Super Monday Night Combat Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 204 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Uber Entertainment follows up on its original class-based shooter with a new freemium business model, new classes, modes, maps, and more.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. May 1, 2012
    86
    The best-yet marriage of third-person gunning and MOBA spellcasting.
  2. May 8, 2012
    85
    The game is really fun with some buddies that want to play the game strategically against another team with the same skill level. If you're into third person shooters or MOBA style games with a twist, you should really check this game out. You have nothing to lose. It's free, and fun.
  3. Jun 25, 2012
    85
    In a nutshell, Uber Entertainment clearly figured out what their first game needed and they brought it. The shortcomings from the first game have been dealt with, and even now they're still piling on constant updates with a Valve-like intensity. With a very dedicated and growing community of players, Super Monday Night Combat has blossomed into a legitimate heavyweight among its peers.
  4. May 4, 2012
    78
    Super Monday Night Combat is a peculiar and colored freemium that melts third person shooter and DotA mechanics. The result is entertaining and interesting but far from perfect.
  5. Jun 13, 2012
    75
    Grumbles about the frustrating matchmaker aside, Super Monday Night Combat is a free-to-play game that would have been a perfectly legitimate retail release with a few more maps and available Pros.
  6. May 14, 2012
    65
    Super Monday Night Combat feels like a toned down Monday Night Combat. It's free but in-game items are really expensive and gameplay is monotous and boring. Simply put: don't waste your time here.
  7. 60
    Catchy multiplayer action with tactical elements is free to play but suffers from a few launch-related problems. Once those are solved Super MNC will be a straight hit. [Sept 2012]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 58
  2. Negative: 21 out of 58
  1. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    One of my favorite games now. It's brand new and does need some development time but that is the nature of a new MOBA.

    That actual game play
    is incredibly fun but the learning curve is steep. I highly recommend trying out SMNC for yourself. It is free to play after all. Expand
  2. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    I've always been a fan for shooter games, and just recently started getting into moba/dota type games, this game blends those styles together in the most amazing way. I can say that I've never enjoyed a game so much before ever. I have to say that it's not very easy when you first start out, but once you get the hang of what do do, its amazing fun, and once you invest the effort and time to get good at it it's very rewarding. 10/10 ! Expand
  3. Jun 22, 2012
    9
    I've been playing SMNC since the Invitational (closed beta) period, and contrary to what people may say, it's quite a good game. Balance is constantly being adjusted based on community feedback and Uber's own data and observations. New content is added weekly, ranging from community-inspired content to things no one has thought of. The game's humor is a spot-on parody of major sportscasting, with a sprinkling of dystopian society. The characters are amusing, the arenas offer something for everyone, and it's generally an enjoyable experience. Matchmaking gets the worst bashing out of anything, but it's in the works. Recently, some changes were made that, in my experience, drastically improved the quality of games.

    A few warnings: It's a hybrid of third person shooting and the gametype established by DotA. You can shoot, yes, but only shoot and you're on the road to defeat. Strategic thinking and cooperation are far more important than in other games. This isn't Monday Night Combat 2, either. It takes elements used in the first and revises them. Lastly, don't let anyone tell you it's pay to win in any way, because the only way to get an advantage over your opponents is to play. Over all, give it a shot if you'd like a change of pace, but if you're going to bash it, think things out and make sure you're giving an honest analysis instead of bashing a genre that just doesn't work for you.
    Expand
  4. Oct 3, 2012
    6
    I enjoy SMNC as much as I did MNC and even better this is free.

    That said my current rating for the game as it stands is:
    Gameplay 8/10

    Functionality 4/10

    My Score as the game stands: 6

    There is just a lot of bugs to do with logging in, chat, finding a game, creating a team & getting the team in a game which is why I gave a seperate functionality score. if they can fix all that then 8/10 is what it deserves but right now players waste too much time trying to get into matches which means time spent stuffing about is higher than time spent enjoying matches.
    Expand
  5. Aug 8, 2012
    5
    I played SMNC for 1 or 2 hours and I did enjoy playing, its not bad for a free to play 3rd person shooter, however it didn't feel good enough to carry on playing for any longer, the commentary within the game is pretty cool though, it makes it feel like i'm playing the game in front of an audience. Expand
  6. Apr 20, 2012
    2
    Alright. Imagine the original MNC: A nice, casual blend of third person shooting and tower defense mechanics. Now imagine they lowered the amount of damage you do, increased the health of everything, and made turret positioning and upgrading preset. No tower defense for us. So, do you like shooting at predictable, slow moving targets with an endless rain of no damage "bullets"? I'm proud of you. But wait, there are more characters to play as! Too bad you have to unlock them with thousands of in-game coins. How many coins do you get per game? Very little. If that doesn't suit you, just spend real money on the classes (no thanks). Want to customize your favorite character with a skin? $20.00 please. The announcers just aren't as well written, spewing generic loading screen tips instead of clever jokes. Trying this game for yourself may be a smart idea, I might be a minority here. It's "Free", so all you have to waste is your time. Expand
  7. Jul 1, 2014
    0
    I can't really describe how much potential Monday Night Combat title had. UberEnt really ruined it.
    If you want to play something FAST PACED,
    then I recommend simple, Monday Night Combat.
    SMNC is nothing more than Alpha MNC. A lot of good stuff were implemented but a lot of stuff were also ruined.
    Expand

See all 58 User Reviews