Super Hexagon PC

Super Hexagon Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 215 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Super Hexagon is a minimal action game by Terry Cavanagh, with music by Chipzel. Important facts about Hexagons: Hexagons are first order permutohedrons: The vertices of a hexagon can be formed by permuting the coordinates of the vector (1, 2, 3).

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    100
    Super Hexagon is an incredible game. Its simplicity makes it accessible, and its challenge level is rewarding when you learn to overcome it.
  2. Dec 6, 2012
    90
    A frenzied, elegant action game that pulses with great music and demanding thrills, for only £2/$3.
  3. Dec 27, 2012
    85
    Fast, minimal and fun: Super Hexagon is the new Terry Cavanagh triumph.
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    May 13, 2013
    82
    Super Hexagon is not a game you'll play for months on end. It's not a significant step in the evolution of games as an art form. But damn if it isn't astounding that a game this simple can be such a joy to play! As a small-scale time waster it's pretty much perfect. [May 2013]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 65
  2. Negative: 6 out of 65
  1. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game............ This Game........ Has broken everything ever created from the amount of BS being pumped through the veins of Super Hexagon. I never seen a game so GOOD. Its pure LSD. When you finally beat the game. Its like Jesus came down from heaven and put a pound of cocaine on your anus hole. Then it turns into syrup and a lumberjack from outer space comes down in a UFO to stack pancakes on your anus and enjoy that cocaine syrup inside your butthole. In this process your anus widens at least 30 inches and it then gives you the power to beat the good game. I hope my review helps you to buy the game and some day become a legend like I have. Good Day. Expand
  2. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    Super Hexagon is a test of reflexes and pattern recognition. The soundtrack that accompanies its simple gameplay is engrossing. Its controlsSuper Hexagon is a test of reflexes and pattern recognition. The soundtrack that accompanies its simple gameplay is engrossing. Its controls are fluid but require some familiarization in order to accurately use them to navigate the obstacle courses. The game is an exercise in hand-eye coordination first and foremost, although as it reaches higher difficulties, it is more about pattern recognition and intuitive movement.

    Super Hexagon has no narrative and exudes minimalism in its design. Users are however advised against playing this game if they have risks of epilepsy.
    Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Super addictive, really hard, awesome music, controls are fine if you use a control pad guy giving it a bad rating is a just a scrub who cantSuper addictive, really hard, awesome music, controls are fine if you use a control pad guy giving it a bad rating is a just a scrub who cant get past 3 seconds. Expand
  4. Jan 4, 2014
    9
    This game is one of the best boredom breakers of all time, and then some. It can easily run on pretty much anything, due to the minimalisticThis game is one of the best boredom breakers of all time, and then some. It can easily run on pretty much anything, due to the minimalistic style. The price tag is nice, 3 USD and .50 on sale. Another great creation from Terry Cavanagh. The only criticism I have is the extremely sharp learning curve, pretty much everyone I know has ragequit at least once. Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2013
    8
    A super addicting, super hard, and all around super game. If fast, difficult, arcadeish gameplay is for you, then you'd love this game. It'sA super addicting, super hard, and all around super game. If fast, difficult, arcadeish gameplay is for you, then you'd love this game. It's low price is just the cherry on the top of an otherwise great game.
    Graphics are a great blend of the fast shapes, rapidly rotating background, and beautiful changing colors. All running great, requiring nil to run.
    What really seals the deal fpr me is the music, it's some of the best I've heard in a long while (avid chiptune fan), and it's what keeps me going through the many screw-ups. And I do screw up a lot, but I never hold it against the game. It's got something that keeps me coming back for more, and the only scoring helps in attempting to get that score up.
    The only real cons I can think of is the re-playability of it all. But then again, that isn't an issue with a game like this.
    I'd recommend this to pretty much anyone whose in the spirit for a game that pulls all the punches, and is great fun to play in either short bursts, or long score-grinding sessions.
    Expand
  6. Mar 16, 2013
    7
    This game's description tells you a whole lot of nothing, so let me fix that. Super Hexagon is an arcade-style action game where you need toThis game's description tells you a whole lot of nothing, so let me fix that. Super Hexagon is an arcade-style action game where you need to guide a little triangle (the one right outside the center hex if you look at the pictures) to avoid the incoming hexagon fragments. This game is frantic and it's difficult. You'll need perfect speed and precision to make it even part way through the first level. You will lose many, many times before you succeed, but you're instantly thrown back in the action.

    As you play, the hexagons start coming at you in new, interesting patterns that will throw you off. You'll bob and weave, and then suddenly the hexagon becomes a pentagon and your careful plans need to change in a split second. The pace is really intense.

    The graphics are basic but neat. The music is great; it's high-quality chiptune music, but that should be no surprise from the developer of VVVVVV. It's an interesting game that's done very well, but it's just not for me. If you're looking for a unique, challenging game, you can do a lot worse than Super Hexagon, especially for the price. This game is cheap enough that there's really no need to wait for a sale if you're interested.
    Expand
  7. Jan 13, 2014
    0
    Save your money. This game is horrendous. If you survive past 5 seconds great job. I really wish I saved my 60 cents and bought a McDonaldsSave your money. This game is horrendous. If you survive past 5 seconds great job. I really wish I saved my 60 cents and bought a McDonalds ice cream instead. Expand

See all 65 User Reviews

Trailers