Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Mar 15, 2014
    100
    The South Park game we have been waiting for is at last here.
  2. Mar 4, 2014
    100
    As it stands, it's an enjoyable, well-paced, self-consciously silly and unashamedly offensive romp through Matt Stone and Trey Parker's respective imaginations -- and, without a doubt, one of the best uses of a TV or movie license I've ever seen in gaming.
  3. Mar 4, 2014
    100
    Where other South Park games have utterly failed to capture the crude, offensive, absurdly entertaining spark that has kept the cartoon running for 16 years, The Stick of Truth succeeds utterly. Not only is it series creators Matt Stone and Trey Parker - who co-wrote the game - firing on all cylinders, it’s Obsidian’s most polished RPG. Not just a great South Park game, the Stick of Truth is simply a great game.
  4. Mar 4, 2014
    100
    The Stick of Truth is the South Park game just about any fan would want to play. It's an exceptionally funny, surprisingly deep well of fan service that also happens to be a very good game, striking a terrific balance between memorable moments of frequently grotesque humor, and genuinely enjoyable exploration and combat. If you still hold any reverence at all for this show, you'll love this game.
  5. Mar 4, 2014
    95
    An epic RPG, a licensed game that somehow transcends its source material, and the culmination of everything South Park has come together to create the funniest game I’ve played in a decade.
  6. Mar 4, 2014
    95
    Not only is it a great South Park game, but it’s a fantastic RPG in its own right. The plot has enough ridiculous twists to keep you engaged, and the battle system offers enough variety to keep encounters from growing stale and tiresome...This is one of the greatest licensed games ever made.
  7. Mar 4, 2014
    93
    We've never had so much fun with a video game before. If you like RPGs and/or the TV show –especially the latter– this is a game you cannot miss. This is just the best adaptation from a TV series to a video game ever made.
  8. Mar 4, 2014
    92
    The Stick of Truth is a hilarious journey, an all-around excellent RPG and one of the best tie-ins of all time. A few shortcomings held it back from a higher score, but do not misunderstand us: to South Park fans this really is a masterpiece to brag about.
  9. May 11, 2014
    90
    I didn't expect anything from this South Park RPG, but The Stick of Truth is one of the best license games ever made. It's as obnoxious as the TV series, as it should be. The script is made with love and the RPG elements fit in to the franchise like a glove. [March 2014]
  10. Apr 9, 2014
    90
    Almost flawless. [May 2014, p.63]
  11. Apr 2, 2014
    90
    As a hard core South Park fan I had tons of fun with The Stick of Truth, I appreciated lots of cool ideas and laughed hard. This is how licensed games should be done – literally every gameplay element was built around the source material to create the illusion of taking part in an episode of the series. [04/2014, p.44]
  12. Mar 28, 2014
    90
    One of the finest TV to game transitions ever made, though not to everybody's taste. [Apr 2014, p.56]
  13. Mar 23, 2014
    90
    Basically, it’s the second full-length movie based on South Park, now fully interactive. Even bigger, longer and uncut.
  14. Mar 18, 2014
    90
    If you hate South Park, you won't like this. If you're in the middle or love the show, this is the RPG for you.
  15. Mar 7, 2014
    90
    Much like the beloved TV show, South Park: The Stick of Truth is ridiculous, over-the-top, and crude. It's also painfully funny and just a little bit poignant.
  16. 90
    Not since Rocksteady's Batman Arkham games has a developer so successfully made such an amazing title out of a licensed property, one that not only is a perfect South Park game but an incredible RPG as well.
  17. Mar 4, 2014
    90
    If it were just five or more hours longer in content, South Park: The Stick of Truth would have struck the perfect balance between writing, gameplay, humor, and length. Not since Earthbound and Super Mario RPG: The Legend of the Seven Stars has there been a turn-based RPG with such a distinct style and with so many memorable moments.
  18. Mar 4, 2014
    90
    Obsidian's new game has some minor issues, but the grand picture is enchanting. The Stick of Truth is a stylish "the best of South park" packed into a well-made game that will definitely please all the fans. After more than a dozen hours spent with Cartman and his buddies I can confidently call South Park: The Stick of Truth the first big game of 2014 that doesn't disappoint.
  19. Mar 4, 2014
    90
    Above all, it’s just a wonderful piece of entertainment. It’s surprising, surreal, packed with jokes, and rarely frustrating. I didn’t get bored once across the 17 hours it took me to finish the story and most of the sidequests, and it kept me laughing consistently until the credits. If that isn’t worth 90%, I don’t know what is.
  20. Mar 4, 2014
    90
    Stick of Truth is South Park's Arkham Asylum--a triumph of a licensed game that manages to fit in line with the franchise while paving new ground in gaming. In this case, the new ground is dick jokes, but--still--innovation is innovation.
  21. Mar 4, 2014
    90
    It is, in a way, Season 18 all by itself. It is funny, shocking, self-effacing, and pretty much everything I could ask for from a South Park game -- even if it’s mostly a one-and-done experience.
  22. Mar 4, 2014
    88
    Obsidian completes their most well rounded project and makes the game Matt Stone and Trey Parker have worked so hard to get. Absolutely delightful for fans, full of love and detail, and blessed with fun, fast and fluid combat that doesn't feel dumbed down.
  23. Mar 4, 2014
    85
    Without a doubt, this is the best South Park game so far. The quality in the level design, the animations, and the addictive combat highlight this fun experience and really makes you feel part of a South Park episode. The Stick of Truth doesn't try to revolutionize the genre but tries to offer a good laugh from classic poop and fart jokes.
  24. Mar 4, 2014
    85
    Definitely, the best South Park game made to date. If you're a fan, you shouldn't miss out on a visit to this funny town.
  25. Mar 4, 2014
    85
    More than just a faithful adaptation of a cult TV series. It's a benchmark for translating a favourite property into a video game format, something that other licensed properties could learn from. And it's also the funniest game on the market.
  26. Mar 4, 2014
    85
    I can’t think of a better way to bring this franchise to gaming consoles. The RPG format allows for a ton of funny items and sidequests, the objectives are unlike anything else in the genre, everything moves along at a solid pace, and the overall feel is distinctly South Park. It’s one of the most faithful adaptations of a license I’ve seen, and it ranks among the best comedic games ever released.
  27. Mar 4, 2014
    85
    This is an experience that even the most casual fan of South Park is going to get something out of, and one of the truest translations from screen to game I can recall.
  28. Mar 4, 2014
    83
    Despite some minor technical issues and sometimes abstruse mechanics, South Park: The Stick of Truth is an experience to behold. It’s one of the most faithful adaptations of a television show into a video game, and its signature style of humor and commentary come through in every facet of the game. Even with so much focus on capturing the feel of the show, this still manages to be a solid RPG that’s fun and rewarding. There’s simply nothing else like it out there.
  29. Mar 4, 2014
    82
    South Park: The Stick of Truth is a landmark achievement for Obsidian, Ubisoft and South Park Studios. Not only have they created what will go down as the greatest South Park ever made, but they did so battling against all odds. After the original publisher going down in a blaze of non-glory, people feared that this game may never see the light of day. The Stick of Truth is a truly engaging and entertaining adventure from start to finish that made me laugh more than any game before it. I can honestly say it was worth the wait.
  30. 81
    A true South Park experience, brimming with crude jokes, nasty insults and crazy ideas. It's also fun to play, although lacking some depth and replay value. But even without meaningful decisions and a diverse class system this is a roleplaying game that every fan of South Park will enjoy – like a 14-hour episode of the show.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1279 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 238
  1. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    This game is Oustanding. My first thought was, What?! $60 for a game about poop jokes? But No, I haven't had this much fun in an RPG since the Original Pokemon, and that's what this game keeps reminding me of, with the added fun of the ENTIRE South Park universe. EVERYTHING IS HERE, everything from Tom's Rhinoplasty, to Al Gore hiding in the Bushes. Every line of Dialogue brings a chuckle after another, and It's all done right.

    The Combat is turn based, and s executed in a fun and engaging way, there is no waiting for the enemy to take their turn, you're constantly engaged with attempting to block enemy attacks and countering.

    For the first hour I just looked through Cartmans house, Played the "taking a **** minigame, then playing with his moms ****

    Literally Skyrim+Pokemon= This game
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    Amazing. Disgusting. Immersive. Hilarious. Offensive. Intriguing. Silly. Ridiculous. Great. Fun.

    Plays like Paper Mario, and talks a whole
    lot of sh*t. Literally. You will be doing a lot of farting, and you will love every minute of it.

    Best. RPG. In. Years.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 4, 2014
    9
    South Park: The Stick of Truth is the best game in "years"....and it's better than the show. Wonderful world, story, gameplay. I rarely give a 10 out of 10. No game can get close to South Park: The Stick of Truth! Full Review »