Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Apr 18, 2014
    90
    Legacy of Romulus is an excellent example of expanded content, and combining it with 7 “seasons” worth of additions and tweaks, great storytelling and an engine that has proved it can stand test of time means it’s only fair to readdress that original score, and critique this all over again as a complete package.
  2. May 24, 2013
    80
    Anyone looking for a new MMO -- and especially anyone who likes Star Trek and wouldn't mind having some space combat thrown into the mix -- ought to give this game a shot. Not only does it have a lot of features lacking elsewhere in the MMO universe, but it's free to play, too.
  3. May 12, 2014
    73
    Legacy of Romulus is a welcome expansion to Star Trek Online. With a totally original story, a new faction, new ships and the option to start as any faction, STO has been improved significantly.
  4. 60
    In spite of all the criticism, Legacy of Romulus is a step in the right direction for Star Trek Online. It's just a very short one.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Aug 14, 2014
    10
    Only MMORPG i actualy managed to get into. You'll like it if you like star trek stuff. It also has one of the best f2p models i've ever seen. Its being updated regularly and there is new content every few months. Lots of people playing it too. Only thing i dont like much is ground combat, but im still giving it 10 for being my fav MMORPG. :D Expand
  2. May 14, 2014
    10
    I love Star Trek: Online! The graphics are good, music is good, the missions are a lot of fun, and even the thrill of having my own ship and being it's captain is enough to keep me hooked on STO.

    I highly recommend it to anyone.
    Expand
  3. Aug 29, 2014
    9
    I really enjoy this game, excellent world graphics, great great story line.

    Downsides, people don't socialize very much. and Some bugs
    need to be fixed. Other than that, I love the game so much that I am a gold member. Expand
  4. Jun 10, 2014
    9
    Legacy of Romulus took the game to a whole new level. Great storyline, cool new faction, really refreshed everything. Dev is fixing the bugs continuously while putting out additional content (not just new ships). Other MMOs like Mechwarrior Online should take a page from Cryptics playbook. Expand
  5. May 26, 2013
    8
    Season 8 provides a couple weeks of new, well-made missions introducing the Romulans and allowing Klingons to begin at level 1 instead of 20 something. You can tell there was an influx of new employees.

    The cons: This update has exposed server issues, code integration problems, and quality testing shortcomings. The downtime, glitches, crashes, and a stealth nerf or two have overshadowed what should have been a proud moment.

    If I grade on the quality of the new story content, two weeks worth perhaps, I'd give it an 8 or so.
    The experience as a whole has thus far been a 4 due to the technical difficulties and the mail nerf.

    The new missions will be used up, the bugs will be mostly squashed, and then you will be back to the
    normal grinding of end-game reputation systems and starbase advancement which most people score around a 5 or 6. Folks that make use of the Foundry, fan-made missions, tend to give the game a higher score of 7 or 8.

    If all other issues are resolved favorably, and I am grading only on the new content introduced I will stick with the 8 rating. It made my Klingon happy. This was a step in a good direction compared to the previous season I rated a 3 due to nerf carnage and greedy practices.
    Expand
  6. May 31, 2013
    8
    great expansion, game is definitely on the right track with this one. problem is, way too many bugs and server issues. if most of the issues get fixed within a couple weeks, as i am hoping, an 8/10 represents a fun online game accessible to many kinds of players.

    since its f2p i highly recommend a download, try it out. good combo of ground and space combat unlike many other sci-fi online games. the first time i tried this game a year or 2 ago, the world seemed very limiting, but with time it has become much more fleshed out.

    if youre any kind of fan of sci fi online games or star trek in general, try this game
    Expand
  7. Dec 9, 2013
    7
    Admittedly, this is what I hope for in an MMO. The ability to see a new race introduced into the works, allowing for a bit of a shift in power but not so much that it's overwhelming.

    The only real problems I see are from how certain weapons are kinda not as powerful as first stated, but that's a little bit of a different issue. Some like it, some hate it, but it's Star Trek so at the end of the day, it's something people will still want to play.
    Collapse

See all 10 User Reviews