Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23
  1. Despite the lack of narration and poor shooter moments, Sniper: Ghost Warrior shines from other City Interactive products thanks to some really good sniping scenes and nice graphic.
  2. Jul 12, 2011
    72
    It's one of the good sniper games out there, providing hours of fun. The low price suggests a good bargain, which it is, but just don't expect a premium title.
  3. A thrilling first person shooter with some flaws. If it wasn't for those unnecessary action interludes it would have been much better and probably even a great game.
  4. Ghost Warrior is a bit like a basically excellent rough diamond, that no one wanted to polish any further. It's got good ideas and stunning visuals, but nowadays, that alone just isn't enough to be able to keep up with the competition.
  5. Great sniping, great sneaking, and several grueling missions where you can do neither. [Sept 2010, p.104]
  6. Sadly Sniper stays behind all expectations – which actually weren't too high – and although it's quite good looking we encountered a load of technical problems throughout the game.
  7. Dec 20, 2010
    65
    It looks good and it feels good at points but I'm afraid its shortcomings are going to make it a forgotten title.
  8. Only worth buying if you see it in a bargain bin. [Oct 2010, p.89]
  9. Budget purchase at best. [Sept 2010, p.58]
  10. Sniper: Ghost Warrior is unlikely to get a storm of applause anytime soon, but at least this CITY Interactive shooter can be played not only by game reviewers.
  11. Technical issues make the single player mode frustrating. Multi-player mode is generic.
  12. If you really need the urge to play through a game as a sniper just pick up any other FPS game and only play it with a sniper rifle, or play Modern Warfare's sniper stage, or experience the sniper dual in Metal Gear Solid 3 Snake Eater.
  13. Poor AI and insane difficulty get between you and the sniping in Sniper: Ghost Warrior.
  14. A flawed sniper game that mixes nice graphics with repetitive gameplay, poor AI and a technological mess. Sniper: Ghost Warrior is pretty average overall.
  15. Even though this is a dedicated sniper game, it is still more fun to take your enemies down with the sniper rifle in Crysis. Sniper: Ghost Warrior just isn't all that fun and the perfect sniper game is yet to be seen.
  16. 50
    Hopefully, City Interactive can bring something more fleshed out to the table next time.
  17. Despite the interesting concept behind it, Sniper Ghost Warrior falls short on the expectations. Some of the missions are still funny, and being a sniper is surely one of the deepest dreams of every FPS fan, but a lack of overall quality, the complete absence of a decent storytelling and a lousy multiplayer don't make this game worth the while.
  18. Many other games do this better. Play them. [Sept 2010, p.98]
  19. What little positive elements it has going for it are marred by its problems.
  20. Almost all of the potential in this sniper simulation has been thrown away. Critical bugs in AI, game design and mechanics make Sniper a dull and below average shooter. [Issue#195]
  21. Unfairness and all-around cruddiness negate the fun of long distance malice. [Oct 2010, p.86]
  22. Sniper: Ghost Warrior starts of quite good, but after an hour or so you'll through the game in the bin because of an impossible mission. Everything the game did well before that suddenly doesn't count anymore.
  23. Even at a commendable budget price and with the developer's commitment to support the game, I can't recommend Sniper: Ghost Warrior. Even as a cheap stopgap, the game is sure to disappoint all but the least discerning fans of the genre.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 240 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 68
  2. Negative: 26 out of 68
  1. Oct 15, 2010
    6
    Ok, so i got this game because i love sniping. I love to calculate the bullet drop, humidity, etc, etc. It is truly an art to be a sniper.Ok, so i got this game because i love sniping. I love to calculate the bullet drop, humidity, etc, etc. It is truly an art to be a sniper. This game brings some elements of that into it, but only a few. The Good- It is a very realistic sniping game - Average story line - Average graphics. The Bad- Enemies will shoot you across the map with an automatic weapon - Enemy AI will spot you very easily. Altough, i do love getting the slow-mo head shots 500 feet away. Multiplayer is somewhat fun, but repetitive. I am currently stuck on the mission where you have to sneak past a base, and im crawling in the dark, tall grass at midnight, and the enemies on the ground still spot me, about 70 feet away. So- Terrible AI and a somewhat fun multiplayer earn this game around a 6. I would only suggest this to die-hard fans of sniping. Full Review »
  2. Jun 11, 2011
    1
    possibly the worst game in the world....

    crysis set the benchmark for 3d mark vantage, this game set the benchmark for the most buggy,
    possibly the worst game in the world....

    crysis set the benchmark for 3d mark vantage, this game set the benchmark for the most buggy, broken, unrealistic, and just plain boring game of all time

    do not buy this, in fact dont even pirate it

    it gets a 1 for trying
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 19, 2010
    4
    This game presents a somewhat overused idea and puts you in the shoes of a sniper (hence the title). The graphics are quite nice and theThis game presents a somewhat overused idea and puts you in the shoes of a sniper (hence the title). The graphics are quite nice and the gameplay isn't very good. basically, you just try to snipe people but you have to watch for variables like how many people are around your potential victim. Many other games have sniping segments (such as Modern Warfare) but they are much better than this game. Full Review »