User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 182 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 182
  2. Negative: 46 out of 182
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 7, 2013
    3
    Clunky CONSOLE port with a fake "save" button that makes you think you can save at any time when in reality it's based around checkpoints. I love Star Wars but this is pure crap.
  2. Dec 14, 2011
    3
    Whoever ported the controls for this game from console to PC should be ashamed. It's fine until boss fights... then it requires an xbox controller to truly enjoy the game. Who wants to switch back and forth between mouse+keyboard and an xbox controller... not I.
  3. Sep 15, 2010
    1
    I actually created an account just to review this game. It is one of the worst PC games I have ever played. An obvious half-assed console-to-PC port. The menu doesn't even have mouse support. Targeting is next to impossible. The camera often finds itself in walls or other awkward positions. Without a controller for easy combos, some bosses are practically impossible to beat (since theyI actually created an account just to review this game. It is one of the worst PC games I have ever played. An obvious half-assed console-to-PC port. The menu doesn't even have mouse support. Targeting is next to impossible. The camera often finds itself in walls or other awkward positions. Without a controller for easy combos, some bosses are practically impossible to beat (since they have unavoidable attacks and counterattacks). The only reason it doesn't get a 0 is because I had fun tossing wookiees off of cliffs in the first level.

    Unless you get this game for free, don't bother installing it. And even if it's free, don't say I didn't warn you.
    Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2011
    3
    Graphics - Not bad. Not very good, either. There are still major problems with this game and it becomes painfully obvious after the first 5 minutes.

    Controls - One of the worst control schemes I have ever used. If you don't have a gamepad..forget this trash even exists Story - Must have been written by a 13 year old without a solid understanding of plot structure or character
    Graphics - Not bad. Not very good, either. There are still major problems with this game and it becomes painfully obvious after the first 5 minutes.

    Controls - One of the worst control schemes I have ever used. If you don't have a gamepad..forget this trash even exists

    Story - Must have been written by a 13 year old without a solid understanding of plot structure or character development. Has so many holes I could have sworn this is swiss. Gameplay - Boring and repetitive. Has some fun points in it..but not enough to even consider spending money on.

    Overall - Absolute trash. I am ashamed I even spent 5 dollars on this garbage. I love the star wars franchise..but this doesn't even deserve to have the name Star Wars in the title. Aspyre should not have been trusted with this project. Hell, nor Lucas-Arts for that matter.
    Expand
  5. MichaelS
    Dec 1, 2009
    3
    While its great to see the closest thing to another Jedi-Knight game. The Force Unleashed misses the mark in production and cross-platform porting values. Simple things like missing textures, lack of a mouse GUI interface. (They also forget to tell you what changes pages until later. Hint: its the " ] " and " [ " As for game play, your character has issues selecting which object he wants While its great to see the closest thing to another Jedi-Knight game. The Force Unleashed misses the mark in production and cross-platform porting values. Simple things like missing textures, lack of a mouse GUI interface. (They also forget to tell you what changes pages until later. Hint: its the " ] " and " [ " As for game play, your character has issues selecting which object he wants to attack/throw. You'll often charge into a group of storm-troopers only to target a box to their left. It gets even worse when you attempt to force-choke a target, and instead force choke a box. Further complications occur when you try to use the enviroment to hit things. Launching a projectile at enemies is near impossible with wonky force-choke controls. Character movement is also sub-par especially for a game that has mild-platforming. There is no ledge-grabbing here, and your character will slide on any surface angled greater than 30 degrees. This generally leads to many quick-deaths as your character's feet miss the platform by a half-foot, and he slides off into the abyss. Lightsaber combat is also iffy at best. Stronger enemies will break every single combo you attempt to launch at them. It doesn't matter if its a lightning-saber in mid-swing, they will be able to attack through it. Certain moves like the "Cross-Slash" makes your character stand in place for five seconds after attacking. Which wouldn't be a problem if six enemies weren't shooting you. The keyboard arrangement is insulting for a PC Gamer. Instead of allowing players to bind abilities to the 1-5 and F1-F4 buttons, you have to attempt to press multiple buttons around your WASD keys. Some of these attacks require you to be moving while pressing combos. I only have five fingers, and I have to stop to press Shift+Q in order to do a dashing attack. What could have been a solid light-saber game has been marred by crappy port and production values. Hopefully the next true Jedi-Knight game will restore order to Lucas Arts saber-games. Expand
  6. Oct 20, 2010
    3
    This was a big disappointment - clunky controls and technical problems I could handle but the HORRENDOUS user interface port and overall shoddy gameplay did it in. I gave it a few good hours of effort but it was too much. Played on Patch 1.2
  7. Oct 27, 2010
    1
    I tried both the console version and the PC version and i have to admit that i'm quite impressed that they managed to transfer the retarded controls from the console version to the PC version, and actually make them worse.

    F
  8. JohnnyM.
    Jan 22, 2010
    3
    There's not nearly enough in this game to either make it appealling to Star Wars fans, or PC gamers. The control scheme is wretched, and the number of holes in its plot (NOT just its disrespect for the canon lore, but its *ridiculous* attempt at a romance story, to the utterly uninspired "betrayal" or the lamest excuse to put Darth Maul into a game I've ever seen) In all There's not nearly enough in this game to either make it appealling to Star Wars fans, or PC gamers. The control scheme is wretched, and the number of holes in its plot (NOT just its disrespect for the canon lore, but its *ridiculous* attempt at a romance story, to the utterly uninspired "betrayal" or the lamest excuse to put Darth Maul into a game I've ever seen) In all fairness, Sam Witwer does a decent job as Starkiller, and the graphics are decent enough. But with repetitive levels (The level list goes: Kashyyk, Imperial Factory, Junkyard planet, Felucia, Imperial Ship, Bespin... uhhh... Kashyyk... again... Felucia again, Junkyard Planet... again... Come on REALLY?), awkward controls, a discouraging story, unengaging secondary characters and force powers that respond as well as a golden retriever with ADD amped up on meth this game has very little to save it. Last of all, this is the first Star Wars Jedi type game where I felt drastically removed from the powers of the force. Outcast, Academy and Dark Forces II all did a wonderful job of making the player FEEL like a part of the force... the games had a decent flow. This seems to take away from that... there's something very specific missing from it. Maybe it's the lack of first person, but I feel like it's more in the mechanics of the powers themselves. This though is more a personal gripe than an actual critique of the game itself. 3 for decent acting and nice enough graphics (that didn't have as much PC customization as I'd like). Expand
  9. Paul
    Jan 11, 2010
    2
    Clunky, awkward, and not very good. Hard to use force controls and a lack of first person view both suck.
  10. CrowBar
    Jan 19, 2010
    8
    Yes, there are some flaws. One that stands out, taking down the Death Star "boss." Extremely long and boring and ultimately frustrating. But beyond that, this is a damn good game. Its true, it pisses all over Star Wars lore. I dont recall Luke ever battling Vaders apprentice in Hoth, but gamewise, its good. SImple as that. The powers are very cool. Its incredibly satisfying to impale a Yes, there are some flaws. One that stands out, taking down the Death Star "boss." Extremely long and boring and ultimately frustrating. But beyond that, this is a damn good game. Its true, it pisses all over Star Wars lore. I dont recall Luke ever battling Vaders apprentice in Hoth, but gamewise, its good. SImple as that. The powers are very cool. Its incredibly satisfying to impale a force held trooper with your black lightsaber. The little additions, such as costume and the different gems and colours for lightsabers add to it. If your a fan of Star Wars, but not a fanatic, you'll truly enjoy this game. Expand
  11. JeffH
    Dec 30, 2009
    2
    Ok, it's fun. It's Star Wars. It's one of the worst ports I have ever seen. No AA, No Bloom, restrictive resolutions. If you are going to port a game to the PC, port it right. I have a PC because my GPU kicks PS3 butt. So I see no advantage of buying this for the PC. I want my AA, I want my Bloom. I want my 2048x1152. Hopefully this will be patched. I doubt it though, and I Ok, it's fun. It's Star Wars. It's one of the worst ports I have ever seen. No AA, No Bloom, restrictive resolutions. If you are going to port a game to the PC, port it right. I have a PC because my GPU kicks PS3 butt. So I see no advantage of buying this for the PC. I want my AA, I want my Bloom. I want my 2048x1152. Hopefully this will be patched. I doubt it though, and I won't buy another stupid Port. Expand
  12. Mar 13, 2012
    8
    SWTFU is a good addition to the Star Wars universe. The combat is excellent, and this is a game I think is good enough to rival the likes of God of War. The visuals are pleasing, the score is the usual SW best, and was overall a very enjoyable game. Although it is a bit annoying to play on the PC, this game is very good, but is probably enjoyed more on console.
  13. Sep 4, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. a game that could have been great but fell short. the game's concept of the truly ultimate Jedi with force powers on an epic scale was fun at first but it was clear this was a lazy uncared about port as battles got more complicated. the controls were a real let down making the game feel clunky and forcing me to dig out my controller to play the game to it's full potential, and I sure hope you like quick time events and button mashing as this game has plenty of both for every large enemy and boss. the quick time events looked cool at first and made the character look like a true Jedi but the they got repetitive and boring and eventually tedious which is the last thing you want in a game. although there is one stand out section where the game's concept comes to life and that's the section where you literally pull a star destroyer out of the sky as it plummets towards the planet, it really gives you a sense of invulnerability and power but the section is short lived and the only part like it in the game. but with this edition of the game comes three extra levels which are really cleverly thought out and fun as they show what the later movies would have been like if Star killer (the character you play as) was the Emperor's apprentice and not Vader but the levels are short and like the rest of the game simple and eventually boring and even with the extra levels I completed the entire game in a single play session. this game could have really been something the ports just needed more time and then again so did the game. Expand
  14. Dec 27, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. LOL nerds and Hardcore star wars gamers grow up. This game was awesome. Great graphics, good story line, great DLC add ins. Come turning Luke to the dark side is GREAT! I love this game and played it through twice. It was a touch short, and I felt that the upgrades for the force should have been on a scale of 5 or at least higher than 3, but other than that I love this game. Expand
  15. Jun 8, 2012
    0
    Positive: Nothing ... maybe the AI.
    Negative: Graphics are very ugly and outdated. For example there is no AA, textures and light effects are terrible. Gameplay is pure garbage, camera is making crazy positions and controls are bad (I mean globally, not the key settings).This game is one of the worst ports ever. Maybe its good on console (I don't know), but on PC its pure garbage. I played
    Positive: Nothing ... maybe the AI.
    Negative: Graphics are very ugly and outdated. For example there is no AA, textures and light effects are terrible. Gameplay is pure garbage, camera is making crazy positions and controls are bad (I mean globally, not the key settings).This game is one of the worst ports ever. Maybe its good on console (I don't know), but on PC its pure garbage. I played version 1.2 so after the second (last) patch, so its not about patch.
    Expand
  16. AlecM
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    All the reviews are quite silly. Why? Because all they needed to do was instal the patch that came out just a few days after the game. It runs just fine and is a great inovation in gaming with amazing graphics, great voice acting, and the smartest AI anyone has yet seen. It's sad to see that when some one comes out with a good game it gets shot down because reviewers can't All the reviews are quite silly. Why? Because all they needed to do was instal the patch that came out just a few days after the game. It runs just fine and is a great inovation in gaming with amazing graphics, great voice acting, and the smartest AI anyone has yet seen. It's sad to see that when some one comes out with a good game it gets shot down because reviewers can't wait/look for a verry speedy patch. The game is realy verry fun with a lot of replayability and crazy force powers. If you can't stand a game thats not a FPS or RPG then this isn't for you. But if you like Star Wars, good acting, and inovation. Then this is your game. May the force be with you and all that Jazz. Collapse
  17. NathenS
    Dec 19, 2009
    9
    I agree with Alec M all the way this game was truely under rated by far to many it certainly doesnt take long to beat and that is absolutely the only reason I personally won't purchase this game yet but 29 bucks or less... my god you will get the bang for your buck. 50 to 40 however I felt was too much for such a short game but still a great game none the less easily to the point to I agree with Alec M all the way this game was truely under rated by far to many it certainly doesnt take long to beat and that is absolutely the only reason I personally won't purchase this game yet but 29 bucks or less... my god you will get the bang for your buck. 50 to 40 however I felt was too much for such a short game but still a great game none the less easily to the point to where I would have bought it at full price if I had the money to throw away. Expand
  18. Oct 16, 2010
    2
    Very disappointed in this game and very surprised that Lucas departed from a winning interface. Perhaps the most disappointing part of this game is that it is an obvious and very poor translation from a console game to a pc game. The GUI and screen displays do not work well and are very frustrating. I have played the KOTOR series and love those games. Those games were a huge hit, so itVery disappointed in this game and very surprised that Lucas departed from a winning interface. Perhaps the most disappointing part of this game is that it is an obvious and very poor translation from a console game to a pc game. The GUI and screen displays do not work well and are very frustrating. I have played the KOTOR series and love those games. Those games were a huge hit, so it is puzzling why they changed the interface. Save your money. This is a waste of disk space. Expand
  19. Oct 10, 2010
    10
    Wow people, download the patch and just because it's different then MW2 and BC2 doesn't mean it sucks. If you don't like the control setup change them! there was hardly a good review in here... I really would have given this game about an 8.5, but i'm trying to make up for all the reviews that aren't reviews at all... just people demonstrating that they are a little lazy and narrow minded.Wow people, download the patch and just because it's different then MW2 and BC2 doesn't mean it sucks. If you don't like the control setup change them! there was hardly a good review in here... I really would have given this game about an 8.5, but i'm trying to make up for all the reviews that aren't reviews at all... just people demonstrating that they are a little lazy and narrow minded. If you take the time to learn all the controls it's a blast. Expand
  20. Dec 12, 2011
    6
    It's an okay game if you see it on a Steam sale or from somewhere. Not really anything amazing, but if you find it cheap it can fill a hack n slash void if you already played and beat Darksiders to death. Decent game, but don't pay more then $5 for it.
  21. May 15, 2014
    3
    This new Star Wars game really was just swimming in mediocrity. The developers who made this were clearly pretty lazy not to include mouse support for the menu. The game's combat is OK, but it gets very repetitive as you go on. The frame rate usually suffers from drops to 20 fps or lower. The visuals are muddy, but endurable and textures are mediocre. The targeting is nearly impossible,This new Star Wars game really was just swimming in mediocrity. The developers who made this were clearly pretty lazy not to include mouse support for the menu. The game's combat is OK, but it gets very repetitive as you go on. The frame rate usually suffers from drops to 20 fps or lower. The visuals are muddy, but endurable and textures are mediocre. The targeting is nearly impossible, and the story is very linear. How this game manages an okay score is beyond me. The only thing going for this, and how it salvages 3 points is because they had a good concept, and it shows at some points, but Star Wars: The Force Unleashed does no effort to escape its immense mediocrity. Expand
  22. Feb 23, 2014
    2
    This POS is the only game I rated so low on Metacritic.
    This is A BLATAN CONSOLE RIP with extremely unresponsive controls. Targeting system is horrible, there is a lock system mechanic that just PLAIN AND SIMPLE DOES NOT WORK.
    Examples: - you press E to force-push a weakened enemy and your character turns around striking an enemy across the room instead, ignoring the auto-lock - you
    This POS is the only game I rated so low on Metacritic.
    This is A BLATAN CONSOLE RIP with extremely unresponsive controls. Targeting system is horrible, there is a lock system mechanic that just PLAIN AND SIMPLE DOES NOT WORK.
    Examples: - you press E to force-push a weakened enemy and your character turns around striking an enemy across the room instead, ignoring the auto-lock
    - you throw an explosive container at an enemy, and instead of throwing forwards it throws it to the left or right to hit another container because targeting system thinks you always want to hit the closest target when throwing (because logic is overrated)
    While the game does have some potential and nice animations, particle effects and what not, I just couldn't get myself to enjoy it with keyboard and mouse. Whoever was in charge of making the PC port FUDGED IT UP COMPLTELY.
    Also I expected numerous glitches with level geometry, disappearing textures and what not.
    This is not worth your money nor your time.
    Expand
  23. Jul 11, 2013
    7
    i enjoyed this game it was very cool game mechanics. Definitely could've used better port interface thats for damn sure. But story line was very cool liked the good/evil ending choices, combat was a lot of fun. Don't listen to other reviews about combos and weird camara angles i had no problem with this and i played on computer. I guess maybe some targeting issues but either way was enjoyable.
  24. Mar 10, 2017
    0
    This is a completely ****ed up game. I give this game a complete ****ing zero rating. And here's why you need to NOT buy this game:

    COMBAT * You're a Jedi warrior. So powerful right? Wrong! In this game ALL your powers are limited to a very short distance. Lightning is limited. Push is limited. You can't pull. Grip takes a lot of time. Your enemies on the other hand are hiding in
    This is a completely ****ed up game. I give this game a complete ****ing zero rating. And here's why you need to NOT buy this game:

    COMBAT
    * You're a Jedi warrior. So powerful right? Wrong! In this game ALL your powers are limited to a very short distance. Lightning is limited. Push is limited. You can't pull. Grip takes a lot of time. Your enemies on the other hand are hiding in unreachable areas - for example high up on the roof behind a fence. You can't target them because your camera doesn't turn that way. You can't target them either which is the next problem.

    * Targeting system - The bl**d su**ing Jedi prioritizes the SCRAP METAL parts over all the enemies, the bosses, the henchment, the door lock which is your mission. Out of all these things he selectively picks up the SCRAP METAL for targetting. So your lightning hits the metal while henchmen beat the hell out of you. Push goes to the metal. All your punches, light-saber swings goes to the metal pieces. Meanwhile the boss is beating you, snipers are targetting you from outside the screen, the ground is shaking and ALL your jumps are in the wrong direction.

    CONTROLS + KNOCKED-DOWN:
    Except movement ALL fighting buttons - lightning, grip, push have a 2 second delay. Yes 2 seconds. Not even 1 second delay but a whole 2. Okay so that is about the controls.

    About the fights ALL enemy punches will stop whatever you are doing and Knock you down. So if you just about to shoot Force push (maybe in a milli-second) and an enemy hit you you won't release all that power. Instead you'll fall down on the ground taking a hit.

    Now combine both these points together and the 3rd level onwards, about 90% of the fights in this game will be this. You meet a bunch of enemies. 3 guys knock you down. Your character is out of control. By the time he gets up he has already been hit 4-5 times. The moment you get the controls he gets hit and falls down again. So throughout the fight he endlessly stays down.

    SNIPERS:
    This is the most annoying part of the game. What is greater than a Jedi? According to this game it's a sniper rifle and mini-gun blaster rifles. So lets say you are on teh ground doing your knocked-down routine. You get up, fall down, get up, fall down etc. Suddenly a scope reticule will appear on you. When this happens you nkow that a sniper has aimed at you. And once the sniper does this he can target you THROUGHOUT that area. Yes you read that right. THROUGHOUT! Even behind a WALL! (Patch ***ing 1.2 - which is their latest patch which is after fixing bugs).

    This glitch makes the sniper guy the most powerful creature in the game. And the levels literally have dozens of snipers. So what you need to do in the levels is abandon everything else and first try to kill the sniper. Becauase once the scope reticule has appeared on you then the sniper wont allow you to hit a single unit.

    My workaround for this was to use a cheat trainer that gave me infinite lightning, infinite health etc. And still the game was a major pain in the a**. You fall-down, get up, fall-down, get up and try to look around for where the ***k the sniper is but you can't turn the camera because it's fixed. So you do the **** double jump and spot him - usually on some ledge. You jump + Force lightning = doesnt work. He is targetting the scrap pieces on the ground. Jump + Force Push= doesn't work. Still targetting the ground. You try to climb up but you can't. Max you can do is just keep jumping to spot him.

    THE ONLY COMBAT:
    The only way to fight is to pick up those ****ing scrap pieces and hit people with them. He always gives the highest preference to scrap pieces. So you force grip them and then throw them in a general direction hoping that it will hit the enemy. In most of the times it doesn't hit anyone. So you keep throwing the metal objects at the sniper. You throw once.. knocked-down, get up, knock-down, get up, knock-down, get up... try Twice.. it didn't work again. knocked-down, get up, knocked-down, get up... try Thrice. Still didn't work. Like this yuo need to try about 5-6 times and it will finally hit that ONE sniper. Don't forget there are OTHER snipers too!! Now repeat the whole process with the other sniper.

    BOSSES + HENCHMEN can interrupt Jedi Force Powers:
    While you're doing all these things EVERYONE around you is just beating the crap out of you! If you are using lightning on them then they don't fall down. Instead they will take out their gun and shoot and you get knocked-down again. I mean WTFF! A single blaster shot is enough to get the Jedi on the ground. Meanwhile you throw your light saber at them and they block it. They can block a F***ING LIGHT SABER! Even if you charge your light saber and throw it they can still block it. How is that even possible?

    Nobody dies from a single stroke of light saber. And I'm talking about the least game difficulty - the casual difficult setting. For the most ordinary henchmen you need 4 lightsaber stro
    Expand
  25. Apr 26, 2015
    8
    In my opinion, this is one of the best star wars games of all time. I played this game on the PS3 in 2009, and now I played it on the PC in 2015, albeit with an XBOX 360 controller. I just got off a run of playing through all the Dark Forces games, and as I was playing through Jedi Outcast, I realized that I would rather play a game with real force powers and didn't involve running aroundIn my opinion, this is one of the best star wars games of all time. I played this game on the PS3 in 2009, and now I played it on the PC in 2015, albeit with an XBOX 360 controller. I just got off a run of playing through all the Dark Forces games, and as I was playing through Jedi Outcast, I realized that I would rather play a game with real force powers and didn't involve running around looking for switches to flip instead of actually fighting. So I stopped playing Outcast and switched to this game. It was much more exciting and much more fast-paced.

    The plot is definitely the strongest point of the game- a few of the negative reviews mention a forced romance with the main character, which I feel is a legitimate complaint, but I think the story excels in every other area. The game is decently paced, although it could even stand to be a bit longer (which I rarely say about games because they generally have so little to say but try to say it in the longest way possible).

    Even though the targeting on some of the Force powers is clunky, I feel like the game does the best it can by trying to auto-aim a bit whenever you throw items. It does work most of the time, but it does have its misses. I do enjoy using it to take out AT-ST's while behind cover using the homing on Force throw.

    The biggest appeal of the game for me was being able to walk into a fight and decide one-by-one how I wanted each enemy to die in the coming battle: impaled by a lightsaber? Hacked into pieces? Collateral damage in a Force throw? That was the true enjoyment of the game for me. Once the last levels came around and the enemies were tougher and resistant to Force powers and lightsabers, I did feel more helpless and wish they had a more consistent way to deal with powerful enemies.

    Overall, the game does give a great impression of what it feels like to be a powerful Jedi. Sometimes it feels like the lightsaber is relegated to being a baseball bat, but overall the impression is strong as you fight through hordes of stormtroopers without a scratch.
    Expand
  26. May 7, 2014
    4
    I started playing this and couldn't figure out why the reviews put it in such poor light, but now that I've sunk a few hours into it, it's easy to see why the scores are so low. Basically it's a game with so much potential packaged with a greater level of disappointment. It was ported by very, very lazy people who were probably coding with one hand, while holding their junk with the other.I started playing this and couldn't figure out why the reviews put it in such poor light, but now that I've sunk a few hours into it, it's easy to see why the scores are so low. Basically it's a game with so much potential packaged with a greater level of disappointment. It was ported by very, very lazy people who were probably coding with one hand, while holding their junk with the other.
    This is one of the worst console ports I've seen on PC. It's worse than GTA IV and is trying to rival Viking: Battle for Asgard. There are a few reasons why it's such a bad port. The graphic optimisation for the game is terrible and should be running far smoother. Because the graphics aren't optimised, it also doesn't take advantage of many of the wonderful options available on PC to make a game look amazing. Users also can't choose these many options to optimise performance on their PC's, so many users are unable to play the game on their lower end systems.
    The controls are very clunky. Objects picked up and thrown with the force hardly ever seem to go in the right direction. Targeting is hit or miss and often the most random objects are selected, rather than the creature standing RIGHT IN FRONT of you currently slaughtering away. Momentum clearly doesn't exist and this makes jumping very hard. Double jumping sometimes works and sometimes doesn't.
    The menus are clunky and the game house NO mouse cursor for menu selection. Basic things like making sure the combo menu is easier to navigate to and read quickly aren't included.
    One of the biggest pissoff factors has to be the "even though you've changed your controls to suit your style of play, all of the messages throughout the game will show the original controls". This would be fine, except that all big creatures and bosses have finishing moves that require button mashing combos that show the original keys and make for tedious and difficult gameplay. Then there's also the combo menu, which shows all of the original keys.
    The camera is below average during normal gameplay and absolutely abysmal during boss fights. The camera works on console, but this is a PC PORT!
    All in all, this game leaves me constantly fighting through everything other than the actual enemies in game.
    Expand
  27. Jun 12, 2013
    5
    This game is very disappointing. I got about two hours in before I became completely fed up. What stands out the most is the terrible control scheme (and I played the game on xbox). Targeting is awkward, I found that whenever I tried to use a force power on an enemy the game would most of the time target the barrel next to the enemy instead. Enemies regularly knock me down throughThis game is very disappointing. I got about two hours in before I became completely fed up. What stands out the most is the terrible control scheme (and I played the game on xbox). Targeting is awkward, I found that whenever I tried to use a force power on an enemy the game would most of the time target the barrel next to the enemy instead. Enemies regularly knock me down through seemingly normal attacks, and while the character is on his way back up he often gets knocked down again. None of the talents you can unlock are very exciting either. Overall, the mechanics of this game are boring and repetitive. I didn't get far enough to judge the story. Graphics are nice, and if you like star wars you may like this game. However, make sure you get it at a discounted rate, this game isn't worth full price at all. Expand
  28. Jan 17, 2016
    6
    Extremely inconsistent game. On one hand, we have a frenetic jedi action we haven't seen at least since last Jedi Knight and maybe not even then. On the other hand, it is really clunky console port - game itself is 30+ GB and although graphics is not bad, I can only wonder where has all the data gone. And even all the cool locations and characters cannot overcome the strict linearity ofExtremely inconsistent game. On one hand, we have a frenetic jedi action we haven't seen at least since last Jedi Knight and maybe not even then. On the other hand, it is really clunky console port - game itself is 30+ GB and although graphics is not bad, I can only wonder where has all the data gone. And even all the cool locations and characters cannot overcome the strict linearity of the game, fake save button (it's still checkpoints) and crappy controls. But it's still Star Wars, so let it be above average, I say! :-) Expand
  29. May 4, 2014
    4
    Poor controls on the PC version. I had to hook up my 360 controller to get it playable. Force powers are kinda silly - they routinely blast people into walls or staircases, and make short work of the enemies are clearly supposed to be the "hard" mobs (a single force push into any environmental hazard kills them). I got stuck in a staircase from the first bosses's push attack right off thePoor controls on the PC version. I had to hook up my 360 controller to get it playable. Force powers are kinda silly - they routinely blast people into walls or staircases, and make short work of the enemies are clearly supposed to be the "hard" mobs (a single force push into any environmental hazard kills them). I got stuck in a staircase from the first bosses's push attack right off the bat, had to spend the next 5 minutes jumping up and chopping at his ankles so I could get to the next scene - there's not a "load last checkpoint" that I could find.

    It's not bad for a hacky-slashy-blasty limited thinking game, but there are games that do it far better. Overall it's a 4 for being a poor console port of a poor console game. Pick it up on sale, or pick up any of the other, vastly better star wars games instead.
    Expand
  30. Apr 12, 2016
    8
    I was obsessed with Star Wars, forgot about it for years, and know I love it again. This game brought out all the excitement I could get from one of the movies and then some. The levels had arguably the best openings ever. And that's because they start how every movie starts out. With the cyan colored sentence, and then boom. The roaring theme with the rising text. One of the best DLCsI was obsessed with Star Wars, forgot about it for years, and know I love it again. This game brought out all the excitement I could get from one of the movies and then some. The levels had arguably the best openings ever. And that's because they start how every movie starts out. With the cyan colored sentence, and then boom. The roaring theme with the rising text. One of the best DLCs I've ever played. Expand
  31. Jan 30, 2017
    7
    Star Wars The Force Unleashed
    More Like Star of Wars
    This game is basically God of War set in the star wars world but with none of the variety… You start the Game as Darth Vader and its perfect.. You’re walking slowly just destroying everyone and everything in sight… It’s a great way to introduce the fighting mechanics and I didn’t want it to end... honestly if all 6 and a half hours
    Star Wars The Force Unleashed
    More Like Star of Wars
    This game is basically God of War set in the star wars world but with none of the variety…
    You start the Game as Darth Vader and its perfect..
    You’re walking slowly just destroying everyone and everything in sight…
    It’s a great way to introduce the fighting mechanics and I didn’t want it to end...
    honestly if all 6 and a half hours of this game was the prologue… it would be pretty close to a 10/10 experience…
    unfortunately it isn’t..
    Sadly you play the game as Darth Vader’s Apprentice after something happens that I’m not gonna say... I don’t want to spoil it…
    The Story here is actually really enjoyable, easy to follow along with and I wanted to see it to its end…
    But you play through the 9 missions in total killing the Jedi among other characters…
    And again this is god of war with light sabers…
    As you progress through the levels slicing enemies and finding new light sabers so you aren’t stuck with sith red... you’re leveling up for skill points to spend in the 3 different skill trees…
    You’re completing tasks in these linear levels using the force where you have to pull items out of their sockets for the most part or zap them with lightning… using the force to grab and pull doesn’t really feel all too intuitive or responsive though…
    many frustrating moments trying to bend doors and grab onto items to fling them through the air…
    And at the end of each mission you take on a boss…
    Every boss is really about jumping out of the way and slashing them more times than they slash you.. And they all end in a god of war style quick time event….
    it’s cool meeting all of these star wars characters and visiting the different worlds…
    But beyond the prologue... the game feels generic…
    You visit no place interesting..
    so level progressing trying to build yourself up to the Vader status you started as is just no fun…
    you feel more like running through to the end rather than spending the time fighting enemies wanting to get stronger because it is so boringly designed…
    You never truly reach the god status the games beginning teases you with either which was so satisfying and fun even at the slow pace Vader was moving at…
    This games graphics are insane though considering it came out in 2008…
    Usually early ps3 and 360 games are hard on my eyes…
    But this game could easily be passed off as a late gen ps3 game or a downloadable game on the ps4..
    I was genuinely impressed...
    I just wish they put these graphics towards making interesting levels and environments to explore…
    Overall Star Wars The Force Unleashed is a decently fun game with an interesting story…
    Just not varied enough with its gameplay or level design to call it a must play for anyone not already a star wars fan..
    But if you are a fan even a little and you do play... you won’t be disappointed.. at least not extremely disappointed...
    I give Star Wars The Force Unleashed
    a 7/10
    Expand
  32. Jul 15, 2015
    8
    Great game, the Sith edition adds some cool new levels to the game. The game has a storyline that is pretty straight forward, so you aren't left behind or confused. Seeing the dark side of the Force was interesting, as we don't usually see that in the Star Wars universe. A must-have for any Star Wars fan.
  33. Jan 3, 2017
    5
    The gameplay is very boring for me. Just hack through tons of enemies and kill the boss in a "dodge now, attack now" fight. The only good thing in this game is the story. Just watch the cutscenes on youtube or read it on wookiepedia or wikipedia.
  34. Feb 2, 2017
    1
    This game really suck for a SW game. Force. combos and other stuff doesnt even means if you can pass the game with only simple hits of saber. Controlling on PC ugly, graphic sucks and LAGS. 1/10
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. A slapdash porting job turns the Force into a farce in this Star Wars action game.
  2. 75
    It doesn't fix or change anything in the original game - it just gives you a few more levels and some new skins. If you don't already have the game, give it a look. If you do, you might just want to go the DLC route.
  3. The gameplay doesn't really satisfy me, but what's worse are the technical issues. Still, the game has its moments and can be great fun because of the story and the force powers.