Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Sep 10, 2012
    65
    Below average and short with a few bugs. Pretty much everything about this game says "substandard".
  2. 40
    "Disarming" is not enough to describe this RPG. Six years ago Faith in Destiny would have achieved a great success but for today's standards it's to obsolete and featureless. [Issue#220]
  3. Aug 8, 2012
    50
    SP2: Faith in Destiny is a mess. [Oct 2012, p.69]
  4. Jul 28, 2012
    40
    I imagine that some of the SpellForce fans will love this expansion. For the rest of the world, it's a weird genre hybrid with horrible graphics, silly premise and dubious gameplay mechanics.
  5. Jul 23, 2012
    55
    SpellForce 2's unique mix of role-playing and real-time strategizing makes a return in Faith in Destiny, but it only brings a few new tricks.
  6. Jul 17, 2012
    50
    Faith in Destiny is not a good game, and I could not recommend it to anyone.
  7. Jul 13, 2012
    42
    It's hard to find reasons to play this standalone add-on. It is outdated, visually not really appealing, offers no challenge and minimal multiplayer options.
  8. Jul 9, 2012
    60
    Even with those negative points and the fact that it doesn't add much to the series I still like Faith in Destiny. Despite showing its age at times the core game play is still entertaining and somewhat addictive.
  9. Jul 7, 2012
    60
    SpellForce 2: Faith in Destiny is dated, but that's no surprise. What does surprise is the complete lack of imagination and at the same time a unique and seamless transition between RTS and hack and slash. What it does well, is offer a fun time for those with somewhat lower standards.
  10. Jul 6, 2012
    75
    Spellforce 2: Faith in Destiny isn't a bad game and if you are a fan of RPG and RTS you will like it.
  11. 50
    Playing Spellforce 2 – Faith in Destiny feels like watching a DVD of some show from the 80s. Before you do that, you have all those wonderful memories of heroes long gone. Afterwards you just shake the head and feel old. The world has kept turning during this time. (…) It has to be seen where Nordic Games will go with the license. There is still a lot of potential here.
  12. Jun 19, 2012
    90
    SpellForce 2: Faith in Destiny delivers nothing particularly surprising, it's just how it is: Awesome.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 4 out of 8
  1. Jun 22, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I can't sum up the game fully within 5000 characters so: http://pastebin.com/LzyvaD9x

    In short, its not Spellforce, the story is terrible, they add new characters with no backstory claiming its not important to have one, the game is short consisting of only 4 maps, the design of the new characters and enemies is awful, though that's my opinion and it just insults people that care about the series, the only reason it doesn't get a 1 out of 10 on here is because it has things I like, but they are all the things copied from the other two games. There was no effort put into this and it ends on a horrific cliffhanger and even goes out of its way to disregard plot/lore from the previous games. Avoid this one like the plague, pick up Shadow Wars or Dragon Storm instead.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 20, 2012
    8
    I like it. It's not a simple stand-alone addon, rather than a worthy successor, respectively continuation of the Spellforce Series. The newI like it. It's not a simple stand-alone addon, rather than a worthy successor, respectively continuation of the Spellforce Series. The new levels are challenging but looking pretty good. Thumbs up and I hope we will get some DLC for it. Also a big highlight are the creative cut scenes, the intro as well as the outro. Fresh and stylish! And for 19,99 a good value for money!

    Pros:
    - Good story
    - New Maps
    - New Multiplayer Mode (Domination)
    - Dragon Riding!!!

    Contras:
    - Old Graphics, but still looking good / ok
    - Only Drawback, no free game mode in the game anymore
    - Only male Shaikane playable :(
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 9, 2012
    3
    I completely understand subjectivity in user reviews, but "professional" critics are those that disappoint me ever so often. I played allI completely understand subjectivity in user reviews, but "professional" critics are those that disappoint me ever so often. I played all Spellforce games (expansions included) and LOVED every single one of them despite all the flaws, bugs and such. But this one is different. This game somehow managed to distort all those pleasant memories into something horrible. I'll keep it short. This game is a DISASTER. It has been so long in production maybe I expected much more, or maybe at least the same we got 5 YEARS AGO! Graphics aren't the problem, this game sucks on so many levels, there's nothing new besides a couple of new (enemy) units, story is horribly generic and uninteresting, it's TOO SHORT, voice-over is BAD, cut-scenes are garbage, everything looks like some unfinished product of developer's barren minds.

    I regret ever buying this game, if you're a fan of the series my recommendation is DON'T BUY and rather play Shadow Wars and Dragon Storm, they're diamonds compared to this BS.
    Full Review »