Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1533 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the mind of Will Wright comes SPORE, a journey that takes you from the origin and evolution of life through the development of civilization and technology and eventually all the way into the deepest reaches of outer space. Begin your odyssey at the dawn of life as a simple microbe just trying to survive, then use the fun, intuitive Editors to evolve the creature from its microscopic origins into an intelligent, tool-using race. Guide your species as it builds (and the player designs) villages, buildings, cities, and vehicles. Along the way to becoming a global civilization you can choose whether to hunt or forage, attack or trade, be nice or play rough. All the action takes place in a huge, lush world populated with creatures evolved by other players and shared over SPORE's central servers. When it's ready, your one-time pond scum launches into space in its UFO on a grand voyage of discovery, planet forming, or destruct-ion. As you explore and play in this limitless universe of unique worlds, your personal Sporepedia tracks all the creatures you've met and places you've visited. Take complete control of your creature's fate as you guide it through the following six evolutionary phases: Tidepool phase: Fight with other creatures and consume them to adjust the form and abilities of your creature. It's survival of the fittest at the most microscopic level. Creature phase: Venture onto dry land and help your creature learn and evolve with forays away from your safe haven. Carnivore or Herbivore? Social or Independent? The choice is yours. Tribal phase: Instead of controlling an individual creature, you are now caring for an entire tribe of your genetic craftwork. Give them tools and guide their interactions as you slowly upgrade their state of existence. City phase: Bring your creatures' race into a new golden era by building up the technology, architecture, and infrastructure of their city. Civilization phase: Once your city is established, your creatures begin seeking out and interacting with other cultures. You can have them do so with an olive branch or a war cry—either way, the goal for your creatures is to unify the planet. Space phase: The time has come to move on to other worlds in your solar system. Make first-contact, colonize, or terraform, then venture further to find other solar systems scattered throughout a magnificently rendered galaxy. A 'mission' structure provides new goals and paths to follow as you begin to spread through the universe. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. 100
    Spore manages quite some feats – it's accessible for casual gamers, but at the same time so real and dynamic, able to offer hardcore gamers a demanding experience and, obviously, a more appealing one than in "The Sims".
  2. It may not be my perfect PC game, but I think it's well on its way to becoming one of my favorite toys. And if there's one thing we could all use more of, it's time to just...play. [Nov 2008, p.33]
  3. One of the first big games leading into Christmas, and we've already forgotten the rest. Completely enthralling. [Issue#12, p.62]
  4. Spore will leave you in a state of wide-eyed wonderment one minute, and disappointed the next. The limited online interaction and surprisingly short campaign make it easy to think about what could have been. The fact is, there’s no other game like it, and a lot of things that will be hated by some, will be just as liked by others.
  5. Will Wright has raised the bar and any game that comes out now that wants to be remembered will need to consider the lessons taught by Spore.
  6. Spore's most positive traits are so uniquely satisfying that it's disappointing the gameplay which underpins them isn't more engrossing.
  7. 50
    Rather than match the freedom in the gameplay, however, Spore forces players to use their creations in a series of levels that are derivative and dull.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    What the f*** is with all of the bad reviews? Sure, its a terrible excuse for the trailers, but you shouldn't just give it an instant 0. Even though I was still disappointed myself, its still an enjoyable game. In what other game will you be able make and evolve your own space-faring species and conquer the galaxy? Its very fun to also just make creatures, and flex your creative mind. Collapse
  2. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Spore is one of the most innovative games that EA has released. It remains my favorite game of all time due to its decision making and realism. Many people say the gameplay is bad but if you give it a chance, it really is a very fun game. Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2012
    8
    I really like this game! I'll be honest, I have NO IDEA Why so many people say this game is no good! I mean, the fact that this game has a 4.7 rating is clearly showing something about humanity. It looks like Halo and COD have taken over...*Sigh* I'll be honest, the cell stage was kind of boring, and Tribal Stage didn't appeal to me, but the game in itself was great. The design for all the creatures you could create (in Creature Stage, the one directly after Cell) is amazing. So many patterns, so many designs...It amazes me. My personal favorite stage is Civilization. I just love the amount of variation that can happen depending on what difficulty you set your game to, and which kind of Civilization you chose to be! Now, everything here was setting you up the Space Stage. A lot of bad reviews are just people saying "THIS ONE IS TOO REPETITIVE AND ALL I DO IS DIE." So what? You die in other games, too. I actually had one person tell me in person that they didn't like all the dying, and that they'd rather go play an FPS game. This...I...I think I slapped them multiple times for that. It baffled me at how moronic the statement was, and if you don't get why, you should STOP playing video games, and go outside. Back to Space Stage. It's fun! It IS a bit redundant, much like this review, but I still enjoy making trade routes, setting up on other planet, and ANNIHILATING MY ENEMIES! Definitely recommended in my opinion. Get on Steam or in a local store! Expand
  4. Jan 27, 2014
    7
    Spore is by far one, if not my favorite PC game. It is a creative, eye-opening, fun and overall greatly crafted game. The only issues I have with the game are the amount of glitches and issues that it has. Even with patches, I and many other people still find themselves encountering the same errors and glitches throughout the game. These issues range from minor to severe, and they are the most frustrating part of the game. It also has problems running on certain operating systems. Other than that, I recommend Spore as a great PC game, especially to people who love to create their own creatures, buildings and vehicles and explore their own world. But, I wouldn't get too attached to a saved game.

    I think there should be a new and improved Spore game, with more online interaction, a broader gaming experience, less glitches, and more versatility with systems. Spore is a great idea for a game, and I believe that there's even more that can be done with it.
    Expand
  5. Nov 24, 2011
    6
    It's a fun game to spend time. But the game has a very clear goal and if you want a bit of a challenge you will not find in this game. The graphics are pretty feeble but the character animations are good. It's a pretty average game. Expand
  6. Oct 8, 2011
    4
    I was waiting about 2 years for this game to come out. Few months before the premiere I couldn't stop thinking about it. But after the premiere...at first I was like "Omg I finnaly have it! Weeee!" after installation and playing a bit "Wait, where is all this content, where is realistic evolution and all this epic stuff they told they will implent in the game?" after few days I knew that buying this game was a huge waste of money. The creators are awesome, but the game itself sucks. So many things has been cut from the game before relasing it...it could have been an awesome game. I've bought the expansion (not the new body parts though cuz it was damn expensive for such a little addon) hoping it will fix the game but it didn't. It's a good game for 10 yrs old kid but for older people it will seem silly and too much childish. **** EA for what they done with this game. Of course the reason for ****ing it up was money, the childish game about creating funny creatures and dominating the space (which is so repetitive boring and definitely not realistic) would make more money! I doubt it did though, but they've managed to break the game. I don't recommend it unless you're buying a present for someone who is Expand
  7. Aug 28, 2011
    0
    This game is what the WTF was made for.
    As a computer-biological experiment, it's interesting.
    As an actual game, it's beyond boring. Perhaps
    it's because the hype was so huge, the game couldn't stand a chance living up to it. Expand

See all 636 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.
  2. The Disconnect: When Gamers Disagree With Critics

    The Disconnect: When Gamers Disagree With Critics Image
    Published: May 4, 2011
    The release of Portal 2 exposed a divide between game critics and users. While that title's user scores have rebounded, others haven't. We take a look at the games with the biggest score differentials between professional reviewers and gamers.