Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 596 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players choose from a selection of mythical gods, join session-based arena combat, and use custom powers and team tactics against other player-controlled gods and non-player controlled minions.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 26, 2014
    95
    Hi Rez studios has a game changer on their hands here. SMITE is an incredibly fun and addicting MOBA that is perfect for those who are looking from a change of pace from your typical MOBA.
  2. Mar 25, 2014
    90
    Smite is an excellent addition to an expanding genre, and one that distinguishes itself from the rest of the pack with decidedly different gameplay, a quirky and lighthearted take on classic mythology, and a variety of interesting modes.
  3. Apr 10, 2014
    86
    Smite makes the MOBA more approachable with smart tweaks to the formula and action RPG-inspired combat.
  4. Aug 8, 2014
    83
    Smite is alternative to Dota and LoL suited to beginners as well as veterans of the genre.
  5. May 19, 2014
    80
    The product of Hi Rez Studios is well made, and offers different feelings from those of its competitors, thanks to the different camera angle and a fast paced gameplay.
  6. Apr 24, 2014
    80
    Smite is invigorating. It’s not another MOBA. It takes one aspect of a MOBA’s structure and builds on it until it's something else entirely. Smite has developed into an action game. One with lanes, creeps and towers, all the things you’d expect from a MOBA, but even the familiar looks different when viewed from Smite’s refreshing perspective.
  7. 60
    A different camera angle along with great e-sport support can't hide the fact that this has been done before, with better result.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 169
  1. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    You can play Cupid! 10/10 . Expand
  2. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    SMITE takes a new approach on MOBAS, taking it down from Top view to 3rd person. As the first MOBA game I have played SMITE made the transition from shooter games (Both first and thrid) to MOBAs an easy thing. SMITE will really help you as a catalyst to learning the MOBA style without starting where skillcaps are very high and new players are very poorly treated. SMITE offers great cost effectiveness with its pack for all gods (heroes/champs) for only 30$ Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2014
    10
    I think one of the best MOBA games of all time, i'm so **** addicted to this game i have played this game for 164 hours and 21 minutes, it's god damn crazy with lot of stuff to expand for me 10/10 Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    This game is overall well designed. It's an original MOBA, the graphics are quite great at maximum settings, the performance is above average for me atleast and the gameplay is really fun. It's an easy MOBA to learn compared to others like League of Legends and DOTA 2. As a MOBA, it is very original, since all these new aspects/tweaks are brought to the genre. Overall, great game and amazingly designed. The developers, Hi-Rez Studios, listen to the community incredibly well and better than any other devs I've seen, you can trust me on this since I've been apart of the community since the closed beta. Hi-Rez is always trying to give us new content, upgraded content, and overall a better game quality, which i enjoy greatly from developers. 10/10, this game has been the best I've ever played for this last year and a half. Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2014
    9
    Firstly-MOBA in 3D. Secondly,-good graphics with an excellent soundtrack. Thirdly-you can be a God. Fourthly- nice community (probably better than LoL or Dota). Are you downloading client right now? Expand
  6. Jun 29, 2014
    9
    good arena game play, very MMO like battleground with 50+ characters to choose from. worth the money to buy Ultimate God Pack..

    I played as
    a tank, yet I can still kill people without much dmg because of the CC. Expand
  7. yum
    Aug 24, 2014
    0
    Atrocious ban system! HiRez makes money off permabanning people. And they dont care about checking reasons at all.A lot of things are very very wrong with this system!

    The smite servers arent often times not as stable as they should be and it happens that you will be kicked from the lobby for no reason. Thats a deserter debuff for you. (and if you get deserter too often you get banned!)

    People report too much in this game. If you have a bad game.. you will get reported for feeding. If you are annoyed because some dude feeds the enemy team and you simply spam the ingame emotes a few times whenever he dies, you will get reported for harass.

    Even if you play a decent game but your team loses anyway.. yup thats a report for you! It's really really bad. Especially as a support you can eat your heart out with CC and helping others and your team will still insult and report you in hopes of getting you banned if you lose (solution dont play support ever!).

    The worst thing by far is that smite checks for other programs running while you run smite (e.g. detecting cheat engine). But not only does smite not care wether or not you actually USE the program to modify the game and instant permaban it also missdetects some programs like a few graphic card addons and performance trackers.

    The ban count is never reset so earlier or later you WILL get the 1 year ban.

    The only thing i can recommend is to not spend any real money on cosmetics or god unlocks simply because it will be gone earlier or later
    Expand

See all 169 User Reviews