Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 200 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Slender: The Arrival is the official continuation of Slender: The Eight Pages. A combined effort from the writers behind the Marble Hornets series and the development team at Blue Isle Studios, Slender: The Arrival features a brand new storyline and improved visuals.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Apr 2, 2013
    90
    A significant improvement over Parsec Production's original game, featuring a much more robust narrative, and a darker, more foreboding atmosphere. You may have mixed feelings about its brevity and the repetitive mechanics, but it's certainly a well-built game that, above all, is scary to play.
  2. May 13, 2013
    83
    Slender: The Arrival Arrival continues on the road paved by its predecessor The Eight Pages, offering same horrors, featuring slender man with a hooded sidekick. If you like scaring yourself, you'll love Slender: The Arrival. [May 2013]
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    75
    It’s a deeper, much more beautiful take on what remains a brilliant and simple concept. The additions are good, but there could stand to be more of them.
  4. Apr 3, 2013
    65
    Slender: The Arrival manages to deliver some truly impressive scares, but you’ll have to wade through the muck of repetitive tasks and unfair enemies in order to experience them. I found more enjoyment in playing the free original installment, which delivers a powerful horror experience without the annoyances and filler.
  5. May 6, 2013
    60
    Slender: The Arrival confirms the many doubts emerged during the preview, showing obvious limitations dictated by the lacks of a gameplay structure that deviates from what we saw in "Slender: The Eight Pages", its predecessor.
  6. 60
    The scares are still there but in gameplay terms the experience is far too… slender to justify the repetition and frustration of this sequel.
  7. May 13, 2013
    25
    People who gave us the excellent Slender: The Eight Pages suddenly ceased to understand what makes a good horror. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.69]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 62
  2. Negative: 17 out of 62
  1. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    This is seriously the scariest, most intense horror game EVER! right from the beginning, it fills you with that fear that makes you so paranoid and edgy that the slightest noise from any direction could send you into a heart attach. The graphics are beautiful and filled with detail. The overall sound is some of the best, as that is one of the main things that make the game scary. When you hear footsteps coming up to you from behind, it will send chills down your spine! The game play is really immersive and from the beginning it is sending you scares around every corner, and It puts you in girls place from the start. I love this game and will for quite some time to come. Expand
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Absolutely Scariest!!! Amazing Game, Gorgeous graphics, incredibly immersive, most intense horror game EVER! right from the beginning, The detailed environments, spooky music, vague but interesting narrative, Expand
  3. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    If I wanted to judge this objectively, I might want to complain about the game's length (about 2-3 hours, depending on difficulty), or the limited variation of gameplay mechanics. But damnit, I won't, for the simple fact that this is the scariest game I've ever played. No game has ever conveyed a sense of vulnerability, paranoia and scream-out-loud moments quite like this. This is horror done right. Amnesia: Dark Descent is the only one that comes close, but this is just raw, condensed fear. It's not easy (though easier than the previous iteration), you probably will die, but after each restart the levels rearrange themselves, keeping each new attempt fresh. Plus, Slenderman isn't the only thing to fear in this game...

    So for the price of a cinema ticket, you will buy yourself the scariest experience you will ever have. If you're a horror fan, don't miss out.
    Expand
  4. Dec 23, 2013
    7
    I picked this up while this metascore is quite low. Still I enjoyed it. Some people say it's short. I enjoyed this for a fair amount of hours. But I guess this game is more enjoyable with company of some friends. We hooked up our pc on the tv and played this with a controller. We had many laughters and scary moments. I agree this isn't an in depth story and the concept is a bit overrated. But still it desevers a slightly higher meta score imo. Expand
  5. Apr 7, 2013
    6
    First let me start with saying I completely loath the original "Slender," it was a sad excuse of a game that relied on cheap jump scares (and not even scary ones at that) of some terribly modelled 3D render of what looks to be a potato in a business suit. I've followed Slenderman stories for a few years now, and let me say when Slender came along, it completely ruined it. It made it not scary, turned it into a crappy meme, and made it some preteen fad. Complaints out of the way, Slender: The Arrival is much more respectable. They make it actually scary, give it a good atmosphere, and some actual objectives and scenery. The original was dreadful, and I almost fell asleep playing it, not even kidding. But this one feels more like an actual game. Personally, I'm still not convinced it's worth $10.00 when compared to other titles of the same price. But if you want a few cheap jump scares, and a decent atmosphere (I recommend shutting the blinds and turning all lights off), then go for it. Have a blast. If you want a quality game, steer clear of any Slender related game for a few more years, until a company gets a real budget and a creative mind to put a twist in it and make it more exciting. Want a quality game? Look into Cryostasis, Dead Space, Penumbra, or Amnesia. Expand
  6. Mar 27, 2013
    5
    This had me from start to finish like no other game has. I've played many scary and horrifying indie games and none of them will compare to this one. I wont say too much but when it starts to hit nightfall at the start, then tension grows rapidly. The environments, lighting, fog, everything that goes into making the atmosphere, captures the horror spot on. The slenderman looks better then ever, and the way he appears and disappear's will make you jump out of your seat and even sweat at times it gets that intense. If your looking for a game with a lot, and I mean a lot of jump scares and freaky atmosphere, check this one out for sure. Note, don't go into the game looking for a lengthy well detailed story, just go in on the edge of your seat and be prepared to have a ride like no other. Expand
  7. Mar 29, 2013
    0
    Slender The Arrival is too short for the price of the experience. Still the same concept of Slenderman from the game Slender. He needs to appear more "living" and not some stationary, statue.

    I prefer Faceless take on Slenderman.
    Expand

See all 62 User Reviews