User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 324 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 324

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 9, 2012
    7
    Almost every aspect of this game is very polished (graphics, sound, ballistics, level design, etc). You can be hiding behind a vehicle and hear the german guards complaining about not being able to phone their wife in the midst of the Berlin invasion... that is the level of realism you get. The downside is that it becomes repetitive, and frustrating at some points. You cannot change the difficulty without starting the whole game all over again... Do not take the "elite" word in the title lightly. All in all it is a good game if you find a good price for it. Expand
  2. BMF
    May 5, 2012
    10
    Sniper Elite V2 is a very fun game with epic kill cams and very dynamic gore. I have seen a bullet rip all the way up a femur exploding it as it goes and then bounce off the hip bone. You can shoot nazis fingers (or testies) off in slow motion and pop more skulls then you can count while masking your shots with ambient noise. As a bonus I was even able to shoot hitler and all this happens in excellent graphics at a great framerate (120FPS) The AI leaves somthing to be desired but it doesnt take away from the fun. Coop is fun and works very well but I havnt gotten around to PVP. Expand
  3. May 6, 2012
    7
    I have a lot of mixed views on this game. I have fun about half the time and the other half consists of me getting pissed off. Let's start with the positive: The x-ray kill cam is pretty impressive as well as being controversial. I enjoy being able to go stealth around rather than go all brutal. Graphics are pretty but not up-to-par to 2012. Animations are really well done. The coding is this game was very well done but still needs some polish. Each gun also has its own distinctive "style" and weapons may fit only certain people. Weapon mechanics such as wind and how each bullet type has a different speed is great. Now the negative: The bullet drop is really ridiculousness because I shouldn't have to aim higher when a person is only 80 meters away. The level design is mixed; while the maps appear to look very good and have great atmosphere, the levels are very linear and may become boring because of how you don't get a lot of freedom to go where you want. The AI is very bad... how can a soldier find me so easily when i'm over 100-200 meters away? Why do they shoot with perfect accuracy with SMGs? Another problem is how dumbed down the SMGs are to the player. As I mentioned before the AI have an easy time aiming with them while when the player shoots the accuracy is terrible. The plot in this game does not exist at all and the history in this game is incredibly f***ed up. Why would the Russians shoot people on their own side? Overall the game is a 6.5 for me. You should only play this if you're very patient and enjoy sniping. Expand
  4. May 7, 2012
    4
    Your run of the mill shooter with a poorly coordinated AI that tries to dip into some strange Idea of implementing an "X-ray bullet killcam" without including the realism and extremely limiting It's use which is trying to bake cupcake without flours.

    It doesn't work.

    Combine that with some other serious design flaws and you got Sniper Elite V2.
  5. May 3, 2012
    4
    Let's keep this short and sweet. The historical accuracy is pretty much not even there, the gun handling is a joke, the game runs like a obese cow even though it doesn't look particularly fancy, and it has nothing to do with sniping. You can breeze through the game with out even firing your sniper rifle except for scripted hand-holdey bits. The levels are so linear and filled with so many enemies that you have no options but to mow them all down - which is really easy since you can take 5 sniper shots to the face and regen your health back in under 3 seconds. Which you will have to do often because the enemy can spot your exact position from a mile away - and can track you behind walls. The story is completely cheese - it's another America Saves The Day type of story. Pathetic. Expand
  6. May 1, 2012
    6
    Lacks cinematics which would help many people get more into the theme of each mission, there not many ways to complete missions (very linear), ai reacts to shots then after a couple seconds as if nothing happens, soldiers can take up to 5 or 6 rifle rounds - most of all is the missing flavour of the era. The game just throws you in there any away you go shooting everything that moves, if you don't kill everything it will most likely come back to bite you in the ass, so just kill everything. Stealth - unlikely. Multiplayer? Good for a couple rounds - but overall, needed more time and more ways to complete a mission. 6/10 The game is worth 1 run through - that's about it. Expand
  7. May 2, 2012
    1
    Three words for this "game" - oh my god. When Rebellion said to me "Ha, ha, now you must kill russians in winter(sic!) uniform" I said "Just no". If you, Rebellion don't know nothing about history and facts and don't know about Elbe Day it is your problem. AI is idiotic, graphics is very poor for CryEngine 3. And it is a spit to my face and spit to the grave of my and your grandparents, who won this war together. Shame on you, Rebellion. Expand
  8. Jul 18, 2013
    2
    Poor console port to PC. It deserves a 2 because it has a story at least, but is let down by the poor controls, especially moving around... Keep console games to consoles. Nice to be able to set trip bombs etc...

    With improved controls (more common to a FPS) this could be a great game... Shame it fails on so many levels.
  9. May 1, 2012
    9
    Very fun game, shooting mechanics are solid and the game looks up-to-date graphics wise.
    About half the missions are based on stealth, where you can choose any direction to approach your opponents from and devise the best strategy to take them out without being spotted. The whole game isn't a stealth shooter, though. The game will intermittently throw you into unavoidable non-stealth
    situations where your shooting prowess will determine your victory. Co-op feels solid, although there is a bit too much "Waiting for your co-op partner" for my likes, but I guess this keeps the other guy from running ahead and skipping the best parts. The slow-downs are still in co-op, but they're much shorter unless you get a REALLY good shot, and it forces both players to watch as the bullet streaks across the sky right into the opponent's eye or heart. Defiantly worth the buy. Expand
  10. May 2, 2012
    7
    If you liked the last game chances are you'll like this one. It's more of the same but with more polished graphics and gameplay. Unfortunately the AI leaves much to be desired and after a half hour of playing the game they'll do little to surprise you. The Kill-Cams will never get old and you'll still feel a morbid sense of achievement when you shoot a counter-sniper through the scope no matter how long you've played!

    A fun game for anyone who is a fan of stealth and patience for slow, calculated movements; for anyone else it is more likely to be a rental.
    Expand
  11. May 4, 2012
    6
    Positives: Sniping is fun, great ballistic physics on hard mode, The graphics are great, killcams are fun and never got old. Negatives: AI is horrendous even on Elite, several bugs, forgettable story, extremely linear leveldesign, very little freedom of choice. Stealth is no option due to Enemy AI. Overall an mediocre game but get's repetive very quickly and again the AI just ruined most fun for me. Expand
  12. Jun 29, 2012
    5
    The graphics are ok. The kill cam is indeed well done and fun to see, and the same goes for the sniper's aiming mechanic. Sadly, everything else fails miserably. Movement is very awkward, visually and technically. You can't jump: you can just "vault" (in a very linear way: some tall obstacles are climbable, while others, much lower, are not). Taking cover is a matter of luck. Sometimes an object will activate the "take cover" option, other times the same identical object - in a different place - will not. Which, as you can imagine, leads you wandering around the field to find the "correct" place to hide. Stealth is, simply put, horrible. As soon as you shoot, enemies are all over you, making this an "action sniper game" instead than a stealthy one. When you think you found the right tactic to kill your enemies silently, some event that renders your efforts useless is activated, since the game WANTS you to be seen, so that enemies can come running at you, and you have to snipe them before they arrive. Above all that, the areas are extremely linear. No smart places to hide and snipe. No alternative routes. Nothing. When I got Sniper V2 I already knew about the bad critiques, but I thought I might enjoy it anyway. I was SO wrong. Expand
  13. May 4, 2012
    3
    I give Sniper Elite 1 point for effects, the various bullet time impacts are impressive. 1 point for Sound. 1 Point for having an original concept for this game based on the weapons and the focus on sniping which not may games do this day. Unfortunate all of this is overshadowed by the dumbed down nature of the game, a console port in the extreme much like a lot of games these days which caters to people that don't expect much. The game is pretty linear, move from point a to point be without much variety or exploration. They could have done allot more with this game but instead they settled just like the rest of the game companies these days. Expand
  14. May 7, 2012
    8
    Heyyo, this game? I must say is definitely better than the first Sniper Elite. The first one was very arcadish feeling, where-as this one is a little more tactical. The AI does tend to do gunfights at long range even though they have SMG's most of the time and you have a sniper rifle which is a small let-down but I've seen a few good tactics like covering fire as others run to different cover... but it's marred by the fact he's just running to another piece of cover that's far from your location. The graphics are very well done and don't tax your PC nearly as bad as other games with the same graphics (so ignore Goden's review cause his pc probably just sucks lol) cause I find it runs just as good if not better than Skyrim and definitely runs better than Mafia II. With a good patch to revamp the AI? This game could easily get higher ratings from most people.. but time will tell. Expand
  15. Sep 18, 2012
    8
    Even though very similar to the first version, this one is better. I especially liked the scenes following a quality head shot. The weapons choice, however, was limited and the missions were remarkably similar. Otherwise, I would score this game a 10.
  16. May 5, 2012
    10
    Great Graphics and awesome game play. Runs really well, cannot believe a game this good looking can run on 4 gigs of ram, a 6770 and an Athlon dual core processor!
  17. Nov 15, 2013
    7
    When I first tried this game I gave up after only a few minutes because of the wonky keyboard configuration. I uninstalled it. Many moons later I saw that has partial controller support so I reinstalled this bad boy and went ahead sniping the heck out of Zeh Nazis and have had a blast...those bullet animations entering and destroying the bodies of nazis hasn't gotten old yet. This is a pretty straight forward game, if you enjoy pretending to kill nazis and blowing stuff up with style, you may like this. Expand
  18. Aug 23, 2012
    8
    a game that breaks the boredom of other sniper games, great campaign and great co-op mode, which is a delight, hitting targets, great music and difficulty modes are challenging for the expert graphically is good, nothing out of the ordinary. great success in the x-ray effects, enjoy each shot I fail to understand why the low scores of users when the beginning of the premiere, had high grades .... Not to mention the critics long ago lost credibility. Expand
  19. Aug 21, 2012
    7
    I bought Sniper Elite V2 on Steam Sale as I wanted to play a recent WWII game and trailer looked interesting. The level of authenticity of the sniping in the game is just right for me but the enemy AI is just horrible. The enemy soldiers hang sometimes when they try to run and often take the same route just like their comrades took just a second before and got shot. Not very smart. The music int he game is also annoying. The same part repeats far too often. What I like about the game is the graphics with the excellent lightning effects. I play the game in stereoscopic 3D via native AMD HD3D support that adds even more atmosphere. Also the bullet cam is pretty cool especially in stereoscopic 3D. Collapse
  20. May 4, 2012
    9
    The game has left pretty good impressions after having played for a couple of hours. The singleplayer is great fun. Theres not very much story to it and you also won't see many cutscenes, but the atmosphere and the gameplay is great. The game also looks really good! The sound is nice too (especially the weapon sounds!).

    Let's come to the multiplayer... the biggest negative point here: It
    lacks of content. There are only 2 modes and 3 maps. But Rebellion already announced that they have a pretty big DLC-plan (FREE dlc's) which will bring new maps, new modes etc. Let's hope it doesn't takes too long!
    The multiplayer is pure fun in my opinion. It's very refreshing from all those run 'n gun shooters. Running around like a chicken only brings you death here ;) Haven't played much MP matches yet, but the MP feels pretty balanced to me. There are some bugs (spawnbugs for example) but still the MP feels pretty polished to me.

    Can't say anything about the coop yet sadly since I haven't tried it out yet.

    Give the game a chance! Try the demo on steam. I recommend it!
    Expand
  21. Jan 4, 2013
    7
    I have always been a fan of games based in WWII. There is something about that time period that really draws me in. Even when the entire industry was moaning about "another WWII game" I was consuming with glee. So when this game came out I was going to buy it right away but hesitated because of the mediocre reviews. Well I can't say I regret waiting because I got a great deal through steam, I also feel paying full price for this game wouldn't have hurt. GAME: The gameplay is linear. So if that is one of those pet peeves of yours just don't get it. But if you are open minded and understand that linear games belong on the market as much as side scrollers then keep reading. The kill cam effect is awesome, the first 30 odd times you see it. After that it becomes a hindrance and slows the gameplay down. The sniping feels really visceral and when you make that great shot you get that gruelling ...mmmm yeah feeling. In the end if you like sniping and don't mind linear gameplay then buy this game. And if it is on sale on steam just buy it anyway it's definitely worth a try. Expand
  22. May 23, 2012
    6
    Enjoying FPS games as much as I do, I felt compelled enough to put together a fair, to the point review for this title. I like the graphics, displayed at 1920 X 1080. The sound is great, and the storyline is pretty good also. Now the obvious downside to this title that makes it, oh so not worth the expensive horse leg roll of cash many companies are now asking to help retire themselves early. The controls are friggin' "atrocious". Now come on guy's! You as developers know when you push a keyboard button to snap off an opponents "head", and virtually nothing happens? WTF? Of all titles to NOT have complete, precise, control of an extraordinary toggle such as a "trigger" on your "sniper rifle"? This becomes a major FAIL ! Ouch....It's like pissing in a fan, it's just that frustrating. As you're getting your butt shot off in the interim. So, if you're smart? Like I'm SO very sure many of you ARE, because you're reading reviews before you shell out hard earned money to these companies for entertainment. WAIT until this goes on sale for about $9.99 from steam or other distributors. And for All of our sake, DO NOT spend more than that! You will be so very much happier if you heed my, and other honest reviewers warnings. Until then, look for other titles that won't anger you in the process! I pray I've saved other people some money in the process. Expand
  23. May 12, 2012
    10
    I don't know why so much negatives about this game because this is very realistic sniper simulator despite sometimes levels too linear for stealth but anyway it's one of the best games of this year so far
  24. May 6, 2012
    7
    I enjoyed playing this game. I'll likely play through it again. However while the game does use Direct x 11 you can not fine tune the graphics very much. I found aliasing to be a problem even with the anti aliasing setting set to high.
  25. Jun 3, 2012
    2
    Yes - sniping is fun.... Yes good bullet physics, but otherwise
    Repetitive, and dull gameplay.
    stupid and unrealistic ai.
    Started the game and never finished it.
    Dont waste money
  26. Sep 21, 2012
    9
    There is no other SNIPER game on the market that can touch this... Single or Multiplayer.. period!
    New DLC just released.. this game just keeps getting better with the added FREE multiplayer maps and cross nocross server options... excellent work!!
  27. Feb 15, 2013
    5
    For a game called Sniper Elite, you spend a lot of time not sniping! It's a shame too because Sniping is a lot of fun in this game. Seeing the gruesome kills never gets old. The Pistol and Submachine Guns have terrible accuracy and don't do enough damage to enemies. I've shot enemies point blank with both weapons only to see them stumble and shoot at me like they're at full health. The game is fun when you're sniping but outside of it, it's very generic and not very fun. Expand
  28. May 9, 2012
    8
    Sniper Elite V2 is a definitly a worthy sequel to the first. The athmosphere is great, and each kill feels so satisfying. The story may not be very historical accurate, but I don't think thats what Rebellion put their view on. This is definitly the best WW2 game I've played in a long time. Only drawbacks I find is that its abit too short, and the levels are too scripted sometimes. It would be nice to have the option to go through a level totaly silent and undetected, which is sadly not possible in most of the levels in this game. I haven't tried the multiplayer features yet, but if Coop is similar to the first game, then its going to be damn fun! Expand
  29. May 4, 2012
    10
    Stellar game. On mission three and as a fan of the first this did not disappoint! Bullet cams are why I play. I plan to play this for a while as I enjoy drawn out games.
  30. Jun 3, 2012
    5
    There is no, sniper games in recent years is really low, so Sniper Elite V2 has a chance to succeed. An interesting idea for a sniper rifle in World War 2, nicely done "kill shots" coop. It is clear however that the game is not ideal, you can see blurry textures, graphics problems, bugs, and generally FOR IN boring and ideas, it turns out that everybody else is a classic game. But if someone really loves the game sniper ... maybe a little bit like him. My rating -5/10 Expand
  31. Jul 24, 2013
    5
    You can tell that there was some solid effort put into Sniper Elite V2, but it ends up being just another average game. The high points of V2 are it's great graphics, excellent effects, and good representation of 1945's Berlin. The highpoint of the game is back: Bullet-cam. Unfortunately when you hear about Sniper Elite, this is usually all you hear about since it's really the only thing good enough to tell others about. V2 falls flat on it's face in just about every remaining aspect of the game. The sounds are rarely synced and you can hear the sound of a bolt action rifle after every shot you take even when you aren't using a bolt action rifle.The mission variety isn't the best in the world and the campaign is rather short (4-5 hours on normal difficulty). It seems they have totally gutted the singleplayer experience so they could add Co-OP and multiplayer. Both of these modes are utter garbage so we end up with a game that fails in all aspects, rather than one that is good in at least one. Thanks, multiplayer fanboys, for ruining yet another singleplayer game. You are given tons of traps and other special weapons to use, unfortunately they really aren't necessary at all. There is also a severe lack of weapon variety unless you purchase all the DLCs. You get rifle "upgrades" but these upgrades do little more than add an extra zoom level or add extra rounds to your clip/magazine. The enemy AI and pathfinding is horrid. You will often see the AI moving in erratic fashion: Facing one way, jerking around up and down, looking left right, then immediately zooming in on your and killing you in two shots. It ends up making sniping a complete chore since you can't predict your enemies movement (which is incredibly important in real-life sniping). Speaking of sniping, the bullet ballistics are still just as terrible as they were in the first game. Bullets drop off drastically at 50 meters, there is a huge delay between firing and the bullet leaving the rifle, this forces you to aim considerably far in front of moving targets to hit them even at small distances.My biggest gripe with the game is it's complete lack of historical accuracy in many aspects of the game. Half of the Russian you face have PPSH's with 71 round drum magazines. Not only was the PPSH very rare to begin with, but the 71 round magazine was ever more rare. The same for the Germans; Three out of four german enemies have an MP40. This is not historically accurate at all. One of hte more annoying parts was how you got a Geweher 43 rifle, but it's magazine only holds 7 rounds. There was never a 7 round magazine made for this rifle in the history of the world. There was only ever a 10 round magazine. Why would you change this? For balance? Then give the player a M1 Garand which has a 8 round clip. Another point which many people have complained about is that just like in the first game, you go around as an American, killing Russians in Berlin. Thankfully you fight Germans far more often than you did in the first game, but it's still a bit ridiculous how half the game has you shooting Russians. It's pretty strange considering this game is made by a British developer. Anyway, in conclusion, Sniper Elite V2 was promising, but ultimately fell short of many fronts making it no more than an average game. Only consider purchasing this if you want an arcade sniping game that won't give you much choice on how to play the game (stealth vs run and gun). Expand
  32. May 4, 2012
    9
    I really like this game. officially I am more with Serious Sam like games and I thought this game was not good. But when I played the demo I just could not pull myself away from it and purchased the game. Great Realistic game!
  33. May 1, 2012
    10
    GREAT sequel!!!

    Awesome bullet cams, pretty good graphics(Uses great lighting, some DX11 effects, buttery smooth) even tho textures aren't amazing, still gorgeous. On mission 4 currently, but so far I love it. For those saying it is so linear, that's because you haven't looked around. There are alleyways and multiple play styles to try even on the 1st real mission. Haven't tried
    multiplayer yet, but this game was definitely worth the $45!!!(Preorder special price) Expand
  34. May 10, 2012
    6
    These are the four reasons why the game loses four points: 1) The music is just completely rubbish (sorry composer) - I even turned it completely off. 2) The AI seems like it belongs to a game made 10 years ago - these moronic nazi and soviet soldiers, just haven't got a clue. Killing them is no challenge at all, and ultimately not a lot of fun. Even when you have to escape from a bunch of snipers, they are pretty lame-ass. Why do they all have to just sit there and get shot? Can't they move around a bit and take up new positions when they are getting shot at? And, why is each cannon-fodder Nazi so poorly trained that they just constantly run into the line of fire, and show no signs of working together to take out a threat at all? 3) The missions themselves are really linear, and don't offer much in the way of variety or open-ness - like shooting ducks in a barrel. 4) Graphically things are ok, but still doesn't feel like you're playing a current shooter than costs £25.

    However, despite my gripes I did find myself playing away til the end (took about 6-7 hours on Medium difficulty). The kill-cam is brilliant fun, and sniping really is the name of the game as you do not last long, trying to take the baddies out with a pistol or machine-gun. One thing I will say though is if you pre-ordered, then the Assassinate the Fuhrer mission is a bit of a let down. If the game had cost less then I would actually recommend that 3PS shooter or sniper fans check it out.
    Expand
  35. May 19, 2012
    5
    I tried to like it because i'm a huge fan of WW2 games but it gets boring very fast! The Kill cam is cool but the rest is just bold with clunky controls and bad AI! If you want a good WW2 game then play Red Orchestra 2!
  36. May 6, 2012
    10
    An absolute blast to play and a significant improvement over its predecessor, Sniper Elite V.2 is a sniping fan's wet dream. The singleplayer campaign is fairly lengthy and packed with interesting and fun shooting scenarios, the core shooting mechanics are rock-solid, the layer-by-layer X-ray killcams are fascinating and bloody, and the addition of coop for the entire game is just icing on the cake. Its story is lacklustre, yes, but that's the only bad thing I have to say about this immensely satisfying title.

    And to those complaining about historical accuracy: this is HISTORICAL FICTION. Crawl out of your box and do some research before being an ass.
    Expand
  37. May 2, 2012
    4
    Cool game with great graphics and engine. However, it really lacks this nervetickling feeling. Mostly feels like GameSpot described it: a glorified shooting gallery. Biggest problem is level design along with Call of Duty-style HP-regen and enough health to handle 4-5 bullets.
  38. May 1, 2012
    8
    I've been having a blast with this game. The graphics are great, and the ballistics are stellar. Gameplay is fun, and almost comparable to a Splinter Cell game set in WWII.

    This game is most rewarding if you take your time and are extremely patient. If you're looking for a game to run around and shoot everything that moves with a machine gun, you need to look elsewhere. Sniper Elite V2 is
    a very tactical shooter that requires at times a decent amount of foresight and planning ahead. Multiplayer is a blast and will provide even more challenges with other players in your sights.

    Definitely check the game out. It's worth it at the launch price tag, and the issues I've encountered with launch bugs or glitches are so miniscule they're not even worth covering.
    Expand
  39. May 4, 2012
    6
    This game was alright. The single player is short, no more than about a 4-5 hour play through depending on how many times you die and have to restart, and It isn't all that fun. Not to mention the kill cams get a little old after a while. You start out cringing and quietly saying "OOOOH SHEEEET" to yourself after every gruesome shot to a kidney, and end up an hour later finding that is't the same thing over and over. Thankfully you can turn down the frequency of these kill cams in your options, i suggest doing this as soon as you start the game so that it doesn't get old. Although it does have it's upsides. Thank fully a lot of other people were fooled by it's attractive veneer and pre purchased it (like me), so there are always available mutliplayer servers. I was surprised how much fun I had with the multiplayer, besides the spawn being FUBAR you can really get into it. I found the same with the coop. The coop provides some very fun and interesting game play. There's a survival mode with endless waves on enemies, a game mode in which you run a round an open area to collect tank parts to GTFO of there, one where one man has a sniper rifle and protects the other on the ground while he shoots and spots people for the sniper to take out, and the single player is a thousand times more fun when there's someone there laughing at the bugged AI and face palm worthy story with you (Like making fun of the fat kid in high school). Expand
  40. May 26, 2012
    7
    i am seriously amazed by the immaturity of the professional reviews.i mean sure this is not a masterpiece but you give game like cod a perfect 9 or even 10 why?i wouldnt have picked this title after seeing bad reviews about this game but one of my friends bought it and i played this game over his home.believe me this game is very good and you will love it if you like sniping.
  41. Jan 25, 2014
    8
    I think this game is better than the average score but then I love WW2 settings and I love snipers. Combat is fun, feels good and responsive. My score is for the single player game only! I haven't played CO-OP or online multiplayer.
  42. Jun 22, 2012
    7
    Where to start, the game is rather fun but it only has replay value with its co-op campaign. I would suggest avoiding the multiplayer as, being all snipers, it ends up being a camping match with a few skillful snipers that dominate the rest. The singleplayer is very linear, even when given some room to maneveur, if you want to stay hidden and not raise an alarm you have a very strict path to follow. The sniping is very satisfying, watching a well placed first shot slowly puncture and enemies head with bones breaking and blood showering is very satisfying to behold, yet the novelty wears thin especially on the second to last mission, without spoilers, the enemy knows where you are no matter what you do, and they swarm you, good luck on Sniper Elite difficulty. I am giving it a 7 because it is a good game to me, but it does have lots of faults, I certainly won't blame anyone that hates it. Expand
  43. May 4, 2012
    7
    This is a very fun game and can cater to quiet a wide variety of gamers; those who like realism, you can turn the bullet cam of almost completely (only not for for special characters and tanks) If you love gratuitous violence then the bullet cam is something that never gets old. Stealth mechanics are not perfect but they are still pretty fun. Smgs are the worst thing ever clearly just put in so your enemies have a reason to run at you. my advice is to only use pistols and rifles (with rifles if you press cntrl you only zoom in a but making it perfect for picking of those annoying Russians) Graphics look pretty damn good maxed out and wont stress your system too much. On pc there is co-op (level based and wave style and a few other game types) as well as vs (which supervised me in how well it works) one criticism of this is on hardcore 1 team can dominate the other far to easily. Overall very enjoyable with some challenging achievements, hope there will be some expansions packs (im think enemy at the gates style) Expand
  44. May 1, 2012
    9
    This is a very fun game. Great graphics, great lighting, awesome x-rays, all-out awesome game. It's very satisfying watching the x-ray kills every time it happens. This is definitely the kind of game where you need lots of patience if you're going to play on the higher difficulties because of the bullet ballistics which, in fact, are really well done. The only problem I have with this game is that it's too short. That's really my only complaint about it but other then that it is a solid stealth-action game. If you enjoy a good stealth game, this one is well worth the buy. Expand
  45. May 8, 2012
    7
    Honestly I don't understand what others are moaning about. Historically inacurate? Linear level design? Poor graphics? What are you guys? **** Firstly how many historically accuracy games DO NOT EXIST. Look at call of duty, commandos, brothers in arms. Do they have a "to the letter" acurate storyline at all? Nope. Its fiction dear people. For the level design the game needed to be challenging funneling players into tight spots where the snipers are one side and the opposition on the other side with lead rain being exchanged between them. The whole design is like that to intensify the combat and help people to think quick on their feet with what they have surrounding them. If it was sandbox any retard can camp on a spot and skull all the enemies from one spot, where is the fun in that...ahhhh and the graphics.for the truly **** **** **** mainstream noobs out there, we have almost reached the roof of our current gen graphics, what where you guys expecting? Hologram graphics combined with live video feed taken from a quarter million camera? Come on people think like realists. Now that the bad stuff is away from all the bat**** crazy people on with the review. Sniper elite V2 is like a merging of splinter cell conviction, call of duty world at war(vendetta mission) and a touch of serious sam. Reason for those 3 is simple, splinter cell for the caracter interactions, duck and cover system and the whole interface is also similar. The whole game is like the COD mission, vendetta, except way better. And the reason why I chose serious sam as the 3rd comparative game is for the lack of story covered by brutality and mindless killing. It's highly amusing to just run around with a rifle, focusing and letting a led asprin rip through the enemies. Every kill feels different, and some of them makes me feel a bit queasy, like when hitting both testicles of a gestapo with one bullet (I feel your pain buddy). Long story made short, an excellent game. Only reason for me giving it a seven is because it kind of falls within mainstream gaming and isn't exactly something new that springs up in your face causing your world to stand still with amusement. But overall it is very entertaining and truly worth a shot, pun intended for the idiots that do not understand the concept of a pun. Expand
  46. May 26, 2012
    9
    It's been almost 7 years since a true stealth game appeared.Now,this genre is back in the game with this brilliant Sniper Elite V2. It has almost everything you can wish from a stealth. The graphic is good, bullet ballistics are incredibly real and the AI is acceptable. Somehow,even this game has problems. There are path finding problems,the AI is not so clever when it does not to be and there are graphic glitches and bugs. Other than this I cannot blame this game. It deserves our money,though is very short. Expand
  47. May 2, 2012
    10
    The graphics are great, shooting mechanics is solid, pretty good sound. The game will intermittently send you in shooting where your shooting prowess will determine your victory. This is the kind of game where you need lots of patience, but the game is stealth shooter.
  48. May 14, 2012
    6
    Visually a great game, but besides the initial fun of setting up the shot and seeing the bullet cam the fun kind of drops off. It gets repetitive and in some cases makes the game hard to play as a sniper. You get in to close quarter fights that you can only really survive by pulling out the pistol or machine gun to complete. And it amazes me that every single enemy in the area instantly knows exactly where you are once you fire a shot. In an urban setting with buildings, streets and walls, the sounds of gunfire would echo and be pretty difficult to pinpoint. A good distraction for a few hours maybe, but I'm not planning on finishing it. Buy it when it's discounted. Expand
  49. May 4, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My god this game is terrible. Besides the whole "sniper" theme premise being thrown out the window with all the full out shootouts instead of appropriate missions , the oh so stupid AI, bullet drop equivalent to 5 times the gravity of Earth, you also get to (and this is the really annoying part) scripted enemy soldiers spawning 15 meters ahead of you or magically appearing snipers in building windows that weren't there half a minute ago. Really? i mean i get nearby patrols instantly joining the battle but troops that just come out of thin air is beyond ridiculous. Then you have the extremely linear maps that make you wonder why there is a stealth mechanic even in the game, frustrating checkpoint system that makes you do a segment 100 times because of some enemy appearing out of nowhere right next to you thus a lame unavoidable death (which ultimately renders stealth useless). I didn't honestly expect that it could be so bad because i liked the first one. It had much more going for it at the time and a lot of it's nice features like camouflage, sneaking past enemy troops, finding alternate sniping nests is either gone or just dumbed down to the extreme. To conclude: It's hard to enjoy the sniping part of the game when it is basically a run and gun shooter most of the time. Expand
  50. May 6, 2012
    10
    This game deserve much more than this.
    Graphic are good,the ballistics are very realstic, it's one of the few stealth games I really appreciated.
    The most amazing feature of this game are the killcams, they are very well made and realistic.
  51. May 8, 2012
    3
    Straight up: this is not a tactical game about sniping, and definitely not realistic. If you want a very arcade-like shooter then maybe go for it based on its one big draw: slow-mo bullet cam. I have played the game for hours just for this feature, but once it wears off you are left with flawed and rough game mechanics and plot. Plot is bad, but not critically so, I've seen worse. The gameplay features firefights mainly at under 200m with very unrealistic features (such as shooting through corners due to bullet tracing form the crosshair rather than the gun, and using 3rd person to peek and scout the area). The actual situations it places you in as a sniper are also poorly chosen, as most snipers excel in situations of patience, strategy and long-range targets. Forget all of that; it is very linear and confined, and you have will be just as good firing quick snapshots between sprints as you would if you crawled to a good spot, steadied your heartbeat, controlled your breathing and took a good shot. Additionally you just shrug off bullets call of duty style. Expand
  52. May 8, 2012
    5
    This game is an action shooter set at the end of the 2nd world war. Although sniping is implied in the titel, its just a minor aspect of the game. Expect to mow down endless waves of enemies over and over and over again in a rather badly scripted an railroaded world.

    If you like games like hard reset, doom and quake set in a 2nd world war setting with a short story. This game is for you!

    If you like realism, then stay away.
    Expand
  53. May 9, 2012
    8
    Let me start by saying this: It is a game. Don't expect historical accuracy.
    It is a fun game. You are a one man army.
    The drop of a sniper rifle bullet over a 100m at an average speed of 500 m/s is going to be 20cm.
    The physics in this are quite accurate to reality, there is a great scope in how you play this game, whether you decide to be entirely covert and take enemies out with a
    silenced pistol, lure them out with a mine, or pick them off a sniper rifle, or even just go all gun blazing. There's a lot of scope to play it in different ways.
    Yes, there is regenerating health. No, it's not too ridiculous. If you've played the original game, you'd almost certainly have noticed how being killed every 15 seconds and having to reload gets annoying.
    However, I would agree that it regenerates too fast.

    If your idea of a good game is one that's historically accurate and obeys all the laws of reality, then get out your bedroom and join the army. Because fighting WWII on a PC in 2012 is hardly realistic or historically accurate either.

    The game looks good, and it's fun.
    Only problem is the AI. The AI is unnaturally accurate and keen sighted. They can spot you when you're four storeys up on a roof, lying on the floor, in a pile of dirt, in the shade, at night, from 300m. And with a machine gun, can hit you 9 times out of 10. With a gun which in your hands you'll be lucky to hit someone 30m away. And that's before the recoil kicks in.
    The enemy snipers are also unnaturally gifted. After some experimentation, I discovered that it's because their bullets track the player.
    Yes. When they shoot, the bullets curve just so they can hit you. This means that if, for instance, you are out of cover and move into cover, the bullets will hit the cover (I tried this trick with lamp-posts, worked every time). But if you go from a standing start, and dodge as soon as you see the flash of the sniper, they will hit 100% of the time.

    But apart from the psychic enemies, I thought it was a fantastic game. Already on my second run through.
    Expand
  54. May 13, 2012
    7
    X-ray kill cam is truly impressive, other than that everything is average and not worth remembering. I had 14 hours of gameplay on the "Sniper Elite" difficulty and I was glad that the game ended when it did, though I won't say that I regret paying for the game.
  55. May 13, 2012
    6
    Has its fun moments, but there are flaws too, for example i had a broken checkpoint near the end level which spawned me with a bunch a of nazi soldiers a yard away, as soon as i moved i was dead, so the mission had to be restarted! That said there is a lot of fun to be had when you snipe the enemy and follow the bullet demolish their organs in xray mode! All in all a 6.
  56. May 14, 2012
    5
    the campaign is fun quite short on normal diff but on sniper elite it adds a few hours . graphics are ok not anything great. the x-ray killcam and bullet ballistics mechanics are a nice gimmick not anything special. AI is horrendous.the story is bad you dont really get into it. the multiplayer and co op are terrible. no one plays the co op you need a friend to play with. and when you do by some miracle get a random to play with , the game is very laggy and choppy. same for the multiplayer very laggy and choppy. the controls are kind of not reliable ,and the cover system also not too reliable. it's a pity that the online is so bad , it really could be a lot better. TOO BAD YOU CANT RENT IT ON PC Overall a mediocre game Expand
  57. May 15, 2012
    10
    This game not bad, but its too short for me.... Multiplayer are awesome, i love this game for it. Bullet Time camera is great! So if you want multiplayer good battles - buy it!
  58. May 17, 2012
    8
    the game is for sure worth the time you put into it, and a little more. Haven't you always dreamed of seeing bullet animations like that? i don't get the bad reviews, it's not even full priced
  59. Nov 24, 2013
    4
    Get's boring VERY quickly. I had high expectations since a sniper game sounds very good. I played the first chapter...and it got already very boring and I don't feel like continuing. If you shot your first 5 guys well you know the rest. Seriously. I also found the "kill cam" a turn-off, it makes the game less realistic.
  60. May 16, 2012
    9
    You would think in sniper V2 the slowmo bullet penetration thing would get old.It doesn't.EVER.I took time off from Diablo 3 to get my fix of the skull drilling.I played the old one and if it was anything like this one it would have been game of the year....back then.Only downside is it still felt too short and the lack of different weapons.Otherwise well done guys.I got trigger finger wood. x-)
  61. May 22, 2012
    7
    This is an arcade kind of a sniper. Its not like the sniper missions in Modern warfare where you use half an hour to sneak around and stealth kill. This game is kind of a wave of enemies comming at your position and you have to take em out before they get to you:P Even though its not all that cloak and dagger i would like it to be its a fairly decent game. Gotta love the cutscenes when you get a nice headshot! Expand
  62. May 31, 2012
    2
    Okay first of all, I decided to try the Sniper Elite V2 because the first one had some nice ballistics and such. There where many flaws and I hoped that they could have fixed some of those. But no, they haven't really done a thing to fix things. AI is one of the worst I have ever seen... For exemple I throw a grenade and the very moment it doesn't touch characters had ALL the enemy's even behind walls start to run and yell.. I have seen some enemies through some doors and they couldn't come through. I decided to play the game through once just not yet there. Whole game is a complete ripoff. Expand
  63. Aug 20, 2012
    8
    This is much better game than Metacritic score say. Not perfect, but really good one. When I start playing was disappointed and didn't like it a lot, but when used to controls founded game really good and fun!

    There is only 2 major bad things about a game:
    1) Sniping is unrealistic easy. They should put more realistic sniping. That's probably because they made that for console noob
    players and didn't improve for PC version.
    2) Spawning of enemies is really annoying specially in coop. They suddenly pop from locations which you already explored and cleared. So, exploring is not really helpful because enemies pop up from there later.

    All together fun game with few possibilities to improve!
    Expand
  64. Jun 3, 2012
    9
    For everyone out there who thinks this game is unrealistic because situations you are placed in aren't true to those of an actual sniper, DIE. Of course it's not realistic in that sense, ITS A GAME: they need to make it more exciting than sitting at one strategic location for hours. That said, I can't rate this game fairly. This is the kind of game that, depending on the player, gets a 10 or a 1. I you're a patriot of anywhere who enjoys shooting Nazis and Soviets in the face/balls and loves getting headshots, this is the game for you. If you're a Neonazi who somehow doesn't enjoy making some other poor bastard die for his country (RL-3 quote from Fallout 3, Bethesda, I take no credit), than you'll probably hate this game. Back to seriousness, long range, EPIC, short range, not so much, really bad actually, but if you're actually good at the game, there wont be too much close combat. For me, you've seen my rating, but I feel for the guys out there rating this game a 3, though I am disappointed. Btw, the only reason I don't rate this game a 10 is because of one particular level (3rd or 4th, you'll know, it's pretty bad). Expand
  65. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    Outstanding game. Great ballistics, awesome kill cams, a lot of great fun. Playing on hardest difficulty (the only way to play this game really), makes you have to think about every action and when you complete a mission you feel a real sense of achievement. Good stuff.
  66. Jun 22, 2012
    5
    Fun, albeit generic, shooter thats as historically accurate as your gonna get in a game.
    thats where the good stuff ends though
    repetitive, slow and at times extremely dull, overpriced and worst of all forgettable
    definately a buy if on sale, but otherwise stay clear
  67. Jul 4, 2012
    5
    Ok... so this is NOT NOT NOT worth the $50 paid - at least to me. I did have some fun playing in coop mode with a friend... then we were both like... that's it? This is the end of the game? I think we completed the whole game on a Sunday afternoon. I like the idea of sniping, but when you shoot one guy, and all his friends know exactly where you are from 250 meters/yards away, that sux. I like taking my time and sniping, I don't like waves of foes that know exactly where you are. Expand
  68. Aug 16, 2012
    4
    The gameplay is enjoyable enough, but overall I found this game quite lacking. The killcams are a lot of fun at first, but quickly they become a played-out novelty. The sniping has a good feel to it overall, but that's not saying much when you're dealing with a horrible AI system. The game is very linear, the story is nothing memorable, and the replay value is almost non-existent. If you can find it for a low price, the 5-6 hours you'll get out of the game are probably worth it, but at full price I'd say it's best to avoid it. Expand
  69. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    beautiful game that shines the most by far on pc. I play it in eyefinity on 3*23"lcd's. This makes approx a 110cm or 42 inch display with a resolution of 3240*1920. Exactly 3 times as much frames as a tv with that size. What a thrill ride this game is with it's awesome bulletcam and atmospheric war-scenes. Every single obtject is rendered with breathtaking detail. This game owns both MW3 and Battlefield3 if you ask me (but so does BFBC2 btw)..cheers! Expand
  70. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    Presentation: Beautiful game overall, some animation glitches here and there, but none too serious. Gameplay: The sniping never gets old, other mechanics do though, and it's hard to really enjoy the game as much as the beginning once your in the final levels. Sound: Great sound effects, pretty good voice acting. Re playability: An OK amount, bottles and Ingots will have you going through the campaign at least once more, challenges can keep you occupied for a while, and Multi-Player can last you a while for sure.

    Overall, fun game. I recommend this purchase.:
    Expand
  71. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game! I love FPS WWII games and sniping is my favorite, so I love this game. Those that don't, give it lower scores. It's not "Rocket Surgery" or anything. Aren't game reviews fun? Dah... Bottom line, play it if you like the genre, you will be happy with the money you spent. Now go outside and kill somebody. You spend too much time in doors.
    Spoiler Alert:
    You shoot people and they die. Nothing like real combat, but video games never are. We should send all the freaking idiots who think that game violence is an issue to a war zone. They would realize how idiotic their behavior is and how safe their little made up worlds are.
    Expand
  72. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    65 to this and 78 to MW3? ARE YOU **** KIDDING ME? This game is... Well, like the first SE, but with better graphics (and less challenging). If you have the German version, you'll be losing the best of the game: X-Ray KillCam. Of course, this game is stealth, so if you played CoD or BF you won't be able to appreciate this game, because you'll think you're Rambo and that you can kill 10 people just by yourself with a Welrod while 123124141235357983479175981274981275 bullets don't hurt you at all. Expand
  73. Feb 3, 2013
    5
    I didn't mind the first and this is not a bad game as such, but once again it finds it self in the middle of what it wants to be. The sniper game mechanics are quite good however the way maps and missions are designed make it very hard to play it without using other guns as you tend to be swarmed with enemies.

    Once again a lot of potential mostly not fulfilled.
  74. Nov 23, 2012
    4
    I thought this game was OK at best. Pros for me were; the awesome kill cams, easy controls and i found the game to be very user friendly. Negatives; the game is soooo linear. I noticed too with some levels that enemies would randomly spawn based on my position on the map. This was really frustrating especially when i played a level for the first time. Id position on top of an arch somewere spend 5 mins tagging enemies making sure i had them all. Strategically killing them all, coming down off my ledge to a bottom of a set of stairs or whatever and then out of no where there are 3 more who spot me. When i KNOW they were not there before i advanced. Kind of ruins the "Stealth" aspect in certain parts. I got the game on sale on steam for 14.99 and for that price its alright but i wouldnt pay a dime more. Expand
  75. Apr 6, 2013
    6
    An otherwise bland sniper game made somewhat memorable by its innovative features. V2 is great testicle-shooting fun for about 3 hours, but then it quickly gets overwhelming. Bullet ballistics were advanced and the simulation seemed quite a bit more accurate than other shooters. Getting long-distance kills was very satisfying, mainly because of the gory bullet-cam that displays your bullets entering your opponent's body and wreaking havoc on his organs.

    I would have loved for the sniping fun to continue, but all the sudden the game overwhelms you with massive numbers of... tanks. Yes, I said tanks. Literally, you're on the ground with no cover, trying to shoot a tiny fuel cap that will blow the thing up. All while it's pumping you with bullets. This is basically the rest of the game-- it's very repetitive.

    The game also incorporates a story, but it's bland and forgettable. Graphics are on-par with a decent game released in 2009, minus the bullet-cam (best bullet-cam ever).

    Multiplayer sucks. You all know how much it hurts to get sniped from across the map within a few seconds of spawning. Imagine this, but in a game with poor level design... where the only class is sniper. That, and there's almost never anyone playing.

    The price is horrific. Honestly, don't even think about spending $50 on this. If it goes on sale for under $15, you might want to consider it-- but don't expect too much.
    Expand
  76. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    This is all you want in a sniper game. Very good campaign mission, and suspenseful multiplayer! Overall the game has great physics and it makes me feel like im part of the mission.
  77. Dec 8, 2012
    2
    Such a disappointment! I was expecting a sniper game and this is a run and gun: as soon as you fire once, everybody runs around and at you shooting, so you end up running around and shooting as well. I'm so frustrated I bought this and wouldn't recommend it. Yes, the bullet cam is cool but you get used to it so the fun doesn't sustain long. Also, tagging is useless because even if you take your time, observing and tagging all enemies, after you fired once, new enemies spawn at random places. That's a SHAME! The worse part has been a mission that starts by securing the ground before searching for your contact. Once it's done, you get a message: "The place is secured. Go meet your contact". You go down and new snipers spawn and start shooting at you! This is simply preposterous.
    To me, the only game so far that delivered the real sniping thrill is Sniper Ghost Warrior. I don't understand why critics destroyed it and acclaimed Sniper Elite V2. I guess people just go with the hype instead of searching by themselves what truly works. This is screwed up.
    Expand
  78. Jan 3, 2013
    7
    I really have to agree with most of these. It is not so much a sniper game as a shooting gallery action game.

    It IS fun for a bit. My issues are not with the sniping. that is a blast. I find the up close mechanics atrocious. I've played with the mouse settings about ten different ways, but there is just no fluidity to using a pistol of sub machine gun.

    It would be FAR better as a
    first person game. AI is better than some and there are some cool tricks, like waiting for loud noises to fire shots. I just wish that when I screw up and the enemy finds me, I can pull out a pistol and or sub and have a running fight.

    Kill cam is cool. But I can see it getting old. With all the cool traps/explosives that you get it would be better to be able to scout out an area, then plan your attack, but that would be in a sniper game, and this is not. It is still fun, but I think it'd be better with better mechanics. Doesn't have the replayibility of COD World at War, but still good.
    Expand
  79. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    este juego es uno de mis favortios , graficos buenos, jugabilidad buena, camara de bala genial no le veo practicamente nada de malo, si disparar es ovio que te ven si te quedas en el mismo lugar, segun vi en otra criticia , la esto no es una carrera, es un shooter de disparos con una buena historia que se adapata muy bien a la segunda guerra mundial
  80. Jan 20, 2013
    5
    Unarguably, the game's biggest flaw is the indescribably bad cover system that will make you want to rip your hair off. I am not exaggerating when I say how gutwrenchingly frustrating and abysmal it is. The character will enter cover on the opposite corner of where you're standing, he will randomly leave it while you move in cover, he will randomly start receiving full damage as if he weren't even in cover, he won't be able to step out of cover to shoot, some obvious cover isn't usable and so on. There is the AI which will yell "Sniper!" or "Grenade!" and then proceed to stand where it is and stare into the ground. There are also some minor but annoying and ridiculously unrealistic things, like taking a 5-bullet sniper magazine from the table and getting 30 bullets from it, taking 2 grenades and getting only 1, finding sniper ammunition on a foot soldier who uses a submachinegun etc. The developers want to force you to play the game as a stealth operative and a sniper so much, they also unrealistically limit ammunition. You are able to carry up to 100 bullets for your 5-bullet magazine sniper, while only being able to carry 60 for your 30-bullet magazine submachine gun. The stealth element is not very entertaining, while the sniping is a lot of fun, especially on higher levels of difficulty with advanced ballistics. Bullet-cam and x-rays remain very entertaining for the duration of the game, while shooting with other weapons besides the sniper can get boring and annoying very quickly. Levels are linear at first, but start getting more complex with different approaches later on. The graphics are a bit on the downside, but they give a good WWII feeling, and believable enemy faces, you will feel numerous times like you're killing actual people(bullet-cam adds to it), instead of generic soldiers whose only purpose is to stand in your way. It has decent voice-overs with some familiar voices and a story that didn't keep me particularly interested, but that is a matter of taste. Sadly, the flaws listed above make the game stick at 5, even though it could have been much better, taking into account the great sniper action. Expand
  81. Feb 16, 2013
    7
    This second version is not as addictive as the first one, but I did not regret any of the hours spent on it and finished it already 2 times in different modes (I like specially the gold and bottles seeking nobody understands why the bottles are there where they are but at the end who cares). The graphics are good, the game play is good and quite easy. It is not a pure stealth and not tactical at all, but it remains a good stealth-action game to free up your mind. Expand
  82. Feb 14, 2013
    8
    I've only played this as co-op with a friend and really enjoyed it. The kill cam is really good, in co-op if you get a really good shot then both players see the kill cam animation, this cut seen is really short, about 2-3 seconds and doesn't get in the way of the action of game.
    Is a good sneak/run and hide/camping game if you're into that. I've not played it through as a single player
    so can't really comment on that. Expand
  83. Jun 23, 2013
    5
    while the sniping and killcams are great, almost everything else is bad. the level design isnt consistent, somtimes its good and sometimes its bad. the enviroments are repetetive and boring, and the graphics arent anything to marvel at. the music gets anoing at some point. there are also spawning enemies, WHICH IS REALLY IRRITATING. the AI IS EXTREMELY DUMB. the save system also doesnt save frequently enough. the game is also pretty repetetive. the stealth is absolute crap, and theres lot of it. the guns are boring, and dont pack a punch. the story is ok, but not more than that.
    overall bad game. while the core of the game sniping) is great, all the things that sorround it are crap!
    Expand
  84. Mar 2, 2013
    8
    While I truly enjoyed my time with Sniper Elite V2, the game's short length and unsatisfying final mission left me wanting something more. However, despite those factors leaving a bitter taste in my mouth, I cannot say that I regret the experience. If nothing else, the sniping is so rewarding as to justify the entire purchase. I don't know what everyone else is complaining about here. Sure, the sniping isn't realistic on lower difficulties. That being said, sniping variables can be added to enhance the experience. Enough effort is required to line up your shots that the kill cam at the end feels immensely satisfying. I'm not one of those people who demands perfect realism in their games. If something feels right, I often don't have a problem with willing suspension of disbelief. As such, I'm willing to overlook some of V2's flaws. Sniper Elite V2 may not offer the most "realistic sniping experience EVAR," but it does make the player feel like a vengeful god dealing righteous justice from across the map while still providing a reasonable challenge. In my humble opinion, overlooking some kooky AI and graphical kinks is a small price to pay for such badassery. Expand
  85. May 4, 2013
    8
    This game to me is amazing...i love snipers games... the slow motion cam is the best ever seen... to be better in the cooperative mode can improved, because the ever have stick together, but in the next franchise title I'm sure that they will adjust it. I recommend this game for all sniper game lovers rsrsrs...
  86. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    Amazing game! One of it's kind! An opposite of CoD or Counter Strike kind of games: it is not a game to run around with a machine gun. On it's best, you hide somewhere and lay down and wait for the enemy to come in your line of sight. Bullet cam really kickas ass and the wind+bullet drop makes sniping as near real as it could be!!!
  87. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    this is is sniping ol about not sniper chost warior nope sniper elite its the second world war like you wount do see it its fun to replay the game and have fun shooting hitler
  88. May 21, 2013
    0
    was not impressed with the gameplay one dimensional AI, tedious and boring missions, at times the missions were ridiculously easy at the other times ridiculously hard, navigating the map was frustrating, unrealistic. This was one of the most boring games i've played
  89. Dec 20, 2013
    8
    definitivamente o melhor jogo de franco-atiradores e o trabalho mais bem feito da Rebellion. Vale a pena comprá-lo, a ambientação sensacional e apesar de ser difícil se acostumar com a jogabilidade (troca de armas, precisão, etc), você pega o jeito logo na segunda fase. Eu gostaria de um pouco mais de "stealth" e espionagem, por isso darei apenas 8 pontos.
  90. May 1, 2013
    6
    Overall a pretty decent game- my biggest complaints were graphics being a little lackluster and the way enemies were spawned. As a sniper it is incredibly important to be able to see all enemies in the map to plot your best strategy. There were a few times where I would have played the level incredibly differently if I had been able to see the enemies before entering the new area and thus "spawning" them.

    The maps themselves were a little strange and not well suited to "true sniping scenarios". The story was pretty lackluster and the levels were very linear.

    The killcam is awesome, the bullet physics were awesome, and the gameplay is definitely fun enough to warrant a single playthrough.
    Expand
  91. Jun 10, 2013
    10
    This game gives the player a sense of control of the game itself. I love the sniper's choice effect and the slow motion x-ray effects are incredible.
  92. Nov 23, 2013
    8
    I rarely write reviews here. In fact this may be my first PC game review, but I was surprised by the amount of negative and mixed reviews this game got and felt the need to add my two cents. I am an amateur WWII historian so my opinion may be biased when it comes to games based in this era, but it also means I'm a good judge of historical accuracy in WWII games and I must say, this game got a lot more things right than it did wrong.

    I've seen comments about it being an 'arcade shooter' and while I can't disagree with that completely, there is a lot more here than 'a basic shooter'. The main draws are the bullet physics and Kill Cam, and Rebellion got both of those right. I'm not sure if some of these people were playing it on easy mode, but if you turn the difficulty up to Sniper Elite (you can even define custom difficulty levels) the physics and AI become brutally unforgiving. I loved that part of it because I enjoy games that are hard to beat. Some people don't. But those people needed to specify what difficulty they were using when they said how easy it was. There's a strong multiplayer and co-op component and the achievements and in-game challenges add a ton of replay to this too. The story is good and, yes, it is very plausible. It takes place during the last days of the Third Reich when the Iron Curtain began to come down in eastern Europe. The enemies you fight are mostly Nazis, but the missions and even some levels focus on the Russians and their involvement with the Nazis after the fall of Berlin. Specifically the story is about the US trying to get to Hitler's 'Wonder Weapons' before the Russians do and that all happened in reality. Granted there wasn't some lone wolf sniper collecting everything and killing everyone for the US government, but everything else is quite accurate in historical context.

    Anyway, those are my thought. If you like FPS action games you will like this. If you like WWII-era games you will probably like this. Wait for it to go on sale for $10 and buy it, or better yet buy the bundle with the DLC. The DLCs add a ton of replay to a game that already had a lot of replay potential.
    Expand
  93. Oct 18, 2013
    6
    I picked this game up for 7 dollars when it was on sale. This is one of those games where you shouldn't look for story or characters. It's mindless entertainment that I had fun playing, but sll that aside, I won't play it again. Read other reviews to see why.
  94. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    super jeu balistique réussi ,le système Xray est superbe et je le recommande fortement ,n’écoutez pas les personnes qui critique mal le jeu il ne savent même pas jouer et ratent tout le temps leur cible
  95. Oct 14, 2013
    7
    Can I install sniper elite v2 with out creating steam account? From cd how to instll shiper elite v2 from cd to pc please tell how to install sniper elite v2 from cd please tell
  96. Oct 24, 2013
    5
    Picked this up on Steam for £6.50 and it's pretty decent but does not justify paying full-whack for what is a linear, CoD-inspired title. The campaign is reasonable but doesn't really challenge the gamer as the majority of the gameplay is scripted. The general approach is nothing short of a Call of Duty clone and doesn't do enough to inspire or set itself apart from the other FPS shooters in a very crowded market.

    The bullet-cam seems to be lifted from Max Payne and too much of the game seems to be built around other titles with a severe lack of originality. The combat is fairly bland as are the missions and the general feel is more of cheap arcade than a serious title that warrants a full price. If you have a few quid going spare and nothing to do until Battlefield 4 or Call of Duty Ghosts; you may want to indulge but don't expect too much from what is a reasonable but ultimately dull affair.
    Expand
  97. Jan 27, 2014
    3
    Barely recognizable as a sniper elite game. While the first required you to plan ahead, think and take shots carefully around any enemy in case you alerted most of the third Reich, this second installment is completely lacking.

    There is no atmosphere at all, and it is most definitely not tactical. After BREEZING through 5-6 missions on the hardest possible settings because of casualised
    mechanics like regenerating health, enemies that can hear all of 5 feet, and being able to literally complete all the missions like it was any other generic TPS, I stopped playing. The bullet physics are completely off (to the developer's own admission) and rather than the first game where you actually felt cut off, alone and vulnerable, this installment makes it easy to be a superhuman with a kevlar coated face. Expand
  98. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    I could hardly be more satisfied with this game. I'm generally not a fan of third person shooters but decided to give it a shot and boy was it worth it. The way Sniper Elite is designed, with stealthy and tactical elements, it's perfect with a third person view and the ability to look around corners etc without peeking out. The graphics are great as far as I'm concerned, very realistic. The audio is pretty good too - the only thing I could complain about is that the 360 angle isn't always that perfect, having been spoiled with games where I can tell precisely by sound from where the enemy is coming, sometimes it isn't as accurate in this game which can be a little annoying.

    The plot and the actual gameplay are overall good. I like the fact that even me (who is rather good at online FPS games but usually sucks at single player ones) can easily jump into the action by choosing the beginners mode called cadet mode. The controls are very straightforward and well explained during the first mission. The gameplay is a mix of sneaking or crawling around and taking out enemies silently with your pistol and sniper rifle, and also during some parts you will be engaged in more close combat and forced to take out your machine gun and go rambo. The games has it's ups and downs of course and some sections are a little boring but at times I truly feel like a sniper during WWII and the bullet cam/x ray cam really adds to this sensation. Nothing beats peeking out only to deliver a fatal headshot from hundreds of meters away and then see the Nazi's brain being all splattered.

    The only actual problem with the game that I have is the limited amount of secondary weapons/ammunition. I mean the things you start out with, a silenced pistol which is great at close range but sucks even at short distances and a machine gun that has very little ammo and is certain to gather the enemies attention isn't very useful. More often than not I find myself having to rely on my sniper rifle, even in close quarter combat where I have to bring out my noscope/quickscoping skills. But hey this is something I can overlook as I love using the rifle anyways.

    If you want constant action and think it is boring to slowly crawl on the ground while infiltrating a base or spending a few minutes scouting the surroundings with your binocular to find where the enemies are located, then it may not be for you. But if you are looking for realism and having to think before you act rather than just go crazy with heavy artillery then it is certainly something you should try out.
    Expand
  99. Aug 21, 2012
    0
    I bought Sniper Elite V2 on Steam Sale as I wanted to play a recent WWII game and trailer looked interesting. The level of authenticity of the sniping in the game is just right for me but the enemy AI is just horrible. The enemy soldiers hang sometimes when they try to run and often take the same route just like their comrades took just a second before and got shot. Not very smart. The music int he game is also annoying. The same part repeats far too often. What I like about the game is the graphics with the excellent lightning effects. I play the game in stereoscopic 3D via native AMD HD3D support that adds even more atmosphere. Also the bullet cam is pretty cool especially in stereoscopic 3D. Collapse
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jan 8, 2013
    79
    Sniper Elite V2 is a good and solid action sniper game. The story about the V2 scientists is nice, well narrated and motivates to keep playing. The graphics are not good, but ok and if you can manage that, you can give it a try.
  2. Aug 31, 2012
    68
    Many better shooters out there, where you can assume a sniper's role as well. What does V2 have to counter-offer? Had it followed another path, with more emphasis on stealth and the preparation of the shot, it could have made a difference, as a game of another subgenre. [July 2012]
  3. Aug 13, 2012
    59
    Behind the flashy graphics and the brutal depiction of gore, the game is surprisingly mundane, eschewing what made the original work while including no new features of its own.