Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 642 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players choose from a selection of mythical gods, join session-based arena combat, and use custom powers and team tactics against other player-controlled gods and non-player controlled minions.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 26, 2014
    95
    Hi Rez studios has a game changer on their hands here. SMITE is an incredibly fun and addicting MOBA that is perfect for those who are looking from a change of pace from your typical MOBA.
  2. Mar 25, 2014
    90
    Smite is an excellent addition to an expanding genre, and one that distinguishes itself from the rest of the pack with decidedly different gameplay, a quirky and lighthearted take on classic mythology, and a variety of interesting modes.
  3. Apr 10, 2014
    86
    Smite makes the MOBA more approachable with smart tweaks to the formula and action RPG-inspired combat.
  4. Aug 8, 2014
    83
    Smite is alternative to Dota and LoL suited to beginners as well as veterans of the genre.
  5. May 19, 2014
    80
    The product of Hi Rez Studios is well made, and offers different feelings from those of its competitors, thanks to the different camera angle and a fast paced gameplay.
  6. Apr 24, 2014
    80
    Smite is invigorating. It’s not another MOBA. It takes one aspect of a MOBA’s structure and builds on it until it's something else entirely. Smite has developed into an action game. One with lanes, creeps and towers, all the things you’d expect from a MOBA, but even the familiar looks different when viewed from Smite’s refreshing perspective.
  7. 60
    A different camera angle along with great e-sport support can't hide the fact that this has been done before, with better result.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 187
  1. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    You can play Cupid! 10/10You can play Cupid! 10/10 . Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    Smite is an amazing game from amazing developers. Through the lengthy beta period there have been constant updates to the game that has madeSmite is an amazing game from amazing developers. Through the lengthy beta period there have been constant updates to the game that has made it into what it is today which is vastly different to what it was. Smite features unique MOBA gameplay by changing the perspective to third person and giving you familiar wasd movement where 1 2 3 4 are used for he abilities. Everything about this game is simply amazing. It has it's unique and fun gameplay not just in the standard 3 lane format as other MOBAs it also features a variety of other modes, including, Arena, Assault, Joust (1v1), Joust (3v3) and the ever changing MoTD. The sound in the game is also very well done. The community isn't so bad as in other games and toxic players are easily ignored using the mute option. The developers are constantly interacting with the community and providing content through Youtube and Twitch, mainly twitch as they run two official channels that has a line up of streamers that fill up a 24 hours each week day, with the tournaments being streamed there on the weekends. What also adds to the fun of the game is the use of mythological gods as opposed to champions and such from other games, it features many gods from many different pantheons all interesting, unique and well designed. Overall the game really doesn't have any real downsides other than the lack of servers for regions outside North America and Europe which really isn't a problem with the game and will probably be rectified eventually. 10/10 Expand
  3. Sep 10, 2014
    10
    This game is amazing. I've been gaming since i was 6 and never have i stuck with a game for long, but i keep getting drawn back to play thisThis game is amazing. I've been gaming since i was 6 and never have i stuck with a game for long, but i keep getting drawn back to play this time and time again. Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    One of personal favorite games currently it features 50+ gods with more on the way as well as several different game mode and the awesomeOne of personal favorite games currently it features 50+ gods with more on the way as well as several different game mode and the awesome theme of mythical gods from various pantheons (Greek, Mayan, Chinese etc.). Hi-rez has gone all out this time Expand
  5. Jul 6, 2014
    9
    When downloading this game, I looked on the internet at what people thought of it as opposed to other MOBAs. People generally said that DotA 2When downloading this game, I looked on the internet at what people thought of it as opposed to other MOBAs. People generally said that DotA 2 and/or League of Legends are better, and thought about this as I started the game up. After playing over forty eight hours of the game, I can clarify that these statements are false. SMITE is by far the best MOBA that I have ever played. It takes the good aspects of all MOBAs and puts them into a more action-packed, friendly, and generally much more interesting game. It features the classic tri-lane gamemode while also adding several others to break up the monotony of one singular map. This was a problem that DotA 2 had, and SMITE has surpassed it in that respect.
    It also features a gigantic character roster of over 90 gods to play, each one purchasable either with an in-game currency or with real-world money. Each god is very unique, has their own way of hacking, slashing, and hitting B to warp back to base.
    Its graphics are very nice also, they're just as high-fidelity as DotA but are more realistic than both League and DotA, and so personal preference decides which you prefer. This game's community is far better than DotA 2's, and makes League's look like the final circle of hell. People are always happy to help players out, work together, listen to voice commands and so on.
    This game's biggest negative however is that it's held down by a ton of the classic MOBA rules that have League of Legends twitching on the floor covered in bees. It keeps the whole "purchasing gods" aspect, albeit bypassable by the Ultimate-God-Pack, but it also has unfair voting mechanics, unchangeable characters once locked in, and the last hitting rule. But if those are not bothersome to you, SMITE is an absolutely wonderful game with plenty of potential to keep growing and growing.
    Expand
  6. Aug 9, 2014
    8
    Having almost 2000 hours of time played in Dota 2, I decided to finally give this game a try, since some of my friends have played it off andHaving almost 2000 hours of time played in Dota 2, I decided to finally give this game a try, since some of my friends have played it off and on for the last couple of years. I am still quite new to the game, and have only tired a handful of the heroes, but so far I am really enjoying myself. The multiple game-modes is quite refreshing, and I like the tempo of the game. I also really like that they have distinguished themselves from other Mobas (at least Dota), not only in the 3rd-person-perspective, but in terms of how the matches play out. I feel that there is a higher possibility of a comeback, and the matches end a lot quicker, which is a welcome change of pace, since some Dota-games can really drag on. The skill-cap is high, but the game is more forgiving than other similar games, at least in my experience. So far, the community also seem a bit better than Dota 2. The biggest complaint I have, is that most (sadly) of the skins for the heroes are just awful. Some of them just don't look good, which is fine, I can just stay away from them, but some of the skins are just childish and ridiculous, which really bugs me out. Expand
  7. Mar 19, 2015
    0
    Graphics: Don't write home to Mom about them, they are a little childish and cartoony for Mom's tastes, and you might make Mom sad.Graphics: Don't write home to Mom about them, they are a little childish and cartoony for Mom's tastes, and you might make Mom sad.

    Gameplay: Plagued with glitchiness, and the 3 or 4 game modes ensure it never gets old... (Yawn) *ZZZZZZZ*

    Playerbase: Ewww, the worst trolls and rampant cheaters with a handful of brain cells between them. If you can get through a match without some toxic halfwit rage-quitting or trying to get you banned from the game out of spite, you are a luckier man than I ever was.

    Diverse Array of Gods: Come on, no Jesus character? BUT I WANT TO BE JESUS AND KILL PEOPLE. This sucks.

    Thank me for saving hours of your life by pointing you in another direction? Yes, please.
    Expand

See all 187 User Reviews