Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 225 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Slender: The Arrival is the official continuation of Slender: The Eight Pages. A combined effort from the writers behind the Marble Hornets series and the development team at Blue Isle Studios, Slender: The Arrival features a brand new storyline and improved visuals.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Apr 2, 2013
    90
    A significant improvement over Parsec Production's original game, featuring a much more robust narrative, and a darker, more foreboding atmosphere. You may have mixed feelings about its brevity and the repetitive mechanics, but it's certainly a well-built game that, above all, is scary to play.
  2. May 13, 2013
    83
    Slender: The Arrival Arrival continues on the road paved by its predecessor The Eight Pages, offering same horrors, featuring slender man with a hooded sidekick. If you like scaring yourself, you'll love Slender: The Arrival. [May 2013]
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    75
    It’s a deeper, much more beautiful take on what remains a brilliant and simple concept. The additions are good, but there could stand to be more of them.
  4. Apr 3, 2013
    65
    Slender: The Arrival manages to deliver some truly impressive scares, but you’ll have to wade through the muck of repetitive tasks and unfair enemies in order to experience them. I found more enjoyment in playing the free original installment, which delivers a powerful horror experience without the annoyances and filler.
  5. May 6, 2013
    60
    Slender: The Arrival confirms the many doubts emerged during the preview, showing obvious limitations dictated by the lacks of a gameplay structure that deviates from what we saw in "Slender: The Eight Pages", its predecessor.
  6. 60
    The scares are still there but in gameplay terms the experience is far too… slender to justify the repetition and frustration of this sequel.
  7. May 13, 2013
    25
    People who gave us the excellent Slender: The Eight Pages suddenly ceased to understand what makes a good horror. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.69]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 69
  2. Negative: 17 out of 69
  1. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    This is seriously the scariest, most intense horror game EVER! right from the beginning, it fills you with that fear that makes you soThis is seriously the scariest, most intense horror game EVER! right from the beginning, it fills you with that fear that makes you so paranoid and edgy that the slightest noise from any direction could send you into a heart attach. The graphics are beautiful and filled with detail. The overall sound is some of the best, as that is one of the main things that make the game scary. When you hear footsteps coming up to you from behind, it will send chills down your spine! The game play is really immersive and from the beginning it is sending you scares around every corner, and It puts you in girls place from the start. I love this game and will for quite some time to come. Expand
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Absolutely Scariest!!! Amazing Game, Gorgeous graphics, incredibly immersive, most intense horror game EVER! right from the beginning, TheAbsolutely Scariest!!! Amazing Game, Gorgeous graphics, incredibly immersive, most intense horror game EVER! right from the beginning, The detailed environments, spooky music, vague but interesting narrative, Expand
  3. Mar 1, 2014
    9
    It's not only a horror masterpiece game; It's the 4th game on my personal best games list: under Portal 2> Half life 2 > AVP2 > F.E.A.2! It'sIt's not only a horror masterpiece game; It's the 4th game on my personal best games list: under Portal 2> Half life 2 > AVP2 > F.E.A.2! It's like being inside a Hitchcock's movie. Absolutely awesome! Each cent it's worth! Expand
  4. Nov 28, 2014
    7
    This game is really short but scary as hell. I wanted to give 6 points but because of the free DLC released recently I increased my score withThis game is really short but scary as hell. I wanted to give 6 points but because of the free DLC released recently I increased my score with 1. The Slendy's AI is great but the other enemies are not that smart and you can't do stealth in this game because enemy's AI is bad. Expand
  5. Apr 7, 2013
    6
    First let me start with saying I completely loath the original "Slender," it was a sad excuse of a game that relied on cheap jump scares (andFirst let me start with saying I completely loath the original "Slender," it was a sad excuse of a game that relied on cheap jump scares (and not even scary ones at that) of some terribly modelled 3D render of what looks to be a potato in a business suit. I've followed Slenderman stories for a few years now, and let me say when Slender came along, it completely ruined it. It made it not scary, turned it into a crappy meme, and made it some preteen fad. Complaints out of the way, Slender: The Arrival is much more respectable. They make it actually scary, give it a good atmosphere, and some actual objectives and scenery. The original was dreadful, and I almost fell asleep playing it, not even kidding. But this one feels more like an actual game. Personally, I'm still not convinced it's worth $10.00 when compared to other titles of the same price. But if you want a few cheap jump scares, and a decent atmosphere (I recommend shutting the blinds and turning all lights off), then go for it. Have a blast. If you want a quality game, steer clear of any Slender related game for a few more years, until a company gets a real budget and a creative mind to put a twist in it and make it more exciting. Want a quality game? Look into Cryostasis, Dead Space, Penumbra, or Amnesia. Expand
  6. May 16, 2013
    5
    This game does have its scary moments. Definitely not you most graphically detailed game but its core general First person view leaves youThis game does have its scary moments. Definitely not you most graphically detailed game but its core general First person view leaves you with anticipation at every corner. Story line is basically straight forward. The sound quality is decent although can very loud and annoying at times. Controls can be a little shaky too. Over all a decent game. I would recommend this to someone who has no clue of the history of Slender man nor experience to horror games. Expand
  7. Mar 29, 2013
    0
    Slender The Arrival is too short for the price of the experience. Still the same concept of Slenderman from the game Slender. He needs toSlender The Arrival is too short for the price of the experience. Still the same concept of Slenderman from the game Slender. He needs to appear more "living" and not some stationary, statue.

    I prefer Faceless take on Slenderman.
    Expand

See all 69 User Reviews