Supreme Commander PC

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 259 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 259
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MichaelH.
    May 3, 2007
    10
    Best. Strategy. Game. Ever. Running it on an AMD2 4200+ with 2 gig of RAM and a 7900GT and I have stellar performance most of the time and beautiful graphics. I literally spent minutes at a time just watching my units and still LOVE the T3 artillery swinging into position. Is this an ugly game? Not by any stretch as long as you have a decent computer. You know, buy 1500$ in parts and Best. Strategy. Game. Ever. Running it on an AMD2 4200+ with 2 gig of RAM and a 7900GT and I have stellar performance most of the time and beautiful graphics. I literally spent minutes at a time just watching my units and still LOVE the T3 artillery swinging into position. Is this an ugly game? Not by any stretch as long as you have a decent computer. You know, buy 1500$ in parts and build it yourself instead of being lazy and ordering from Dell and you might get a good machine. As for the gameplay? Priceless. I have never had an easier time with builds in my life and, to boot, there's something simple enthralling about being able to airlift units across half a map and right into battle automatically, not to mention looking cool when doing it. The visual of half a dozen heavy transports and sweeping onto an LZ is simply priceless and something no other RTS is likely to pull off soon, even the Company of Heroes (yes, I also have it) which I quite like is missing the ease of use and clean camera control which this game featured. True, I do have a minor whiff about unit AI, like most of CT's game it's a tad oddball, though enemy base AI seems to be a bit better it's reliance on unit patrols remains mystifying. This is, however, the first RTS where the AI can use nukes effectively, and the second RTS with truly ranged artillery, unlike most other games where artillery gets a scant three grid advantage over other units *cough*Starcraft*cough*. I could go further; get into the rest of the awesomeness about naval units and air units that no other game has tried to accomplish, but I'll just leave it at this. My retinas are spoiled and my scroll-wheel is a lot more worn by this game. Well done GPG! Expand
  2. Thomas
    Feb 28, 2007
    8
    Excellent game. My only real gripe is it takes quite some time to develop the most powerful stuff. And, to get high resolution with all the eye candy you'll need top of the line equipment.
  3. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    Supreme Commander Forged Alliance is a very diverse RTS. The game features several tiers of units. Each tier, usually referred to as tech 1-4, the units have more damage, health or utility. Each tier having lots of units within them. Land, air, naval and stand alone units are all included. Games can be played with 2-12 players on maps that range from small to insanely massive. The forgedSupreme Commander Forged Alliance is a very diverse RTS. The game features several tiers of units. Each tier, usually referred to as tech 1-4, the units have more damage, health or utility. Each tier having lots of units within them. Land, air, naval and stand alone units are all included. Games can be played with 2-12 players on maps that range from small to insanely massive. The forged alliance forever community, a community made by players with a better game game client than steam, is helpful and very friendly to new players.

    The game starts with just your Armored Commander Unit(ACU). Your ACU is a diverse unit that has high build rate but also can be very useful for fighting early on. Games vary immensely on size of map and skill of the players involved. Maps with high resource escalate quickly towards high tier units. Longer games will see experimentals(tech 4 units), nukes and long range artillery. There's also plenty of units that allow you to out think your opponent. For example some factions have mobile shield units, stealth fields and plenty of other great features. The Forged Alliance Forever(FAF) community has made lots of custom games and hundreds of new maps so game possibles are endless.

    Overall the game is a lot of to play whether you are competitive or casual about gaming. I'd recommend it to any gamer who likes RTS games.
    Expand
  4. Monty
    Feb 20, 2007
    10
    Excelent game, can be a bit demanding on the pc if you havent upgrades in over 18 months, intrsting thing about this game is how versatile it is when creating your stratagys, for example you can select say super fast jet fighters and slow tanks to perform a joint attack on some point on the map meaning that they will both arrive at there destination at the same time, then theres the Excelent game, can be a bit demanding on the pc if you havent upgrades in over 18 months, intrsting thing about this game is how versatile it is when creating your stratagys, for example you can select say super fast jet fighters and slow tanks to perform a joint attack on some point on the map meaning that they will both arrive at there destination at the same time, then theres the waypoints where you hold shift and you can manipulate patrol paths by dragging waypoints to new areas. theres plenty to offer the proffional RTS gamer out there. the online side of things turn out to be a intresting affair aswell with player using very different strategies, tank or aircraft rushes dont always work and its not always best to try and race those tech 3 units out. if you find an opponent that is your equil you may find a rather long battle on your hands and in my books thats good. Expand
  5. ChrisW.
    Mar 31, 2007
    9
    This is probably my favorite RTS, and it earns this distinction by actually bringing -- dare I say it -- "strategy" to a real time strategy game! No other RTS on the market has the same level of depth and immersion you'll find in Supreme Commander. The control system is amazing -- unlike other RTS games where you can give your units "orders" in Supreme Commander you can give them This is probably my favorite RTS, and it earns this distinction by actually bringing -- dare I say it -- "strategy" to a real time strategy game! No other RTS on the market has the same level of depth and immersion you'll find in Supreme Commander. The control system is amazing -- unlike other RTS games where you can give your units "orders" in Supreme Commander you can give them entire missions! By queuing up commands you can have some of your units automatically carry out simple tasks or "hit-and-run" missions while you focus you attention on more complicated battles. While some may find the base creation system and resource system tedious, I find it a fun challenge to develop the most effecient war machine possible. I refrain from giving it a perfect "10" only because some minor balance issues make certain units almost entirely unnecessary. I would also offer caution to anyone who tries running this game on anything other than a VERY powerful system as you are likely to be dissapointed with it's performance. That said, if you have a computer that can handle it, and if you feel that RTS should be about more than just rushing or "point-and-click" invasions from a large, unorganized mob, than you should definitely give this game a try. Expand
  6. Jin
    Mar 5, 2007
    9
    If you have anything above a 3ghz CPU 1gb Ram and a Nvidia 6600GT 256mb Graphics card then this game is playable on minimum settings. Maps are good ranging from 10x10 km square to 80x80km square so its as big or small as you like. some great camera controls using the ctrl+v keys to lock the view into place and plenty of base building and battle action.
  7. AH
    Apr 15, 2007
    9
    Dual monitor gaming Rocks!!!
  8. GlynnF.
    Feb 19, 2007
    9
    This is one of the best RTS games of all time without a doubt, An honest recreation of Total Annihilation. Doesn't need amazing specs to run (maybe a boost in RAM would help most people having problems) With a unique method of collecting resources that doesn't rely heavly on micromanagement, and with many novel and quite frankly ingenious features (The ability to alter the This is one of the best RTS games of all time without a doubt, An honest recreation of Total Annihilation. Doesn't need amazing specs to run (maybe a boost in RAM would help most people having problems) With a unique method of collecting resources that doesn't rely heavly on micromanagement, and with many novel and quite frankly ingenious features (The ability to alter the waypoints for patrolling comes to mind.) This game seriously raises the bar to a level that C&C3 will have to try very hard to match Also, please Ignore the reviewer at Australian GamePro who decided to throw a hissy fit because his machine is having problems the real meta score for this game should be 90. Expand
  9. IraGardner-Morse
    Feb 21, 2007
    8
    Let me just say that this game is incredible. It surpasses every bit of hype, and all of my expectations. It's amazingly fun, and the single player alone will have you hooked for a long time. The single-player is well presented, with a throwback to Starcraft (vanilla) in the mix of short pre-rendered cut-scenes, gameplay, and mission-briefings. The story here is above average, and Let me just say that this game is incredible. It surpasses every bit of hype, and all of my expectations. It's amazingly fun, and the single player alone will have you hooked for a long time. The single-player is well presented, with a throwback to Starcraft (vanilla) in the mix of short pre-rendered cut-scenes, gameplay, and mission-briefings. The story here is above average, and any sci-fi fan will enjoy it. Multilayer is where this title really shines. Like Total Annihilation, this is all about macromanagement and strategy. We've got features that should have been though up years ago (movable waypoints on patrol routes come to mind), and some seriously bad-ass units. Shields are implemented better here then in any RTS previously, (they block shots that hit them, rather than giving a unit more hit points), making their use critical to success later in game. There are enough different strategies here to keep you playing for a decade at least; patches, easy-to-create mods, and expansions should add even more tactics. Resources aren't the PITA they were in Total Annihilation, as you can quickly build heavy mass or power generators that provide virtually infinite resources. Now, the down sides. There are a few minor annoyances which a patch should be able to fix (namely an inability to cue up commander upgrades, and the fact that you can't set patrol points from a new factory to match those of an existing one, resulting in a million different patrol routes by the end of the game). All in all, these are minor, and won't bother 99% of people. The big issue here is system requirements. I've tried running the game on a couple of different computers, and, I can safely say that when Chris Taylor says the game will run on a 6600, he means, it will start up. At lowest settings, the game gets single digit frame rates on a 256 meg 7600GS, on a machine with a gig of ram and a 3 ghz processor. And that's on the smallest map with two players and a unit cap of 250 (the lowest). If you want to run the game at a mediocre frame rate (20-25FPS), I would say that a 7900GT would be a minimum. Duel core and a few gigs of RAM is a must. If you enjoyed Starcraft, Star Wars Galactic Battlegrounds, Age of Empires II, Total Annihilation, or Dawn of War chances are you'll love this game. It's the perfect blend of civ building and brutal combat combined with excellent strategy, assuming your machine can run it. Overall: 8/10. This would be a 10/10, had the game not lied about it's minimum requirements. Expand
  10. RobertR.
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    This is what RTS is all about: hundreds of units per side, massive maps, devastating weapons and endless action. Best game I've played for years!
  11. Xenois
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    All articles posted by the new fans of the game have been dull. They don't realize potential warefare strategy of massive environment. So i u spend 1 hour/40 minutes building a base after that its game on. Relising only what every game has, is AI will never beat u. I say 10 for 10 for multi-player and game like this, I have all the time in the world. Pluss having to upgrade your All articles posted by the new fans of the game have been dull. They don't realize potential warefare strategy of massive environment. So i u spend 1 hour/40 minutes building a base after that its game on. Relising only what every game has, is AI will never beat u. I say 10 for 10 for multi-player and game like this, I have all the time in the world. Pluss having to upgrade your computer to run the game, u shouldn't be worried as well all know that GPU/CPU prices will drop because of the new Technology hitting our computers (AMD3) (quad cores) it can only get better and cheaper. AMD number 1 always Expand
  12. DerickC.
    Apr 2, 2007
    9
    This type of game is what I was waiting for, a massive tactical battle, where strategy is not controlling a few units but entire armies on land, at sea and in the air. The scale of the game blew me away completely. The only complaints I have is the ridiculous pc requirements which makes any 4 player large map a slideslow and the near identical campaigns that did nothing but to introduce This type of game is what I was waiting for, a massive tactical battle, where strategy is not controlling a few units but entire armies on land, at sea and in the air. The scale of the game blew me away completely. The only complaints I have is the ridiculous pc requirements which makes any 4 player large map a slideslow and the near identical campaigns that did nothing but to introduce the units for the factions. Hopefully, some of these disappointing factors will be resolved with patches, expansions and mods. Expand
  13. DarkV.
    May 8, 2007
    9
    Just Epic... Has a few flaws, but doesn't stop it from being an amazing game
  14. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    If you liked Total Annihilation back in the day, this is made by the same lead designer and is a spiritual successor. It has a current metacritic score of 86/100 and is a seriously fun game. It features full dual monitor support (each screen in showing a different location, eg. one on your base and the other the front line, or whatever you like. very handy for an RTS) The defaultIf you liked Total Annihilation back in the day, this is made by the same lead designer and is a spiritual successor. It has a current metacritic score of 86/100 and is a seriously fun game. It features full dual monitor support (each screen in showing a different location, eg. one on your base and the other the front line, or whatever you like. very handy for an RTS) The default population cap is 1000 units per player. Expand
  15. lhw
    May 31, 2011
    10
    It's been 4 years since the release of Supreme Commander and still today its the best real time strategy game out there. Though on a side note there isn't really any competition as any other 'strategy' game currently available is more or less only a tactic game.
    The variety of huge maps available through the community and the fun of building massive armies consisting of hundreds of small
    It's been 4 years since the release of Supreme Commander and still today its the best real time strategy game out there. Though on a side note there isn't really any competition as any other 'strategy' game currently available is more or less only a tactic game.
    The variety of huge maps available through the community and the fun of building massive armies consisting of hundreds of small and huge robots, ships and planes is practically unrivaled. But even with thousands of units brawling on 40x40km maps its still possible to control because Supreme Commander allow you to zoom out into the strategy map. Where you can control and give advanced orders like ferries or coordinated attacks easily.
    The sometimes criticized resource- and build-system might take some time to get used to but it's in no way inferior to any other strategy game.
    The only negative critic I have is that this game hogs your PC quite radically. Even after 4 years and with a modern mid-class PC it still gets slow when 2000-3000 units are present on the map.
    In my opinion everyone with a slight interest in strategy games should get a copy of this. Including the addon 'Forged Alliance' it shouldn't cost more then 15$.
    Expand
  16. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    A combination of Tier 1 units that can be massed into a huge force, tier 3 units that can be used in small strike forces, and experimental units that can be used as one would use a nuke in most other games make Supreme Commander one of the most intelligently designed RTS games in a while. Each faction is very similar yet not at all identical. The UEF have a health advantage, the Aeon haveA combination of Tier 1 units that can be massed into a huge force, tier 3 units that can be used in small strike forces, and experimental units that can be used as one would use a nuke in most other games make Supreme Commander one of the most intelligently designed RTS games in a while. Each faction is very similar yet not at all identical. The UEF have a health advantage, the Aeon have a range advantage and the Cybran have a stealth advantage. Those are just 3 of the many qualities each faction brings to the table. Do not judge this game based on the Tier 1 units, those are just to start you off. When you reach Tier 2, you have reached Supreme Commander. Expand
  17. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Supreme Commander is a really good strategic game. It is clean, fun and makes you think. The Campaign takes up a lot of time. Playing Skirmish is fun, especially on the huge 50k by 50k maps. The units and stuff are well designed, well animated and have really good sounds.

    This game is really fun, I have all three SupCom games!
  18. Dec 22, 2011
    8
    One of the better RTS games around. Supreme Commander has 3 diverse races that have many interesting and fun units. Experimental units are one of the best parts of the game. But the ability to control thousands of units in real time on a large map allows for supreme strategy unlike other RTS games. Graphics are good aswell but the user interface can be a bit hard to get the hang of.
  19. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    This game holds a special place in my heart, I've been playing RTS games forever and this one never gets old! It has it all: GIANT robotic armies, tons of ground/air/naval units, experimental weapons (Colossus robots, flying motherships, etc.), great balancing, good difficulty curve, endless fun in Skirmish mode against AI. The campaigns aren't bad, they're not the best but they areThis game holds a special place in my heart, I've been playing RTS games forever and this one never gets old! It has it all: GIANT robotic armies, tons of ground/air/naval units, experimental weapons (Colossus robots, flying motherships, etc.), great balancing, good difficulty curve, endless fun in Skirmish mode against AI. The campaigns aren't bad, they're not the best but they are enjoyable and have somewhat interesting stories. The Skirmish mode is amazing, AI has multiple difficulty settings that will never stop challenging you, the battles are complex and strategic, and the unit count is off the charts! If you like RTS games with huge armies, tons of units to choose from, MANY buildings and endgame experimental weapons, definitely give this game a shot! I played this along with War Front: Turning Point, C&C3, AoE III, Starcraft: BW, and Warcraft III, and the only game out of those that were better than Supreme Commander was Warcraft III. One of the best RTS's I've ever played, probably my third favorite of all time. The three different races are complex and give a good variety to any battle, and the amount of different attacks/approaches/defenses that are available is incredible, and will make sure no two battles play out the same way!

    The campaign's theme of EXPANDING the map instead of loading a different one makes the game require some heavy duty hardware in your computer. By the end of a mission the map will be HUGE and there'll probably be like 1000 units on it at once, so be warned that you need a hefty computer to handle this game, or you'll have to decrease the graphics a lot (Which by the way, the graphics are REALLY good for when this game was made: they even stand up to today's standards in some aspects!).
    Expand
  20. May 29, 2012
    10
    All I can say is, some people have a strange view of what makes a good RTS. Supreme Commander is a great title because this game is really supreme. I have played about every RTS I can find and this tops them all in its scale and scope of game play and it's terrific graphics. The abilities one has to control the units is simply enormous. You can queue up build orders, attack orders,All I can say is, some people have a strange view of what makes a good RTS. Supreme Commander is a great title because this game is really supreme. I have played about every RTS I can find and this tops them all in its scale and scope of game play and it's terrific graphics. The abilities one has to control the units is simply enormous. You can queue up build orders, attack orders, designate patrol paths, set ferrying orders so that transports will wait by factories until units are constructed, then load them automatically, fly them to the point of your choosing, unload and return for more reinforcements. You can set multiple build orders in a factory: Build two of these, five of those, three of these and so on, even have the loop repeat. You can upgrade the Commander with various new abilities which differs by faction. You can literally scroll out in a second to view an enormous landscape and yet still control all your units with ease. The game runs very smoothly at maximum settings with hundreds of units on the screen with any decent computer today. The models and animations are highly detailed and you can zoom in very close. No, I wouldn't compare this game to the Total War series: Those are the slowest, most boring games I ever played. If I wanted something that slow-paced, I would still be played Avalon Hill strategy board games, like I did as a child. At least they were interesting. Don't listen to the naysayers here, just look at the amount of positive reviews and realize they are only trying to rock the boat. Supreme Commander rules! Expand
  21. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Looks great. Plays fun. Lots of explosions in this one. As with the original Total Annihilation game, I think the best part is that the production/building process can be sped up by having multiple drones (and/or your commander) build the same thing at the same time.

    Excellent UI design, in my opinion, particularly the multimonitor support that they have. This was never really a
    Looks great. Plays fun. Lots of explosions in this one. As with the original Total Annihilation game, I think the best part is that the production/building process can be sped up by having multiple drones (and/or your commander) build the same thing at the same time.

    Excellent UI design, in my opinion, particularly the multimonitor support that they have.

    This was never really a story-driven game for me, and I only played to build units and watch them blow each other up essentially. Of course, I do like to deploy my units strategically during combat, but I also sometimes feel lazy and simply want to throw units at my enemy until they die which SC allows you to do really well once you manage your resources well enough and you have enough unit factories and drones to speed up the unit production process.
    Expand
  22. Jan 6, 2013
    8
    A grand scale RTS, and a solid 8. Supreme Commander lives up to its title, you do in fact feel like a Supreme Commander. There are many strategic outlets in this game that you can employ to stay ahead of your enemy. Like the real world, information is a key element to your plan of attack. The large scale maps can leave opponents weak and sprawled, and your attacking forces can be seenA grand scale RTS, and a solid 8. Supreme Commander lives up to its title, you do in fact feel like a Supreme Commander. There are many strategic outlets in this game that you can employ to stay ahead of your enemy. Like the real world, information is a key element to your plan of attack. The large scale maps can leave opponents weak and sprawled, and your attacking forces can be seen coming a mile away giving time for your enemy to prepare.

    Base building plays a large role in survival in this game, expect to lose a lot of units to a barrage of artillery, nuclear attacks, or experimental units. Battles can be fought simultaneously at different parts of the map, managing your armies of land, sea, and air alone could distract long enough to have fallen behind on base building.
    Expand
  23. Mar 21, 2016
    10
    A brilliant strategy game that is as entertaining now as it was when first released. I recommend using this with Forged Alliance Forever so that they can get on the multi-player scene with friends or the community. It also adds helpful fixes, content and balancing that can really improve the Sup Com experience.
  24. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    Almost the perfect RTS. Strategy, tactics, music, atmosphere, graphics, sound, mega-armies, superrobots, all there. Hundred-thousands of skirmish units have already exploded on my screen. It takes weeks to master, but when you do, it's worth every second. Even the atrocious campaigns with the moronic game-characters will not drag my rating down from 10.
  25. Nov 12, 2014
    10
    Almost the perfect RTS. Strategy, tactics, music, atmosphere, graphics, sound, mega-armies, superrobots, all there. Hundred-thousands of skirmish units have already exploded on my screen. It takes weeks to master, but when you do, it's worth every second The best strategy game i have ever played in fact.Greatest RTS ever! Resource system is ingenious, at least i think so. The game is veryAlmost the perfect RTS. Strategy, tactics, music, atmosphere, graphics, sound, mega-armies, superrobots, all there. Hundred-thousands of skirmish units have already exploded on my screen. It takes weeks to master, but when you do, it's worth every second The best strategy game i have ever played in fact.Greatest RTS ever! Resource system is ingenious, at least i think so. The game is very complex, has so many units, four factions total, GIANT units, great command structure, incredibly massive scale, Naval battles, and air power the likes of which I've never seen in another RTS! Expand
  26. MarkI.
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    Best strategy game i've played since the days of red alert, and starcraft. never played TA unfortunately to compare. awesome effects, like playing the droid wars in star wars 1. System requirements aren't too demanding, it just requires that you setup your computer properly to take advantage of the hardware you have. I'm running a 4 year old bartonXp2500 with a x850xt and Best strategy game i've played since the days of red alert, and starcraft. never played TA unfortunately to compare. awesome effects, like playing the droid wars in star wars 1. System requirements aren't too demanding, it just requires that you setup your computer properly to take advantage of the hardware you have. I'm running a 4 year old bartonXp2500 with a x850xt and it runs good until i hit the really large games. Expand
  27. ChadG.
    Sep 12, 2007
    9
    My altime favorite RTS game right now. Massive, allows for creative strategic thinking. There are still a few bugs here and there but the game is great.
  28. Jesse
    Jun 23, 2008
    9
    Very satisfying gameplay, amazing visuals and sound. Campaign is surprisingly fleshed out. UI is lacking some polish by today's standards, which may put off the casual gamer. Overall a very solid tactical / strategy experience.
  29. SteveL.
    Jan 18, 2007
    10
    I love this game.
  30. BrandonJ.
    Feb 13, 2007
    10
    If you bother to post, make sure it has absolutely nothing to do with the performance, because that's YOUR fault, not the game's.
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. PC Gamer UK
    90
    A remarkable piece of work, and a worthy successor to "Total Annihilation." Strategy games don't come this big, and this ambitious, and they never demand this much from you. Take command - if you think you can handle it. [Feb 2007, p.62]
  2. PC Gamer
    91
    This is all-out war on a scale we've never seen before, and it is glorious. [Mar 2007, p.23]
  3. Sup Com is very much a PC gamer's beast, and the supernova-sized war games may prove a little too demanding for anyone other than accomplished RTS players (our heads still hurt from the last LAN skirmish). If only for its sheer scale and battle mechanics, this should be sampled by every RTS fan with a graphics card - and indeed, mental powers - that are up to the task.