this isn't an in depth story and the concept is a bit overrated. But still it desevers a slightly higher meta score imo. Expand
  31. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Absolutely Scariest!!! Amazing Game, Gorgeous graphics, incredibly immersive, most intense horror game EVER! right from the beginning, The detailed environments, spooky music, vague but interesting narrative,
  32. May 19, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. O.K., this game had some scary elements. Things would pop up on walls that weren't there, the music was well made, little common horror elements were used well. However, the game was just a misfit. In the first Slender the Slenderman was actually a jump out kind of horror that was O.K. for a free game. However in this addition he appears so often it becomes so routine it is like killing grunts to avoid him. He doesn't kill on sight all the time. There are two other enemies in the game, neither of which pose any threat or are scary at all. There is a tiny outline of a story in the game, but it is boring. and is too secretive. Also, the game tried some Amnesia-esque mechanics (click dragging doors, collecting notes to put in a journal, etc.) that really just didn't fit. Expand
  33. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    Its the first try of Blu Isle Studios and i really like this game Its way too short but way too scary too If liked slender their first and free game then you should buy this too Just wait to reach steam
  34. Apr 30, 2013
    3
    From a once great free-to-play indy horror game to a paid survival horror wanna-be. It's a shame to see good things go to waste, but somehow, they even managed to make Slender dull and unenjoyable.
  35. Apr 21, 2013
    2
    I bought "Slender: The Arrival" because I needed a good health and fitness game. Sadly this is disappointing. I don't think I've lost any weight since I've started playing this game. And for some reason, the fitness instructor only shows up for a second before disappearing every time. How am I supposed to learn good health habits from someone I can't even talk to. All and all, for a game with "Slender" in the title, it doesn't do its job. Expand
  36. May 21, 2013
    5
    A great expansion on the original game. I enjoyed it very much as the atmosphere sets up a very scary experience. But the one thing that will either make or break this game for you is if you can forgive the fact that 90% of the scares in this game are jump scares. I for one can. That is why i like this game. I like waiting for something to get me, and the idea of bieng hunted by something that cant be killed is a great idea for a horror game. Its why Amnesia works so well. But although i do like it, its nothing exceptional. A great comparison is Surgeon Simulator 2013. This game was a mod that got enough of a fallowing that they decided to make a full release. Its slightly expanded on as it has a little bit more of a story and makes the game a little more personal and the graphics have been updated. I can see why people hate this game, but i for one enjoy it even if there are many better horror games. Expand
  37. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    Game may be short, but the quality of graphics, gameplay, and the story make up for it. This game wasn't made by some huge game company, but an independent one. They did what they could. And here's a quote to all the people out there are being crybabies about how short it is... “Everybody is a genius. But, if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it’ll spend its whole life believing that it is stupid.” Albert Einstein Expand
  38. Oct 31, 2013
    7
    its great and improved game but they overdeveloped it...The gameplay is repetitive, so is the campaign...Graphics is great, especially atmosphere and its settings but its repetitious and simple gameplay ruins the game...Overal its great game. 7/10
  39. Apr 16, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Much like the original Slender, Slender: The Arrival has a bone chilling atmosphere, a believable sense of loneliness, and the rare appearance of the Slender Man that keeps the player tense until it’s released in the most horrifying of ways. However, even though The Arrival hits all of those original points, it stretches them out too thin, and ends up falling flat.
    The first thing that you’ll notice about The Arrival is the new look. The game is much improved over its predecessor and the environments are much more detailed. The trees look more like trees, as opposed to the sticks with leaves that were found in the original title, and the Slender Man looks more terrifying and real then he previously did not that that’s a reason to stare of course; he’ll kill you if you do.
    Expand
  40. Apr 18, 2013
    4
    While the game does seem to expand on the original 8 Pages, the repetitive nature of the "missions" soon becomes jarring. The 8 Pages mission is actually included in this game, a game that is supposed to be new and bring more depth to the Slender mythos. It's the first mission you are tasked with in fact. Each mission seems to be about going to an area and finding something and then you are done. The price point for the game is ludicrous for what it is, $10 for something that is essentially the same mission over and over and ends with an obvious "To Be Continued" feel. The most enjoyment you can derive from the game is finding someone who is new to the genre entirely and is easily scared, then making them play it. The game is less terrifying than the original because the music has a tendency to give away upcoming moments of terror, That being said the actual sound effects are spot on, from the labored breathing to the very grating sound of the generators on the mine level powering up. In all the game is just slightly below average for me due to the price point and the lack of innovation. Expand
  41. Apr 19, 2013
    1
    The game does a good job of creating a creepy atmosphere, but fails when it comes to game play. The first level seems to come down to luck, as either the pages spawn in easy to find locations, or they don't; the slender man decides to kill you or leaves you alone, and after eight tries I still cannot finish it. I don't know if the rest of them game gets better but the mere fact that I can only play for 20 minutes before quitting ruins the entire experience for me. I would not recommend this game to any one I know. Expand
  42. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    I should say I've got a lot of impressions from this game.Especially at dark night with loud sound.Slender runs great without shadows.But anyway,the only weak point may be either optimization or plot.Anyway game is nice.
  43. May 16, 2013
    5
    This game does have its scary moments. Definitely not you most graphically detailed game but its core general First person view leaves you with anticipation at every corner. Story line is basically straight forward. The sound quality is decent although can very loud and annoying at times. Controls can be a little shaky too. Over all a decent game. I would recommend this to someone who has no clue of the history of Slender man nor experience to horror games. Expand
  44. Sep 25, 2013
    9
    A really scary and interesting game! It makes you not want to continue playing but want to at the same time just like the original Slender. It takes you inside the story and origin of Slender so it is no longer just a random "creature in the woods" game. It even makes you understand the notes, why they are there, and who drew them. It has an interesting storyline and neat locations. The graphics are pretty nice as well. The only reason I gave it a 9 instead of a 10 was because it does have a few minor glitches at times but it's no reason to not play this game. It's worth the small amount of money to buy it. After watching a "Let's Play" of it, I went and bought it ASAP. Expand
  45. Oct 22, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Slender: The Arrival is a very creepy survival horror game with beautiful graphics and soundtrack.
    although a very short game, it will be a favorite for fans of the survival horror genre.

    Lauren, A girl trying to visit her childhood friend, Kate walks into her home to see strange drawings and evidence of some kind of struggle. concerned, Lauren tries to locate her best friend in her locked room, only to find terrifying images scattered all over the walls and floor, suggesting that she is being stalked by someone, or something. she soon hears a scream come from the backyard and picks up a flashlight to go search for her friend.

    Slender: The Arrival is a MUST BUY game for Slender fans and horror fanatics alike.

    $10 dollars, rated T.
    Expand
  46. Oct 22, 2013
    8
    It's a really scary game like the eight pages but it has some problems there were some difficultly spikes and some glitches and you have the same objective's just like the eight pages and the good thing about is its scary and its got a little good back-story to this game and i hope that they improve more in the next game if there is going to be a sequel
  47. Oct 22, 2013
    9
    Slender: The Arrival proves that even more pants is never enough. After the first game, Indie Games have never been the same. Slender TA is a very well-made indie horror game, with AAA elements, but with simple mechanics that turns the game easy to understand, to play and interact with. Inviting the creators of Marble Hornets to write the plot of the game was a genius idea and proves that the Blue Isle Studios and Parsec that they understand what Slender means to us, fans.

    Yeah, the game is very short and this just can´t explain the expensive price for the game, but I am very sure that the game worthies a try, specially if you gets scared easy like me. Once again... Loved the game! Congratulations for the team who made this.
    Expand
  48. Oct 22, 2013
    9
    This is an epic horror done right. It takes the classic Slender concept and combines it with a fantastic narrative, awesome game play, and a beautiful upgrade to the graphics! The pacing of this game is some of the best I've ever seen, however the latest update makes the player find all 8 pages (which is nearly impossible) and destroys the clear purpose of the game...
  49. Oct 28, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Slender: The Arrival is the long-awaited re-imagining to the now world-famous Slender: The Eight Pages. In this remake, you star a Lauren, who, after going to see her friend Kate, crashes off the road and into a fallen tree. As the car is stuck, she decides to walk the rest of the way to get help. When she arrives to Kate's house, the whole house is a wreck, and Lauren is soon entangled in a complex mystery where she is being stalked by two mysterious entities (Slenderman of the title and The Chaser, a new entity that can be attacked with using your flashlight). The story is amazing, but it falls into a massive pitfall that snags many brilliant stories. The game needs for you to collect pieces for your scrapbook, some being totally useless, and others showing you the Slenderman's mysterious background story. If you enjoy this kind of game play, you're in for a treat, as the rest is repetitive, from page-collecting to turning on generators, the game stays to the original games roots of running round the place for several minutes, sometimes becoming lost. As well, the games new entity, The Chaser, appears only in one level, and on the same level, Slendy can insta-kill you just to scare the player. Thankfully, a steam release has saved the game from me giving it a two. The new version gives players more accessibility to the game, as well as The Chaser appearing in level one, with his creepy whispering appearing with the Slenderman's terrifying appearance, the steam version also extended the levels, so the game can actually last long enough to not count as an interactive movie. All in all, if you're going to buy this jump-fest, get the steam version as it majorly improves the whole game. Expand
  50. Nov 8, 2013
    8
    This game has great gameplay and graphics! Yet, the story could have been longer, $10.00 is a pretty good price for what it has. This game says its scary, and it is! I hope they make a sequel or DLC to this amazing game. It may be a bit laggy on slow computers though
  51. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    Amazing redo of the original game, great graphics, and it is expanded on much more. The story is revealed more as you go along and there are new terrifying enemies. A little short, but that is to be expected from an independent, but growing company. A great game, and a must have for all gamers into horror games.
  52. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    one of the best horror games ever!one of the best horror games ever!one of the best horror games ever!one of the best horror games ever!one of the best horror games ever!one of the best horror games ever!one of the best horror games ever!
  53. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    I haven't finished the campaign yet. Only few chapters but it's getting scarier with progress. I've play so many "horror" games and mods recently.Huge fan of the genre and wasn't expecting much. So I find it noteworthy that in Slender:The Arrival you cannot really hide, so you run run run and you don't get to feel safe very often. The sound is obviously something gamer's mention because dang it's creepy. The voices are difficult to understand gibberish so sounds different all the time. The static noise will make your ears exploded. Really this game is challenging and fun as well so please look around and loot those notes, but don't take too long... Expand
  54. Dec 3, 2013
    7
    Pro of this game.
    -Nice graphic
    -Nice levels

    Cons of this game.
    -Slender seems less scarier than in Slender:The Eight Page
    -Storyline is not very good but not bad nor good.
  55. Dec 7, 2013
    6
    If you've played the free version of Slender, you will notice that this game does not add much to the slenderman experience. The scare factor in this game is a solid 8/10 in the early levels but it quickly degrades to being a frustrating experience in the later levels as you will find yourself dying more often than you should. Check out this game if you're:

    1. A big fan of the
    slenderman myth
    2. Have run out of horror games to play
    Expand
  56. Dec 28, 2013
    1
    Relies on jump scares the whole way through. The scariest part of this game was the slenderman getting in your way and aggravating you because you half to alter your path. It's not scary and the gameplay is the same thing multiple times.
  57. Jan 5, 2014
    5
    Slender: The Arrival is not a good game. The 2D visuals are good, the sound and screen effects are top notch; However, the 3D visuals are bad, the story is confusing at best, and the game play and level design is repetitive. Most of the game didn't even involve Slender Man himself. This feels more like a work-in-progress than a complete game.

    I'll specially mention the insanely low
    frame rates on my $1400 computer. Even on the lowest settings, I was probably barely in the 20-30 range at best. Some optimization is sorely needed.

    Play Outlast or Amnesia instead.
    Expand
  58. Mar 1, 2014
    9
    It's not only a horror masterpiece game; It's the 4th game on my personal best games list: under Portal 2> Half life 2 > AVP2 > F.E.A.2! It's like being inside a Hitchcock's movie. Absolutely awesome! Each cent it's worth!
  59. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    after playing this game i was speechless. being in the forest alone with just a flashlight with a horrifying creature hunting you down REALLY brings out the scary atmonsphere.the graphics are crazy awesome while not making it TOO scary.
  60. Jul 23, 2014
    5
    I blamed the dog for the mess made, even though I do not own a dog...

    Okay, Slender... It's just one of them games where you keep telling yourself "Don't turn around" but what do you go and do? You turn around very slowly then... Bam! There's a turd in my pants and Slender Man is also standing behind you!

    You will always be on edge throughout the majority of the game, like the
    feeling of someone or something is constantly watching you. If you like a good jump scare then this is a decent game for you to do so!

    The graphics are beautifully well done, very well updated from the previous slender man.

    Just a quick brief review, the game isn't nothing special, just something to play when you're bored or to pass the time or if you purposely want to make yourself jump. (Some people are into that sort of stuff).

    5/10
    Expand
  61. Apr 4, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers. After the surprising hit last in the summer of 2012 that was Slender: The Eight Pages, Blue Isle Studios and Parsec Productions decided to take the basic, experimental game design that the original was and expand upon it. Now we have Slender: The Arrival, a sequel re-imagining of the original that now has better graphics and an underlying story. So how does Slender: The Arrival hold up in an expanded upon package?

    The Story:
    The story of Slender: The Arrival has you play as Lauren, a girl who goes into the woods to see her friend Kate. When she arrives, she finds the house trashed and finds out that Kate is missing. After that, the story takes a backseat and is only occassionaly brought up. There are little collectibles that further expand upon the story, including Kate becoming a proxy, and even hinting that Kate was the original protagonist from Slender: The Eight Pages. While these collectables are interesting, the way that the events unfold is somewhat sloppy and contrived. Why again, did we have to go in the mines in the first place? Oh yeah. To meet the new enemy type, the proxy (Kate). The ending, however intense it may be, is a huge letdown. It feels unfinished, rushed, and left me dissapointed. Also, the game is extremely short. It took me roughly 2 hours to complete.

    Gameplay:
    Slender: The Arrival is what you would expect from a Slender game. Intense, atmospheric horror in a first person view with a soundtrack that will continue to haunt you even after the game is complete. However, where this does fall slightly flat is Chapter 3. In this chapter, you journey into an abandoned mine for no good reason and find the new enemy. The Proxy. The proxy is a hooded figure that, unlike Slenderman, will seek out the player and continuously follow you until you escape the mines. The first time you're attacked by the proxy is certainly intense, but begins to become less intense when you are constantly jumped and killed just as you're about to finish the level. The chapter begins very well and certainly had me screaming the first time I heard the proxy running behind me as I ran into a dead end. However, this is where the Slenderman takes a back seat and is rarely seen. After this, the gameplay returns to normal and goes back to being a Slender game.

    Sound Design:
    The sound is arguably the most important part of the Slender games. Everything from the subtle cricket chirps to the iconic drum bangs is spot on and really elevates the atmosphere to; at times, pure and absolute terror. My personal favorite sound design is ironically, in my least favorite part of the game. In the mines, the echoing footsteps and the cackling of the Proxy is absolutely terrifying.

    Conclusion:
    While Slender: The Eight Pages was an experiment in survival horror, Slender: The Arrival is an evolution of horror. While I had some problems with the story and the mine section, Slender: The Arrival managed to do something that very few games can do. This game terrified me, and had me looking around my room creeping myself out. If you're alone at night, and feel the need to be scared, Slender: The Arrival is one of the best horror experiences currently available on PC and I highly recommend that you check this one out.

    Short Consensus:
    With a great atmosphere, and sequences of pure terror, Slender: The Arrival is a great horror experience that suffers from a less than stellar 3rd chapter and repetitive gameplay.
    8/10
    Collapse
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Nov 18, 2013
    50
    Sadly, it devolves into a tedious, irritating scavenger hunt that fails to keep up the momentum and burdens the player with repetitious busy work that makes the short playtime seem merciful rather than miserly.
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    The overall experience may be familiar, but hasn’t grown tiresome yet to affect its scare-factor. Grab some headphones, turn off the lights, and try not to wake up anyone living in the same household with your screams of terror.
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    40
    Slender: The Arrival wants to be seen as a serious entry into the horror genre, but it fails to put the effort into the gameplay mechanics and artificial intelligence that would merit the honor.