Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 565 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players choose from a selection of mythical gods, join session-based arena combat, and use custom powers and team tactics against other player-controlled gods and non-player controlled minions.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 26, 2014
    95
    Hi Rez studios has a game changer on their hands here. SMITE is an incredibly fun and addicting MOBA that is perfect for those who are looking from a change of pace from your typical MOBA.
  2. Mar 25, 2014
    90
    Smite is an excellent addition to an expanding genre, and one that distinguishes itself from the rest of the pack with decidedly different gameplay, a quirky and lighthearted take on classic mythology, and a variety of interesting modes.
  3. Apr 10, 2014
    86
    Smite makes the MOBA more approachable with smart tweaks to the formula and action RPG-inspired combat.
  4. Aug 8, 2014
    83
    Smite is alternative to Dota and LoL suited to beginners as well as veterans of the genre.
  5. May 19, 2014
    80
    The product of Hi Rez Studios is well made, and offers different feelings from those of its competitors, thanks to the different camera angle and a fast paced gameplay.
  6. Apr 24, 2014
    80
    Smite is invigorating. It’s not another MOBA. It takes one aspect of a MOBA’s structure and builds on it until it's something else entirely. Smite has developed into an action game. One with lanes, creeps and towers, all the things you’d expect from a MOBA, but even the familiar looks different when viewed from Smite’s refreshing perspective.
  7. 60
    A different camera angle along with great e-sport support can't hide the fact that this has been done before, with better result.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 158
  1. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    You can play Cupid! 10/10 . Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    Im playing smite for like 1 year now and still enjoy it alot! with alot of updates comming. my fav game definitly! u can google all the gods and find out about them they are all real myths! Expand
  3. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    I've been playing mobas for a few years now and smite has done a great job with champions. Skillful, distinct and exciting. The game is free to play - a plus - so you can try it. A bonus: the graphics and art of the game are much better than the usual for a moba.

    I was surprised by the different game modes available in the game. I bet other games will try to copy these game modes. They add a lot of new strategy to the game.

    Before playing smite, I didn't realize how much better first person is compared to overhead/top-down type view. First person allows you a faster play style and also more strategy (maneuvering behind others). I wonder if other mobas will try to create a first person view for their games.

    My new favorite moba and well worth a try.
    Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    One of my favorite games to date. Well worth everyone's time, would not let this game go to waste get playing. Hours of fun, this game has it's own unique take on mobas using Gods from mythology as there characters, very original and each character has there own lore telling you about the specific god, great game. Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2014
    9
    Well, I started playing just before the release and I got to say... it's awesome. I found my Moba. I play EVERY DAY. I bought the Ultimate God Pack (you get every god and the future ones too) on the first week - yup, you can do that.

    The game is fun, of course it has a few issues (absolutely not gamebreaking) like any other game, but I'm really optimistic about the future changes and the developers... oh the developers, I like them also, they listen and communicate.

    9/10 because no game is perfect.

    Oh... and don't listen to those who say it's pay to win.
    Expand
  6. Jun 29, 2014
    9
    good arena game play, very MMO like battleground with 50+ characters to choose from. worth the money to buy Ultimate God Pack..

    I played as
    a tank, yet I can still kill people without much dmg because of the CC. Expand
  7. yum
    Aug 24, 2014
    0
    Atrocious ban system! HiRez makes money off permabanning people. And they dont care about checking reasons at all.A lot of things are very very wrong with this system!

    The smite servers arent often times not as stable as they should be and it happens that you will be kicked from the lobby for no reason. Thats a deserter debuff for you. (and if you get deserter too often you get banned!)

    People report too much in this game. If you have a bad game.. you will get reported for feeding. If you are annoyed because some dude feeds the enemy team and you simply spam the ingame emotes a few times whenever he dies, you will get reported for harass.

    Even if you play a decent game but your team loses anyway.. yup thats a report for you! It's really really bad. Especially as a support you can eat your heart out with CC and helping others and your team will still insult and report you in hopes of getting you banned if you lose (solution dont play support ever!).

    The worst thing by far is that smite checks for other programs running while you run smite (e.g. detecting cheat engine). But not only does smite not care wether or not you actually USE the program to modify the game and instant permaban it also missdetects some programs like a few graphic card addons and performance trackers.

    The ban count is never reset so earlier or later you WILL get the 1 year ban.

    The only thing i can recommend is to not spend any real money on cosmetics or god unlocks simply because it will be gone earlier or later
    Expand

See all 158 User Reviews