Spore PC

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1724 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RyanH.
    Sep 11, 2008
    1
    Having used this game since it's launch, on my roomates account, I can say that the game itself is not half bad. It isn't what it could have been, and it sure isn't worth 50 $ but it's fun enough to keep me interested for a couple weeks. At least it would be if we were able to play it anymore. The absolute crap DRM bundled with the game has meant that we are now Having used this game since it's launch, on my roomates account, I can say that the game itself is not half bad. It isn't what it could have been, and it sure isn't worth 50 $ but it's fun enough to keep me interested for a couple weeks. At least it would be if we were able to play it anymore. The absolute crap DRM bundled with the game has meant that we are now waiting on EA to give him more activations. He put it on his laptop, and it looked horrible and recommended he update his video drivers for his onboard graphics.... which we did. It still only looked so/so, thus we put it on my computer, no problem. He had ordered a new PC before the game came out, and I had piggy backed my new monitor on his order, they arrived yesterday. First thing on, spore... which now tells him it has reached the install limit ! I tried to put it on mine, with my shiny new 22" LCD. Same thing. Presumably I have a "new" computer since I changed my monitor, and he got a " new " laptop when he updated his video drivers. Now we have to either phone EA at 1.99$ a minute and beg for another activation, or email them which I am led to understand takes months. This is pathetic for something that he paid 50$ for. I might even have bought the damn thing if I had worked out... Next time I'll be more likely to listen to the online crowd rather than put my trust in EA... scratch that, there won't be a 'next time'. I think I will be putting on an eye patch in the future, Yarr! Expand
  2. ThomasP.
    Sep 10, 2008
    2
    Spore is one of those "meh" games, overhyped and underperforming. I'm pretty sure there's way more content Will Wright created then what EA actually put in, saving it for an "expansion" aka "the EA strategy" of sucking as much money out of gamers as they can. Each stage of development feels like an underdeveloped version of a modern game, tied together a cuteness maybe a 6 year Spore is one of those "meh" games, overhyped and underperforming. I'm pretty sure there's way more content Will Wright created then what EA actually put in, saving it for an "expansion" aka "the EA strategy" of sucking as much money out of gamers as they can. Each stage of development feels like an underdeveloped version of a modern game, tied together a cuteness maybe a 6 year old would enjoy. Combine it with its 3 activation limit DRM scheme, which means you basically rent the game, not purchase it, and this is a title which unfortunately, and to my biggest dismay, is a pass. @EA Draconian DRM is not the answer, people will try to get something for free. If you attempted not to suck us dry and force SecuROM down our throats your products would be 100% better. Expand
  3. JohnnyBGhud
    Sep 10, 2008
    0
    This game was ruined by the DRM. I feel so stupid for buying this when people who download it illegally don't even have to worry about the DRM.
  4. MarcosO.
    Sep 11, 2008
    0
    ... 4 years of waiting, 59.95
  5. DM
    Sep 10, 2008
    3
    Great simulator. Okay game. Horrible DRM. Lack of challenge and consequence in the beginning, and the computer nagging you at the end (which is most of the game)... if those issues could be addressed, this may be a 10. Despite my game play complaints, this game's potential lies in its longevity. While you won't play it for weeks on end (like Oblivion), the endless replay value Great simulator. Okay game. Horrible DRM. Lack of challenge and consequence in the beginning, and the computer nagging you at the end (which is most of the game)... if those issues could be addressed, this may be a 10. Despite my game play complaints, this game's potential lies in its longevity. While you won't play it for weeks on end (like Oblivion), the endless replay value makes this game an 8 to me. But, considering how I won't be allowed to play this game in about a year, maybe less, that replay value is gone. Thank you EA for DRM-ing this game beyond usefulness. I'll be nice and assume I'll almost get to play this game almost half as much as I'd like, so my 8 becomes a 3 (very tempted to give a 0 just to spite EA). As is, I'd recommend waiting for a price drop, hoping EA drops the DRM, or wait for other games to take after Spore's style (and do a better job of the sub-genres). If you are sure you are fine with the 3-install limit, and have no issues with secuROM, then it is a good game. Just be sure to get the most out of those 3 installs (or 4 if you can get one). Expand
  6. JimboH.
    Sep 11, 2008
    4
    Lets review here: This is a game for casual gamers, yet requires a pretty decent computer that casual gamers wouldn't have. Its gameplay is simple and introductory, the kind of game to introduce you to other genres (so in other words, seems geared towards kids), yet you have to be 13 and older to use the online content (the whole point of the game really) and thanks to the penis Lets review here: This is a game for casual gamers, yet requires a pretty decent computer that casual gamers wouldn't have. Its gameplay is simple and introductory, the kind of game to introduce you to other genres (so in other words, seems geared towards kids), yet you have to be 13 and older to use the online content (the whole point of the game really) and thanks to the penis creatures and filthy named creatures you may come across, its not suitable for kids. Additionally, the explanation for the stages I found to be insufficient for casual gamers (i.e. my girlfriend), and the fact you only get one game save means that it is indeed possible to save the game at the verge of destruction and be forced to start over from scratch. Thats not very casual friendly. Once you buy the game and realize that there isn't much to it at all, you'll probably want to sell it. Then something starts to make sense. You cannot return this game. You cannot give it to someone else (it's tied to your EA account), and you can only install it 3 times, with uninstalling it NOT giving you back an install. Honestly, who wants to join me in a class action lawsuit, no where on this box does it state that limitation. Expand
  7. AdamB
    Sep 11, 2008
    0
    This game was fun for the first 10 minutes, before my guy became a tribe. Upon further recollection, the fact that once you collect so many pieces of meat or green whatevers you can't add more DNA points is pretty annoying. When you get to the creature stage, all you can do is run around killing or singing/dancing/shaking your behind/whatever and going back to the nest to have This game was fun for the first 10 minutes, before my guy became a tribe. Upon further recollection, the fact that once you collect so many pieces of meat or green whatevers you can't add more DNA points is pretty annoying. When you get to the creature stage, all you can do is run around killing or singing/dancing/shaking your behind/whatever and going back to the nest to have another generation. It gets really repetitive and boring very quickly. There seemed to be a lot of replayability, but in reality, it's just the same thing over and over again. At least with SimCity, you could build your city in different ways, but there is only one path in this game, really... eat plants or meat, kill or impress other creatures, play music for or kill other tribes, etc. I can't believe how much the critics are wrong on this issue. It is obvious they are bought off by EA. My 6 year old nephew who has been playing Age of Empires (the original!) got bored with how easy SPORE was. That's how incredibly worthless this game is... a 10 year old game is more challenging than Spore is. Simply a waste. Expand
  8. JohnS
    Sep 10, 2008
    1
    *yawn* Most boring piece of crap I've ever played. I have nothing constructive to say other than don't play this. EA Fails once again.
  9. AlbertE.
    Sep 10, 2008
    0
    The game is childish and uninteresting after small quantities of gameplay. I was really hoping for something better, wow.
  10. PanzerS.
    Sep 10, 2008
    4
    The Space age is poorly designed your either paying ridiculous sums of money to keep out of war or constantly running all over to protect yourself
  11. HansL.
    Sep 10, 2008
    0
    5 mini games with shortcomings, all glued togheter poorly by a creature tool creator, and fake online capabilities. The digital rights management is a joke -and illegal in certain states in the USA- Believe most of us here, and don't buy this title, don't waste your hard earned money.
  12. mephmeph
    Sep 10, 2008
    0
    totaly not worth buying, i dont get why reviews are giving it 90% its really simple and shitty, they could have made it alot better! Games creator said that they only wanted to make money with spore like in sims and not focus on gameplay like in halflife, yeah right...
  13. RichardS.
    Sep 10, 2008
    2
    Intresting concept poorly implemented. Game's just not fun to play. It's too much of a grind not what you expect in a sandbox game. Space stage has some major balance issues its like they didn't play test at all. Basicly a tech demo thats not fun to play similar to Black & white.
  14. Jimes
    Sep 10, 2008
    3
    Interesting Concept, Poor execution. Will Wright had to falter somewhere. DRM issues are just the beginning of the problems with what should have been an awesome game. The first planet I played on, after completing the Civilization section, I designed my spaceship and prepared to rocket into space. Only to be grounded permanently because my spaceship was caught in endless confliction with Interesting Concept, Poor execution. Will Wright had to falter somewhere. DRM issues are just the beginning of the problems with what should have been an awesome game. The first planet I played on, after completing the Civilization section, I designed my spaceship and prepared to rocket into space. Only to be grounded permanently because my spaceship was caught in endless confliction with the buildings in my town. My second attempted ended at the start of the creature phase, where upon running 10 feet ashore, my creature was swallowed up by a sea monster out of the sand. (Wait...What?) The gameplay is far too shallow for what was promised, you can play anyway you want, but at the end, you're lumped into one of three very general categories. You can max out your stats way to easily. What I'm trying to get at is this; Spore feels like five or six half decent flash games cobbled together that you have to pay 'AAA' game price for. I wish I could give my copy back. Expand
  15. ChrisD.
    Sep 10, 2008
    1
    I've played free flash games more deep and entertaining than this. This game has no depth or complexity whatsoever. "Evolution" is just using points you get from killing things to buy new parts and drag them on to your guy. The controls and camera are also terrible. This game brings absolutely NOTHING new or innovative in terms of gameplay. The only well-developed part of the game is I've played free flash games more deep and entertaining than this. This game has no depth or complexity whatsoever. "Evolution" is just using points you get from killing things to buy new parts and drag them on to your guy. The controls and camera are also terrible. This game brings absolutely NOTHING new or innovative in terms of gameplay. The only well-developed part of the game is the creature creator, and even that gets boring once you've made a couple creatures. This is probably the worst big-budget, hyped game I've ever played. Expand
  16. LouV.
    Sep 10, 2008
    3
    DRM is a No Go Zone for me. Space Stage is the only stage worth playing, I have two PC's at home and if I ever have to reformat one of them i'll use up all my installs [3 installs] and am forced to call a NON TOLL FREE NUMBER.
  17. DougC
    Sep 10, 2008
    0
    This game is plagued by DRM, a variety of install issues, and has been striped of it's original intent, that made our collective mouths water years ago. This game is a failure on EA's part, and I feel the shame Mr. Wright must feel knowing his biggest fans were the ones feeling rejected by the biggest let down.
  18. BobT.
    Sep 10, 2008
    0
    I have been looking forward to Spore for 2+ years. Sadly I will not be able to play it. I refuse to be treated like a criminal. I will not be forced to prove I own a legitimate copy, nor will I stoop to downloading the cracked version (the only one that runs without invasive DRM). My apologies EA, but I cannot condone the practice of shafting your customers. DRM only hurts those who buy I have been looking forward to Spore for 2+ years. Sadly I will not be able to play it. I refuse to be treated like a criminal. I will not be forced to prove I own a legitimate copy, nor will I stoop to downloading the cracked version (the only one that runs without invasive DRM). My apologies EA, but I cannot condone the practice of shafting your customers. DRM only hurts those who buy legitimate copies. Expand
  19. ChristianK.
    Sep 12, 2008
    0
    Id rate the game itself a 5, it is a new and creative concept, but it felt like 5 different kids games rolled into one. There is no evolution involved when you "find" new arms and legs sitting on the ground. The tribal and city phases are garbage, you fight the same races with the same units. How anyone ever thought that you could make an RTS game with 1 tank, 1 ship and 1 plane is beyond Id rate the game itself a 5, it is a new and creative concept, but it felt like 5 different kids games rolled into one. There is no evolution involved when you "find" new arms and legs sitting on the ground. The tribal and city phases are garbage, you fight the same races with the same units. How anyone ever thought that you could make an RTS game with 1 tank, 1 ship and 1 plane is beyond my comprehension. The space phase is cool for roughly five or six hours, but yet again its just a space empire sim for 12 year old kids and little old ladies (who probably wont play past the creature phase anyway) Basically you pay $50 for the creature creator, 4 minigames, and a graphical social networking program. Ohh yeah and then there is why i gave the game a 0 and not a 5. By buying this game, EA ASSUMES you are a pirate and will treat you as such. The DRM is ridiculous. Their DRM is THE definition of malware, ohh and in case you didn't know, you are renting this game from EA. Yep your money only buys you the privilege to play this game which EA can revoke at any time for any reason. So when some suit in EA HQ gets up on the wrong side of the bed he can instantly invalidate your software. Ohh yeah, and when you unistall make sure you reformat because their DRM stays on your disks to make sure you cant steal any more of EAs precious money. Expand
  20. DJ
    Sep 10, 2008
    1
    I had been looking forward to this game but completely evil DRM makes it a no go. It is not as if everyone didn't tell them that we didn't want SecuRom on there. Check the reviews on Amazon too. Save your time and money for Fallout 3 and Starcraft 2.
  21. AnonymousMC
    Sep 12, 2008
    3
    So disappointed by this game as I had been tracking Spore for many months and bought it on the morning of release! It's an interesting concept, but that's as far as it goes. It is poorly let down by it's over simplistic gameplay, clunky game mechanics and dodgy AI. Plus now I can't even sell it, owing to it's DRM (I won't be
    buying any other product using
    So disappointed by this game as I had been tracking Spore for many months and bought it on the morning of release! It's an interesting concept, but that's as far as it goes. It is poorly let down by it's over simplistic gameplay, clunky game mechanics and dodgy AI. Plus now I can't even sell it, owing to it's DRM (I won't be
    buying any other product using this). At least now I've learnt my lesson - to wait at least a month after release and make more of an educated guess on whether to shell out for a game or not. Even the major games magazines were blinded by the hype on this one it seems... alot of generous scores out there.
    Expand
  22. RebelS.
    Sep 12, 2008
    1
    When I first heard about this I was intrigued,
  23. NortonM.
    Sep 12, 2008
    0
    The game is okay. It's a bit shallow because it seems to lack depth in every aspect with the exception of creating a creature, which seems to have many customization options. Unfortunately, I won't be purchasing this product because I'm a firm believer in actually owning a product that I buy, especially if it's fairly expensive. If I want to rent a game, I'll take The game is okay. It's a bit shallow because it seems to lack depth in every aspect with the exception of creating a creature, which seems to have many customization options. Unfortunately, I won't be purchasing this product because I'm a firm believer in actually owning a product that I buy, especially if it's fairly expensive. If I want to rent a game, I'll take my business to Blockbuster Video. I will not purchase a game that I can only install on my system only three times, and I refuse to install any DRM-infected software on my computer! ...and no. I never pirated this game, nor have I downloaded or installed any pirated copies of this game on my computer. Expand
  24. KatrinaB
    Sep 10, 2008
    1
    This is one of the worst games I've ever played. The editors are average, and that's the best thing you can say for it. This game is a horrible 2D action game, horrible RPG, terrible RTS, atrocious CIV, and useless 4X all rolled in to one. Not only is every single stage worse than just playing the tutorial level of another game of that levels genre, they are also all worthless This is one of the worst games I've ever played. The editors are average, and that's the best thing you can say for it. This game is a horrible 2D action game, horrible RPG, terrible RTS, atrocious CIV, and useless 4X all rolled in to one. Not only is every single stage worse than just playing the tutorial level of another game of that levels genre, they are also all worthless on their own merits. Avoid at all costs. Expand
  25. JWon
    Sep 12, 2008
    2
    I think Spore sucks for the same reasons that have been stated repeatedly. Weak gameplay, crazy DRM, boring after the first two hours of play, ect. But what really makes this game suck are the hoards of people telling me that it's because I don't know how to use my imagination and am not "getting" the game. I get the game. In fact, I spent $50 to get the game. Noone's more I think Spore sucks for the same reasons that have been stated repeatedly. Weak gameplay, crazy DRM, boring after the first two hours of play, ect. But what really makes this game suck are the hoards of people telling me that it's because I don't know how to use my imagination and am not "getting" the game. I get the game. In fact, I spent $50 to get the game. Noone's more disppointed in the fact that instead of playing the game I've been waiting years to be released, I'm on message boards trying to save my fellow earthlings from wasting money on this insultingly stupid game. DRM is instrusive and unnessecary, but you can believe it's not the only reason people are saying this game is a waste. Expand
  26. dsalas
    Sep 12, 2008
    3
    I purchased this game but did not open; was waiting for reviews. drm was an issue but one that i figured i could bear with. almost opened the game but when i found out that each install only allowed one player not multiple household players with different saved games or even one player with different saved games, i knew then this was one game i would be returning.
  27. NormC.
    Sep 12, 2008
    0
    3 activations? Even if this game was the best in the world... (which it isnt by the way) i am NOT putting up with draconian DRM on my games. EA fooled me once with Battlefield. NEVER AGAIN.
  28. CRoth
    Sep 12, 2008
    2
    The promise of Spore was that the adaptations one applied to a creature would perform similarly to adaptations in a natural scheme of evolution: long arms allow access to food up in trees, larger teeth mean better attacks, eyes on opposite sides of the skull allow for better surveillance of potential danger. These are the advantages of evolution: they confer a selective advantage of The promise of Spore was that the adaptations one applied to a creature would perform similarly to adaptations in a natural scheme of evolution: long arms allow access to food up in trees, larger teeth mean better attacks, eyes on opposite sides of the skull allow for better surveillance of potential danger. These are the advantages of evolution: they confer a selective advantage of organisms to exist in an environment of heat, wind, light, dark, predators, etc... Sproe shows none of this intellectual promise, absolutely none. Instead, Spore is simply a combination of ersatz games with the addition creature design that confers nothing except aesthetic value. And all the talk of the limitless possibilities are meaningless: user-generated content is fine, but when the scope of that content is nothing more than skin-deep, who cares? When I first heard about Spore, I was thrilled to think someone would make a game truly based on adaptation. I expected physical traits to confer advantage, and thus to simulate a basic form of evolution. Did EA get frightened off due to the anachronistic and downright pathetic argument over some purely fabricated conflict between the Theory of Evolution and Judeo-Christian ethos? Have we seen yet another casualty of this moronic culture war tha's been drummed up by political operatives? Have we Americans completely forsaken any kind of intellectual advancement in our entertainment for fear that a consumer-bloc might refuse to consume? Spore offered a profound advancement in gaming: a real intelligent design produced by the gamer him/herself. It offered a real evolution of gaming, and an opportunity to educate through real fun. Instead, it is a shadow of a game, a waste of fifty dollars, and a complete supplication to a bottom line of profit rather than quality. I can't imagine who is truly responsible for the failures of this game, and others, that likely fall prey to the approvals necessary in corporate production, but surely someone is responsible for taking a good idea and dragging it through the mud. And as for all the gaming magazines, subsidized by manufacturer advertising, the incestuous relationship is obvious: there is little or no objective review of the gaming industry. Reviewers are clearly reluctant to criticize a major flop from a big company. Between a production company that clearly missed the boat and reviewers blinded by proximity to their subject, it would seem that everyone dropped the ball on Spore. My only hope is that Mr. Wright, who has shown extraordinary genius in his previous ventures, will rise to the occasion and offer an expansion pack (which ought to be free, cause this thing isn't worth ten bucks, much less fifty), that will make this game the smart product is ought to have been. Expand
  29. NathanH
    Sep 13, 2008
    3
    It's amazing that a game that's supposed to be about playing in a sandbox would be such a pain to play. It's more like a sandbox where a bully keeps throwing sand in your face. Want to explore space? Too bad, you have to solve dull and repetitive eco-disasters and pirate raids. Even trading is little more than flying aimlessly around, as the spice economy has no It's amazing that a game that's supposed to be about playing in a sandbox would be such a pain to play. It's more like a sandbox where a bully keeps throwing sand in your face. Want to explore space? Too bad, you have to solve dull and repetitive eco-disasters and pirate raids. Even trading is little more than flying aimlessly around, as the spice economy has no identifiable logic. All in all, a huge disappointment. Expand
  30. MattL
    Sep 13, 2008
    3
    I had really high hopes for this game, but i must admit i've been very disappointed with what my money bought me. The game is basically made up of the same type of minigames you can play for free on the web. The only good thing about it is the ability to design your own creature, vehicles etc... But that's it. So when you get out your $50 for what's effecitvely just a big I had really high hopes for this game, but i must admit i've been very disappointed with what my money bought me. The game is basically made up of the same type of minigames you can play for free on the web. The only good thing about it is the ability to design your own creature, vehicles etc... But that's it. So when you get out your $50 for what's effecitvely just a big box of lego, ask yourself how vivid is your imagination, because without excessive amounts spore will not entertain you. Expand
  31. AlexD
    Sep 13, 2008
    2
    I am so disappointed of this game. It promised so much and fulfilled so little. It's buggy. It's dumb. Each game is a bad watered down version of a full game, it seems. Little freedom, opposed to a promised sandbox. The AI is nuts. The system usually consists of a bad AI, good AI or a middle something. This is really, really boring. Because the focus in the space-stage seems to I am so disappointed of this game. It promised so much and fulfilled so little. It's buggy. It's dumb. Each game is a bad watered down version of a full game, it seems. Little freedom, opposed to a promised sandbox. The AI is nuts. The system usually consists of a bad AI, good AI or a middle something. This is really, really boring. Because the focus in the space-stage seems to be this stupid RTS, and not the sandbox and content.creration. Some stages are fun, the editor is outstanding, but much else seems awfully half-assed. Sucks. Not much reason to say more.. I argued about Spore with a lot friends, for a lot of time, already. Sad, and I'd like my money back. Expand
  32. bb.
    Sep 13, 2008
    0
    Spore is one of the worst executions of a game ever. The game unfairly forces you to cram through each level. When we go from level to level, why do we lose all the abilities and challenges presented in the previous level? At a minimum we should still have to manage all of those challenges (food in the tribal level, for example) if in a watered-down way. The levels are completely Spore is one of the worst executions of a game ever. The game unfairly forces you to cram through each level. When we go from level to level, why do we lose all the abilities and challenges presented in the previous level? At a minimum we should still have to manage all of those challenges (food in the tribal level, for example) if in a watered-down way. The levels are completely disconnected from each other. The game never actually increases in scope. As you progress it throws away everything you've accomplished up to that point. Very early on, Will Wright said the thing that's enjoyable about a game is the process of learning. Why did I spend all that time learning how to capture food, improve creature abilities, ally with tribes, conquer cities, etc? As you learn, the game throws away any purpose for having gained any of that knowledge. I'm not Sisyphus. Don't treat me like him. When I learn something, I want to use that knowledge to achieve something. When I achieve I want to be able to tell everyone "look what I achieved." In Spore, you can't actually achieve anything (without hundreds of hours of mind numbing inanity). It is not an open ended or "requires-imagination" game, either (unless you spend 100% of your time in the creature creator, to which I say don't buy the full version, because you've already been given the creator for free). When in space, the game incessantly nags you with "your home planet is under attack!" If by open-ended you mean I can decide to let my home world be destroyed, then you've really captured the harsh open-endedness of life, now haven't you? Will Wright was wrong when he said they'd acheived a great balance between the two development camps; the ultra-scientific, and the ultra-simple "Sim" camp. There is absolutely nothing scientific about any limits imposed in this game (building/ship editor costs, max cities per planet, max buildings per city, price paid for goods bought/sold at any planet). Nor is there any "fun" simulating in this game. Throwing attackers at my home planet consistently every three minutes is just aggravating. I truly wish I could get my money back. Do not buy this game. There are much more enjoyable games for your hard earned dollars. Expand
  33. StephenK.
    Sep 13, 2008
    0
    If i felt comfortable installing this, it would be a 6. The game is VERY dumbed down with your characters appearance and evolution having little efect on gameplay other than aesthetic. But with the DRM issue of 3 installs, this game becomes unplayable, hence a 0.
  34. BobJ.
    Sep 13, 2008
    2
    Game is shallow and has almost nothing to do with evoloution.
  35. AnneR
    Sep 13, 2008
    2
    I've been waiting for this a long time. Now I'm bored and annoyed just getting one creature to the civilization phase. The controls are not intuitive and change with every phase so you can't get used to them. Phases last a very short amount of time. Nothing evolves. You get to add parts, but there's no sense of true evolution. And after awhile you can't add parts I've been waiting for this a long time. Now I'm bored and annoyed just getting one creature to the civilization phase. The controls are not intuitive and change with every phase so you can't get used to them. Phases last a very short amount of time. Nothing evolves. You get to add parts, but there's no sense of true evolution. And after awhile you can't add parts anymore either. I loved the CIV games. I loved SimCity and the Sims. I had a great time with Caesar and Pharaoh and Age of Empires, Diablo and WoW but this had none of the joy of any of them. Being able to install it 3 times is 2 too many. Expand
  36. ChristopherC.
    Sep 13, 2008
    1
    There is no gameplay to speak of,. just repetitive and unrewarding tasks. Such a terrible shame. If only some one in the testing department had tried playing it rather then making creatures. The creating components are good fun. but that
  37. DKK.
    Sep 13, 2008
    2
    I am an EA fan, a Will Wright fan, and I could give a crap about DRM. I was ready to love this. I don't. It's beautiful, but it's boring.
  38. JB.
    Sep 13, 2008
    1
    Biggest Disappointment of 2008. I followed Spore since I heard about it in '06. Seriously, WTF happened? Maxis had such a great game and then two years later I'm stuck with this buggy stripped down version. It feels like I am playing a kids game on a console. Spore had the most potential than any other game ever made but thanks to EA that opportunity is lost and Maxis/Will Biggest Disappointment of 2008. I followed Spore since I heard about it in '06. Seriously, WTF happened? Maxis had such a great game and then two years later I'm stuck with this buggy stripped down version. It feels like I am playing a kids game on a console. Spore had the most potential than any other game ever made but thanks to EA that opportunity is lost and Maxis/Will Wright is looking like a tool. Spore is an EPIC FAIL. Expand
  39. Ben
    Sep 13, 2008
    3
    A real missed opportunity. I had been looking forward to this game for ages and am disappointed. Designing creatures/buildings/vehicles has little to no impact on how they perform in game - this being the case you may as well shut down the game and pick up some lego instead. The 5 stages seem completely disjointed, as performance in a previous stage has little to no impact on the next A real missed opportunity. I had been looking forward to this game for ages and am disappointed. Designing creatures/buildings/vehicles has little to no impact on how they perform in game - this being the case you may as well shut down the game and pick up some lego instead. The 5 stages seem completely disjointed, as performance in a previous stage has little to no impact on the next (you can also COMPLETELY redesign your creature whenever you like so there's no sense of progress either). All stages are far too simplistic and have some strange features - for example in the creature stage it makes no difference whether you add one spike or 50, your creature still has the same attack skill. Also I found the controls for the space stage atrocious - I seemed to spend the whole time scrolling in and out, which is as dull as it sounds. Its basically 5 slightly sub-average games rolled into one. I'd advise waiting until it comes down to £10 or so before buying, it's not worth more than that. Expand
  40. williamv.
    Sep 13, 2008
    0
    all the stages of this game are boring and repetetive. the worst is all the micro management of the space stage. sure you're an all powerful alien space faring empire... but you can only make one ship at a time? you can't even make small ships to defend your planets? you have to micromanage stupid little details such as alien attacks or ecodisasters? seriously, c'mon, in all the stages of this game are boring and repetetive. the worst is all the micro management of the space stage. sure you're an all powerful alien space faring empire... but you can only make one ship at a time? you can't even make small ships to defend your planets? you have to micromanage stupid little details such as alien attacks or ecodisasters? seriously, c'mon, in much older RTS games it seems like you could make minions to carry out the tedious tasks. even in sim city you could build fire stations and police stations so you didn't have to do everything yourself. this becomes even more frustrating when other space faring groups attack your planets or when you attack theirs... they don't seem to have a "one space ship per empire" standard applied to them... just go to the center and talk to the gronk {think thats' their name}. they seem to have as many ships as they want and their development isn't bogged down by the minutiae of governance. and don't even get me started on the fact that you can't make ships to collect the spices from your colonies for you. seriously, i have to fly to each star system myself? when i could be exploring this massive universe you've given us? i own/inhabit over sixty star systems and if i want to keep them all and/or profit from them i have to continually watch over them and visit them like a super shepherd who can never, ever, leave his flock. the bottom line is that if you really want to explore and have fun with the game you're going to lose planets, star systems, or at least money because even though you're an all powerful space faring empire you can't seem to do anything except depend on one ship {piloted by the user} to do each and every little detail. other frustrations with the space age are the fact that trade routes give you no income. none. the only point of a trade route, it seems, is that eventually the star system in question becomes available to purchase. the second major frustration {outside of the paragraphs above} is the UI used when battling on a planet. the controls for the dog fights are atrocious and the camera angle, during the fighting, is unhelpful to say the least. there are so many little things that could have been changed to make the space age of spore truly glorious and truly fun. after a couple nights play on the game, {probably about 10 hours spent on the space age altogether}, i can honestly say that i'm completely sick of it. i was really looking forward to this game for the past year or so, but i've been nothing but letdown by the release {both gameplay and DRM are pretty crap}. i just can't believe they didn't fix or even seem to understand some of these issues during their beta testing. who do they have playing these games up at EA? maybe they'll fix some of these issues with patches, updates, etc. more than likely though anything that fixes or expands the game will be sold separately as an expansion pack. sorry EA, you won't be getting any more money from me or my friends in the spore franchise. Expand
  41. dc
    Sep 14, 2008
    1
    Spore was said to be a great game with a way innovative game play that would allow user to make the universe their own way... This needless to say did not happen not even close, most of the time it is the same repetitive actions of go here do as your told type play... Total let down on the side of EA they had a great idea and totally burned it at the stake. too easy and this game HAS Spore was said to be a great game with a way innovative game play that would allow user to make the universe their own way... This needless to say did not happen not even close, most of the time it is the same repetitive actions of go here do as your told type play... Total let down on the side of EA they had a great idea and totally burned it at the stake. too easy and this game HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH EVOLUTION! ITS MORE LIKE A CREATIONIST GAME - everything is set out for you and you do the same things every time you play it - no matter which role you take. The game itself is alright Expand
  42. DanyR
    Sep 14, 2008
    4
    So much potential crippled by so many bugs and incomplete, repetitive and downright annoying gameplay. I had great hopes in Spore, but I was Spwned by EA and it's miserable DRM, QA and lousy technical support staff. I don't blame Maxis though, EA is responsible for Spore's lack of real appeal for real gamers.
  43. V.B.
    Sep 14, 2008
    0
    DRM is a dealbreaker anyway, but the game has been reduced to nothingness. The design of your creature couldn't matter less. No significant evolution, which was supposedly the point of the game. You can make creatures that would never survive do just fine, which means there's no payoff to taking the time to design a creature well. Stupid, stupid game, and incredible disappointment.
  44. ColinB
    Sep 14, 2008
    2
    A bitter disappointment. Yes, the world is very pretty to look at, and the creature creator is a nifty little toy...but the game play is abysmal. The game shifts between different genres, hopelessly attempting to provide a unique and deep experience, but every stage is just becomes a boring, simplified genre exercise without any sense of adventure, fun, or immersion. It's like I A bitter disappointment. Yes, the world is very pretty to look at, and the creature creator is a nifty little toy...but the game play is abysmal. The game shifts between different genres, hopelessly attempting to provide a unique and deep experience, but every stage is just becomes a boring, simplified genre exercise without any sense of adventure, fun, or immersion. It's like I asked for a heaping bowl of thick, delicious chocolate ice cream that would take me a long time to completely savor, but instead I receive a small bowl of low-fat frozen yogurt in assorted flavors that is presented nicely but tastes like a loathsome combination of five kinds of Gerber's baby mush. And don't worry, I despise the DRM as much as the next man, but that did not affect my opinion of Spore. It is simply one of the greatest gaming failures in history. Will Wright's yacht has capsized...time to hop aboard the FAILBOAT! Expand
  45. intervaljones
    Sep 14, 2008
    0
    Bad DRM plus lies in the manual regarding the number of online accounts a game can have plus watered down gaming action = lowest possible score. Ignore the glowing reviews, they are obviously EA shills.
  46. ChrisB.
    Sep 14, 2008
    3
    This game could have been good but it never settles down. Its like spinning plates, just end up rushing around in an attempt to get nowhere. Really badly thought out and generally not enough content. Shame.
  47. JohnD.
    Sep 14, 2008
    1
    Aweful DRM, worse gameplay. The creators are great but the game is absolutely mind-numbingly dull.
  48. MargorieS
    Sep 14, 2008
    1
    I should have saved the $50. I heard this was the latest from the guy who made the Sims and I loved the Sims, but this is awful. The first 2 games are Ok, but not really fun, and then the 3rd game feels like I'm playing counterstrike or something. Bad game design, and stupid key commands. I can't get used to them (no invert mouse) and so it's really no fun to struggle along I should have saved the $50. I heard this was the latest from the guy who made the Sims and I loved the Sims, but this is awful. The first 2 games are Ok, but not really fun, and then the 3rd game feels like I'm playing counterstrike or something. Bad game design, and stupid key commands. I can't get used to them (no invert mouse) and so it's really no fun to struggle along trying to play. So many things wrong this stupid title. Expand
  49. Peter.P.
    Sep 15, 2008
    0
    Damn, I already used up all my 3 activation as I used an USB flash stick. Aparently any hardware change, including adding/removing hard drives will use up an activation. And to the PC, a USB stick is a hard drive. Was a little fun while it lated, I only got to the tribal stage but it seemed a bit dumbed down. Beware of USB flash sticks if you plan to play this or any future EA products.
  50. PauloP.
    Sep 15, 2008
    2
    A bland game that falls quite short of its huge tall order. It would deserve a modest 5. Why do I give it 2? Because the protection scheme is just a disrespect for buyers.
  51. AnonymousMC
    Sep 15, 2008
    0
    Absolutely greatest letdown in gaming history. A mile wide but an inch deep. user content system dosn't save it game it makes you want it to be something it isn't; a compelling and fun game. space phase is absolutely frustrating and not open ended in the least. forced to be a slave to greater empires who spring up immediately and some who hate you instanly for no reason and wontAbsolutely greatest letdown in gaming history. A mile wide but an inch deep. user content system dosn't save it game it makes you want it to be something it isn't; a compelling and fun game. space phase is absolutely frustrating and not open ended in the least. forced to be a slave to greater empires who spring up immediately and some who hate you instanly for no reason and wont let you do "diplomacy" with them. Add in the terrible DRM called SECUROM and you've got yourself a totally disappointing game the likes of which i've never seen before. Expand
  52. FirionaV.
    Sep 15, 2008
    1
    You've got to be kidding me. People are giving this game more than a 1 score?? It sucks unbelievably and offers nothing unique. 5 unrelated POS mini-games with no cohesion, no multiplayer, lousy controls and camera. BARF!
  53. gordonw.
    Sep 15, 2008
    0
    The DRM policy is unacceptable. EA has been dishonest about the reason. The real reason is to prevent used game sales. No one will have time to stay on hold while calling in for additional activations. So this becomes rental software. No way can you expect to be able to install the game again several years later on a whim.
  54. JackB.
    Sep 15, 2008
    1
    Worst pos I've ever purchased. Last time I buy something on the strength of its author. I thought this guy did the Sims?
  55. AliciaC.
    Sep 15, 2008
    0
    This game is a rental not a purchase. Just wait for someone to crack it and get it free.
  56. BarrettG.
    Sep 16, 2008
    1
    Draconian DRM. Don't make me activate. Don't check what other software I have on my machine, that simply stupid. Loads of people are pirating this game right now. I will not be doing so, but I won't be buying it either.
  57. Jax
    Sep 16, 2008
    0
    Crippling, Draconian DRM that must be stopped, and it seems the only way to get Publishers to listen is by giving them poor reviews for it.
  58. RawrR.
    Sep 16, 2008
    3
    They bet everything on originality, and it hasn't paid off. It's a terribly designed game, full of flaws, bugs and not much else. I wouldn't be surprised if all they have done for the last 3 and a half years is play with their own editor. Not to mention EA screwed it up.
  59. rong.
    Sep 16, 2008
    1
    Wow, I've never posted here before about a game, but this game sucks so bad I had to say somethiing. especially the way they are marketing around it, like it's the 2nd coming of christ or something. Personally I found it boring, buggy, and very hard to control. and you can't change the controls, so I'm stuck with the controls. a bunch of stupid mini games, like some Wow, I've never posted here before about a game, but this game sucks so bad I had to say somethiing. especially the way they are marketing around it, like it's the 2nd coming of christ or something. Personally I found it boring, buggy, and very hard to control. and you can't change the controls, so I'm stuck with the controls. a bunch of stupid mini games, like some kind of lame-ass mario party game, except no fun, and single player party games lol. Man, what a loser of a way to spend $50. And I can't take it back! Expand
  60. stevenl.
    Sep 16, 2008
    1
    Worst.Game.Ever. Bad DRM, bad install, bad gameplay, bad controls, bad continuity between mini-games, bad karma all around. Save your money.
  61. TimS.
    Sep 16, 2008
    2
    Medocre game, disappointing. That's before you even get to the DRM. Severly Overhyped would be the apropriate description of this game.
  62. AJ
    Sep 17, 2008
    1
    The game grows progressively worse as you move through the stages, with the bonus that you'll find your efforts and choices through the game become entirely meaningless by the space age. Of particular note is the complete lack of content and tedium that makes up the Space Age in its entirety. I'd go so far as to say this was less a game than a beta demo of a toy. Incomplete and The game grows progressively worse as you move through the stages, with the bonus that you'll find your efforts and choices through the game become entirely meaningless by the space age. Of particular note is the complete lack of content and tedium that makes up the Space Age in its entirety. I'd go so far as to say this was less a game than a beta demo of a toy. Incomplete and waiting for another year's worth of work to fill it out. This "game" is garbage. Avoid. Expand
  63. donnyv.
    Sep 17, 2008
    3
    WOW I was REALLY hoping for more from the most freaking hyped game of the century. The only fun part of the game is the creature creator...the rest is just not at all interesting. And in a world of multiplayer/mmo etc, this has almost zero to offer social gamers, not a deal killer, but it really could have been incorporated. Did this REALLY take that long to make? ugh. I want my $50 back.
  64. WilliamI.
    Sep 17, 2008
    1
    This is just a bunch of mini-games each of which have been done better dozens of times.
  65. jasonh.
    Sep 18, 2008
    3
    The game is broken into 5 stages. Stage one is a mini game like fl0w, but not as good. The second sections plays like pokemon, but not as good, the third section plays like an mmo/rts, but with no depth, the fourth section play like civilization but with no depth, and the 5th section, space, plays like a space based rts but with no people. I wasted so much money on this game to only be The game is broken into 5 stages. Stage one is a mini game like fl0w, but not as good. The second sections plays like pokemon, but not as good, the third section plays like an mmo/rts, but with no depth, the fourth section play like civilization but with no depth, and the 5th section, space, plays like a space based rts but with no people. I wasted so much money on this game to only be entertained for a few hours by the novelty of making your own creatures. i should have just bought creature creator and saved myself 40$ because ive already played better versions of all these sections. This game is not new or innovative its a huge step back in every genre it encompasses with a nifty customization tool tacked on. Expand
  66. ZebloonT.
    Sep 18, 2008
    0
    Wow. I can't believe this thing. And the critics gave this favorable reviews? Come on. You look at the stuff said in the interviews, look at all the material before the game came out - and now look. If I could take it back, I would. Unfortunately I have bought a partially complete, if not totally stripped game. Like, what the you know what? Seriously? Were these game critics given Wow. I can't believe this thing. And the critics gave this favorable reviews? Come on. You look at the stuff said in the interviews, look at all the material before the game came out - and now look. If I could take it back, I would. Unfortunately I have bought a partially complete, if not totally stripped game. Like, what the you know what? Seriously? Were these game critics given different games? This is a sham and a scam, because if they do plan on releasing more stuff - its going to be 40 dollar expansion packs for a game that was called 'so expansive it wont need expansions'. I paid 83 dollars on this thinking I was getting the real deal, the version talked about. I pre-ordered, so, of course I had no idea. Now I know to NEVER PRE ORDER ANY GAME. Wait a week or two for the reviews. My god, what have they done? Expand
  67. MP
    Sep 18, 2008
    4
    I really enjoy the graphic interface in every stage of the game, such as how at the beginning you can see huge creatures out of focus when your small and also in each stage of the game the camera zooms out so you can see more of the planet. The way every element is put together visually is really awesome and attractive. The game play however is not that great, I really enjoyed the Cell I really enjoy the graphic interface in every stage of the game, such as how at the beginning you can see huge creatures out of focus when your small and also in each stage of the game the camera zooms out so you can see more of the planet. The way every element is put together visually is really awesome and attractive. The game play however is not that great, I really enjoyed the Cell phase which is over in 15-20 minutes game time. I also enjoyed the creature stage and the pack stage very much but it was over within an hour or so. The tribal stage felt a lot like chore, like I had to go trough this boring part with mildly clunky controls to get to a good part. The civilization stage isn't too terrible, but it's either Pay money to gain an ally or roll tanks into his city. The space age so far is fun, it allows you to have more freedom within the game but when you first get to the stage they hold your hand for about two hours of game play with tutorials when most of it seemed self explanatory to me. However the larger I make my empire the more micro management I feel I'm doing to prevent it from falling onto itself, and the attacks and bio-disasters are starting to seem repetitive and easy making me wonder why I can't just have something else do that nagging, easy work so I can focus on other things. I have this sense of foreboding that I'm beginning to get to the end of the content in the space stage and I've only played it for four hours; How can I win this game I wonder? Can you win this game? The creativity is a refreshing step into the right direction but I'm not sure if the creative aspect can make up for how the creative element can be used in the game. I find it also a bit disappointing that the way you made your creature evolve has no bearing on the game play after the tribal stage, I would think that a race that evolved as carnivores and conquerors would have an innate ability to understand things that destroy and have a problem with diplomacy, but that isn't so. I haven't had any issues with the DRM as of yet, but I'm sure I will as time goes on. This game is mediocre and having a limited number of installs just makes it's value questionable Expand
  68. AnnoyingGame
    Sep 18, 2008
    0
    Totally disappointed , it sucks for gamers that have more qi then one child.
  69. Pp
    Sep 18, 2008
    4
    BORING, WASTE OF TIME Nothing that really hooks you about this game, played for about 10 hours, got to space and then got really bored. Do not bother wasting your money on this game (especially buying the creature creator) it will be $1.99 in the bargain bin in 2 years time and you can waste your two bucks on it then.
  70. JohnM
    Sep 19, 2008
    3
    The game has promise but completely fails to deliver. My 10 year old daughter loves it though.
  71. HarryBarton
    Sep 21, 2008
    1
    game does not work. You get to the tribe stage then it keeps crashing! No piont buying - Huge disapointment. even if it did work it wouldnt be much fun. The way your creature is made dosnt really matter. All that matters is the parts you put on so if all the parts are in rediculous places it is still a good creature. also 2 leggs is no slower than 4
  72. RedAvatar
    Sep 21, 2008
    4
    7/10 for the game itself (and I'm being generous here - it's really more a 6/10) but -3 because it uses draconian DRM making it unbuyable. I collect games but one thing I really can't do, is buy a game that will turn out to no longer work in 5 years.
  73. sporedisappointed
    Sep 21, 2008
    2
    Worst gameplay ever. Maybe those who said that you have to use your imagination to enjoy this project of a game are right: you have to imagine that it is fun and challenging. Stay away from this release, because it intends to be a 5 in 1 experience but turned out to be five epic fails in one expensive and intrusive package.
  74. johnevans
    Sep 22, 2008
    0
    ok so here is how evelution is supposed to work: Creatures that are ill suited for an environment die off. Creatures that have mutations that help them out in their environment thrive and live on passing on genetic material to furthur mutate. This game does not adhear to this idea at all. In this game no matter what your design is your creature will pretty much servive, because how youok so here is how evelution is supposed to work: Creatures that are ill suited for an environment die off. Creatures that have mutations that help them out in their environment thrive and live on passing on genetic material to furthur mutate. This game does not adhear to this idea at all. In this game no matter what your design is your creature will pretty much servive, because how you build your creature has no effect on how it works. This is very dissapointing. What is the point of creating something if the only thing you can do to it is make it look different. If I do a good job creating a creature I want it to kick ass, if I do a bad job of creawting a creature I want it to die. Thats my first complaint of many about this game. 3 installs is all you get!!! thats shit. After creating your character the gameplay is very very very very shallow. So whatever. This game is stupid we all know that. Now what to do with all of these critics who seem to think that a single good gimic is enough to make antire game good. And why dont they ever talk about how crappy secur rom is and how evasive it is to your computer. Secur ROM completely crashed my computer, and my computer kicks a lot of ass. So just avoid this game get the creature creator online for free, and wait for someone else to take this creature creator idea to the next level. Expand
  75. DA
    Sep 24, 2008
    0
    I had to re-install it a few times because my computer is screwed up...now I have to buy a new copy if I want to play it because the DRM prevents me from doing another install! I haven't even gotten to play it yet and I've spent more then $50 !!!
  76. cvs
    Sep 24, 2008
    0
    I was so looking forward to this game. Bwarp. Installed it and 10 hours later gave up on trying to get it to go. All I got was the unhelpful "Cannot Connect to Internet to Verify" message. I completely disabled my security settings, disabled firewall, uninstalled, reinstalled, installed the patch, investigated using FireShark, got some mindless suggestions from support, spent hoursI was so looking forward to this game. Bwarp. Installed it and 10 hours later gave up on trying to get it to go. All I got was the unhelpful "Cannot Connect to Internet to Verify" message. I completely disabled my security settings, disabled firewall, uninstalled, reinstalled, installed the patch, investigated using FireShark, got some mindless suggestions from support, spent hours searching the internet and tried every other method I could think of. I'm a software engineer, so if I can't get it to go, I don't know what chance most other people have. All I could figure in the end was that it was something to do with my on-board network card. Judging by what I see online, I am not the only one. Not impressed. Expand
  77. LagaMahesa
    Sep 25, 2008
    3
    First off, this has nothing to do with DRM. Separate issue.

    This game features five levels, each linked with fun lego and plasticene building fun : Level 1 : Pacman Deluxe. Level 2 : Pacman Deluxe 2008 Winner's XTreme Rage Singing Edition. Level 3 : Age of Empires pre-alpha. Level 4 : RISK for kids. Level 5 : Join-the-Dots Galactic Edition. Now with extra RSI inducing
    First off, this has nothing to do with DRM. Separate issue.

    This game features five levels, each linked with fun lego and plasticene building fun :

    Level 1 : Pacman Deluxe.
    Level 2 : Pacman Deluxe 2008 Winner's XTreme Rage Singing Edition.
    Level 3 : Age of Empires pre-alpha.
    Level 4 : RISK for kids.
    Level 5 : Join-the-Dots Galactic Edition. Now with extra RSI inducing frustration!

    A game based on evolution that a) ignores sex, b) ignores evolutionary triggers, c) allows you to add and remove chunks at will, ignoring evolutionary stages, d) in fact allows you to create an entirely different creature each time you 'mate' in the creature stage has quite obviously been usurped by the intelligent design crew... who, unfortunately, have the same idea of what makes a good game as a cat that has been deceased for 6 weeks, having been run over by an articulated truck.

    The good thing is that the game's name is spot on. Spore. A tiny seed from which something beautiful might eventually develop. Unfortunately, this particular spore's development time is going to be in the decades, well after I'm dead.

    Will Wright... you have betrayed your fans. You stood at the front door waving the golden egg back in 2005, but what we got instead was a tvrd wrapped in gold foil. I and others don't care about what 'camp' you were in - you didn't tell us, after showing us those glories, about Spore's dumbing down and "cute-fication".

    This could have been the kernel of a future Matrix, a true life sim. Instead we got 4gb of popcap games.
    Expand
  78. AlexSmith
    Sep 25, 2008
    0
    There comes a time when disappointment reaches a pinnacle when it comes to developers screwing with games.
    This time they have done it.
    What happened to the absolutely amazing videos they showed us a year or so ago? The dances based on your creature's design, it actually MATTERED if your creature had thirty legs and one arm. He'd be just a bit faster than the one-legged guy
    There comes a time when disappointment reaches a pinnacle when it comes to developers screwing with games.
    This time they have done it.
    What happened to the absolutely amazing videos they showed us a year or so ago? The dances based on your creature's design, it actually MATTERED if your creature had thirty legs and one arm. He'd be just a bit faster than the one-legged guy next to you. Now, its all about stats. A glorified RPG.
    Oh, and don't even get me started on the DRM. I love this game. But I do NOT love what it has become, and what EA has slapped onto it (Read: Draconian DRM)
    Expand
  79. 4ndy
    Sep 26, 2008
    4
    The the idea of this games is revolutionary - "create your own game". The dark side is, "create it in programmers limits". The game is for like 10 years max kids. They say it's like Sims - pardon me, but Sims are complex like quantum physics with comparation to this. There are 5 stages of your evolution. The programmers are putting all emphasis on the last space stage, that will takeThe the idea of this games is revolutionary - "create your own game". The dark side is, "create it in programmers limits". The game is for like 10 years max kids. They say it's like Sims - pardon me, but Sims are complex like quantum physics with comparation to this. There are 5 stages of your evolution. The programmers are putting all emphasis on the last space stage, that will take you most time. But the last stage is ironically the most boring. Your looking for useless artifacts, terraforming takes a looong time and gives you nothing, AI is simple, stupid, aggresive and "good-or-bad" like. There are no quests and i actually never finished this game, coz it bored me to death. Very unsatisfactionary. - and did i say the graphics is shameful... Expand
  80. BradTohtz
    Sep 26, 2008
    3
    After waiting for this game for 3 years, I'm extremely disappointed in the final product. The creature creator is simply amazing and the high point of this game. The gameplay is where this game fails. They tried to fit to much in one box and because of that this game falls flat on its face. None of the stages of the game are entertaining, and on top of that this game has aAfter waiting for this game for 3 years, I'm extremely disappointed in the final product. The creature creator is simply amazing and the high point of this game. The gameplay is where this game fails. They tried to fit to much in one box and because of that this game falls flat on its face. None of the stages of the game are entertaining, and on top of that this game has a ridiculous DRM which only lets you install the game 3 times before you have to buy another copy. Expand
  81. jbean
    Sep 28, 2008
    2
    This game is ridiculous! First you can only install it three times, then of those three times they all have to be the same account! i don't know about you but i have 5 computers in our house. The gameplay is almost just as bad because the changes to your character are only cosmetic and don't even help you in the game.
  82. TomislavNebes
    Sep 28, 2008
    2
    The game, by itself is great. The composition, the idea, the graphics, but only one thing ruined it. It was too closely connected to the Sims.
    In a interview with one of the developers of Spore, they said that they would rather have the metascore of Sims, rather then have the Metascore of Half-Life 2.
    The only question is, why would the game have to look like another game? Why can't
    The game, by itself is great. The composition, the idea, the graphics, but only one thing ruined it. It was too closely connected to the Sims.
    In a interview with one of the developers of Spore, they said that they would rather have the metascore of Sims, rather then have the Metascore of Half-Life 2.
    The only question is, why would the game have to look like another game? Why can't the game can't be unique? The second thing that bothers me, and shouldn't be a problem, is that most of the things mentioned at E2008 will not appear: Take for example: building culture underwater, having your creatures live in the sea, having your creatures be airborn... etc etc
    It is well known that EA and Maxis throw in a lot of expansions just to make money from average people. This is why this game doesn't deserve more than 2.
    Expand
  83. JimSmith
    Sep 28, 2008
    4
    Promised so much, delivered far less, and then was not "science" as suggested but just fluff.
    10yo and 12yo kids were gone after three days - off they went back to Civ4
    Cell stage is the best, then it falls away - bit sad as I bought it for the stages I-IV, not space, then find it is designed to get you to space asap!
  84. bignuinLot
    Sep 29, 2008
    2
    This game is a big disappointment. It's only like 5 minigames and a creature editor.
  85. DevinB.
    Sep 4, 2008
    3
    Totally fails to live up to the hype. Get it if you have a 10 year old, otherwise, avoid, avoid, avoid!
  86. JohnL.
    Sep 6, 2008
    4
    It is just so flawed. I can't believe even the negative reviews are giving over 80%! What the hell is wrong with reviewers today? If you are a young child, or you are someone who adored The Sims, then you might like this game. Otherwise, steer well clear.
  87. GaryP.
    Sep 7, 2008
    0
    Good game, but the DRM is a deal breaker. I ended up having to crack my legally brought copy in order to play it.
  88. BobG.
    Sep 8, 2008
    2
    This game has no gameplay. It is too easy, you finish it in less then 4 hours and there is no real replay. Its kiddy-proof and looks cute, but thats all that is positive. For a real gamer this is just another "once download then never play again" gaming title.
  89. DRMSUCKS
    Sep 8, 2008
    1
    This games DRM content is surprising especially since the bit torrent community has a Spore version already out there without the DRM code. I wonder if that version uninstalls? EA, I expected better ... I bought Spore yesterday from Fry's and installed it on a friends computer so we could check it our and see if he wanted to buy it ... now I'm down one computer install, and he This games DRM content is surprising especially since the bit torrent community has a Spore version already out there without the DRM code. I wonder if that version uninstalls? EA, I expected better ... I bought Spore yesterday from Fry's and installed it on a friends computer so we could check it our and see if he wanted to buy it ... now I'm down one computer install, and he decided he didn't like it and now he can't uninstall it from his computer. UGH! What a way to treat paying customers, next time I should get the better (DRM free) version from a torrent. Expand
  90. DominicD.
    Sep 8, 2008
    1
    Spore was supposed to be a revolutionary experience, combining multiple genres while concentrating on evolution and genetics. Fast forward two years and here we have the finished product, ready to be installed on our hard drives. First of all, the game incorporates a draconian DRM system that requires you to activate over the internet, and limits you to a grand total of 3 activations. If Spore was supposed to be a revolutionary experience, combining multiple genres while concentrating on evolution and genetics. Fast forward two years and here we have the finished product, ready to be installed on our hard drives. First of all, the game incorporates a draconian DRM system that requires you to activate over the internet, and limits you to a grand total of 3 activations. If you reach that limit, then you'll have to call EA in order to add one extra activation. That's not as simple as it sounds, since when you reach that point EA will assume that you, the paying customer, are a filthy pirating thief. You will need to provide proof of purchase, reasons why the limit was reached, etc, etc (it has all happened before with another recent EA product, Mass Effect). EA, of course, is not obligated to grant you that extra activation or even provide that service. In a couple of years they might very well even shut down the general activation servers, because "it's not financially feasible" to keep them running. What you will be left with is a nice, colorful $50 coaster. And you will be required to pay for another copy/license if you want to continue playing. This basically means that you are actually RENTING the game, instead of owning it. The game WILL stop to function in the future. That's inevitable, because even if EA keeps the activation servers going, there IS going to be a time when EA will simply cease to exist because of financial issues or federal laws (like most business eventually do). Second, the game was dumbed down to oblivion. Evolution doesn't even matter anymore. You can add as many legs to a creature as you want, but it won't be any faster than a one legged creature with higher leg stats. "Creating" your creatures is pointless (cosmetic only, because everything is based on stats), and brings you about the same excitement as dressing up a plastic doll. Expand
  91. DavidBacon
    Sep 8, 2008
    0
    I will not buy this game until they take out the useless DRM SecuROM. ANy doubts check Amazon and you ´ll understand.
  92. DiegoL.
    Sep 8, 2008
    0
    Stupid gameplay, linear and without any depth. Bad graphics and art direction. Surly all this game does is copy-paste VERY simplified versions of other series. I could gave it a 3 score, but I'm too disappointed.
  93. BrandonL.
    Sep 8, 2008
    3
    Overall spore is a fantastic idea with amazing scope and range of gameplay. The problem is, after I played it through once, I found I had no desire to do so again. Spore is essentially a huge ocean, with the depth of a kiddie pool.
  94. RealmR.
    Sep 8, 2008
    0
    The gameplay is alright especially the final Galatic Civ phase. However, I'm having problems with my computer crashing every since I installed and some of my anti-virus programs did not like the Spore install. I did some googling and saw that Spore used a DRM scheme caused SecuRom which basically runs admin like in the background of your computer. I didn't see a warning on the The gameplay is alright especially the final Galatic Civ phase. However, I'm having problems with my computer crashing every since I installed and some of my anti-virus programs did not like the Spore install. I did some googling and saw that Spore used a DRM scheme caused SecuRom which basically runs admin like in the background of your computer. I didn't see a warning on the box or anything. Very Unsatisfied. Expand
  95. JohnW.
    Sep 8, 2008
    0
    Gameplay is good, but completely spoiled by overrestrictive DRM. I can't in good conscience give points to a game that actively prevents you from playing without jumping through hoops.
  96. RodericR.
    Sep 8, 2008
    0
    Anything with SECURom gets a 0. I don't care if its the best game ever made. I hope it gets pirated to hell and back in Asia to show them DO NOT PUNISH YOUR PAYING CUSTOMERS, YOU WILL LOSE. 3 installations is ridiculous. If you pay for it, you should get to install it nonstop till the day you die if you so choose. Again, SECURom games all get a 0. Its that simple. They lost 3 paying Anything with SECURom gets a 0. I don't care if its the best game ever made. I hope it gets pirated to hell and back in Asia to show them DO NOT PUNISH YOUR PAYING CUSTOMERS, YOU WILL LOSE. 3 installations is ridiculous. If you pay for it, you should get to install it nonstop till the day you die if you so choose. Again, SECURom games all get a 0. Its that simple. They lost 3 paying customers from my family. We would play a bootleg as punishment to them, but never pay for ANYTHING with SECURom. Expand
  97. WillJ.
    Sep 8, 2008
    1
    Yet another sandbox game without a theme, without a heart, without any discernible reason to exist. And of course, because it's from Will Wright, the press is fauning all over it. This is not a game, nor is it even a very useful simulation. It's just the naked, brazen expression of a bored and obviously beyond-his-prime game designer who is apparently obsessed with himself and Yet another sandbox game without a theme, without a heart, without any discernible reason to exist. And of course, because it's from Will Wright, the press is fauning all over it. This is not a game, nor is it even a very useful simulation. It's just the naked, brazen expression of a bored and obviously beyond-his-prime game designer who is apparently obsessed with himself and tied to a company that seeks only to maximize their return on a huge outlay with the most obscene cart-before-the-horse marketing plan ever associated with a game. I can just imagine those EA folks slathering in their pre-launch meetings "this is going to be bigger than THE SIMS!" LOL. That said, there is no fun here. Lot of production values and shiny toys to play with. But nothing really to do. Too bad they missed the opportunity of multiplayer so that players could at least see each other's creations in real time, instead of the lame-ass shared creations plan they implemented. What a disappointment! Expand
  98. CB.
    Sep 8, 2008
    1
    The big grudge with Spore is the tyrannical DRM -- and that's a valid grudge, since it doesn't accomplish anything except annoy legitimate customers -- but underneath the DRM fiasco, the game itself isn't anything close to what it should have been. For all the player created content gushing out of this game, the experience of playing it is surprisingly stingy: you'll The big grudge with Spore is the tyrannical DRM -- and that's a valid grudge, since it doesn't accomplish anything except annoy legitimate customers -- but underneath the DRM fiasco, the game itself isn't anything close to what it should have been. For all the player created content gushing out of this game, the experience of playing it is surprisingly stingy: you'll spend lots of time swimming around frustratingly slowly only to finish the first phase of the game without ever really feeling like you've accomplished much. The creature phase consists of doing the exact same thing (either beating on and killing, or socializing with, other creatures -- depending primarily on your choice between carnivore and herbivore) over and over again... until you move on to the tribal phase. Unfortunately, you'll be doing essentially the same thing there as well (attack or ... make music), only now you'll be doing it with a whole continent of creatures that look exactly like you. The civilization phase feels awkward and unpolished, and doesn't really add anything compelling (you get to make buildings here, but trust me when I say it isn't compelling). And finally the space phase is essentially a long series of slow zoom-in-zoom-out sessions punctuated by badly controlled combat, unclear diplomatic interactions, and profoundly repetitious missions. Even if the DRM issue is ever resolved, there's nearly 10 years of downward-spiral game design that would need to be erased before Spore was worth even half of the $50 price tag. Expand
  99. AnthonyAnthony
    Sep 9, 2008
    4
    When it comes to visuals this game is amazing! The problem is that it starts and ends there. This game is in no way a good game, in fact as a game its pretty mediocre. The game play is just not there. I got maybe 16 hours of game play and not that was not even good. The first stage is everything I expected but nothing more. They actually do a decent job from keeping the first few stages When it comes to visuals this game is amazing! The problem is that it starts and ends there. This game is in no way a good game, in fact as a game its pretty mediocre. The game play is just not there. I got maybe 16 hours of game play and not that was not even good. The first stage is everything I expected but nothing more. They actually do a decent job from keeping the first few stages from getting to repetitive. Once you pass that though the game is boring. Its just the same actions over and over and over again. There is no depth to the game in anyways and really is only good to kill some time much like a flash game you would play at work. There is no reason to pay $60 for this game. Maybe spore two will be better. Expand
  100. philg.
    Sep 9, 2008
    1
    This game installed a rootkit on my harddrive and i can't get rid of it, it only allows 3 installs so good luck to any gamer who regularly reinstalls their OS
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Play (Poland)
    90
    How to design a game that spans from swimming in a drop of water to ruling the galaxy? Will Wright knows how: as simple as possible. Spore deserves success on "The Sims" scale. [Sept 2008]
  2. Spore's triumph is painfully ironic. By setting out to instill a sense of wonderment at creation and the majesty of the universe, it's shown us that it's actually a lot more interesting to sit here at our computers and explore the contents of each other's brains. [October 2008, p.64]
  3. 100
    Spore manages quite some feats – it's accessible for casual gamers, but at the same time so real and dynamic, able to offer hardcore gamers a demanding experience and, obviously, a more appealing one than in "The Sims".