Star Wars Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 275 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Several years have passed since Kyle Katarn avenged his father's death and saved the Valley of the Jedi from Jerec and his band of Dark Jedi. Allowing his Force powers to languish for fear of falling to the Dark side, Kyle set aside his lightsaber, vowing never to use it again. But when aSeveral years have passed since Kyle Katarn avenged his father's death and saved the Valley of the Jedi from Jerec and his band of Dark Jedi. Allowing his Force powers to languish for fear of falling to the Dark side, Kyle set aside his lightsaber, vowing never to use it again. But when a new and menacing threat to the galaxy emerges, Kyle knows he must reclaim his past in order to save his future. Players assume the role of Kyle as they employ a unique mix of weapons, Force powers and your lightsaber in both single- and multiplayer modes of first-person action. [LucasArts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. It's just beautifully designed: fast-paced, challenging, and awesome to look at. [June 2002, p.78]
  2. Each character model is so well done and I even found the cut scenes interesting.
  3. Raven Software has taken a big chance, trying to cover all the bases with Jedi Knight 2. Luckily, it has paid off, as this is an excellent game. It's got tons of stuff that players have been wanting since the first Jedi Knight, includes an engaging and fun multiplayer game, and delivers it all on the very stable and solid Quake 3 engine.
  4. Combine excellent level design, a compelling storyline and amazing presentation and you’ve got a game that will keep fans hooked until you’ve completed very last little bit.
  5. An exceptional Star Wars action game that contains some of the best combat sequences since "Half-Life," the most distinctive control mechanics since "Max Payne," and the most involving plot in a Star Wars game since Jedi Knight.
  6. 86
    I really wasn't enjoying it much at first, but once I got to the later levels, the lightsaber combat and Force powers made it a ton of fun.
  7. 40
    The game is flawed on so many levels (and in so many ways), that its occasional glimpses of greatness almost get lost in the Bespin Clouds.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. Jan 16, 2014
    10
    Simply Amazing. Overall storyline is good with great voice animation, graphics are excellent (considering it was made in 2002) and theSimply Amazing. Overall storyline is good with great voice animation, graphics are excellent (considering it was made in 2002) and the combined use of ranged weapons, a lightsaber and the force make combat very interesting and varied. Simple things such as being able to cut off the arms of stormtroopers with your lightsaber and changing your style of lightsaber attack make the game so good. I've played the game for about 12 years and still haven't got bored or tired of it! Certainly a game I'll remember for a long time. If you don't have it then why are you reading this? It's only £7 on steam!!!!! :) Expand
  2. MattM.
    Jul 8, 2004
    10
    This game is awesome and challenging. Period.
  3. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    An FPS with the story and voice acting of an RPG. If you played and liked Dark Forces 2, you'll love this game. If you played Jedi Academy..An FPS with the story and voice acting of an RPG. If you played and liked Dark Forces 2, you'll love this game. If you played Jedi Academy.. meh, not so sure you will like it. In my opinion, It's a game that achieves in every way excepted. The fights never get old. The thrills some cutscene can bring matches with Dark Forces 2 and the films. Level design and puzzles are milestones. Collapse
  4. NeoZero
    May 14, 2002
    9
    This game have a quality that provided gamers with 3d view and awesome light-saber style!!!!
  5. Aug 24, 2015
    7
    Is the game overrated? Well of course it is, it's a Star Wars game. I've played many of them though from Dark Forces, to the FMV nightmareIs the game overrated? Well of course it is, it's a Star Wars game. I've played many of them though from Dark Forces, to the FMV nightmare Rebel Assault, and I even really enjoyed Dark Forces II a.k.a Jedi Knight 1 for its unbelievably well-designed single-player campaign built around live action cinematics. So I suppose Jedi Knight II would obviously be the best out of all three games in the series than (excluding Mysteries of the Sith obviously). For some reason though, the game itself is very bland. I understand that this was 2002, but I remember Allied Assault from 2002 and that game was actually exciting. "Jedi Knight 2: the further adventures of fictional character Kyle Katarn," is without a doubt probably one of the best examples of frustrating game design. You have to trudge through three very long, very generic levels before you even ponder the idea of utilizing your "Jedi powers" or even at the very least- a lightsaber. Levels are filled with nauseatingly long laser battles between you and the hundreds of stormtroopers opposing Kyle Katarn's snooping about and it gets very old very quickly. The worst offender is the actual first person "shooting" mechanic feels wrong. Enemies seem impervious to certain blasts, or will magically dodge your laser blasts, whilst Mr. Katarn on any difficulty beyond "normal" takes atrocious amounts of damage from being hit. Its frustrating when you realize that within 3 minutes of playing the first mission that those obnoxious stormtroopers are equipped with hit-scan weapons that will immediately hit you even if they don't know when you'll be popping around the corner. This leads to a lot of strafing back and forth firing into a long corridor with small groups of enemies some distance away just standing there blasting at your sheer willpower to get to the other end of said corridor. This is just about every area of the game aside from the more open ones, which are actually easier to get through since Kyle can just be steered around most of their laser fire. Another complaint would be the collision detection issues Kyle has with the ground below his feet. I understand that these are mostly metallic surfaces you run around on, but Kyle has no excuse for slippery shoes. Its almost as if gravity doesn't affect him in the slightest and it almost feels as though he doesn't quite "connect" with the ground he's walking on. I have no idea how else to put it, but it feels like it was just not programmed well and the disconnect is so earth-shatteringly stupid looking when viewing the gameplay in 3rd person mode. The story is about as good, but nowhere near as amazing as Dark Forces II, as most Star Wars fan-fiction garbage. Lando shows up, Luke Skywalker and I believe Billy D actually lends his own voice to the dialogue, I guess Mark Hamill had something else to do at the time, though I'm not sure it was worth his time. It would've been nice to have actually tried to get his voice for Luke as their are only two or three canon Star Wars characters even in the game at all, but life is particularly not-fair like that. The level design is sprawling, with plenty of corridors, key-card puzzles, colored door shape puzzles, no shortage of enemies, and brief cinematics to break up all the crap going on. Its a fairly long game, which I guess might not be something worth complaining about in the year 2015, but at the same time it kills my incentive to go back through it just for a few decent moments i.e. Billy D showing up, The Remnant fights.

    All in all it was fun the first time I played it back in 2003, but it honestly doesn't have enough variation, creativity, a worthwhile story, and it's marred by fairly boring level design that is just too tedious for most people. Visually it still holds up, but sound design can't really be taken into account when most of your in-game sounds are stock Star Wars noises with the soundtrack being mostly generic though not terrible. My fascination with the series is mostly due to the fact that Jedi Knight: Dark Forces II brought so much more to the table and as far as I'm concerned, even given its age, is the better game overall. I can't understand the accolades and high praise Jedi Knight II has received over the years as in my opinion it's a slog to play through, it lacks character, it lacks charm, it lacks a decent story, it lacks fun mechanics (outside the lightsaber), it lacks even remotely decent dialogue, and on top of all of that it doesn't even have a good villain to boot.
    Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2015
    6
    This is an example of a game that has not aged all that well. I'm sure that when it came out in 2002 that it was solid and lots of fun. TheseThis is an example of a game that has not aged all that well. I'm sure that when it came out in 2002 that it was solid and lots of fun. These days, the mechanics are pretty aged. I didn't like the way that the crosshairs on the guns would shift based on where they thought I wanted to shoot. The lightsaber mechanics are miles ahead of where they were in Jedi Knight, but I was a bit intimidated by the complexity of the moves. I couldn't quite figure out how to get my lightsaber to swing the way I wanted it to. I also found the storyline to be very straight forward and not too interesting. The character animations and voice acting were pretty bad by modern standards as well.

    I found the levels to be a little too nitpicky, similar to Jedi Knight. Too often, you find yourself backtracking and trying to find switches that you overlooked. When the action gets going in a straightforward manner, the game is at its best. When you're annoyed because you don't know what the game wants you to do is when the game struggles.
    Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Jedi Outcast is a special kind of bad: it frustrates in a multitude of ways. Gun mechanics are unwieldy with the crosshair changing position on the screen, lightsaber combat is incomprehensible and generally ends with the good ol' Kyle dying a horrible and sudden death after a long spectacle, the levels are as unintuitive as if they had been designed by the Zodiac killer, there is a mandatory stealth section that activates an arbitrary death cutscene when spotted, the lightsaber consistently failed to protect me from explosive weapons Expand

See all 33 User Reviews