User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 544 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 544

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    I thought it was impossible to hate a game and love it at the same time. Super Meat Boy proved me wrong. I like how they went back to the old days, when games were actually HARD. SMB contains one of toughest levels I have ever played in a platformer. The feeling of satisfaction you get when you beat a level or get an A+ rating on it is gold. The extra characters in the PC version also add to some fun experimenting while using them in levels. This game is awesome. Period. You must buy it now! 10/10 Expand
  2. May 26, 2011
    10
    Be reborned into the golden age of games. Think back to when you played Donkey Kong Country or the old Mario games. Because Super Meat boy easily brings back those memories.

    Challenging, but simple indie game can easily bring back the child in you (or in my case, the 90s). The game can easily make you death count reach to the 100s, but the 10-20 second stage completion times (for the true
    indie gamer) more than makes up for this. A must have for gamers and players alike. Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    the 4th best game of all time... and an amazing game to play. i got the ultra RARE editiion, and couldnt be happier to revive the simple run and jump ( it s been a LONG time since ive said that)
    if you like gaming, hard and old school, get get get..

    97%
  4. Feb 14, 2013
    10
    As long as you have a USB controller then this is the best 2D platformer you will ever play. The game is very difficult, but as someone who usually hates hard games I enjoyed this more than most platformers. The game is difficult but never unfair, it's always down to you when you die as the controls are flawless (on a controller). The game has a nice art style, cool music and has nice homages to old NES games throughout. Overall I think unless you hate games that are super difficult give this a try It's given me hours of entertainment Expand
  5. Jan 11, 2014
    9
    Very nice by the standarts of indie game. And incredibly hard, like INCREDIBLY, I almost broke my fingers and I'm only in 2nd world lol :)
    9/10 from my point of view. Old 2d-platformer fans wont be disappointed ))
  6. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    One of the key rules of video game reviewing is you can never criticise a game because it's hard. It's basically like saying you don't like it simply because you're not good at it. I'm not the best but I got through the game (the light world and a decent amount of the dark world) even using a keyboard. It's really fun and even with the keyboard, the game controls like a dream. It did cause me to nearly throw my laptop on the ground but thankfully the game loads so fast when you die that you have no time to lament your last failure. So much content and addictive gameplay makes this one of the best platformers on the market Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    I'm not sure if I've ever slammed my keyboard as much as I do when playing this game. This game is frustrating, damn difficult and very unforgiving. I have never died so many times in a game before on a single level. Despite the extreme difficulty though, I loved every minute I spent playing this game. The levels are ingeniously detailed and varied, with many obstacles in your way such as spinning saws and bottomless pits. The levels are also very short, so when (not if) you die, you will not have to constantly repeat huge segments. The game's music is also incredible and really just makes you want to keep playing even if you've died 50 times already on the level you're trying. This is a really great game that I can't recommend enough. Just make sure you don't break your keyboard out of frustration. Expand
  8. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    One of the best platformers I have ever played. Great levels with really good difficulty. There are many different characters to unlock that have special abilities. You can also unlock much harder versions of the original stages. While playing this on the PC, a controller is strongly recommended.
  9. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    I HATE THIS GAME SO MUCH 10/10
    The satisfaction you get after completing a level that you've been putting off for days in the first try is what this games is about.
  10. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    AMAZING Game. Do not miss this from your collection on PC. Have played through to the end of world 3 and tried a few of the warp zones and dark levels already. Hands down this is my GOTY for 2010. Yes that's right it beats Mass Effect 2, Fallout New Vegas, Alan Wake and even Amnesia the Dark Descent. Addictive, highly replayable, fun to play by yourself or with friends. The replay of all your tries when you finish a level is pure GOLD. Unlocking new characters is also really interesting and adds even more replayability to the game. Whoever designed this game are officially legends. Expand
  11. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    A revolutionary game in the form of a distilled platformer for the ADD generation. Not only with its challenge level and precise control does it define what difficulty should really rely on in a game (player skill, not lives-based punishment), but Super Meat Boy also manages to revitalize old school platforming notions of perseverance, muscle memory, concentration, and practice to almost zen-like levels (if you're willing to commit). Respawn times are also virtually nonexistent, giving you little chance to grieve over your last death. By helping put a spotlight on many other interesting games via unlockable characters, SMB has increased its replay value ten-fold and helped put a much-needed spotlight on the indie games movement. The indie development model is also celebrated here, with increased emphasis on discounts and endless content (level editor, user-created level portals). There are bosses to beat and an ending to achieve in Super Meat Boy, but it is hardly the destination of the game, something that is evidenced by the journey of 300+ timed and leaderboard-enhanced levels of pure platforming bliss that Team Meat clearly put two years of blood, sweat, and tears into. Oh yeah, and the music kicks ass. Expand
  12. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    Super Meat Boy is absolutely one of the most enjoyable platformer games that have come out in recent years. The early levels of each stage focus perfectly on teaching the player essential skills in how to interact with the environment to pass future levels. There's a great element of comedy within the game and an 80s nostalgia with all the nods to the great platform games that came before it.

    This is my favorite genre of video gaming, perhaps because of that very nostalgic feel of running, jumping and avoiding obstacles. Meat Boy is great, and with a ridiculous amount of levels this game provides almost endless fun for it's very low cost. It's often on sale in Steam or other retailers so there's no excuse, if you watch a trailer or some gameplay and it looks even remotely interesting to you, trust me, you'll love it. It's quickly become one of my favorites.
    Expand
  13. Aug 8, 2012
    9
    2D platformer for the mashocists out there - casual gamers need not apply. Spoiler Alert: You'll die. You'll die. Then you'll die some more. Not all that uncommon to die 20 times within a 60 second span. With arcadish throwback presentation, a hyper announcer, and levels lasting only 5-20 seconds it will keep the attention of even the most A.D.D. of A.D.D's. Quite a few characters to unlock to mix up the gameplay, lots of levels, lots of pitfalls, lots of bandages to search and find, and even nice homages to games past like Castlevania, Zelda, etc in the cutscene . The game tracks your best times for each level which also adds to the competitiveness as you can see how you stack up against complete strangers or the people you have friended on steam which is nice and trying to get A+ times on every level will add some nice replay value to levels you already beat. I'm only a 1/3rd of the way through and its quite a challenge. I can only imagine what horrors await me in the future levels. This is one of those games you will be proud to beat and considering it can be grabbed for under 4$ on any Steam Summer or Winter sale its a no brainer for those who are up for a challenge. (note: can be played with a keyboard but you will probably want a gamepad for this one). Expand
  14. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    This game's the reason behind my screen name. It is amazingly difficult and addictive, as any good game should be, so you always have an incentive to play it through to the end. The story line is enticing and I grew to actually care about the characters, just like you would in a film. The ideas behind the construction of the game, levels (Having an initial "Light world" set of levels and when you've aced those you unlock the more challenging "Dark World" levels) is great, and the cut scenes are the icing on the cake.

    tl;dr it makes mario look like a pile of arse

    Probably my favourite game ever.
    Expand
  15. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    One of the best platformers ever made. It applies a perfect learning curve in its level design and can provide dedicated players with a huge amount of content if they're completionists or speed gamers. It has maddeningly difficult levels but provides challenges that always seem fair to the player. When you mess up you can generally feel like it is your own damned fault and not some cheap trick like other difficult platformers released in recent years.

    This is some of the best money I've ever spent and would highly encourage anyone with even a passing interest in platformers to give it a try.
    Expand
  16. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    Super Meat Boy is a classic throw back to how games used to be, and that is being mostly platformers and also being masochistically hard. I seriously had to practice level that can be completed in around 7 seconds for 20 - 30 minutes simply to beat it, even longer if i wanted to attain a high score (which i would recommend against trying to achieve as hackers and cheaters have ruined the leader boards for us all with times impossible to achieve such as 0). Super meat boy isn't just about jumping through saw blades of death to rescue his beloved partner, it's also somewhat of a self teaching lesson about what the average human will put himself through just to reach the end of the game, much like our brutalized hero, spending hours upon hours just repititously playing a level over and over again, death after death until we beat it. Luckily there is another little shining star in this, as you can unlock characters by getting band-aids, getting enough high ratings on levels, or beating warp portals, and surprisingly these characters each have their own unique abilities to help the player get through these obstacle courses of impossibility.

    It is a great challenge that is at the same time enjoyable for the most part.
    Expand
  17. Jul 23, 2012
    9
    Super Meat Boy is an instant classic. The concept is simple but well executed, and the game is fast paced and enjoyable. The game was challenging but I never felt it was unfair, which made it very rarely frustrating. Similarly, the controls for me were responsive and never felt random, again making the game feel satisfying. he level design is great. I love the collectables and bonus levels that are hidden throughout the game, and they add a certain amount of replayability to the game. The art style is charming and the sound design is fitting. I would highly recommend playing this. It is well crafted and a joy to play. Expand
  18. Oct 26, 2013
    9
    This game is good,some people don't like it because it's hard,but that means more happiness for the ones who finished it.
    The story it's simple but amazing
    It follows the path:The girl is kidnapped,you find her,the doctor sends a monster at you and run in a different location,it repeats over and over and the you beat the doctor and go away with the girl.
    The unlock able characters give
    the game diversity and makes it easier but still hard.
    The music in this game is gorgeous,the music you will like and will pump you with adrenaline.
    So this game is very good and it's not old school,because it's a funny and spontaneous game with a lot of references.
    So one of the best platforming games that ever existed.
    Expand
  19. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    Unbelievable........SMB is one of the biggest surprises I've had in gaming...period. I bought it for $3.75 on the Steam sale (what the hell right?) and have had so much fun with this game. There are a few very unique innovations that make this game stick out. First, the difficulty is there, it takes time to figure out some levels, and when you do, there's a sense of adrenaline and excitement...like, "oh no, I'm almost to the end of the level (AMAZINGLY!). Once completed, the replay is spectacular, showing all the iterations of your attempts simultaneously. The SFX and Music put many blockbuster games to shame. I'd buy the sound track if I could...and all the little meat splotch sounds are just hilariously satisfying. I'[d recommended this game to anyone. For it's type of game (Indie, platform-spam-death thing) it deserves the highest marks. Expand
  20. May 1, 2011
    9
    This game is a total blast! Totally made for the OCD-type players that like to master speed runs. Its very rewarding when you surgically rip through a puzzle and are able to watch the replay right afterwards. I'd say its a niche-market type of game, most definitely not meant for everyone, but immense adrenaline-fueled fun for those who're into that type of speed/twitch puzzle solving. I'm using a brand new Gamepad for it and have noticed a few control responsiveness issues, but nothing major. Seems as though many, if not most, of the people giving the game very poor ratings are playing it with a keyboard, which is pretty bad idea in the first place. Upon first purchasing it, I tried it with the keyboard and knew instantly that I would never fully appreciate this game without a gamepad. Expand
  21. May 2, 2011
    10
    This game will kick your ass repeatedly and you'll probably die a few thousand times before completing the game, but for some reason no matter how much you die, you keep coming back for more punishment. I haven't played such a thrilling and satisfying platformer since Super Mario Bros. 3, and I'm beginning to think it may be my new all-time favorite game in the genre. Just be warned that this game is VERY difficult amongst platformers and it can be frustrating to people who are bad at video games. 90% of the negative reviews are "this game is too hard it kicked my ass."

    The controls are perfect; to put it simply: they put you exactly where you want to be. I went back to Super Mario and for the first time in my life I have to say the controls feel dated by comparison -- and I'm a huge fan of classic Mario platformers. To add to the fantastic gameplay is the outstanding music, beautifully gritty environments, and a really solid "arcade feel" to the theme.

    The only real downside to this game lies within it's virtually non-existent story, but then again if you're playing a platformer for the story, you're doing it wrong.
    Expand
  22. Dec 31, 2012
    10
    This game was made with passion and hard work, I bought it after seeing the Indie Games movie, just by looking at their eyes while they talk about their life and their passion for the game was enough to me to give it a try. And I'm glad I did, this game has soul, despite the old school graphics (which I find quite nice with nowadays improvements) Super Meat Boy brings a passionate story, while not something as complicated as an RPG game, it succeeds by giving you enough to love the game and focus on the challenges of the good old plataformers. You can't go wrong with this game, unless you really hate any sort of challenge and prefer those interactive story games this game is a must. Expand
  23. Feb 17, 2013
    9
    I'm laughing at the negative reviews of this game, no real criticism other than general butthurt. A quality controller is a absolutely required, if you can beat this game with a keyboard you're not human. If you were a SMB speedrunner you will love this game. This could potentially frustrate today's modern gamer's who have little experience with face paced platformers. It can be very challenging but it's doable. The mechanics are flawless and the music/style is excellent. Expand
  24. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    This game takes me back when I played IWBTG. Not as difficult, but they even have an homage to that game and several other great platformers. The team who made this game is great, the bugs are few and far between, the music is great; fitting the zones' atmosphere perfectly and for an indie game, its definitely one of the better out there; easily rivals a 'big name' company.
  25. Dec 18, 2011
    9
    Well, it looks like there are two camps for super meat boy. I am firmly in the camp that loves this game. I created a metacritic account, just so I could cast a vote (as it were) for this game as a fantastic game. I originally played the x-box version on a giant flat-screen tv. I had a great time, so I bought it for my home system on steam. I was very pleased that the game translated to my, far inferior, home system. The game has crisp graphics, highly sensitive controls and an intuitive level design and learning curve. Great game. Expand
  26. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    This game is perfect. First of all, this is as much content as I've EVER seen in a game this price (free roguelikes aside as that would be completely unfair :D). HUNDREDS of stages, challenges, and unlockable goodies. Also, this game is hardcore. This is a real treat when the general game holds your hand with garbage like a quest compass and regenerating HP... in Super Meat Boy, if you screw up, you die. Usually instantly. And it only gets harder. The learning curve is also fantastically satisfying. You will consistently get better from play. When you are playing the first boss it WILL seem difficult. After playing the next few levels if you go back you'll wonder what was so hard. You will stand back and say, "oh my god, I'm DOING this." The mechanics are very smooth, jumping, wall jumping, dashing, these are fun and for the most part the game seems very fair. When you die you'll know YOU messed up and it wasn't just something stupid due to chance. Point being, if you like video games, get this game. Also, use a controller. This game is a seven with a keyboard, a ten with a controller. Do it. Expand
  27. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    Great game, the best platforming game in years. This game will make you rage quit and you will be sayign to hate this game and you will be never playing it again. About an hour later you will start playing Super Meat Boy once again and go through the same cycle. Truly amazing game. The only major con is that the PC controls are hard to use, so you may have to dish out some more money to buy a cable for your xbox controller to be used. The rest of the cons are very minor. Expand
  28. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    This game is just phenomenal. It brings classic, tough, platforming with a modern polish. Don't play this game if you're expecting a well written story. Play this if you're expecting one of the greatest platforming adventures of your entire life. It's runs smoothly and the platforming system is just as smooth, it's addicting, the characters are lovable, it has a high replay-ability rate due to the massive amount of extra content included. And, if you purchase on Steam it includes a level editor! This is the ultimate package for any plat-former fan. Expand
  29. Nov 8, 2013
    9
    This is one of the best platforming games I have ever played. It can be quite frustrating at time, as you must restart each level if you die. Super Meat Boy is the most precise platformers I have played, and is for experienced gamers. The story line is a parody of most Mario games, and this makes it very enjoyable. Each character is very interesting and the cut-scenes are fun to watch. For the price this game jam packs a ton of contents and is definitely worth the money. Simply amazing. Expand
  30. Jun 9, 2011
    9
    It's a classic platformer for the hardcore gamer. Not suitable for first time gamers, or people that are lazy or don't have quick reflexes. Most people that **** about it, are unexperienced gamers who want their games to be like "press X not to die". Super Meat Boy is a hard game, but it's only hard because you don't know how to play it. It features very sharp controls, awesome music, adrenaline pumping gameplay, features countless of stages, a good plethora of playable characters each with his own abilities and a level editor so you can make your own stages. ( Controller is not required you can change the keys to WASD or whatever you like ) Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 80
    Indie gaming at its retro-loving best, with some of the most cunningly-designed and purposefully infuriating 2D gameplay of the year.
  2. Jun 1, 2011
    89
    Blood, action, romance. Super Meat Boy Ultra Edition has got it all.
  3. May 3, 2011
    90
    Oldschool-Jump and Run at its finest!