User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 271 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 271

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 6, 2014
    9
    Sniper Elite III is a thinking man's shooter. In this game, you can't run in guns blazing, because even though you can equip machine guns and pistols, you'll be dead in an instant. Instead, you have to be slow and careful. You have to snipe while loud noises are happening to avoid detection, or take enemies out up close with stealth takedowns or a silenced pistol.

    The stealthy approach
    Sniper Elite III is a thinking man's shooter. In this game, you can't run in guns blazing, because even though you can equip machine guns and pistols, you'll be dead in an instant. Instead, you have to be slow and careful. You have to snipe while loud noises are happening to avoid detection, or take enemies out up close with stealth takedowns or a silenced pistol.

    The stealthy approach is what makes this game stand out among other shooters on the market. Even with a sniper rifle in your hands, a good vantage point, and loud noises to mask your shots, you still have to steady your breathing and take wind and gravity into account when firing, so you're never firing off shots like crazy. Pressing the E key makes your character hold his breath and steady his aim, which causes a little red diamond to show you where the bullet will fall. Using this feature, you can make extremely accurate shots even from the greatest of distances. Kills are extremely satisfying too, thanks to the game's slow-motion X-ray kill cams, which let you see your bullets burst through skulls, lungs and other organs in a shower of gore.

    The single-player presents you with wide-open levels to explore, complete with optional objectives and collectibles. How you tackle these levels is completely up to you, and thanks to the great level design, being spotted doesn't mean you always have to restart from an older save. It's entirely possible to become hidden again, and resume your silent kill spree. The game's levels also strike a smart balance between quiet, stealthy operations, and loud, bombastic scenes wherein waves of enemies rush in just begging to be popped off.

    The game's multiplayer mode incorporates all the elements of the single-player mode, and the leveling system works across both modes, so whether you're playing alone or online, you're constantly unlocking new weapons and equipment. There are also plenty of customization options for online games, so you can choose to make the sniping more or less realistic depending on your preference.

    The game includes standard game modes like Deathmatch, but the best modes are the ones that encourage long distance sniping. No Cross is easily the game's best mode, as there is a barrier in the center of the map, leaving players with no choice but to find a vantage point and snipe from across the level. The game's deliberate pace works well online, making for some really tense moments as you and a rival sniper try to line each other up in your sights. And although there is some occasional slowdown and lag, the multiplayer runs well most of the time.

    The story is hardly worth mentioning, as it's clearly just an excuse to get you into levels and killing people. The voice acting is decent, but the characters and the plot are both extremely barebones. Graphically, however, Sniper Elite III is beautiful. The African landscapes you'll find yourself battling in are all wonderfully realized, and they're helped by great lighting, detailed textures, and good character models. The sound design is wonderful as well, with great battlefield noises in the louder portions and subtle ambient sounds in the quieter parts. Guns are satisfying to fire, and the squishy sound of heads getting blasted is always a macabre delight.

    I can't recommend this game enough. It's got a few issues here and there, such as texture pop-in, slowdown, and its weak story, but the core gameplay should be insanely fun and satisfying to anyone who's a fan of stealth. Even at full price it's absolutely worth the money, which isn't something I often say about games these days.
    Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2014
    9
    This game is pretty awesome...people say the AI sucks or that it's glitchy...it's been out for 4 days for crying out loud..there will be patches...as far as the stupid AI, they aren't that stupid when you actually PLAY IT ON HARD. Of course they're stupid when you put it on easy...that's the point.

    Only thing that sucks is that the multiplayer crashes hard and often as of the first week.
  3. Jul 1, 2014
    9
    Wer den Vorgänger mochte wird mit dem 3. Hauptteil der Serie seine Freude haben.
    Die KI aka Deutschen sind zwar immer noch Strohdumm aber deutlich Authentischer als in V2.
    Optisch eine wirkliche Verbesserung zum Vorgänger auch die Atmosphäre der Landschaft wird gut eingefangen, und dabei hasse ich persönliche in der Wüste Region spielen. Die Story ist vorhanden und man kann ihr gut
    Wer den Vorgänger mochte wird mit dem 3. Hauptteil der Serie seine Freude haben.
    Die KI aka Deutschen sind zwar immer noch Strohdumm aber deutlich Authentischer als in V2.
    Optisch eine wirkliche Verbesserung zum Vorgänger auch die Atmosphäre der Landschaft wird gut eingefangen, und dabei hasse ich persönliche in der Wüste Region spielen.

    Die Story ist vorhanden und man kann ihr gut folgen auch wenn sie nicht sonderlich "Potig" aber von einem Sniper Spiel erwarte ich keine "Hitman: Absolution" Erzählung.

    Mein gesamt Einruck nach 20 Stunden ist "Sniper Elite V2 + Verbesserung"
    Wieso an allem etwas verändern wenn es doch schon ok war.
    Expand
  4. Jul 16, 2014
    10
    this is best game ever created...i want thic key because i love sniper elite,i complite sniper elite V2 and i have good thinks about sniper elitte and i want to complete this part
  5. Dec 11, 2014
    10
    When i first saw title i thought, "gad! another crapy shooter for kids." As i played it, I stood corrected and surprised.
    Play it on authentic that disables most of hud and no saving through whole mission, no regeneration, only bandages and meds. It gets real then, and u rly pay attention to what u do. And those xray kills are always a eye candy for me :)
    Easier difficulties are a joke
    When i first saw title i thought, "gad! another crapy shooter for kids." As i played it, I stood corrected and surprised.
    Play it on authentic that disables most of hud and no saving through whole mission, no regeneration, only bandages and meds. It gets real then, and u rly pay attention to what u do. And those xray kills are always a eye candy for me :)
    Easier difficulties are a joke for kids. Overexcesive hud, enemy tags and simplified balistics kills this game.
    Expand
  6. Jul 13, 2014
    10
    The game has everything we loved in Sniper Elite 2 and makes it even better. Amazing visuals, large open places. multiple ways to complete missions and enough settings to vary the difficulty to modify the game as much as you need. This is by far the best sniping game out!
  7. Aug 26, 2014
    9
    Sniper elite 3 is good improvement over its predecessor. Beautiful graphics and smooth running make this game an enjoyable experience. Environment, looks great, non linear missions, different levels. A lot of sniping if you want or you can be Sam Fisher ( but not that goo Sam Fisher ). Interestingly i did not use traps and improvisation as much as in its predecessor , somehow there was noSniper elite 3 is good improvement over its predecessor. Beautiful graphics and smooth running make this game an enjoyable experience. Environment, looks great, non linear missions, different levels. A lot of sniping if you want or you can be Sam Fisher ( but not that goo Sam Fisher ). Interestingly i did not use traps and improvisation as much as in its predecessor , somehow there was no need for it. My recommendation for this game definitely.
    8,5!
    Expand
  8. Jul 6, 2014
    9
    This game is just plain fun. I'm not big into the stealth shooter genre so maybe the ground it walks on has been tread before, but I've rarely felt as satisfied in gaming before as I do when I set up the perfect distraction to lure an enemy out and then pop them just as a plane flies overhead to mask the sound. It is also cool to play in 3D. The biggest negative for me is that the AIThis game is just plain fun. I'm not big into the stealth shooter genre so maybe the ground it walks on has been tread before, but I've rarely felt as satisfied in gaming before as I do when I set up the perfect distraction to lure an enemy out and then pop them just as a plane flies overhead to mask the sound. It is also cool to play in 3D. The biggest negative for me is that the AI forgets about you a lot sooner than you'd think they would when they just watched 3 friends get lobotomized, but when they ARE actively looking for you they do it pretty intelligently with flanking and everything. Overall if 'gory stealth shooter' sounds like a good time for you this is a great game for it. Expand
  9. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    this was a very good game good graphics and even little challenge i noticed my self playing on easiest diffcullty and i was still struggling one of the best games i have i only found 1 bug but no problem
  10. Feb 8, 2015
    9
    No se por qué le ponen tan mala nota. Se merece mas de lo que han puntuado por aquí ya que el juego es por lo menos divertido y no se hace pesado. Los Graficos no son nada del otro jueves pero cumple.
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Aug 27, 2014
    65
    Sniper Elite 3 is hardly worth it, but at least it’s nice to see that the series is changing its course.
  2. 60
    A solid action game, focused on stealth, larger maps and picking enemies from a distance. The game has its weak spots but in overall, plays refreshingly. [Issue#244]
  3. Aug 25, 2014
    65
    Once again Rebellion did not step outside the familiar, comfortable zone of games that are interesting but not outstanding. [08/2014, p.60]