Star Wars: Republic Commando Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 300 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Enter the dark military side of the Star Wars universe as a squad leader of a Republic Special Operations unit. You are a Republic Commando. You must infiltrate deep behind enemy lines and lead your elite team on precision operations – lurking in the shadows, striking at will...ExploreEnter the dark military side of the Star Wars universe as a squad leader of a Republic Special Operations unit. You are a Republic Commando. You must infiltrate deep behind enemy lines and lead your elite team on precision operations – lurking in the shadows, striking at will...Explore the military side of the Star Wars universe like never before.Explore eight diverse environments including the hostile surface and subterranean setting of the planet Geonosis, the massive machine-like interiors of a Separatist Core Ship, a disabled and overrun Republic Assault Ship and the lower jungles and tree cities of the Wookiee home planet of Kashyyyk, while you take on special operations that feature hostage rescue, infiltration/data retrieval, assassination, assault, sabotage and reconnaissance objectives. Access to more than twelve authentic weapons including the primary Republic Commando firearm, the DC-17m and secondary weapon the DC-15s Blaster Pistol, as well as enemy weapons such as the Trandoshan Slaver Shotgun and Geonosian Elite Beam Weapon. Innovative squad combat utilizing intuitive and accessible "smart squad" command system featuring squad markers and stances. Challenging combat with enemies that include Trade Federation Super Battle Droids and Droidekas, Geonosian Warriors and Elites, and Trandoshan Slavers and Mercenaries. Multi-player capabilities including deathmatch, team deathmatch and capture the flag. [LucasArts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 90
    Best of all is the vicious melee attack, dealt out with a forearm blade. It's enough to make the Fett family green with envy.
  2. The near-flawless squad-based combat comes at a certain price. The levels often feel very limiting, highly railed, and brimming with scripted sequences. They never even attempt to create the illusion of non-linearity.
  3. Don’t be turned off by the Jedi-free element to this game. Republic Commando proves that the Star Wars universe has a lot more to offer, and ideas at LucasArts are still abundant.
  4. Excellent voice acting and sound effects/score.
  5. 80
    It's not without its flaws -- a lack of tactical depth and disappointing multiplayer are chief among them -- but it's gripping and spectacular to play, and certainly one of the better Star Wars games on the market.
  6. Gripping and gritty, but will leave you wanting more.
  7. Computer Games Magazine
    50
    A game of moderately tactical chaos. [June 2005, p.55]

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 59
  2. Negative: 3 out of 59
  1. edwins
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    excellent game. Multiplayer is basic but highly addicting.
  2. NickC.
    Aug 2, 2007
    10
    This is my all time favorite game for PC. Incredible gameplay, like Halo but better!!!
  3. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    For a game released in 2005, it is very nice to look at if you run it at the highest settings. There is no option in-game to run it inFor a game released in 2005, it is very nice to look at if you run it at the highest settings. There is no option in-game to run it in 1920x1080, however you can easily edit the game file with notepad to run it in 1080. Easily found with a Google search. Anyone saying, especially in 2005, that the graphics sucked is either completely full of it or was running it on the lowest settings. Gameplay is fantastic if you can get past the linear progression of the game, however I found it pleasing to not have to do much backtracking to unlock doors or find keys, etc. Also if the game weren't linear, there would not have been such large levels. The levels are spread out very well with different terrains being introduced regularly. Could have introduced more diversity with bad guys. Mostly stay the same throughout, however each level introduces more super battle droids and destroyer droids, adding to the difficulty as the game progresses. Too short, but that is very common with shooter in general, especially linear ones.

    Don't know anything about multiplayer, only played the single player campaign. One of the best Star Wars games of all time, and probably the best Star Wars game since Tie Fighter.

    The story was fantastic. Don't want to give away spoilers, but it is very engaging for being a linear shooter. Read the companion book series by Karen Traviss if you like the story of this game, her books in the commando series are very deep and I love her writing style which features very diverse personalities considering they're all clones. Overall, it is a solid 8/10 in 2012, was a 9.5/10 in 2005. As such I am giving it a 10 because it is a seven year old game and I couldn't give a 9.5, so I'm rounding up.
    Expand
  4. Jan 24, 2016
    9
    You get to experience the clone war as a clone but your not a normal clone, no, you're a leader. You can't go around shooting everybody, youYou get to experience the clone war as a clone but your not a normal clone, no, you're a leader. You can't go around shooting everybody, you need a team, now thats kind off annoying that Im weak, but its a great teamwork game. It also offers alot of replayability. Graphics are great, even greater considering the fact that this game if rom 2005, and it still has great graphics! I cant talk about multiplayer because the servers are closed. Bummer, if it is great, then I would give it a 10/10, but thats not the reason I didn't give it a 10/10, I give it a 9/10 because its not that long. Expand
  5. JW
    Jul 19, 2009
    8
    Great gameplay, frantic at times and at others quite calculated. The tactical element is streamlined perfectly. A decent selection of Great gameplay, frantic at times and at others quite calculated. The tactical element is streamlined perfectly. A decent selection of weapons. Characters are quite unique, shows a very different portrayal of clone troopers. Definitely one of the best Star Wars games to date. However, far too short. Here's hoping for a number 2 with more content. Expand
  6. Jan 1, 2015
    8
    I owned and played this years ago. I can't remember the story, or much of anything about Republic Commando. What I do remember is liking it aI owned and played this years ago. I can't remember the story, or much of anything about Republic Commando. What I do remember is liking it a lot. It's a little short, so if you buy it cheaply you have no complaint. I just added it to my Steam wishlist and will buy it for replay again, next time it's on sale. Expand
  7. Autopilot
    Feb 9, 2005
    1
    EVERYTHING about this game is lame and mediocre. It

See all 59 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best Star Wars Videogames of the Last 20 Years

    Best Star Wars Videogames of the Last 20 Years Image
    Published: November 6, 2017
    We reveal the 25 best Star Wars games, ranked by Metascore.