Sniper Elite V2 PC

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 512 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 512

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 9, 2012
    7
    Almost every aspect of this game is very polished (graphics, sound, ballistics, level design, etc). You can be hiding behind a vehicle and hear the german guards complaining about not being able to phone their wife in the midst of the Berlin invasion... that is the level of realism you get. The downside is that it becomes repetitive, and frustrating at some points. You cannot change theAlmost every aspect of this game is very polished (graphics, sound, ballistics, level design, etc). You can be hiding behind a vehicle and hear the german guards complaining about not being able to phone their wife in the midst of the Berlin invasion... that is the level of realism you get. The downside is that it becomes repetitive, and frustrating at some points. You cannot change the difficulty without starting the whole game all over again... Do not take the "elite" word in the title lightly. All in all it is a good game if you find a good price for it. Expand
  2. May 6, 2012
    7
    I have a lot of mixed views on this game. I have fun about half the time and the other half consists of me getting pissed off. Let's start with the positive: The x-ray kill cam is pretty impressive as well as being controversial. I enjoy being able to go stealth around rather than go all brutal. Graphics are pretty but not up-to-par to 2012. Animations are really well done. The coding isI have a lot of mixed views on this game. I have fun about half the time and the other half consists of me getting pissed off. Let's start with the positive: The x-ray kill cam is pretty impressive as well as being controversial. I enjoy being able to go stealth around rather than go all brutal. Graphics are pretty but not up-to-par to 2012. Animations are really well done. The coding is this game was very well done but still needs some polish. Each gun also has its own distinctive "style" and weapons may fit only certain people. Weapon mechanics such as wind and how each bullet type has a different speed is great. Now the negative: The bullet drop is really ridiculousness because I shouldn't have to aim higher when a person is only 80 meters away. The level design is mixed; while the maps appear to look very good and have great atmosphere, the levels are very linear and may become boring because of how you don't get a lot of freedom to go where you want. The AI is very bad... how can a soldier find me so easily when i'm over 100-200 meters away? Why do they shoot with perfect accuracy with SMGs? Another problem is how dumbed down the SMGs are to the player. As I mentioned before the AI have an easy time aiming with them while when the player shoots the accuracy is terrible. The plot in this game does not exist at all and the history in this game is incredibly f***ed up. Why would the Russians shoot people on their own side? Overall the game is a 6.5 for me. You should only play this if you're very patient and enjoy sniping. Expand
  3. ave
    Sep 24, 2015
    7
    I've discovered the Sniper Elite serie via Nazi Zombie, that wasn't much fun. I gave a try to the first Sniper Elite and this second opus is much interesting.

    I've only played the game in Cadet mode because I wanted to go up to the end. I found the game somewhat in between Return to Castle Wolfenstein and Call of Duty, without the frantic pace. Actually, the balance between sniping
    I've discovered the Sniper Elite serie via Nazi Zombie, that wasn't much fun. I gave a try to the first Sniper Elite and this second opus is much interesting.

    I've only played the game in Cadet mode because I wanted to go up to the end. I found the game somewhat in between Return to Castle Wolfenstein and Call of Duty, without the frantic pace.

    Actually, the balance between sniping and stealth is pretty good in easy mode. But the medium range shooting is not that rewarding since it is much harder to aim. (For a game about elite riflemen, it's quite unexpected).

    I loved the recreation of the cities destroyed by the bombing, and especially the multiple paths to sneak around enemies. Otherwise, the levels are pretty linear, with long parts without enemies.

    The only element that eventually bored me was the camera and sometimes the aiming lag or follow through. I'm used to tight controls between the mouse and the aiming, and this was disturbing during all the game.

    Nevertheless, the developers did a good (not great) job recreating the unusual gameplay of the sniper, and that's the promise of game. So good work, Rebellion!
    Expand
  4. May 1, 2012
    6
    Lacks cinematics which would help many people get more into the theme of each mission, there not many ways to complete missions (very linear), ai reacts to shots then after a couple seconds as if nothing happens, soldiers can take up to 5 or 6 rifle rounds - most of all is the missing flavour of the era. The game just throws you in there any away you go shooting everything that moves, ifLacks cinematics which would help many people get more into the theme of each mission, there not many ways to complete missions (very linear), ai reacts to shots then after a couple seconds as if nothing happens, soldiers can take up to 5 or 6 rifle rounds - most of all is the missing flavour of the era. The game just throws you in there any away you go shooting everything that moves, if you don't kill everything it will most likely come back to bite you in the ass, so just kill everything. Stealth - unlikely. Multiplayer? Good for a couple rounds - but overall, needed more time and more ways to complete a mission. 6/10 The game is worth 1 run through - that's about it. Expand
  5. May 2, 2012
    7
    If you liked the last game chances are you'll like this one. It's more of the same but with more polished graphics and gameplay. Unfortunately the AI leaves much to be desired and after a half hour of playing the game they'll do little to surprise you. The Kill-Cams will never get old and you'll still feel a morbid sense of achievement when you shoot a counter-sniper through the scope noIf you liked the last game chances are you'll like this one. It's more of the same but with more polished graphics and gameplay. Unfortunately the AI leaves much to be desired and after a half hour of playing the game they'll do little to surprise you. The Kill-Cams will never get old and you'll still feel a morbid sense of achievement when you shoot a counter-sniper through the scope no matter how long you've played!

    A fun game for anyone who is a fan of stealth and patience for slow, calculated movements; for anyone else it is more likely to be a rental.
    Expand
  6. May 4, 2012
    6
    Positives: Sniping is fun, great ballistic physics on hard mode, The graphics are great, killcams are fun and never got old. Negatives: AI is horrendous even on Elite, several bugs, forgettable story, extremely linear leveldesign, very little freedom of choice. Stealth is no option due to Enemy AI. Overall an mediocre game but get's repetive very quickly and again the AI just ruined mostPositives: Sniping is fun, great ballistic physics on hard mode, The graphics are great, killcams are fun and never got old. Negatives: AI is horrendous even on Elite, several bugs, forgettable story, extremely linear leveldesign, very little freedom of choice. Stealth is no option due to Enemy AI. Overall an mediocre game but get's repetive very quickly and again the AI just ruined most fun for me. Expand
  7. Jun 29, 2012
    5
    The graphics are ok. The kill cam is indeed well done and fun to see, and the same goes for the sniper's aiming mechanic. Sadly, everything else fails miserably. Movement is very awkward, visually and technically. You can't jump: you can just "vault" (in a very linear way: some tall obstacles are climbable, while others, much lower, are not). Taking cover is a matter of luck. Sometimes anThe graphics are ok. The kill cam is indeed well done and fun to see, and the same goes for the sniper's aiming mechanic. Sadly, everything else fails miserably. Movement is very awkward, visually and technically. You can't jump: you can just "vault" (in a very linear way: some tall obstacles are climbable, while others, much lower, are not). Taking cover is a matter of luck. Sometimes an object will activate the "take cover" option, other times the same identical object - in a different place - will not. Which, as you can imagine, leads you wandering around the field to find the "correct" place to hide. Stealth is, simply put, horrible. As soon as you shoot, enemies are all over you, making this an "action sniper game" instead than a stealthy one. When you think you found the right tactic to kill your enemies silently, some event that renders your efforts useless is activated, since the game WANTS you to be seen, so that enemies can come running at you, and you have to snipe them before they arrive. Above all that, the areas are extremely linear. No smart places to hide and snipe. No alternative routes. Nothing. When I got Sniper V2 I already knew about the bad critiques, but I thought I might enjoy it anyway. I was SO wrong. Expand
  8. Jun 15, 2014
    6
    I was fan of the first Sniper Elite. I got past the crap controls and glitch AI and step snags to enjoy the game. With Sniper Elite v2: i have the exact same issues but grew less tolerant of them. I'm not sure why the developers didn't bother to fix these issues from the first but I got so annoyed so fast seeing that there were no improvements. Still, I did enjoy the game. It looked andI was fan of the first Sniper Elite. I got past the crap controls and glitch AI and step snags to enjoy the game. With Sniper Elite v2: i have the exact same issues but grew less tolerant of them. I'm not sure why the developers didn't bother to fix these issues from the first but I got so annoyed so fast seeing that there were no improvements. Still, I did enjoy the game. It looked and sounded great and the story was engaging. It's a shame they got lazy. This could've topped the first easily. Here's hoping v3 is better. Expand
  9. Oct 23, 2014
    7
    Got this free on Steam. You should have done so too. This isn't entirely realistic, but it's one of those games which strikes a balance between realism and fun. It's challenging too. The story, however, is not very engaging. You are an OSS agent in WWII trying to assassinate German scientists before the Russians can get them, so not only will you fight German soldiers, but also SovietGot this free on Steam. You should have done so too. This isn't entirely realistic, but it's one of those games which strikes a balance between realism and fun. It's challenging too. The story, however, is not very engaging. You are an OSS agent in WWII trying to assassinate German scientists before the Russians can get them, so not only will you fight German soldiers, but also Soviet soldiers. And there's was a lot of room to make a decent story; you are a secret agent carrying out missions that "never happened" after all. But anyway, on the the gameplay itself. As said already, it's great. Since you are a sniper, close combat is discouraged, and even though you have an SMG, it has limited ammo. For the best experience, I recommend you set the enemy skill to "Veteran", realism to "limited", and tactical assistance "off". Lower settings to me make the game too easy. That said, you have to praise Rebellion for making customizable difficulties. And the main feature of the game: the X-ray cam. It show just what a sniper bullet can do to your body. Can be quite satisfying, especially when fighting difficult enemies. This is cinematics done right. Fortunately, if you are squeamish, you can turn it off. Also, never underestimate a single foe: he can kill you easily. Speaking of the enemies, while they can pose a challenge, the AI could use some improving. This is evident when you see German and Soviet soldiers fighting each other; they will have no problem trying to kill you, but they seem to not cope well when fighting each other. The campaign has a decent length: 8-10 hours. And a second play-through is worth it. Multiplayer is quite fun too, you are all snipers. Element of surprise and awareness play an even bigger role here.

    So do I recommend this game? Yes. But you should have got it when it was free. Right now, it's $30, and I don't think that's a good price. If you didn't get a free copy, wait for a sale: this game is worth $20 to me.
    Expand
  10. Nov 15, 2013
    7
    When I first tried this game I gave up after only a few minutes because of the wonky keyboard configuration. I uninstalled it. Many moons later I saw that has partial controller support so I reinstalled this bad boy and went ahead sniping the heck out of Zeh Nazis and have had a blast...those bullet animations entering and destroying the bodies of nazis hasn't gotten old yet. This isWhen I first tried this game I gave up after only a few minutes because of the wonky keyboard configuration. I uninstalled it. Many moons later I saw that has partial controller support so I reinstalled this bad boy and went ahead sniping the heck out of Zeh Nazis and have had a blast...those bullet animations entering and destroying the bodies of nazis hasn't gotten old yet. This is a pretty straight forward game, if you enjoy pretending to kill nazis and blowing stuff up with style, you may like this. Expand
  11. Aug 21, 2012
    7
    I bought Sniper Elite V2 on Steam Sale as I wanted to play a recent WWII game and trailer looked interesting. The level of authenticity of the sniping in the game is just right for me but the enemy AI is just horrible. The enemy soldiers hang sometimes when they try to run and often take the same route just like their comrades took just a second before and got shot. Not very smart. TheI bought Sniper Elite V2 on Steam Sale as I wanted to play a recent WWII game and trailer looked interesting. The level of authenticity of the sniping in the game is just right for me but the enemy AI is just horrible. The enemy soldiers hang sometimes when they try to run and often take the same route just like their comrades took just a second before and got shot. Not very smart. The music int he game is also annoying. The same part repeats far too often. What I like about the game is the graphics with the excellent lightning effects. I play the game in stereoscopic 3D via native AMD HD3D support that adds even more atmosphere. Also the bullet cam is pretty cool especially in stereoscopic 3D. Expand
  12. Jun 11, 2014
    6
    A surprising solid third-person shooter. I was expecting nothing more than a wack-a-mole shooting gallery with clunky controls. However, Sniper Elite V2 is a no-nonsense sniping game which is fun to play and of decent quality. The bullet cam and sound are especially commendable. What's great is how you can adjust the difficulty; including the bullet physics. The game is intuitive,A surprising solid third-person shooter. I was expecting nothing more than a wack-a-mole shooting gallery with clunky controls. However, Sniper Elite V2 is a no-nonsense sniping game which is fun to play and of decent quality. The bullet cam and sound are especially commendable. What's great is how you can adjust the difficulty; including the bullet physics. The game is intuitive, fast-paced and has smooth controls. It works well with both a gamepad and mouse & keyboard. Mechanically, the game is robust and this becomes apparent in multiplayer. It's no Gears of War, and the cover system is a bit fiddly but other than that, one would be pushed to find more flaws in a sniping-focused shooter which delivers all the action without the camping and bird-watching. Sure, the campaign and levels aren't exactly epic and lack the excitement of sniper missions found in other shooters, but overall Sniper Elite V2 is worth playing if you're after a fun sniping experience. Expand
  13. Jan 4, 2013
    7
    I have always been a fan of games based in WWII. There is something about that time period that really draws me in. Even when the entire industry was moaning about "another WWII game" I was consuming with glee. So when this game came out I was going to buy it right away but hesitated because of the mediocre reviews. Well I can't say I regret waiting because I got a great deal throughI have always been a fan of games based in WWII. There is something about that time period that really draws me in. Even when the entire industry was moaning about "another WWII game" I was consuming with glee. So when this game came out I was going to buy it right away but hesitated because of the mediocre reviews. Well I can't say I regret waiting because I got a great deal through steam, I also feel paying full price for this game wouldn't have hurt. GAME: The gameplay is linear. So if that is one of those pet peeves of yours just don't get it. But if you are open minded and understand that linear games belong on the market as much as side scrollers then keep reading. The kill cam effect is awesome, the first 30 odd times you see it. After that it becomes a hindrance and slows the gameplay down. The sniping feels really visceral and when you make that great shot you get that gruelling ...mmmm yeah feeling. In the end if you like sniping and don't mind linear gameplay then buy this game. And if it is on sale on steam just buy it anyway it's definitely worth a try. Expand
  14. May 23, 2012
    6
    Enjoying FPS games as much as I do, I felt compelled enough to put together a fair, to the point review for this title. I like the graphics, displayed at 1920 X 1080. The sound is great, and the storyline is pretty good also. Now the obvious downside to this title that makes it, oh so not worth the expensive horse leg roll of cash many companies are now asking to help retire themselvesEnjoying FPS games as much as I do, I felt compelled enough to put together a fair, to the point review for this title. I like the graphics, displayed at 1920 X 1080. The sound is great, and the storyline is pretty good also. Now the obvious downside to this title that makes it, oh so not worth the expensive horse leg roll of cash many companies are now asking to help retire themselves early. The controls are friggin' "atrocious". Now come on guy's! You as developers know when you push a keyboard button to snap off an opponents "head", and virtually nothing happens? WTF? Of all titles to NOT have complete, precise, control of an extraordinary toggle such as a "trigger" on your "sniper rifle"? This becomes a major FAIL ! Ouch....It's like pissing in a fan, it's just that frustrating. As you're getting your butt shot off in the interim. So, if you're smart? Like I'm SO very sure many of you ARE, because you're reading reviews before you shell out hard earned money to these companies for entertainment. WAIT until this goes on sale for about $9.99 from steam or other distributors. And for All of our sake, DO NOT spend more than that! You will be so very much happier if you heed my, and other honest reviewers warnings. Until then, look for other titles that won't anger you in the process! I pray I've saved other people some money in the process. Expand
  15. May 6, 2012
    7
    I enjoyed playing this game. I'll likely play through it again. However while the game does use Direct x 11 you can not fine tune the graphics very much. I found aliasing to be a problem even with the anti aliasing setting set to high.
  16. Feb 15, 2013
    5
    For a game called Sniper Elite, you spend a lot of time not sniping! It's a shame too because Sniping is a lot of fun in this game. Seeing the gruesome kills never gets old. The Pistol and Submachine Guns have terrible accuracy and don't do enough damage to enemies. I've shot enemies point blank with both weapons only to see them stumble and shoot at me like they're at full health.For a game called Sniper Elite, you spend a lot of time not sniping! It's a shame too because Sniping is a lot of fun in this game. Seeing the gruesome kills never gets old. The Pistol and Submachine Guns have terrible accuracy and don't do enough damage to enemies. I've shot enemies point blank with both weapons only to see them stumble and shoot at me like they're at full health. The game is fun when you're sniping but outside of it, it's very generic and not very fun. Expand
  17. Jun 3, 2012
    5
    There is no, sniper games in recent years is really low, so Sniper Elite V2 has a chance to succeed. An interesting idea for a sniper rifle in World War 2, nicely done "kill shots" coop. It is clear however that the game is not ideal, you can see blurry textures, graphics problems, bugs, and generally FOR IN boring and ideas, it turns out that everybody else is a classic game. But ifThere is no, sniper games in recent years is really low, so Sniper Elite V2 has a chance to succeed. An interesting idea for a sniper rifle in World War 2, nicely done "kill shots" coop. It is clear however that the game is not ideal, you can see blurry textures, graphics problems, bugs, and generally FOR IN boring and ideas, it turns out that everybody else is a classic game. But if someone really loves the game sniper ... maybe a little bit like him. My rating -5/10 Expand
  18. Jul 24, 2013
    5
    You can tell that there was some solid effort put into Sniper Elite V2, but it ends up being just another average game. The high points of V2 are it's great graphics, excellent effects, and good representation of 1945's Berlin. The highpoint of the game is back: Bullet-cam. Unfortunately when you hear about Sniper Elite, this is usually all you hear about since it's really the only thingYou can tell that there was some solid effort put into Sniper Elite V2, but it ends up being just another average game. The high points of V2 are it's great graphics, excellent effects, and good representation of 1945's Berlin. The highpoint of the game is back: Bullet-cam. Unfortunately when you hear about Sniper Elite, this is usually all you hear about since it's really the only thing good enough to tell others about. V2 falls flat on it's face in just about every remaining aspect of the game. The sounds are rarely synced and you can hear the sound of a bolt action rifle after every shot you take even when you aren't using a bolt action rifle.The mission variety isn't the best in the world and the campaign is rather short (4-5 hours on normal difficulty). It seems they have totally gutted the singleplayer experience so they could add Co-OP and multiplayer. Both of these modes are utter garbage so we end up with a game that fails in all aspects, rather than one that is good in at least one. Thanks, multiplayer fanboys, for ruining yet another singleplayer game. You are given tons of traps and other special weapons to use, unfortunately they really aren't necessary at all. There is also a severe lack of weapon variety unless you purchase all the DLCs. You get rifle "upgrades" but these upgrades do little more than add an extra zoom level or add extra rounds to your clip/magazine. The enemy AI and pathfinding is horrid. You will often see the AI moving in erratic fashion: Facing one way, jerking around up and down, looking left right, then immediately zooming in on your and killing you in two shots. It ends up making sniping a complete chore since you can't predict your enemies movement (which is incredibly important in real-life sniping). Speaking of sniping, the bullet ballistics are still just as terrible as they were in the first game. Bullets drop off drastically at 50 meters, there is a huge delay between firing and the bullet leaving the rifle, this forces you to aim considerably far in front of moving targets to hit them even at small distances.My biggest gripe with the game is it's complete lack of historical accuracy in many aspects of the game. Half of the Russian you face have PPSH's with 71 round drum magazines. Not only was the PPSH very rare to begin with, but the 71 round magazine was ever more rare. The same for the Germans; Three out of four german enemies have an MP40. This is not historically accurate at all. One of hte more annoying parts was how you got a Geweher 43 rifle, but it's magazine only holds 7 rounds. There was never a 7 round magazine made for this rifle in the history of the world. There was only ever a 10 round magazine. Why would you change this? For balance? Then give the player a M1 Garand which has a 8 round clip. Another point which many people have complained about is that just like in the first game, you go around as an American, killing Russians in Berlin. Thankfully you fight Germans far more often than you did in the first game, but it's still a bit ridiculous how half the game has you shooting Russians. It's pretty strange considering this game is made by a British developer. Anyway, in conclusion, Sniper Elite V2 was promising, but ultimately fell short of many fronts making it no more than an average game. Only consider purchasing this if you want an arcade sniping game that won't give you much choice on how to play the game (stealth vs run and gun). Expand
  19. May 10, 2012
    6
    These are the four reasons why the game loses four points: 1) The music is just completely rubbish (sorry composer) - I even turned it completely off. 2) The AI seems like it belongs to a game made 10 years ago - these moronic nazi and soviet soldiers, just haven't got a clue. Killing them is no challenge at all, and ultimately not a lot of fun. Even when you have to escape from a bunch ofThese are the four reasons why the game loses four points: 1) The music is just completely rubbish (sorry composer) - I even turned it completely off. 2) The AI seems like it belongs to a game made 10 years ago - these moronic nazi and soviet soldiers, just haven't got a clue. Killing them is no challenge at all, and ultimately not a lot of fun. Even when you have to escape from a bunch of snipers, they are pretty lame-ass. Why do they all have to just sit there and get shot? Can't they move around a bit and take up new positions when they are getting shot at? And, why is each cannon-fodder Nazi so poorly trained that they just constantly run into the line of fire, and show no signs of working together to take out a threat at all? 3) The missions themselves are really linear, and don't offer much in the way of variety or open-ness - like shooting ducks in a barrel. 4) Graphically things are ok, but still doesn't feel like you're playing a current shooter than costs £25.

    However, despite my gripes I did find myself playing away til the end (took about 6-7 hours on Medium difficulty). The kill-cam is brilliant fun, and sniping really is the name of the game as you do not last long, trying to take the baddies out with a pistol or machine-gun. One thing I will say though is if you pre-ordered, then the Assassinate the Fuhrer mission is a bit of a let down. If the game had cost less then I would actually recommend that 3PS shooter or sniper fans check it out.
    Expand
  20. May 19, 2012
    5
    I tried to like it because i'm a huge fan of WW2 games but it gets boring very fast! The Kill cam is cool but the rest is just bold with clunky controls and bad AI! If you want a good WW2 game then play Red Orchestra 2!
  21. May 4, 2012
    6
    This game was alright. The single player is short, no more than about a 4-5 hour play through depending on how many times you die and have to restart, and It isn't all that fun. Not to mention the kill cams get a little old after a while. You start out cringing and quietly saying "OOOOH SHEEEET" to yourself after every gruesome shot to a kidney, and end up an hour later finding that is'tThis game was alright. The single player is short, no more than about a 4-5 hour play through depending on how many times you die and have to restart, and It isn't all that fun. Not to mention the kill cams get a little old after a while. You start out cringing and quietly saying "OOOOH SHEEEET" to yourself after every gruesome shot to a kidney, and end up an hour later finding that is't the same thing over and over. Thankfully you can turn down the frequency of these kill cams in your options, i suggest doing this as soon as you start the game so that it doesn't get old. Although it does have it's upsides. Thank fully a lot of other people were fooled by it's attractive veneer and pre purchased it (like me), so there are always available mutliplayer servers. I was surprised how much fun I had with the multiplayer, besides the spawn being FUBAR you can really get into it. I found the same with the coop. The coop provides some very fun and interesting game play. There's a survival mode with endless waves on enemies, a game mode in which you run a round an open area to collect tank parts to GTFO of there, one where one man has a sniper rifle and protects the other on the ground while he shoots and spots people for the sniper to take out, and the single player is a thousand times more fun when there's someone there laughing at the bugged AI and face palm worthy story with you (Like making fun of the fat kid in high school). Expand
  22. May 26, 2012
    7
    i am seriously amazed by the immaturity of the professional reviews.i mean sure this is not a masterpiece but you give game like cod a perfect 9 or even 10 why?i wouldnt have picked this title after seeing bad reviews about this game but one of my friends bought it and i played this game over his home.believe me this game is very good and you will love it if you like sniping.
  23. Jun 22, 2012
    7
    Where to start, the game is rather fun but it only has replay value with its co-op campaign. I would suggest avoiding the multiplayer as, being all snipers, it ends up being a camping match with a few skillful snipers that dominate the rest. The singleplayer is very linear, even when given some room to maneveur, if you want to stay hidden and not raise an alarm you have a very strict pathWhere to start, the game is rather fun but it only has replay value with its co-op campaign. I would suggest avoiding the multiplayer as, being all snipers, it ends up being a camping match with a few skillful snipers that dominate the rest. The singleplayer is very linear, even when given some room to maneveur, if you want to stay hidden and not raise an alarm you have a very strict path to follow. The sniping is very satisfying, watching a well placed first shot slowly puncture and enemies head with bones breaking and blood showering is very satisfying to behold, yet the novelty wears thin especially on the second to last mission, without spoilers, the enemy knows where you are no matter what you do, and they swarm you, good luck on Sniper Elite difficulty. I am giving it a 7 because it is a good game to me, but it does have lots of faults, I certainly won't blame anyone that hates it. Expand
  24. May 4, 2012
    7
    This is a very fun game and can cater to quiet a wide variety of gamers; those who like realism, you can turn the bullet cam of almost completely (only not for for special characters and tanks) If you love gratuitous violence then the bullet cam is something that never gets old. Stealth mechanics are not perfect but they are still pretty fun. Smgs are the worst thing ever clearly just putThis is a very fun game and can cater to quiet a wide variety of gamers; those who like realism, you can turn the bullet cam of almost completely (only not for for special characters and tanks) If you love gratuitous violence then the bullet cam is something that never gets old. Stealth mechanics are not perfect but they are still pretty fun. Smgs are the worst thing ever clearly just put in so your enemies have a reason to run at you. my advice is to only use pistols and rifles (with rifles if you press cntrl you only zoom in a but making it perfect for picking of those annoying Russians) Graphics look pretty damn good maxed out and wont stress your system too much. On pc there is co-op (level based and wave style and a few other game types) as well as vs (which supervised me in how well it works) one criticism of this is on hardcore 1 team can dominate the other far to easily. Overall very enjoyable with some challenging achievements, hope there will be some expansions packs (im think enemy at the gates style) Expand
  25. May 8, 2012
    7
    Honestly I don't understand what others are moaning about. Historically inacurate? Linear level design? Poor graphics? What are you guys? **** Firstly how many historically accuracy games DO NOT EXIST. Look at call of duty, commandos, brothers in arms. Do they have a "to the letter" acurate storyline at all? Nope. Its fiction dear people. For the level design the game needed to beHonestly I don't understand what others are moaning about. Historically inacurate? Linear level design? Poor graphics? What are you guys? **** Firstly how many historically accuracy games DO NOT EXIST. Look at call of duty, commandos, brothers in arms. Do they have a "to the letter" acurate storyline at all? Nope. Its fiction dear people. For the level design the game needed to be challenging funneling players into tight spots where the snipers are one side and the opposition on the other side with lead rain being exchanged between them. The whole design is like that to intensify the combat and help people to think quick on their feet with what they have surrounding them. If it was sandbox any retard can camp on a spot and skull all the enemies from one spot, where is the fun in that...ahhhh and the graphics.for the truly **** **** **** mainstream noobs out there, we have almost reached the roof of our current gen graphics, what where you guys expecting? Hologram graphics combined with live video feed taken from a quarter million camera? Come on people think like realists. Now that the bad stuff is away from all the bat**** crazy people on with the review. Sniper elite V2 is like a merging of splinter cell conviction, call of duty world at war(vendetta mission) and a touch of serious sam. Reason for those 3 is simple, splinter cell for the caracter interactions, duck and cover system and the whole interface is also similar. The whole game is like the COD mission, vendetta, except way better. And the reason why I chose serious sam as the 3rd comparative game is for the lack of story covered by brutality and mindless killing. It's highly amusing to just run around with a rifle, focusing and letting a led asprin rip through the enemies. Every kill feels different, and some of them makes me feel a bit queasy, like when hitting both testicles of a gestapo with one bullet (I feel your pain buddy). Long story made short, an excellent game. Only reason for me giving it a seven is because it kind of falls within mainstream gaming and isn't exactly something new that springs up in your face causing your world to stand still with amusement. But overall it is very entertaining and truly worth a shot, pun intended for the idiots that do not understand the concept of a pun. Expand
  26. May 14, 2012
    6
    Visually a great game, but besides the initial fun of setting up the shot and seeing the bullet cam the fun kind of drops off. It gets repetitive and in some cases makes the game hard to play as a sniper. You get in to close quarter fights that you can only really survive by pulling out the pistol or machine gun to complete. And it amazes me that every single enemy in the area instantlyVisually a great game, but besides the initial fun of setting up the shot and seeing the bullet cam the fun kind of drops off. It gets repetitive and in some cases makes the game hard to play as a sniper. You get in to close quarter fights that you can only really survive by pulling out the pistol or machine gun to complete. And it amazes me that every single enemy in the area instantly knows exactly where you are once you fire a shot. In an urban setting with buildings, streets and walls, the sounds of gunfire would echo and be pretty difficult to pinpoint. A good distraction for a few hours maybe, but I'm not planning on finishing it. Buy it when it's discounted. Expand
  27. May 8, 2012
    5
    This game is an action shooter set at the end of the 2nd world war. Although sniping is implied in the titel, its just a minor aspect of the game. Expect to mow down endless waves of enemies over and over and over again in a rather badly scripted an railroaded world.

    If you like games like hard reset, doom and quake set in a 2nd world war setting with a short story. This game is for you!
    This game is an action shooter set at the end of the 2nd world war. Although sniping is implied in the titel, its just a minor aspect of the game. Expect to mow down endless waves of enemies over and over and over again in a rather badly scripted an railroaded world.

    If you like games like hard reset, doom and quake set in a 2nd world war setting with a short story. This game is for you!
    If you like realism, then stay away.
    Expand
  28. May 13, 2012
    7
    X-ray kill cam is truly impressive, other than that everything is average and not worth remembering. I had 14 hours of gameplay on the "Sniper Elite" difficulty and I was glad that the game ended when it did, though I won't say that I regret paying for the game.
  29. May 13, 2012
    6
    Has its fun moments, but there are flaws too, for example i had a broken checkpoint near the end level which spawned me with a bunch a of nazi soldiers a yard away, as soon as i moved i was dead, so the mission had to be restarted! That said there is a lot of fun to be had when you snipe the enemy and follow the bullet demolish their organs in xray mode! All in all a 6.
  30. May 14, 2012
    5
    the campaign is fun quite short on normal diff but on sniper elite it adds a few hours . graphics are ok not anything great. the x-ray killcam and bullet ballistics mechanics are a nice gimmick not anything special. AI is horrendous.the story is bad you dont really get into it. the multiplayer and co op are terrible. no one plays the co op you need a friend to play with. and when you dothe campaign is fun quite short on normal diff but on sniper elite it adds a few hours . graphics are ok not anything great. the x-ray killcam and bullet ballistics mechanics are a nice gimmick not anything special. AI is horrendous.the story is bad you dont really get into it. the multiplayer and co op are terrible. no one plays the co op you need a friend to play with. and when you do by some miracle get a random to play with , the game is very laggy and choppy. same for the multiplayer very laggy and choppy. the controls are kind of not reliable ,and the cover system also not too reliable. it's a pity that the online is so bad , it really could be a lot better. TOO BAD YOU CANT RENT IT ON PC Overall a mediocre game Expand
  31. May 22, 2012
    7
    This is an arcade kind of a sniper. Its not like the sniper missions in Modern warfare where you use half an hour to sneak around and stealth kill. This game is kind of a wave of enemies comming at your position and you have to take em out before they get to you:P Even though its not all that cloak and dagger i would like it to be its a fairly decent game. Gotta love the cutscenes when youThis is an arcade kind of a sniper. Its not like the sniper missions in Modern warfare where you use half an hour to sneak around and stealth kill. This game is kind of a wave of enemies comming at your position and you have to take em out before they get to you:P Even though its not all that cloak and dagger i would like it to be its a fairly decent game. Gotta love the cutscenes when you get a nice headshot! Expand
  32. Jun 22, 2012
    5
    Fun, albeit generic, shooter thats as historically accurate as your gonna get in a game.
    thats where the good stuff ends though
    repetitive, slow and at times extremely dull, overpriced and worst of all forgettable
    definately a buy if on sale, but otherwise stay clear
  33. Jul 4, 2012
    5
    Ok... so this is NOT NOT NOT worth the $50 paid - at least to me. I did have some fun playing in coop mode with a friend... then we were both like... that's it? This is the end of the game? I think we completed the whole game on a Sunday afternoon. I like the idea of sniping, but when you shoot one guy, and all his friends know exactly where you are from 250 meters/yards away, thatOk... so this is NOT NOT NOT worth the $50 paid - at least to me. I did have some fun playing in coop mode with a friend... then we were both like... that's it? This is the end of the game? I think we completed the whole game on a Sunday afternoon. I like the idea of sniping, but when you shoot one guy, and all his friends know exactly where you are from 250 meters/yards away, that sux. I like taking my time and sniping, I don't like waves of foes that know exactly where you are. Expand
  34. Jul 17, 2014
    6
    $30 for this game is ridiculous. By now it is at most worth $10. It took me about 15 hours to beat the single player campaign, which is definitely fun. The missions are exciting and the story is decent, but once I beat the main story I felt literally zero desire to go back through the missions and replay them for fun or to collect gold bars/bottles.

    The challenges are fun to
    $30 for this game is ridiculous. By now it is at most worth $10. It took me about 15 hours to beat the single player campaign, which is definitely fun. The missions are exciting and the story is decent, but once I beat the main story I felt literally zero desire to go back through the missions and replay them for fun or to collect gold bars/bottles.

    The challenges are fun to experiment with, but I only played about 2 because more than that just seemed repetitive.

    Great graphics. Play on cadet mode because the other 2 difficulties completely flaw your bullet trajectories. I felt as though I could play on the harder difficulty, but it would just take more time, so what's the point? (it wasn't fun to "challenge" myself)

    I recommend if it's on sale for $10 or less but there are wiser things to spend $30 on.
    Expand
  35. Jun 5, 2014
    6
    Good game as long as you are sniping. It's what the game does great. Other than that, any stealth or encounter is frustrating, simply because the controls are clunky. It's a third person shooter, but you have so limited ways of checking your surroundings, you can't even peek from around the corners. I mean, it lacks the control design that you would expect from a stealth game. Speaking ofGood game as long as you are sniping. It's what the game does great. Other than that, any stealth or encounter is frustrating, simply because the controls are clunky. It's a third person shooter, but you have so limited ways of checking your surroundings, you can't even peek from around the corners. I mean, it lacks the control design that you would expect from a stealth game. Speaking of stealth; a loud, long-distance sniper rifle gives you much more points than you get from a silent, close-encounter kill. Therefore, you have no motivation for the stealth at all.

    Get the game if you think the fun of using sniper rifles is enough reason to buy it, otherwise look elsewhere.
    Expand
  36. Feb 3, 2013
    5
    I didn't mind the first and this is not a bad game as such, but once again it finds it self in the middle of what it wants to be. The sniper game mechanics are quite good however the way maps and missions are designed make it very hard to play it without using other guns as you tend to be swarmed with enemies.

    Once again a lot of potential mostly not fulfilled.
  37. Apr 6, 2013
    6
    An otherwise bland sniper game made somewhat memorable by its innovative features. V2 is great testicle-shooting fun for about 3 hours, but then it quickly gets overwhelming. Bullet ballistics were advanced and the simulation seemed quite a bit more accurate than other shooters. Getting long-distance kills was very satisfying, mainly because of the gory bullet-cam that displays yourAn otherwise bland sniper game made somewhat memorable by its innovative features. V2 is great testicle-shooting fun for about 3 hours, but then it quickly gets overwhelming. Bullet ballistics were advanced and the simulation seemed quite a bit more accurate than other shooters. Getting long-distance kills was very satisfying, mainly because of the gory bullet-cam that displays your bullets entering your opponent's body and wreaking havoc on his organs.

    I would have loved for the sniping fun to continue, but all the sudden the game overwhelms you with massive numbers of... tanks. Yes, I said tanks. Literally, you're on the ground with no cover, trying to shoot a tiny fuel cap that will blow the thing up. All while it's pumping you with bullets. This is basically the rest of the game-- it's very repetitive.

    The game also incorporates a story, but it's bland and forgettable. Graphics are on-par with a decent game released in 2009, minus the bullet-cam (best bullet-cam ever).

    Multiplayer sucks. You all know how much it hurts to get sniped from across the map within a few seconds of spawning. Imagine this, but in a game with poor level design... where the only class is sniper. That, and there's almost never anyone playing.

    The price is horrific. Honestly, don't even think about spending $50 on this. If it goes on sale for under $15, you might want to consider it-- but don't expect too much.
    Expand
  38. Jan 3, 2013
    7
    I really have to agree with most of these. It is not so much a sniper game as a shooting gallery action game.

    It IS fun for a bit. My issues are not with the sniping. that is a blast. I find the up close mechanics atrocious. I've played with the mouse settings about ten different ways, but there is just no fluidity to using a pistol of sub machine gun. It would be FAR better as a
    I really have to agree with most of these. It is not so much a sniper game as a shooting gallery action game.

    It IS fun for a bit. My issues are not with the sniping. that is a blast. I find the up close mechanics atrocious. I've played with the mouse settings about ten different ways, but there is just no fluidity to using a pistol of sub machine gun.

    It would be FAR better as a first person game. AI is better than some and there are some cool tricks, like waiting for loud noises to fire shots. I just wish that when I screw up and the enemy finds me, I can pull out a pistol and or sub and have a running fight.

    Kill cam is cool. But I can see it getting old. With all the cool traps/explosives that you get it would be better to be able to scout out an area, then plan your attack, but that would be in a sniper game, and this is not. It is still fun, but I think it'd be better with better mechanics. Doesn't have the replayibility of COD World at War, but still good.
    Expand
  39. Jan 20, 2013
    5
    Unarguably, the game's biggest flaw is the indescribably bad cover system that will make you want to rip your hair off. I am not exaggerating when I say how gutwrenchingly frustrating and abysmal it is. The character will enter cover on the opposite corner of where you're standing, he will randomly leave it while you move in cover, he will randomly start receiving full damage as if heUnarguably, the game's biggest flaw is the indescribably bad cover system that will make you want to rip your hair off. I am not exaggerating when I say how gutwrenchingly frustrating and abysmal it is. The character will enter cover on the opposite corner of where you're standing, he will randomly leave it while you move in cover, he will randomly start receiving full damage as if he weren't even in cover, he won't be able to step out of cover to shoot, some obvious cover isn't usable and so on. There is the AI which will yell "Sniper!" or "Grenade!" and then proceed to stand where it is and stare into the ground. There are also some minor but annoying and ridiculously unrealistic things, like taking a 5-bullet sniper magazine from the table and getting 30 bullets from it, taking 2 grenades and getting only 1, finding sniper ammunition on a foot soldier who uses a submachinegun etc. The developers want to force you to play the game as a stealth operative and a sniper so much, they also unrealistically limit ammunition. You are able to carry up to 100 bullets for your 5-bullet magazine sniper, while only being able to carry 60 for your 30-bullet magazine submachine gun. The stealth element is not very entertaining, while the sniping is a lot of fun, especially on higher levels of difficulty with advanced ballistics. Bullet-cam and x-rays remain very entertaining for the duration of the game, while shooting with other weapons besides the sniper can get boring and annoying very quickly. Levels are linear at first, but start getting more complex with different approaches later on. The graphics are a bit on the downside, but they give a good WWII feeling, and believable enemy faces, you will feel numerous times like you're killing actual people(bullet-cam adds to it), instead of generic soldiers whose only purpose is to stand in your way. It has decent voice-overs with some familiar voices and a story that didn't keep me particularly interested, but that is a matter of taste. Sadly, the flaws listed above make the game stick at 5, even though it could have been much better, taking into account the great sniper action. Expand
  40. Jul 6, 2014
    6
    Story:
    The main character is Lieutenant Karl Fairburne, a German American OSS officer and skilled sniper who is inserted into Berlin in 1945, during the final days of WW2. Fairburne comes up against both Nazi and Soviet opponents as he tracks key individuals involved with the development of the V-2 ballistic missile. To be honest, the story here is BORING in the way it's told. The plot is
    Story:
    The main character is Lieutenant Karl Fairburne, a German American OSS officer and skilled sniper who is inserted into Berlin in 1945, during the final days of WW2. Fairburne comes up against both Nazi and Soviet opponents as he tracks key individuals involved with the development of the V-2 ballistic missile. To be honest, the story here is BORING in the way it's told. The plot is told through some brief dialogue from our main sniper at the start of each mission as he summarizes his plan for the following mission he partakes on. That plus an occasional cutscene that plays during your missions, and that's how the story is told. The story here has no interesting climax, it drags on after the 7th mission, the voice acting here is mediocre (even from the nazis and soviets), and our sniper lead has to be one of the most boring protagonist I've ever scene in a video game. To sum it up, the story here is BORING. 2/10

    Gameplay:
    The game does a better job at gameplay than on story with some excellent sniping, but with some bad shooting. First off, the sniping here is fantastic as the game does a great job at making the sniping here realistic with realistic ballistics, adjusting your shots for wind speed, strength, or bullet drop, changing your position to steady the shot, using other environmental sounds to mask your shot and prevent it from being heard, and even holding your breath to steady your shot even more while also allowing a red diamond to appear off-center to show you where your shot will land. All of this of course, can be turned off or minimal-ized. The game's biggest and most badass feature is the X-Ray Kill Cam which shows your sniper shot as it penetrates your enemy's body, and you get to see all of the impact that bullet causes. You could see a variety of organs being destroyed by your shot. Examples include: brain, esophagus, stomach, lungs, both intestines, liver, heart, certain muscles, and TESTICLES! Ouch! Another thing I must praise is how smart the A.I. is. The A.I. here act very smart and realistic-ly, and unlike in Wolfenstein: The New Order, the game doesn't rely on heavy enemy variety to be challenging. These enemies you fight will try to flank you, take cover, throw grenades at you, shoot at the last position they saw you at, some will try to snipe you, and these guys can take a few hits before going down. Before each of the 10 missions begins, you can customize your loadout which includes your sniper rifle, SMG, pistol, and can select a certain amount of equipment like grenades, trip mines, and land mines. The customization unfortunately, is lacking. Outside of the campaign, you can do challenges (survival mode) to extend your play time. Whereas the sniping here is amazing and challenging, the shooting is tedious and frustrating. Like in Thief (2014), the game makes the loud option more tedious and frustrating just so the game can force you to play it the way it's meant to be played, and taking away player freedom and creativity. At the start of each mission, your SMG will have 1 full clip of ammo, but NO spare reserve available, forcing you to resupply from enemies and ultimately, makes the Thompson SMG (the most powerful option) worthless because ammo is scarce. The crosshair is also a problem as it doesn't tighten up as much when you ADS, making pulling off those headshots with your silenced pistol a challenge in it of itself. There's also a good cover system here, and the level design is solid, and allows for more pathways to the objective to be made. I completed the game around 5 hours, so the single player isn't long, but I find that to be a good thing because even though the game is short, the story was what made the game feel dragged on, and I wished the game had ended sooner. Overall, where the story was BORING, the gameplay is great. 6/10

    Graphics:
    On max settings, the game looks ok, but for a 2012 game, it looks outdated. The textures look ok, the lighting is fine, and the character models are good. But the biggest problem here is the world design. Part of the reason why I became bored during my playthrough was because nearly every environment looked the same. A torn down Berlin isn't a very interesting place to explore in a game. I think there's another reason why we don't see that much WW2 games being made (outside of oversaturation), the environments are BORING. 6/10

    Sound:
    The sniper shots sound intense, the gunshots and other sound effects are ok, the X-ray gore sounds are satisfying to hear, and the score does a great job at building tension when you get spotted. Great sound design here. 8/10

    Multiplayer:
    Not many people play the multiplayer anymore, but it's still ok to play when you're in a server. Good balancing and maps, but there's no progressional system. Because of that, you'll most likely get bored of it sooner or later. 6/10

    Verdict:
    Sniper Elite V2 is a fun sniping game with a boring story, but ok one time gameplay. I'd say rent it.

    Rating: 6/10
    Expand
  41. Feb 16, 2013
    7
    This second version is not as addictive as the first one, but I did not regret any of the hours spent on it and finished it already 2 times in different modes (I like specially the gold and bottles seeking nobody understands why the bottles are there where they are but at the end who cares). The graphics are good, the game play is good and quite easy. It is not a pure stealth and notThis second version is not as addictive as the first one, but I did not regret any of the hours spent on it and finished it already 2 times in different modes (I like specially the gold and bottles seeking nobody understands why the bottles are there where they are but at the end who cares). The graphics are good, the game play is good and quite easy. It is not a pure stealth and not tactical at all, but it remains a good stealth-action game to free up your mind. Expand
  42. Jun 23, 2013
    5
    while the sniping and killcams are great, almost everything else is bad. the level design isnt consistent, somtimes its good and sometimes its bad. the enviroments are repetetive and boring, and the graphics arent anything to marvel at. the music gets anoing at some point. there are also spawning enemies, WHICH IS REALLY IRRITATING. the AI IS EXTREMELY DUMB. the save system also doesntwhile the sniping and killcams are great, almost everything else is bad. the level design isnt consistent, somtimes its good and sometimes its bad. the enviroments are repetetive and boring, and the graphics arent anything to marvel at. the music gets anoing at some point. there are also spawning enemies, WHICH IS REALLY IRRITATING. the AI IS EXTREMELY DUMB. the save system also doesnt save frequently enough. the game is also pretty repetetive. the stealth is absolute crap, and theres lot of it. the guns are boring, and dont pack a punch. the story is ok, but not more than that.
    overall bad game. while the core of the game sniping) is great, all the things that sorround it are crap!
    Expand
  43. Jul 17, 2016
    7
    To be honest, Sniper Elite V2 isn't bad as stated by the reviews. Sure the game can be arcadey at times, but it's still enjoyable to play.

    If you play the campaign on normal, it can maybe be finished in 5.8 hours depending if you are good at the game or rush through the missions (it has 11 missions). The arcade feel would be best described in which the whole game is all crouch based
    To be honest, Sniper Elite V2 isn't bad as stated by the reviews. Sure the game can be arcadey at times, but it's still enjoyable to play.

    If you play the campaign on normal, it can maybe be finished in 5.8 hours depending if you are good at the game or rush through the missions (it has 11 missions).

    The arcade feel would be best described in which the whole game is all crouch based movement. If you try to run, the enemy can hear you miles away. You have you stay crouched or else you will be heard (this is kinda stupid in my opinion). If Snipers are looking the other way, they immediately look towards you and shoot you. If there is a tank, they whip their barrel around in 1 millisecond starring right at you (which is not normal for real tanks) and they will mostly shoot at you in at first glance. But once you get a 2 kill one shot (collateral kill) bullet cam, get a grenade bullet cam (where you shoot a grenade on the guy's body and the guy explodes), or even timing your sniper shot to a background explosion to kill a enemy in silence is really satisfying. A small annoyance with the game is the looting. Sometimes your character will loot a weapon which you don't want him to pick up, you only just want the ammo.

    Other than that, the game is fine to play, the game runs great, the graphics are decent and I guess anyone who likes this type of stealth style game will like it.
    Expand
  44. May 1, 2013
    6
    Overall a pretty decent game- my biggest complaints were graphics being a little lackluster and the way enemies were spawned. As a sniper it is incredibly important to be able to see all enemies in the map to plot your best strategy. There were a few times where I would have played the level incredibly differently if I had been able to see the enemies before entering the new area and thusOverall a pretty decent game- my biggest complaints were graphics being a little lackluster and the way enemies were spawned. As a sniper it is incredibly important to be able to see all enemies in the map to plot your best strategy. There were a few times where I would have played the level incredibly differently if I had been able to see the enemies before entering the new area and thus "spawning" them.

    The maps themselves were a little strange and not well suited to "true sniping scenarios". The story was pretty lackluster and the levels were very linear.

    The killcam is awesome, the bullet physics were awesome, and the gameplay is definitely fun enough to warrant a single playthrough.
    Expand
  45. sft
    Dec 17, 2014
    7
    Keep your distance

    Sniping is always great fun so any game that offers plenty of it has to be a good thing. The sniping in SNIPER ELITE V2 is (as I understand it) pretty realistic. It includes all the conditions that would effect such a task in the real world, including bullet drop, wind speed and direction, body movement etc. There’s no denying the satisfaction when you score a hit,
    Keep your distance

    Sniping is always great fun so any game that offers plenty of it has to be a good thing. The sniping in SNIPER ELITE V2 is (as I understand it) pretty realistic. It includes all the conditions that would effect such a task in the real world, including bullet drop, wind speed and direction, body movement etc. There’s no denying the satisfaction when you score a hit, especially a headshot, and this is often augmented by the enjoyable spectacle of the bullet flying through the air in slow-motion towards its target. Personally, I could have lived without the kill-cam’s depiction of the victim’s injuries, but this is only a game so let’s not get too wrapped up in the ethics. Less successful is the close-quarter combat that you are sometimes forced into. The cover-based stealth system is less sophisticated than in some games (Deus Ex: Human Revolution, for example) and aiming at close range can be problematic. This, coupled with a ridiculously keen-eyed AI, can prove frustrating. The graphics are good to very good, with the ruins of a war-torn Berlin particularly well depicted. The story is rather fractured due to the mission-based gameplay but SEV2 isn’t really about story, its about honing your long-range shooting skills, and this it does well.
    Expand
  46. Jun 17, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I tried to like this game. I put a fair few hours in and it did deliver on some aspects. I had fun, but there are a number of issues here.

    The AI is such a disappointment. It was quite the let down as other reviewers have noted.
    The Sniping was fun, especially the slow-mo kill stuff at the beginning. But that wears off as you get going.

    There's no stealth here. The AI ruins it. Try as you might there will come a point where you are forced out in the open and then they all come running and shooting.

    Nice touch with the bottles, but that idea could been expanded way more.

    The story line was a stretch. Need to get some better ideas here.

    Overall an OK game. It has it's moments. But for it's release date the graphics are very basic. I felt like I was playing a game from 10 years ago, not 2 years. So the graphics cannot add to the game play.

    Give this one a miss unless it on a super sale (I got it free). There are plenty of better games out there.
    Expand
  47. Oct 18, 2013
    6
    I picked this game up for 7 dollars when it was on sale. This is one of those games where you shouldn't look for story or characters. It's mindless entertainment that I had fun playing, but sll that aside, I won't play it again. Read other reviews to see why.
  48. Oct 24, 2013
    5
    Picked this up on Steam for £6.50 and it's pretty decent but does not justify paying full-whack for what is a linear, CoD-inspired title. The campaign is reasonable but doesn't really challenge the gamer as the majority of the gameplay is scripted. The general approach is nothing short of a Call of Duty clone and doesn't do enough to inspire or set itself apart from the other FPS shootersPicked this up on Steam for £6.50 and it's pretty decent but does not justify paying full-whack for what is a linear, CoD-inspired title. The campaign is reasonable but doesn't really challenge the gamer as the majority of the gameplay is scripted. The general approach is nothing short of a Call of Duty clone and doesn't do enough to inspire or set itself apart from the other FPS shooters in a very crowded market.

    The bullet-cam seems to be lifted from Max Payne and too much of the game seems to be built around other titles with a severe lack of originality. The combat is fairly bland as are the missions and the general feel is more of cheap arcade than a serious title that warrants a full price. If you have a few quid going spare and nothing to do until Battlefield 4 or Call of Duty Ghosts; you may want to indulge but don't expect too much from what is a reasonable but ultimately dull affair.
    Expand
  49. Jun 9, 2014
    6
    Sniping is fun, yes. Very well done and bullet cam causes me to cringe like nothing else. Graphics are ok and sounds are quite cool, especially since you can use environmental sounds to your advantage. Any other weapon is a useless peashooter. The maps are full of scripted events and do now allow for creative solutions. It's like walking in a shooting gallery. Walk here and 3 ducks, I meanSniping is fun, yes. Very well done and bullet cam causes me to cringe like nothing else. Graphics are ok and sounds are quite cool, especially since you can use environmental sounds to your advantage. Any other weapon is a useless peashooter. The maps are full of scripted events and do now allow for creative solutions. It's like walking in a shooting gallery. Walk here and 3 ducks, I mean carefully positioned enemies pop their heads up, walk there and suddenly an army runs out from a nearby closet. Overall it's like having a beautiful 30x10cm painting in a 300x100cm frame made of cow droppings. Expand
  50. Jun 6, 2014
    5
    "meh" is the word to describe this game. The sniping is kinda fun but this game doesn't leave you much choice in the tactics department. Definitely not the worst game ever but it's not really worth anybody's time.
  51. Apr 29, 2014
    7
    An overall fun game. The missions have enough variety to keep you interested, and the sniper kill cams always are entertaining. While there aren't many weapons to choose from in the game, the graphics and play-ability will keep you interested long enough to get your money's worth. Good graphics and music as well to go along with it. Solid game.
  52. Jun 11, 2014
    7
    Some aspects of this rather unrealistic game were so enjoyable, I bought the zombie sniper elite games as well. I'll probably wait and buy V3 as well. Now the grrrrr. I have to wonder if any of the developers actually consulted ballistics tables, much less ever fired a scoped rifle. Here's my beef. The weapons have ridiculously large bullet drops (hold over distance) from 70 metersSome aspects of this rather unrealistic game were so enjoyable, I bought the zombie sniper elite games as well. I'll probably wait and buy V3 as well. Now the grrrrr. I have to wonder if any of the developers actually consulted ballistics tables, much less ever fired a scoped rifle. Here's my beef. The weapons have ridiculously large bullet drops (hold over distance) from 70 meters and becomes little more than guesswork at 200 meters plus. I guess the concept of rifle zeroing escaped the developers. It amazes me why the hell they would also give ridiculously long wait times between you breath holds (pulse rate drops) while the enemy sniper can accurately snap shoot you at 2 second intervals. Haven't any of these people ever fired a rifle at all? I've never measured it but don't believe my pulse rate goes up 5 or 6 beats following a shot. I'd be amazed if this happened to a trained sniper. My final word: an enjoyable but sometimes frustrating game. Expand
  53. Jun 13, 2014
    6
    A run-and-gun game with a sniper rifle and a few guns. Nothing great. The bullet physics is pretty cool, but sometimes frustrating since it seems as though bullet can't pierce through drywall. I do like the game because it's a vacation from the overtly realistic sniper games I tend to play like Ghost Warrior etc. Story is the Generic 'Murkia ftw kind.
    Take the game with a grain of salt,
    A run-and-gun game with a sniper rifle and a few guns. Nothing great. The bullet physics is pretty cool, but sometimes frustrating since it seems as though bullet can't pierce through drywall. I do like the game because it's a vacation from the overtly realistic sniper games I tend to play like Ghost Warrior etc. Story is the Generic 'Murkia ftw kind.
    Take the game with a grain of salt, it's a mediocre run and gun shooter. A shooting gallery with mediocre graphics.
    Shooting Nazis is always fun!
    Expand
  54. Jun 24, 2015
    7
    Sniper Elite V2, a sequel to Sniper Elite is developed by Rebellion Developments, this sniper action/stealth game is one I did not expect, it is a great WWII video-game, based on the Nazis trying to create the V2 rockets to destroy England, France and the rest of Europe. You are an American sniper trying to locate and destroy or snipe objectives given to you. Kind of like No One LivesSniper Elite V2, a sequel to Sniper Elite is developed by Rebellion Developments, this sniper action/stealth game is one I did not expect, it is a great WWII video-game, based on the Nazis trying to create the V2 rockets to destroy England, France and the rest of Europe. You are an American sniper trying to locate and destroy or snipe objectives given to you. Kind of like No One Lives Forever (where you have to locate someone or shoot somebody) but in the times of Hitler and World War II (WWII), the graphics are fantastic, the music is very good, the voice acting on both the English side and German side is great and it is satisfying game, especially when you snipe someone and the camera focuses on the bullet piercing through the bodies of the enemy. It is so satisfying, kind of makes me feel like I am playing Shadow Warrior with the katana, but this time it is a deadly sniper. Overall it is a great game, some glitches and dumb AI here and there but overall it is a great game to play. Especially now since it is free for 24 Hours! (04/06/2014)

    Although I haven't played the Co-Op side of the game, when I do get the chance I will edit this review again!

    The Multiplayer kinda put me of, with is bad servers, crashing all the time, lag, and bugs that are ridiculous, I kind of felt put off, now you might say "Oh, but it might be your Internet", please be rest assured that I pay for the best internet my ISP (Internet Service Provider) can provide, now if the ISP is lying to me and I am not getting the best internet on offer, then I can understand, other games like Battlefield 3 by EA Games and Primal Carnage by Lukewarm Media, I can run the perfectly with little to no lag at all, and I am kind of dissapointed that the servers on Sniper Elite V2 are not the greatest

    BUT, if you want a game that makes you feel satisfied in killing Nazis and set in the WWII era and includes a side of sniper action and stealth, then this is the game for you
    Expand
  55. Oct 12, 2014
    5
    This is not a realistic sniping game, play something else for that. It is a best a faux realistic sniping game that hides it's arcade design badly. If you played the first one this is a step down mechanically. If you want a lighter sniping game then add + 2 to my score as most of the bad points are because it tries to be something it's not.

    Bad points - Stealth is lousy Npcs
    This is not a realistic sniping game, play something else for that. It is a best a faux realistic sniping game that hides it's arcade design badly. If you played the first one this is a step down mechanically. If you want a lighter sniping game then add + 2 to my score as most of the bad points are because it tries to be something it's not.

    Bad points - Stealth is lousy
    Npcs scripting is poor. Very linear level design.
    Two sets of bullet physics, one for rifles one for SMGs and pistol
    Some bad scale, 100m does not always look 100m
    Historically inaccurate weapons- scopes, lack of adjustable sights, accuracy, sounds
    3rd person even when using ironsights
    Poor cover system
    No ability to properly peek /lean. TPS Camera often gets blocked by terrain
    Weapon damage - unless you hit a cam shot Germans will soak up bullets.
    belly, chest, shoulder, upper thigh, have no effect
    Low FOV with no FOV changer
    Oddly enough no controller remapping for those that prefer that method.

    Ok points Sounds, nothing grates but nothing stands out. Music is stock and poorly used
    Bullet cam is nicely done but I turned it off pretty quick, too gimicky.
    Controls ok but needs some contextual keys and a less finicky posture control
    Locations are fairly interesting with some nice little details here and there

    Better points Graphics are servicable , fair amount of tweaking options
    Uniforms are pretty good though not fully accurate
    Sniping is still there with it's own difficulty setting
    A nice bag of toys to play with , mines ,dynamite , trips wires etc
    Expand
  56. Oct 14, 2014
    7
    I don't have the twitchy reflexes needed to play run and gun type FPS shooters against teenagers, so I really like the pacing of this game. Even the single player game is well paced, with more emphasis on getting a good position to make the kill shot, than on fighting your way through a horde of bots or bunny hopping solo players as in Call of Duty. I would orefer if the main character,I don't have the twitchy reflexes needed to play run and gun type FPS shooters against teenagers, so I really like the pacing of this game. Even the single player game is well paced, with more emphasis on getting a good position to make the kill shot, than on fighting your way through a horde of bots or bunny hopping solo players as in Call of Duty. I would orefer if the main character, and the single player plotline, weren't so gung ho GI joe-like, but it's a small complaint. Expand
  57. May 11, 2015
    7
    Waiting for the right second in the crack of a broken down building. Watching the movements to judge the right shot. You pull the trigger and watch your beautiful bullet soar through the air in slow motion as it travels to its home, right through the eyeball and out of the back of the head.
    That is the idea of the game and it hits the mark. Taking your time with each shot or trying to
    Waiting for the right second in the crack of a broken down building. Watching the movements to judge the right shot. You pull the trigger and watch your beautiful bullet soar through the air in slow motion as it travels to its home, right through the eyeball and out of the back of the head.
    That is the idea of the game and it hits the mark. Taking your time with each shot or trying to quick snipe everything, the gameplay choice is up to you. The Xray slow motion for kill shots is the best feature of the game hands down. Watching it rip and tear through muscle and bone.
    Positive: Xray kill camera
    Negative: Lack of weapons
    Expand
  58. Dec 1, 2015
    7
    This game is fun kill cam is fun only could be more opened but it s good game i like it.
    .............................................................
  59. May 9, 2012
    0
    Sniper Elite V2 is a definitly a worthy sequel to the first. The athmosphere is great, and each kill feels so satisfying. The story may not be very historical accurate, but I don't think thats what Rebellion put their view on. This is definitly the best WW2 game I've played in a long time. Only drawbacks I find is that its abit too short, and the levels are too scripted sometimes. It wouldSniper Elite V2 is a definitly a worthy sequel to the first. The athmosphere is great, and each kill feels so satisfying. The story may not be very historical accurate, but I don't think thats what Rebellion put their view on. This is definitly the best WW2 game I've played in a long time. Only drawbacks I find is that its abit too short, and the levels are too scripted sometimes. It would be nice to have the option to go through a level totaly silent and undetected, which is sadly not possible in most of the levels in this game. I haven't tried the multiplayer features yet, but if Coop is similar to the first game, then its going to be damn fun! Collapse
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jan 8, 2013
    79
    Sniper Elite V2 is a good and solid action sniper game. The story about the V2 scientists is nice, well narrated and motivates to keep playing. The graphics are not good, but ok and if you can manage that, you can give it a try.
  2. PC Master (Greece)
    Aug 31, 2012
    68
    Many better shooters out there, where you can assume a sniper's role as well. What does V2 have to counter-offer? Had it followed another path, with more emphasis on stealth and the preparation of the shot, it could have made a difference, as a game of another subgenre. [July 2012]
  3. Aug 13, 2012
    59
    Behind the flashy graphics and the brutal depiction of gore, the game is surprisingly mundane, eschewing what made the original work while including no new features of its own.