Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Apr 20, 2012
    91
    What an experience! This little gem transports you right into a mysterious and charmingly designed world.
  2. Apr 27, 2012
    90
    Sword & Sworcery offers an extraordinary audio-visual experience comparable to the price of a ticket to the movies. Even though it has a different yet traditional approach to a player, this game won't satisfy everyone. However, in its class it's an exceptionally original and well-done work of art that will touch your heart if you let it. Besides, you get an amazing soundtrack.
  3. Apr 23, 2012
    90
    Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery EP is a beautiful and enthralling adventure that feels both archetypal and unique.
  4. Apr 24, 2012
    90
    Sword & Sworcery masterfully blends music, art, storytelling and gameplay in deeply poetic ways that you just don't see very often. As such, it doesn't take a love of adventure games to get wrapped up in the magic of this indie gem.
  5. 90
    Best definition of what an indie game should be: stylish, original, intellectually stimulating and an amusing adventure. [June 2012]
  6. May 21, 2012
    88
    The fantastic soundtrack, perfect way of storytelling and the pixel art make you forget the lack of a challenge. The game still feels like an iOS-game, but who cares when it is this brilliant? It might not be the game everyone is going to play, but the one that brings an unforgettable experience.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 185 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 63
  2. Negative: 26 out of 63
  1. Jun 3, 2012
    3
    I am a fan of indie games, and I like the "old-school" feel of this game. The music/sound was incredible (but too good for this game, kinda like the movie "FM"). I think this game had a LOT of potential but most of it was ruined by the dialogue/story text. Whoever wrote these little gems was obviously a hipster trying WAY too hard to be "ironic". For example, your character is walking through a lush forest next to a beautifully reflective lake with Guthrie's soothing sounds setting the mood and you come across a man chopping wood. The dialogue box pops up and says something like, "Woodmanbro thinks you are like, totally rad, bro." This continues for pretty much any dialogue/story text you will encounter. I played until a little ways into part 3 (there are 4 parts to the game, so a little over halfway) before I just couldn't stand it anymore. Every time I would start to really get into the game and the atmosphere created by Guthrie something else would pop up and ruin it with more hipster buzzword garbage, so I guess it's really no surprise that the game asks you to post every inane bit of dialogue you encounter to that other bastion of hipsterism - twitter. I suppose it's supposed to be "ironic" that they just don't care enough to create real story text, but really it's just annoying and makes the game feel unfinished, like the developers gave the game to their 16 year old brother and asked him to write the dialogue. The developers should go back and play the old Sierra classic Hero's Quest (also known as Quest for Glory) for examples of story text that are cute/funny/campy without being horribly overdone, painfully "ironic" and ruining the mood of the game.

    Also, the Zelda triforce ripoff just felt like more hipster B.S. - "HAY HAY WE PLAYED ZELDA AND MADE A TOTALLY TOO-OBVIOUS REFERENCE TO IT ISN'T THAT COOL/FUNNY/IRONIC BRO?!!!"
    Full Review »
  2. May 15, 2012
    6
    I enjoyed the historical references and music in this game, but the actual gameplay was extremely disappointing and boring with quick time event combat.
    The interface hasn't been improved for the PC and reeks of being ported from an iOS without much effort to really use the PC platform as much as possible.
    Full Review »
  3. May 17, 2012
    1
    I knew something was desperately wrong when the game prompted me to enter my twitter login details to auto post a vacuous end of level monologue after I'd spaz clicked my way thru the 1st level. Ridiculous. Hipster. Trash. Full Review »