Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 584 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players choose from a selection of mythical gods, join session-based arena combat, and use custom powers and team tactics against other player-controlled gods and non-player controlled minions.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 26, 2014
    95
    Hi Rez studios has a game changer on their hands here. SMITE is an incredibly fun and addicting MOBA that is perfect for those who are looking from a change of pace from your typical MOBA.
  2. Mar 25, 2014
    90
    Smite is an excellent addition to an expanding genre, and one that distinguishes itself from the rest of the pack with decidedly different gameplay, a quirky and lighthearted take on classic mythology, and a variety of interesting modes.
  3. Apr 10, 2014
    86
    Smite makes the MOBA more approachable with smart tweaks to the formula and action RPG-inspired combat.
  4. Aug 8, 2014
    83
    Smite is alternative to Dota and LoL suited to beginners as well as veterans of the genre.
  5. May 19, 2014
    80
    The product of Hi Rez Studios is well made, and offers different feelings from those of its competitors, thanks to the different camera angle and a fast paced gameplay.
  6. Apr 24, 2014
    80
    Smite is invigorating. It’s not another MOBA. It takes one aspect of a MOBA’s structure and builds on it until it's something else entirely. Smite has developed into an action game. One with lanes, creeps and towers, all the things you’d expect from a MOBA, but even the familiar looks different when viewed from Smite’s refreshing perspective.
  7. 60
    A different camera angle along with great e-sport support can't hide the fact that this has been done before, with better result.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 164
  1. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    You can play Cupid! 10/10 . Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    I loved to play MMORPG, FPS and I always want to try to play some game which will let me aim (instead of tab targeting) and I can play some serious PvP...

    I put all my hopes into GW2 but it was disappointment in the end. I also tried DOTA 2 and LOL and it was too boring for me and I just dont like that kind of control ...

    I simply want PvP game, where I can aim and if possible if the look will be from 3rd person and with aiming ...

    And then I found SMITE and I am playing it for long long long time and its probably the best game which I ever played :-)

    MOBA game with aiming and with "better control" at least for me :-)
    Expand
  3. Sep 25, 2014
    10
    I played LoL until lvl 28.. and then i found Smite and stopped playing LoL. Smite is way better, it has some problems when you're playing alone because of the people you team up with... some of them are bad players and you some times cant find a good team. But that happens in LoL too soo, that is not a good comparison. Still, Smite has better graphics, strategy and gods are awesome! You just need to find a Clan like en WoW or any other game and play with your clan mates. Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    SMITE is the most original MOBA ever. I know people would say "LoL copy!!" but they aren't. It's like saying LoL is a copy of DoTa, and no one cares about it. The gods that are released are from mythology, so its not a copy. Community is great, the game is really fun and u have to really use your skills to be good, not like other MOBAs that u just have to play. Expand
  5. Apr 24, 2014
    9
    Being a fan of another popular MOBA game already on the market and a huge lover of ancient mythology, trying this game out was a no-brainer. From the very first game I knew I was hooked. Even just running around beating up bots I was having a grand time. It's a refreshing take on a genre with so many games already on the market and I find myself literally dreaming about this game. I look forward to playing daily! I can't wait until they add more gods to the roster. Expand
  6. Jun 29, 2014
    9
    good arena game play, very MMO like battleground with 50+ characters to choose from. worth the money to buy Ultimate God Pack..

    I played as
    a tank, yet I can still kill people without much dmg because of the CC. Expand
  7. yum
    Aug 24, 2014
    0
    Atrocious ban system! HiRez makes money off permabanning people. And they dont care about checking reasons at all.A lot of things are very very wrong with this system!

    The smite servers arent often times not as stable as they should be and it happens that you will be kicked from the lobby for no reason. Thats a deserter debuff for you. (and if you get deserter too often you get banned!)

    People report too much in this game. If you have a bad game.. you will get reported for feeding. If you are annoyed because some dude feeds the enemy team and you simply spam the ingame emotes a few times whenever he dies, you will get reported for harass.

    Even if you play a decent game but your team loses anyway.. yup thats a report for you! It's really really bad. Especially as a support you can eat your heart out with CC and helping others and your team will still insult and report you in hopes of getting you banned if you lose (solution dont play support ever!).

    The worst thing by far is that smite checks for other programs running while you run smite (e.g. detecting cheat engine). But not only does smite not care wether or not you actually USE the program to modify the game and instant permaban it also missdetects some programs like a few graphic card addons and performance trackers.

    The ban count is never reset so earlier or later you WILL get the 1 year ban.

    The only thing i can recommend is to not spend any real money on cosmetics or god unlocks simply because it will be gone earlier or later
    Expand

See all 164 User Reviews