Star Trek The Video Game Image
Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 399 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gamers have the chance to play as two of the most famous science-fiction heroes ever -- Kirk and Spock – in STAR TREK, an original co-op experience that expands and builds on the Star Trek universe. Set in the 23rd Century world of the Star Trek reboot, this cover-based shooter enmeshesGamers have the chance to play as two of the most famous science-fiction heroes ever -- Kirk and Spock – in STAR TREK, an original co-op experience that expands and builds on the Star Trek universe. Set in the 23rd Century world of the Star Trek reboot, this cover-based shooter enmeshes players in an original story and action-packed combat. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 18
  2. Negative: 13 out of 18
  1. PC Master (Greece)
    Jun 5, 2013
    77
    No, Star Trek is not the best gaming experience you ever had, but it’s a solid, fun title, that follows the philosophy of the J.J Abrams reboot: fast-paced action, adventurous challenges, generous doses of humor and a casual, but entertaining, experience. [June 2013]
  2. May 6, 2013
    55
    Star Trek does a good job in terms of script and atmosphere, and it's decent on long-distance gunplay. But the overall experience is poor and unpolished.
  3. Apr 25, 2013
    50
    It sounds good, but frankly, it just doesn't seem like developer Digital Extremes were able (or allowed) to put forth the time, money, or ingenuity to make anything but a Starfleet-themed cooperative shooter, complete with extreme use of cover-based gunfights, silly mini-games, or bad AI - all of which are generally considered hallmarks of a mediocre action game.
  4. May 10, 2013
    40
    Rooted in good intentions, but poorly executed.
  5. Sep 10, 2013
    40
    Star Trek is a game with a lot of potential. None of which is being used. The game design is old, incomplete and riddled with bugs. The actors make a decent job and the co-op mode is alright but that is the only good things worth mentioning about this otherwise bland and forgettable tie-in to the movie.
  6. May 2, 2013
    35
    Its numerous bugs and linear missions make it frustrating to play, and the story never grabs you like a good sci-fi adventure should. Even the most devoted of Star Trek fans will be hard pressed to find something to like in Star Trek The Video Game: there are simply too many glaring problems.
  7. May 3, 2013
    20
    More irritating than Neelix: Star Trek is a buggy and broken cover-shooter with cover that doesn't quite work and shooting that's no fun.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 118
  2. Negative: 80 out of 118
  1. May 1, 2013
    10
    I hate to deviate from the overwhelming majority, but I played the game in the single player mode (Kirk) and I loved it. There was plenty ofI hate to deviate from the overwhelming majority, but I played the game in the single player mode (Kirk) and I loved it. There was plenty of action, a typical Star Trek plot, and a good choice of weapons--although they were weak ones. It is one of the few $50 games I have played this year that I feel is worth the price. Collapse
  2. Apr 25, 2013
    7
    I came in expecting a 7.5, I got what I asked for. Star Trek is an above-average licensed game with solid, albeit uninspired gameplay. OnceI came in expecting a 7.5, I got what I asked for. Star Trek is an above-average licensed game with solid, albeit uninspired gameplay. Once the AI pathfinding and miscellaneous glitches are fixed, it's well worth looking into.

    PROS:
    +The cast of the movie reprises their roles. While some of the delivery from the minor characters is underwhelming, Chris Pine and Zachary Quinto gave very good performances as Kirk and Spock.
    +Decent writing. The plot was no more ridiculous than Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman's plot for the original J.J. Abrams movie.
    +The soundtrack and theatrical presentation helps the game nail the feeling of playing a movie.
    +The tricorder scan system and research library feels reminiscent of Metroid Prime's scan visor mechanic. It certainly adds replay value.
    +Solid execution of shooter mechanics.
    +Cooperative play, when it works, is excellent.

    CONS:
    -No splitscreen cooperative play.
    -Underwhelming graphics options. Might be adjustable via a configuration file, but I have yet to go digging for it.
    -Default controls take some getting used to.
    -Dated animations and somewhat lackluster texture work occasionally undercut the dramatic tension.
    -Does nothing to innovate.
    Expand
  3. Apr 24, 2013
    5
    Pros: The voice acting. Pine and Quinto do a good job. Some of the minor characters feel like they're phoning it in, but the two leads arePros: The voice acting. Pine and Quinto do a good job. Some of the minor characters feel like they're phoning it in, but the two leads are most important and they did a great job.

    It feels like Trek. The ability to choose non-lethal combat in appropriate scenarios is a great choice. Phasers have a 'stun' settings for a reason! The tricorder is well designed and very useful, though it almost falls into Batman Arkham Asylum territory because you want to keep it on at almost all times to find objects you can interact with, but that means you can't have your weapon out. (Why not tricorder in one hand, phaser in the other?)

    The story is serviceable. Nothing amazing, but not bad. This could easily be the plot of an episode of a new Trek TV series.

    The Enterprise looks great. I didn't like the design of the new 1701 at first, but it's growing on me, and it looks as it should in this game.

    Cons: The shooting controls are awful. Shooting anything at close range is near impossible because you wind up shooting behind the target that's right in front of you. Wonky perspective.

    The cover mechanics only work when they want to. I keep wishing they had been able to copy the Mass Effect controls and cover mechanic, but this feels like a really cheap imitation of that.

    The game can devolve into a cluster**** when you're in combat shooting and being shot at (while wrestling with the controls), trying to listen to someone give you critical information while everything is exploding, and there are prompts telling you new interactions all at the same time. Often times, one of those things will be missed and you'll die. One time it got to the point where the best way to advance was to just run head first into danger and get to the other side before I died instead of listening to the hints/prompts.

    Overall, this game is good at times, but not often enough. It goes from slightly fun to immensely frustrating like a never-ending rollercoaster. Absolutely not worth full retail price.
    Expand
  4. Jul 28, 2013
    2
    A shining example of how NOT to make a video game. The voice acting may be good, but the gameplay is crap, and so are the graphics. WhileA shining example of how NOT to make a video game. The voice acting may be good, but the gameplay is crap, and so are the graphics. While there is some high production value here and there, ultimately, textures are low res, gameplay is wonky (with a cover system that utterly fails), and story is unoriginal. Also, co-op did not work for nearly a week on PC. At least it didn't have always-on DRM (I'm looking at you Diablo III and SimCity). Expand
  5. May 13, 2013
    1
    I am Star Trek fan and i liked this new movie. I didn't see the sequel yet. I knew, that most of theme movie lincenced games are crap, but iI am Star Trek fan and i liked this new movie. I didn't see the sequel yet. I knew, that most of theme movie lincenced games are crap, but i wanted this game to give it a try.

    Positive: good funny voice acting and partly good story and thats about it.
    Negative: There are a lot and i mean a lot of bugs! Cover mechanics are dissapointing. I'm pressing buttons like stupid on time looking like a real retard when controls don't work. The teammate is so retarded that i wanna kill him a way befoure a mission starts. AI is horrible, staying in one place like stupid or it's killing you every time he wants so you must repeat like 10 times. AI and teammate mood depend on the weather or maybe on what time it is. Coop problems,...

    My score: keep away from this game. If you are a Star Trek fan you will be heartbroken! Rather go see this sequel of Startrek named Into Darkness.
    Expand
  6. Apr 28, 2013
    0
    The shooting controls are awful. Shooting anything at close range is near impossible because you wind up shooting behind the target that'sThe shooting controls are awful. Shooting anything at close range is near impossible because you wind up shooting behind the target that's right in front of you. Wonky perspective.

    The cover mechanics only work when they want to. I keep wishing they had been able to copy the Mass Effect controls and cover mechanic, but this feels like a really cheap imitation of that.

    The game can devolve into a cluster**** when you're in combat shooting and being shot at (while wrestling with the controls), trying to listen to someone give you critical information while everything is exploding, and there are prompts telling you new interactions all at the same time. Often times, one of those things will be missed and you'll die. One time it got to the point where the best way to advance was to just run head first into danger and get to the other side before I died instead of listening to the hints/prompts.

    Overall, this game is good at times, but not often enough. It goes from slightly fun to immensely frustrating like a never-ending rollercoaster. Absolutely not worth full retail price.
    Expand
  7. Apr 25, 2013
    0
    coop is broken

    BOT AI is broken game itself is broken so wtf we play?? And look at all these fake reviews, and i found one guy that
    coop is broken

    BOT AI is broken

    game itself is broken so wtf we play??

    And look at all these fake reviews, and i found one guy that said coop works and when i saw his profile he had played the game since january Wtf?? Is this the game creator?

    Stay away from buying this game
    Expand

See all 118 User Reviews