Space Pirates and Zombies PC

Space Pirates and Zombies Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 149 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Space Pirates and Zombies takes place far enough in the future that Earth has become a toxic backwater planet, so potentially not that far in the future. The galaxy has been colonized by humans, and the only means to travel to new star systems is through highly restricted and well defendedSpace Pirates and Zombies takes place far enough in the future that Earth has become a toxic backwater planet, so potentially not that far in the future. The galaxy has been colonized by humans, and the only means to travel to new star systems is through highly restricted and well defended warp gates. It is well known that systems closer to the galactic core become richer and richer as well as more scientifically advanced. This has led to theories of a secret system with a cache of treasure or knowledge at the galactic core feeding this growth. As a pirate, you must assemble a fleet and discover what treasure awaits you there. [Minmax Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Sep 1, 2011
    100
    But suffice to say Space Pirates and Zombies isn't just a grand open-world space action RPG in the tradition of Star Control. It's also a rare expression of zombies that belongs alongside Dead Rising and Atom Zombie Smasher.
  2. Aug 16, 2011
    90
    I'll probably be able to get to the end-game a little quicker this time now that I know how to play, but suffice it to say that if you can get into its brand of action and strategy, SPAZ is easily worth the $15 that MinMax Games are charging.
  3. Sep 4, 2011
    88
    A great indie plenty of depth, choices and fun: one of the best mix of genres in a long time.
  4. Aug 26, 2011
    70
    It takes a while for Space Pirates And Zombies to really play its hand, but that's the trouble with something so wilfully creative - it takes time to peel away the layers. But if you make the effort, it's worth the effort.
  5. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 3, 2011
    70
    Admirable, but maybe not lovable. Requires stubborn determination on the part of the player. Then it's rewarding. [Nov 2011, p.50]
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 4, 2011
    70
    Pirates and zombies. Two popular themes for both filmmakers and game developers make together a strikingly entertaining space shooter. Only if devs had worked harder on A.I. and difficulty balancing. [Issue#208]
  7. Aug 19, 2011
    60
    A valiant first effort from MinMax, and worth at least a try. Especially considering that, like many indie devs, they're adding more content post release.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 60
  2. Negative: 3 out of 60
  1. Apr 8, 2012
    10
    This is a game i toughrouly enjoyed. Sure, there might be some people who don't like this style of game but to them i say this : It's not theThis is a game i toughrouly enjoyed. Sure, there might be some people who don't like this style of game but to them i say this : It's not the game's fault, it's yours. Personally, i found this game to be amazing ! The way you upgrade, explore, discover and fight was simply stunning to me ! They just don't make games like these anymore ! Even better, this game was made by two friends who had a dream : Mission accomplished guys ! Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    Great indie game (in fact its more than a great indie game and I feel it gives many big name hits a sound thrashing), I have recommended thisGreat indie game (in fact its more than a great indie game and I feel it gives many big name hits a sound thrashing), I have recommended this to several friends and another family member is also enjoying it as well, both of us are on chapter 4 and the dynamic of the game has changed quite a lot (I wont spoil how the balance of power/gameplay has changed), plus I have most of the games ships unlocked and there is plenty of variety in how I can build my fleet (I am running a huge drone control ship and my wingmen are in mixed laser/torpedo ships of their relevant tiers which works well so far). On the front screen of the game are details of upcoming new features and you get the feeling that the devs care about their game (there's even a winter mod available in the game at the moment). Well worth the money - the way the good indie games are piling up on steam at the moment I may give up buying full-price games altogether... Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I've played in the last 3-5 years and for certain a game that sits somewhere in the best twenty games I've played. AndOne of the best games I've played in the last 3-5 years and for certain a game that sits somewhere in the best twenty games I've played. And honestly, a game that shares one of twenty seats with timeless classics and extremely fine games such as Star Control, Master of Orion, X-COM, Terra Nova and Battlezone (1998) definitely deserves all these/those praises! Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2011
    8
    It takes some time to get used to the controls in this game, because there's not much that plays the same way out there right now. At first itIt takes some time to get used to the controls in this game, because there's not much that plays the same way out there right now. At first it can be confusing. Once you get used to it, the game is an absolute blast. And for the price it's pretty hard to beat. Expand
  5. Jul 22, 2012
    7
    SPAZ really manages to grabs one by the balls in the first couple of hours but along with it being the games greatest strength, It is also itsSPAZ really manages to grabs one by the balls in the first couple of hours but along with it being the games greatest strength, It is also its biggest flaws. As fun as the first couple of hours will be if you're into space, zombies and all that good stuff, it becomes repetitive real fast. especially if you're having a blast and progressing faster than normally but I guess that's what Indie games are made for. Other than that, It manages to be a bit linear with unlocking new goodies along with a few balance issues here and there but nothing that heavily affects the actual game-play. Buy it on a sale and you won't regret it. Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2012
    6
    Game starts off good but quickly get's very repetitive with similar missions structures and constantly ransacking similar stations. Game isGame starts off good but quickly get's very repetitive with similar missions structures and constantly ransacking similar stations. Game is easily a 7 or so until you reach the final quarter of the game when you reach the core with different enemies and it just gets annoying. I found the game extremely easy but found it annoying that my Beam build was given the shaft on the last enemies and was forced to switch. Annoying and once I switched to an alternate weapon the game was ridiculous easily and the last quarter consisted of me raiding enemy outposts and pressing the fire button repeatedly. The last quarter of the game really just showed me how little there was to the game and really brought out the repetitive nature of it. Decent game but don't go playing full price until they add some content to the later levels. Expand
  7. AWG
    Jul 28, 2013
    4
    Oh, look! A game set in space where you to read tons of witty text to learn how to build ships! And it got "Zombie" in the title! Not boringOh, look! A game set in space where you to read tons of witty text to learn how to build ships! And it got "Zombie" in the title! Not boring or ripetitive at all! SO indie and original! Expand

See all 60 User Reviews