Sniper: Ghost Warrior PC

Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23
Buy On
  1. Despite the lack of narration and poor shooter moments, Sniper: Ghost Warrior shines from other City Interactive products thanks to some really good sniping scenes and nice graphic.
  2. Jul 12, 2011
    72
    It's one of the good sniper games out there, providing hours of fun. The low price suggests a good bargain, which it is, but just don't expect a premium title.
  3. GameStar
    72
    A thrilling first person shooter with some flaws. If it wasn't for those unnecessary action interludes it would have been much better and probably even a great game.
  4. Ghost Warrior is a bit like a basically excellent rough diamond, that no one wanted to polish any further. It's got good ideas and stunning visuals, but nowadays, that alone just isn't enough to be able to keep up with the competition.
  5. PC Gamer UK
    69
    Great sniping, great sneaking, and several grueling missions where you can do neither. [Sept 2010, p.104]
  6. Sadly Sniper stays behind all expectations – which actually weren't too high – and although it's quite good looking we encountered a load of technical problems throughout the game.
  7. Dec 20, 2010
    65
    It looks good and it feels good at points but I'm afraid its shortcomings are going to make it a forgotten title.
  8. PC Zone UK
    65
    Only worth buying if you see it in a bargain bin. [Oct 2010, p.89]
  9. PC PowerPlay
    60
    Budget purchase at best. [Sept 2010, p.58]
  10. Sniper: Ghost Warrior is unlikely to get a storm of applause anytime soon, but at least this CITY Interactive shooter can be played not only by game reviewers.
  11. Technical issues make the single player mode frustrating. Multi-player mode is generic.
  12. If you really need the urge to play through a game as a sniper just pick up any other FPS game and only play it with a sniper rifle, or play Modern Warfare's sniper stage, or experience the sniper dual in Metal Gear Solid 3 Snake Eater.
  13. Poor AI and insane difficulty get between you and the sniping in Sniper: Ghost Warrior.
  14. A flawed sniper game that mixes nice graphics with repetitive gameplay, poor AI and a technological mess. Sniper: Ghost Warrior is pretty average overall.
  15. 50
    Hopefully, City Interactive can bring something more fleshed out to the table next time.
  16. Despite the interesting concept behind it, Sniper Ghost Warrior falls short on the expectations. Some of the missions are still funny, and being a sniper is surely one of the deepest dreams of every FPS fan, but a lack of overall quality, the complete absence of a decent storytelling and a lousy multiplayer don't make this game worth the while.
  17. Even though this is a dedicated sniper game, it is still more fun to take your enemies down with the sniper rifle in Crysis. Sniper: Ghost Warrior just isn't all that fun and the perfect sniper game is yet to be seen.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 269 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 71
  2. Negative: 29 out of 71
  1. Oct 15, 2010
    6
    Ok, so i got this game because i love sniping. I love to calculate the bullet drop, humidity, etc, etc. It is truly an art to be a sniper.Ok, so i got this game because i love sniping. I love to calculate the bullet drop, humidity, etc, etc. It is truly an art to be a sniper. This game brings some elements of that into it, but only a few. The Good- It is a very realistic sniping game - Average story line - Average graphics. The Bad- Enemies will shoot you across the map with an automatic weapon - Enemy AI will spot you very easily. Altough, i do love getting the slow-mo head shots 500 feet away. Multiplayer is somewhat fun, but repetitive. I am currently stuck on the mission where you have to sneak past a base, and im crawling in the dark, tall grass at midnight, and the enemies on the ground still spot me, about 70 feet away. So- Terrible AI and a somewhat fun multiplayer earn this game around a 6. I would only suggest this to die-hard fans of sniping. Full Review »
  2. Jun 11, 2011
    1
    possibly the worst game in the world....

    crysis set the benchmark for 3d mark vantage, this game set the benchmark for the most buggy,
    possibly the worst game in the world....

    crysis set the benchmark for 3d mark vantage, this game set the benchmark for the most buggy, broken, unrealistic, and just plain boring game of all time

    do not buy this, in fact dont even pirate it

    it gets a 1 for trying
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 8, 2012
    8
    All I wanted was a real sniper game, where it's all about hiding, finding perfect angles and delivering perfect shots. No games but this oneAll I wanted was a real sniper game, where it's all about hiding, finding perfect angles and delivering perfect shots. No games but this one offered me this. Forget about Sniper Elite, which is a run and gun game, far from being a sniper game: after you shoot once, enemies are running after you and you have to run and gun them. Very, very disappointing.
    With Sniper Ghost Warrior, it's almost never the case: you have to stay low, stay quiet and stay invisible or you'll get killed pretty quickly, or trigger the alarm and lose. Only a couple of run and gun chapters, that are actually making you relax and break lose, shooting everything that comes at you.
    Yes, there are some bugs but they don't impact the game-play to my opinion. Not quite sure why everybody blasted it in reviews. It really delivers the sniping experience to me.
    Full Review »