S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Call of Pripyat Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 602 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The events of S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Call of Pripyat unfold shortly after the end of S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl. Having discovered about the open path to the Zone center, the government decides to hold a large-scale military "Fairway" operation aimed to take the CNPP under control.The events of S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Call of Pripyat unfold shortly after the end of S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl. Having discovered about the open path to the Zone center, the government decides to hold a large-scale military "Fairway" operation aimed to take the CNPP under control. According to the operation's plan, the first military group is to conduct an air scouting of the territory to map out the detailed layouts of anomalous fields location. Thereafter, making use of the maps, the main military forces are to be dispatched. Despite thorough preparations, the operation fails. Most of the avant-garde helicopters crash. In order to collect information on reasons behind the operation failure, Ukraine's Security Service send their agent into the Zone center. From now on everything depends on the player. [GSC GameWorld] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. PC PowerPlay
    90
    Third time's a charm for this quintessential PC franchise. [Feb 2010, p.58]
  2. AceGamez
    86
    If you’re willing to look past the look and feel of a shooter that’s past its heyday, what you’ll find in Pripyat is GSC’s magnum opus – an undeniable masterpiece built from years of trial and error, building and adapting new elements and ideas into the original STALKER template.
  3. Call of Pripyat is not only a return to form for the series, but a breath of fresh air for an increasingly stale genre. Recommended for fans of the previous games and newcomers alike, this is how a real PC FPS should work.
  4. Call of Pripyat is a return to the best S.T.A.L.K.E.R, the one which impressed us the first time with its fascinating setting. The Zone is again that scenario that chill us with its mystery and GSC shows they can listen to the fans and that they understand well what made great the series in first place. The only problem is a dangerous feeling of familiarity that goes badly with this kind of game, so we hope to see a deep evolution for the next project of the Ukrainian team, but meanwhile we'll enjoy the most polished entry of the series.
  5. Call of Pripyat is definitely the best STALKER game yet. It's a much tighter package, but for a budget title there is still a hell of a lot to do and The Zone still seems intent on killing you or scaring you senseless.
  6. One of the reasons why this game received a lower score is because it left too many things untold and, while I appreciate the effort to create an immersive authentic world laid to waste by a nuclear disaster, I simply can't escape the recurring feeling that something is missing in this game.
  7. GSC’s third attempt at creating a post-apocalyptic world reinforced my belief that PR is the only thing this company does best.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 83
  2. Negative: 7 out of 83
  1. May 19, 2013
    10
    The best S.T.A.L.K.E.R. game so far!

    Great graphics, and the loading time can be decreased to twenty seconds if you download a tweak, and
    The best S.T.A.L.K.E.R. game so far!

    Great graphics, and the loading time can be decreased to twenty seconds if you download a tweak, and overclock your GPU.
    Good story and the inventory system is nice.
    Expand
  2. Apr 8, 2012
    10
    S.T.A.L.K.E.R Call Of Pripyat is, simply put, one of the best open world FPS games there is. Everything about the game is great, theS.T.A.L.K.E.R Call Of Pripyat is, simply put, one of the best open world FPS games there is. Everything about the game is great, the atmosphere, the progression, the item collecting. Not only that but the game is scary, really scary, but that does not mean that every time you leave a safe area you are going to be peeing yourself, it means that when the game needs to be scary it can be. CoP also has many elements of an RPG. There is a great inventory system, lots of weapons and armor, lots of modifications for those weapons and armors, and so much more. Simply put CoP is one of the best games on the market. Expand
  3. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    What could be more interesting real life place to make a video game about? Area of Tsernobyl of course! It's such a shame, that there barelyWhat could be more interesting real life place to make a video game about? Area of Tsernobyl of course! It's such a shame, that there barely even is games about it, but at least it's still more than fresh place to make a game about. Call of Pripyat is the third Stalker game in the series, which I had never played before. The story isin't really anything amazing. You are have to find out why helicopters have crashed to Tsernobyl, which is now filled with people hoping to become rich by finding rare artifacts. You don't need to have played previous games. You can roam around freely the exciting areas of the game, though you are limited to go only few places during the start of the game. The atmosphere of the game is outstanding. It looks like you're in a abandonded area filled with radiation, and feels like it. Unfortunely stalkers talk with '' Yo bro wuzz up?! '' style, which breaks the atmosphere a little. NPC don't also some times attack mutants, which are trying to attack you. The game has simulation feel too. You need to eat food or you will starve to death. You need to heal yourself from wounds, though it only needs use button and nothing else to fix the wounds. If not counting the easiest difficulty, you will die really easily, forcing you to think when you should fight or not. The graphics of the game isin't that good now days, but even my crappy computer was able to run it fine with some settings set to maximum. The gameplay is great, the sound design is almost as good, the game takes increadible amount of time to complete (33 hours, I had spent time doing some side quests too) and I found myself playing it a lot of time even after it, what I usually don't do. I recommend it from the bottom of my heart, if you don't want to play arcade shooters. Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2015
    9
    Very solid survival horror with its own special feeling to it. Exploring the Zone around Tschernobyl with all its mutants, bandits, StalkersVery solid survival horror with its own special feeling to it. Exploring the Zone around Tschernobyl with all its mutants, bandits, Stalkers (Artifact hunters and looters who want to get rich by the abnormalities of the Zone), anomalies and really dangerous types of mutant creatures is a real pleasure. Especially when using some kind of mod that supports your own playstyle. I heavily enjoyed the difficult and realistic of the Misery mod. (But definitely on Rookie mode for the first playthrough)

    Also the weapon selection is quite refreshing. There are a lot of iconic weapons avaible, from the AK to the XM8 to the G36 to the MP5 to the Spas shotung to the M4 etc. etc. If I had to compare the feeling to it, I would say Counter-Strike fits the game regarding the gun variety.

    I definitely recommend this game, even if the graphics are somewhat outdated. The atmosphere and rich mod scene compensate for it.
    Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2012
    8
    S.t.a.l.k.e.r CoP brings improvements to the game with some goodies, such storms, where you have to find shelter, you can modifyS.t.a.l.k.e.r CoP brings improvements to the game with some goodies, such storms, where you have to find shelter, you can modify weapons-equipment and even more weapons. Unlike Soc however that sense of loss the zone can give you has gone. it seem more easy. Anyway there are still many scary moments. Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2012
    8
    The best of the bunch. PLayed it ona PC built before the game came out (E6800 3Ghz dual core and 280 GTX card, both predate this game byThe best of the bunch. PLayed it ona PC built before the game came out (E6800 3Ghz dual core and 280 GTX card, both predate this game by years) plays smoothly and flawlessly. Average fps at 1920x1080 is 72 minimum was 51 highest was 104. If the game is an issue for your PC - then it's your PC at fault not the game. PLays very well on my PC which as I said has technology that predates this game by years (CPU is 2007, GFX is 2008 - game is 2010) deeper than most FPS and a bargain if you can find it for $10 or less on steam or wherever. Good game, atmospheric, quite deep - interesting and good subject matter Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2016
    0
    terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible gameterrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game terrible game Expand

See all 83 User Reviews